Pulp Fiction

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2038 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 16, 2011
    4
    Overrated to the point of ridicule. Pulp Fiction, what is supposed to be one of the greatest films ever, was a cluster of bizarre scenes that were patched up like a rag doll.
  2. dh
    Feb 5, 2008
    4
    Tarantino's movies are way overrated. Not saying this film was rubbish. It was fun and all but for it to be in metacritics all time top 10 is bad. I don't know why there are critics- i always look at the viewers section as its always more accurate!
  3. GrahamN.
    Jul 20, 2002
    6
    This movie certainly isn't bad, but it certainly is not the classic that some make it out to be. Perhaps my biggest beef with the movie is that the characters who are so central to the movie (it has little plot) are not deep nor thought provoking at all, possibly with the exception of Jules. Mia is a hopeless cliche druggie, Marsellus has no depth at all, and Travolta's This movie certainly isn't bad, but it certainly is not the classic that some make it out to be. Perhaps my biggest beef with the movie is that the characters who are so central to the movie (it has little plot) are not deep nor thought provoking at all, possibly with the exception of Jules. Mia is a hopeless cliche druggie, Marsellus has no depth at all, and Travolta's portrayal of Vincent is typical of an obsequious yes-man. The three-story thing was kinda cool, but of course it's been done before in plenty of films, the deer hunter is the only one that comes to mind but I remembered seeing it in plenty of others. Overall if you're looking for a movie in this vein that is truly a classic, look more to Leon the Professional. Expand
  4. JakeM.
    Jul 2, 2002
    5
    BOOOO!!!!! The only reason way this movie gets a 5 is because Samuel had messed up hair, which is funny because he is stupid. Also the idea of trying to show the lows of being a killer is cool, and original, its just the way Tarantino put it together is crap. Like he pulled it out of his butt when he was on the throne. The only good Tarantino movie is a burned Tarantino movie, all but BOOOO!!!!! The only reason way this movie gets a 5 is because Samuel had messed up hair, which is funny because he is stupid. Also the idea of trying to show the lows of being a killer is cool, and original, its just the way Tarantino put it together is crap. Like he pulled it out of his butt when he was on the throne. The only good Tarantino movie is a burned Tarantino movie, all but From Dusk Til' Dawn. (That is the ONLY exception.) So if you like watching a dude's head explode or seeing someone getting wasted then i guess you can watch this movie. But its not on my recommend list. Expand
  5. GaneshV.
    May 16, 2005
    5
    I hadn't watched this movie for a long time after its release, but i have always heard people telling me how good this movie was and that i should watch it. to be honest it was totally way below my expectations. I mean, the filming style and the direction was entertaining, but how much longer is Quentin Tarantino going to rely on that. He really needs to come up with something I hadn't watched this movie for a long time after its release, but i have always heard people telling me how good this movie was and that i should watch it. to be honest it was totally way below my expectations. I mean, the filming style and the direction was entertaining, but how much longer is Quentin Tarantino going to rely on that. He really needs to come up with something new...by the way they never really show whats there inside the suitcase!!! explain that! Collapse
  6. Mar 2, 2011
    5
    Silly hair, terrible casts. Watch it on 90's maybe will be better? I like Quentin Tarantino, but this flick seems pointless and strange. Universal acclaim didnt attract me give better score.
  7. Aug 12, 2011
    5
    I watch movies to kind of, "escape" from real life, where there is not much interesting going on. I watch movies expecting they are interesting, with (perhaps) twists and turns, and action, or some comedy. Naturally I didn't expect comedy or action, but it was the dullest movie I have ever seen. It was so boring, barely any plot development. It is considered a good movie probably onlyI watch movies to kind of, "escape" from real life, where there is not much interesting going on. I watch movies expecting they are interesting, with (perhaps) twists and turns, and action, or some comedy. Naturally I didn't expect comedy or action, but it was the dullest movie I have ever seen. It was so boring, barely any plot development. It is considered a good movie probably only because the sequence of events was reorganized. Another overrated movie by Quentin Tarantino (much like Kill Bill which also sucked @ss). Expand
  8. Feb 2, 2014
    5
    Average movie, nothing stand out in particular, Samuel Jackson is crap, so does Travolta and this is the most offensive and racist movie ever, Quetin Tarantino is racist as hell, how could Hollywood would allow a White guy to use the word N***** in this movie?
  9. RodG.
    Feb 20, 2007
    6
    Most people I know love this movie. It's decent. I'd like it a lot better if it weren't for the entire part of the movie with Uma Thurman.
  10. Jun 16, 2012
    6
    I think there's too much talking along the movie. Good for those that enjoy Tarantino's ideas. In fact, I just watched it once there's lots of people talking about the movie, but it's not big deal.
  11. Jul 6, 2013
    6
    Didn't really know what to expect from this film and have left wondering what a lot of it was about, but at the end of the day I can see the appeal and am not too surprised a lot of people love it thanks to Tarantino's quirky style. It's a mix of a few short stories blended together to make a movie and its somewhat interesting, but I think the films best thing it has going for it is theDidn't really know what to expect from this film and have left wondering what a lot of it was about, but at the end of the day I can see the appeal and am not too surprised a lot of people love it thanks to Tarantino's quirky style. It's a mix of a few short stories blended together to make a movie and its somewhat interesting, but I think the films best thing it has going for it is the chemistry between the cast, especially the leads. Overall not really my thing, but it's still good. Expand
  12. Apr 17, 2015
    5
    Another boring movie by Quentin Tarantino. I like the fact that the movie have a portuguese actress but that are so... I don't even know. People talk about Pulp Fiction like that was the biggest thing in the world, I just say NO!
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 70
    The experience overall is like laughing down a gun barrel, a little bit tiring, a lot sick and maybe far too perverse for less jaded moviegoers.
  2. The New Republic
    Reviewed by: Stanley Kauffmann
    70
    But the way that this picture has been so widely ravened up and drooled over verges on the disgusting. Pulp Fiction nourishes, abets, cultural slumming. [14 Nov 1994]
  3. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Michael Wilmington
    100
    Pulp Fiction isn't just funny. It's outrageously funny. [14 Oct 1994]