Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 14, 2008
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 592 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
294
Mixed:
216
Negative:
82
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JakeENov 24, 2008
Great movie, action was fluent, and the story was driven. It was smart and inolved great emotional fluctuation that seemed to combine together for a great fun movie. Craig is an awesome bond.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TomG.Nov 5, 2008
Just got in from quantum and I have mixed feelings, on one hand it is an excellent film with plenty of action and a gripping plot but on the other hand this is no bond film, this could easily be the fourth 'Bourne' film, Quantum Just got in from quantum and I have mixed feelings, on one hand it is an excellent film with plenty of action and a gripping plot but on the other hand this is no bond film, this could easily be the fourth 'Bourne' film, Quantum leaves Bond lovers with lots to desire especially with bond's humor and gadgets. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AronJ.Dec 1, 2008
As time goes on, and more bond films come out, the more they strey from who james bond is supposed to be, james bond is becoming more like rambo and Quantum is exactly that, just not james bond anymore, although watchable if you like action movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonM.Dec 13, 2008
I enjoyed this film! This is the only time since the mediocre "License to Kill" where Bond has been in official REVENGE mode, and Dalton didn't do it half as well as Craig. Sure it wasn't all quips and one liners, a'la Moore. I enjoyed this film! This is the only time since the mediocre "License to Kill" where Bond has been in official REVENGE mode, and Dalton didn't do it half as well as Craig. Sure it wasn't all quips and one liners, a'la Moore. Never the less I'm really liking this so called "gritty" Bond. My only trivial gripe was with the Bond baddy's lack of a gimmick (No deformity or pet peeve?!?). In the end: Great Bond film. Great revenge film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DonK.Dec 20, 2008
The dialogue between Bond and M was just not convincing. Was the plot lame? Probably. What was the whole point dragging the poor guy from his home in he Mediterranean to get locked up in the trunk of a car in Bolivia - and eventually get The dialogue between Bond and M was just not convincing. Was the plot lame? Probably. What was the whole point dragging the poor guy from his home in he Mediterranean to get locked up in the trunk of a car in Bolivia - and eventually get killed? Yes teh plot was lame.... You don't speak to a President that way - sign the deal or you will get replaced. And if Bond could bumpo him off, why not the Bolivian President (or whoever that character was).... Still it was great entertainment. Awesome. So I give it a 7. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillB.Oct 26, 2008
Attended early screening of this movie. I didn't think it was possible to top Casion Royale, but they completely "blew it out of the water". Hope I'm not saying too much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnyB.Oct 31, 2008
Definetly the best Bond movie ever.Pushed me down in my cinema chair from first second and kept in that position till end credits.Brutal and fast paced not some clean sweet Brosnan flick.Can't wait for next one
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KevinSNov 14, 2008
Easily one of the worst Bond films... The special effects are ho-hum, the action scenes are poorly edited and make it hard to understand whats happening. The villain is pathetic. And to top it all off, veteran Hollweird leftist and self Easily one of the worst Bond films... The special effects are ho-hum, the action scenes are poorly edited and make it hard to understand whats happening. The villain is pathetic. And to top it all off, veteran Hollweird leftist and self described Marxist Paul Haggis has infused the script with left wing, politically correct propaganda. Part of the plot also seems to bash America for taking advantage of poor countries. This movie REALLY left a bad taste in my mouth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DavidA.Nov 14, 2008
This was a Bond movie in name only! No gadgets, little humor and very little character development. I was actually glad the movie got over so I could leave. When you find yourself checking your watch during a Bond movie, you know it's This was a Bond movie in name only! No gadgets, little humor and very little character development. I was actually glad the movie got over so I could leave. When you find yourself checking your watch during a Bond movie, you know it's boring. Good stunts but missing all of the critical elements that makes you look forward to a new Bond movie. Disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JamesS.Nov 14, 2008
What a lousy film. All that $$$ on special effects and great actors -- and story boring, and sound terrible (can't understand half of what actors say). Wish I'd stopped at Casino Royale!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DelspencerdeltorroNov 15, 2008
This movie will definitely be a disappointment for Bond fans. It's not even a good movie in general, let alone good enough to be a Bond movie. Although it contains many references to other Bond films, it doesn't actually seem like This movie will definitely be a disappointment for Bond fans. It's not even a good movie in general, let alone good enough to be a Bond movie. Although it contains many references to other Bond films, it doesn't actually seem like it's trying to be one. Almost the entire cast spends the whole film being angry, and the secret organization out to destroy the world is really just causing a drought in Bolivia. Many scenes left more of a "what?" than a "wow!" The classic gun-barrel scene was tacked on at the end of the movie, and it was more angry than suave. The theme song, "Another Way to Die", is pretty good musically, but the title reminds me of the McBane parody from The Simpsons, Die Again Tomorrow. Actually, the whole movie reminds me of this parody, or maybe an action-movie commercial. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlakeS.Nov 15, 2008
Gutty Gritty, Daniel Craig second to none as a Bond in this movie. He is all business.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JudyTNov 15, 2008
Daniel Craig is great and I like this new refreshing retooling of 007. Judy Dench, Jeffrey Wright and Giancarlo Gianinni were good as always. The plot was thin and the action sequences started just running together. Btu the spirit of the new Daniel Craig is great and I like this new refreshing retooling of 007. Judy Dench, Jeffrey Wright and Giancarlo Gianinni were good as always. The plot was thin and the action sequences started just running together. Btu the spirit of the new Bond was there. I didn't like the ending action sequence but I liked the ending. Also the theme music by Jack White and Alicia Keys was horrible and so was the Bond girl. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidL.Nov 15, 2008
This is an excellent outing for Bond. Casino Royale, but surprisingly (and despite its ridiculous title), this is better. Bond's character development is good, the action is non-stop and well choreographed, and the relationship between This is an excellent outing for Bond. Casino Royale, but surprisingly (and despite its ridiculous title), this is better. Bond's character development is good, the action is non-stop and well choreographed, and the relationship between Bond and M has never been better. Olga Kurylenko was good as well. I was really blown away by how good the film was, especially compared to the reviews. Also, for the first time Bond is on the right side of the battle with his efforts against an evil corporation and both the US and British governments. Well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnL.Nov 15, 2008
I'm giving this a 6 because the story was kind of weak....the action is intense and the mood very dark but thats not enough to warrant anything higher..action can only excite you for so long before it gets old..worth watching but I'm giving this a 6 because the story was kind of weak....the action is intense and the mood very dark but thats not enough to warrant anything higher..action can only excite you for so long before it gets old..worth watching but I'm not clamoring to own it and the last movie to do that for me was iron man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RonS.Nov 15, 2008
As bad a flick as casino royale was great Roger Moore now once again assumes the mantle of the best bond.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MaxB.Nov 15, 2008
Quantum of Solace is an edgy, gritty, and sometimes confusing film. Danial Craig is back with another exceptional performance ad 007. In fact the entire movie is perfectly cast. However, the attempt to transform the movie into a fast paced Quantum of Solace is an edgy, gritty, and sometimes confusing film. Danial Craig is back with another exceptional performance ad 007. In fact the entire movie is perfectly cast. However, the attempt to transform the movie into a fast paced action thriller leaves several fight scenes difficult to follow. The really big flaw of quantum of solace is perhaps what also makes it work. Danial Craig has such a dark and depressed demeanor that his one liners and witty phrases aren't up to the level that we expect of 007. Combine that with a movie that is sometimes very difficult to follow, you get a movie not as strong as Casino Royale. Overall Quantum of Solace does work on a more modern and dark level than any other James Bond movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelB.Nov 15, 2008
People haven't seemed to learn that this isnt the classic James Bond films we're used to.. this is a rebirth and its great! The movie starts basically immediately after Casino Royale and its non stop action till the end.. if you People haven't seemed to learn that this isnt the classic James Bond films we're used to.. this is a rebirth and its great! The movie starts basically immediately after Casino Royale and its non stop action till the end.. if you like action movies this is a MUST SEE, if you like James Bond (especially the BOOKS) you'll LOVE THIS. THIS IS FLEMMINGS BOND (read the books) You can't expect the film to be cheesy (lets face it people the old bond is considered Cheezy in the 21st century) the film has to be move with the times or else its doomed to die out like Star Trek did. Watch the film! Ignore the critics, Expect Action and a rough Bond don't look to the old films and expect the same thing! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenNov 15, 2008
If you want to see traditional bond movies, watch any of the previous 20 installments. If you want to see GOOD movies, watch casino royale and quantum of solace. The poor reviews that quantum of solace has been receiving made me extremely If you want to see traditional bond movies, watch any of the previous 20 installments. If you want to see GOOD movies, watch casino royale and quantum of solace. The poor reviews that quantum of solace has been receiving made me extremely nervous to watch. However, I now realize that most people don't understand a good film when they see it. You'll certainly be disappointed if you are expecting a campy, cheesy, sex driven, and shallow bond. On the other hand, you'll be delighted if youâ??re looking for an emotionally developed character whose personality flaws finally seem human. A deeply disturbed bond who doesnâ??t kill because heâ??s told too, but because he is in every sense, a hero. Gone are the days of evil villains who seek to destroy the world with nuclear weapons and satellites. They are no longer personified character types who seem to over the top to real. Instead we have more sophisticated villains whose corrupt mindsets leads to a far more complicated plot line. Rest assured, a complicated plot line should be a positive and refreshing change. Since when should a villainous corporation have streamlined goals in which every member is working together for the benefit of that goal? Truly human emotions and situations cannot be simple and straightforward. Pay attention, Quantum of Solace was a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JPS.Nov 15, 2008
This moving is worth seeing. Slow at times. Has action. It has a plot that if you use your imagination you can make this an engaging moving. I vote that you see this at a theater-matinee.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KevinH.Nov 16, 2008
After the sensational CASINO ROYALE, this is a big disappointment. CR had thrilling stuntwork & coherent plot. Here, we're back to BOURNE-like action sequences that are cut so fast and furious that the audience feels nothing while After the sensational CASINO ROYALE, this is a big disappointment. CR had thrilling stuntwork & coherent plot. Here, we're back to BOURNE-like action sequences that are cut so fast and furious that the audience feels nothing while watching it. And I hope that Daniel Craig didn't do any of his own stunts because the way they were filmed in such fragmented short bursts of confusion, he needn't have taken the risks. Worst opening credits ever; worst Bond song ever. The plot is a mess and when Bond finally gets the villain at the end (nots not a spoiler), it all happens off-stage (suddenly the villain is saying, "Well, I've told you everything I know..."). The ending will thrill those who like explosions but if you want to know WHY anyone did what they did, you're out of luck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoshPNov 16, 2008
Anybody knows what is going on in the world today? Water and the access to it is becoming privatized. As for being the subject of a Bond movie, it may not have the sex appeal of gold, space and just general mass destruction, but I think it Anybody knows what is going on in the world today? Water and the access to it is becoming privatized. As for being the subject of a Bond movie, it may not have the sex appeal of gold, space and just general mass destruction, but I think it was appropriate enough. What I think is disappointing viewers is the lack of back story to it all. Which in all fairness wasn't done very well. What I don't agree with is the anger towards Bond not being Bond. Sure...thats how the books were written, but if writers didn't take liberties or adjust for the modern era, you might as well just read a book instead. Bond is evolving(as he supposed to be newer during this inception) and you have to give him time. Hopefully this movie will wrap the "i'm angry because my girl died" and all the fanboys will have a bit more debonair Bond lines next time they will never use on the ladies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KimL.Nov 16, 2008
no plot just shootem up mindless violence. the studio put this drivel together to cash in on the success of casino royal. I am sorry I got taken in. I am so disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BobK.Nov 16, 2008
High on action shots, but the action depicted is not credible human action but rather more like one of those Chinese action films. The premise of the story seems rather unengaging.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyW.Nov 16, 2008
Daniel Craig is excellent as usual as are all the other actors, that is my 7. The director is totally clueless in this installment, the action sequences are big budget but more time is spent showing shaking camera shots than letting us Daniel Craig is excellent as usual as are all the other actors, that is my 7. The director is totally clueless in this installment, the action sequences are big budget but more time is spent showing shaking camera shots than letting us digest what is happening onscreen. I'm astonished that the executives let this movie be released in this form. Maybe a directors cut may be the solution who knows? It's like opening a closet and everything in there is good but it all just fell on your head and gave you a nasty bruise Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TDNov 16, 2008
Seriously i am not understanding the all over the place actions scenes, it's really too much for you eyes to handle. Reminds me of the second bourne movie, you just can't follow the scene. I also took a 10 min nap during the movie Seriously i am not understanding the all over the place actions scenes, it's really too much for you eyes to handle. Reminds me of the second bourne movie, you just can't follow the scene. I also took a 10 min nap during the movie which is not normal a good sign. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewNov 16, 2008
This is not a bad movie and quite frankly if you have the entire collection this is a welcome addition: who the hell wants another movie similar to all those prior to Casino Royale (II). As to those who did not like the movie, well, change This is not a bad movie and quite frankly if you have the entire collection this is a welcome addition: who the hell wants another movie similar to all those prior to Casino Royale (II). As to those who did not like the movie, well, change is not to everyone's tastes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JeremyCNov 16, 2008
Extremely mediocre. It is clear that they were trying to hail back to the old bonds, unfortunately that is not what people want anymore, and it is completely possible to stay faithful without taking ten steps back. There was a complete lack Extremely mediocre. It is clear that they were trying to hail back to the old bonds, unfortunately that is not what people want anymore, and it is completely possible to stay faithful without taking ten steps back. There was a complete lack of continuity in the plot and the action. Casino Royale was great because it was as smooth as butter, the sequencing in Royale made sense and the action was logical. ""SPOILER"" 1. How is anything resolved just because Greene is killed. Quantum is still kicking, and they still own the land in Bolivia. 2. Why is the hotel blowing up??? The garage is directly connected to the reactor? And a car backs up into the fuel cell reactor exhaust at 20 mph and suddenly the entire structure explodes in a fireball? Are they so lazy they can't even think of a good reason for this sequence at the end? If so, I am sad that this is where Bond will be going "" SPOILER OVER "" . Quantum feels like every other spy/action movie that comes out every year, which is not what Bond should be, Bond should blow those out of the water, Quantum doesn't even come close. If Casino Royale were the Empire Strikes Back, Quantum would be Return of the Jedi. Heartlessly comical and disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
HollyC.Nov 17, 2008
This film is action packed from the start and doesn't really stop the entire way through---which is why I can see many people disliking the film for how little time is given to plotting/characters/plans (they try to shoehorn stuff in, This film is action packed from the start and doesn't really stop the entire way through---which is why I can see many people disliking the film for how little time is given to plotting/characters/plans (they try to shoehorn stuff in, but it can be confusing). I really liked the action sequences though and it's tightly written in that aspect. But I do think Casino Royal was much better. Many draw a comparison with Bourne--especially as QoS doesn't have a lot of the usual Bond elegance/humor/camp and gadgets. It's striped down and a pretty single-minded revenge tale. And really, the Bourne films do that much better. So hopefully Bond will return to his style/panache humor--etc---after this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AramisG.Nov 17, 2008
I like the new direction these Bond movies are taking. More cerebral and violent than older movies. Doesn't spell everything out and leaves lots of avenues open for other sequels (in a good way). If you are looking for stupid gadgets I like the new direction these Bond movies are taking. More cerebral and violent than older movies. Doesn't spell everything out and leaves lots of avenues open for other sequels (in a good way). If you are looking for stupid gadgets and unbelievable villains with silly world domination aspirations you have 30 years of other Bond movies to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful