Screen Gems | Release Date: October 10, 2008
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 133 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
66
Mixed:
29
Negative:
38
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
grandpajoe6191Sep 30, 2011
They might as well change the title "Quarantine" into "[REC] 2.5".
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
ChadS.Oct 11, 2008
Inscribed onto the black asphalt in elongated white lettering, all in caps, is the traffic safety term "XING", a warning served to motorists about an upcoming crosswalk; "XING", as in crossing, pedestrians are crossing. The fire truck Inscribed onto the black asphalt in elongated white lettering, all in caps, is the traffic safety term "XING", a warning served to motorists about an upcoming crosswalk; "XING", as in crossing, pedestrians are crossing. The fire truck whooshes over the marking, over the "XING", en route to an apartment complex where the 911 call was dispatched to a brigade of firemen, who were in the midst of being profiled by a flirtatious news reporter named Angela Vidal. For sure, she's no Christine Amanpour, this one. Even as a cub reporter specializing in special interest stories, the journalist need not remit herself from performing her duty with some semblance of professionalism. At one point, she asks, "Do firefighters still slide down poles?" It's no wonder that the men don't take her position as a media type seriously, and worse yet, neither does she. When Angela overhears a candid remark on a fireman's mic about the plans he has for her, she seems more flattered than offended. At ground zero, at the scene of the quarantine, however, Angela gets her big break, a chance to prove her mettle as a hard-hitting reporter who can exhibit grace under pressure during a crisis. Alas, she's no Kimberly Wells(Jane Fonda) either, the special interest reporter in James Bridges' "The China Syndrome", whose story on energy production in nuclear power plants turns into an investigative report on public safety. At the outset, Angela talks a big game, instructing her cameraman to "film it all", but the pandemonium is too much for her. Angela is speechless, when it matters the most, whereas Kimberly delivered, and in doing so, "The China Syndrome" made its case for female journalists like Amanpour, and others just like her. (Wait! She has no peer.) "Quarantine" is indeed, an update of "The China Syndrome". The allusion to the 1979 thriller is made when that firetruck traverses over the "XING". "Xing" is a Chinese girl's name, meaning "apricot". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DanyH.Oct 11, 2008
Scared me at very few certain points, but the overall characters and decisions made by ALL was truly just bad film making. No explanations, no good ideas from anyone, just bad choices all over the place. They could have gone somewhere good Scared me at very few certain points, but the overall characters and decisions made by ALL was truly just bad film making. No explanations, no good ideas from anyone, just bad choices all over the place. They could have gone somewhere good with this one, but they still blew it. Next time, don't put the final scene of the movie in the trailer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MichelleW.Oct 19, 2008
I saw the movie expecting a great horror film, but it was very much like 28 days later with extremely bad camera work, I got sick watching it, and it made me so mad because the camera was waving around and you couldn't make anything I saw the movie expecting a great horror film, but it was very much like 28 days later with extremely bad camera work, I got sick watching it, and it made me so mad because the camera was waving around and you couldn't make anything important out, then when she found the room with all the weird info and newspapers in it, it just skimmed over, but I never understood cause I COULDN'T see it clearly for the damn camera work..It also made me mad at the end you kinda remeber the set up her on the floor from the trailor, so you know what is about to happen, in my opinion, it had no ending whatsoever! everyone dies, if everyone dies, atleast show the aftermath or what the gov says or something! it just ends..it had a good foundation but didnt take it anywhere. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TommyBoyOct 23, 2008
Dizzy watching another "Blair Witch" hand held camera. However, much better the the fore mentioned. As of 10/23 movie has taken in $25 million...was made for $12 million (where the money went is a mystery) so it's on it's way for a Dizzy watching another "Blair Witch" hand held camera. However, much better the the fore mentioned. As of 10/23 movie has taken in $25 million...was made for $12 million (where the money went is a mystery) so it's on it's way for a net profit. No name stars so the "payroll" was small. Still...$12 million to make this..???? Another movie with a "sudden" ending leaving everyone pis...d off. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RyanSMar 13, 2009
Another Blair Witch clone. Has a few creepy moments. A slightly different take on zombies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoeSApr 25, 2009
A disappointment. It was definitely a much better movie than Blair Witch but not nearly as good as Cloverfield, Quarantine felt like a cross between a SciFi original and someone's crappy video of their walk through a Halloween Haunted A disappointment. It was definitely a much better movie than Blair Witch but not nearly as good as Cloverfield, Quarantine felt like a cross between a SciFi original and someone's crappy video of their walk through a Halloween Haunted House. I was hoping for something that felt a little more... realistic. The characters behaved in very unnatural ways at times in some attempt to generate scares that only managed to take me "out of the moment." If you wanna see a mockumentary, watch Cloverfield instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
HalfwelshmanJul 5, 2012
Quarantine is mostly a shot-for-shot, slightly glossier American remake of Spannish horror stunner [Rec]. It's a consistently diverting film in its own right, and keeps you interested throughout, but it's nowhere near as terrifying as theQuarantine is mostly a shot-for-shot, slightly glossier American remake of Spannish horror stunner [Rec]. It's a consistently diverting film in its own right, and keeps you interested throughout, but it's nowhere near as terrifying as the original film. This is mostly due to the fact that the big scares come in exactly the same places as they did in [Rec]. Though it's always a technically competent film, the filmmakers don't appear adept enough at pacing and judging the viewers expectations to provide too many new scares. Jennifer Carpenter gives a decent performance playing reporter Angela Vidal, who is trapped in an L.A apartment complex when a mysterious virus breaks out and the authorities seal off the building. Carpenter effectively communicates her terror, and we can sympathise with her and the ordeal she is going through, though she lacks the raw, panicked energy of Manuela Velasco in the original film. Don't get me wrong, Quarantine is a perfectly reasonable and effective horror film if you're seeing it for the first time without any knowledge of the preceding Spanish found-footage chiller. However, if you're re-watching it, or if you've already seen [Rec], then there isn't a whole lot to frighten or thrill you. At least Quarantine was made in the same spirit as the original film, and director John Erick Dowdle appears to hold the original film in some regard, but his slicker take on this landmark horror story somehow isn't as viscerally terrifying as the low-budget guerrilla-style [Rec]. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Spielberg00Nov 14, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: So-so remake of a great foreign film. Actually, itâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
hollowficationSep 28, 2012
this was worst movie ever remake of spanish version of REC if u want original horror flick that scary Watch the rec movies instead those ones is scary....

only i knew in that flick was Chick who played Judith from two and half men
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ii_like_bl00dOct 5, 2014
Honestly, I didn't mind this movie. It really tries to stand out as a horror movie but, unfortunately, it's a copy and pace from it's predecessor REC. The movie is exactly the same albeit the pacing is especially faster. Where REC relied onHonestly, I didn't mind this movie. It really tries to stand out as a horror movie but, unfortunately, it's a copy and pace from it's predecessor REC. The movie is exactly the same albeit the pacing is especially faster. Where REC relied on slow tension. This movie relies on quick scares. The reason why REC worked so well as a film was because it created a genuine scary atmosphere. In this film all the scares are sped up. You can't appreciate them. BUT, the characters acting was really solid, the effects were great and there were some general surprising moments. But even so, I recommend watching REC, it's way better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
horcrux2007Dec 25, 2014
It could've used a bit more originality since it was almost an exact copy of REC, and they should have used unknown actors to play the parts rather than Jennifer Carpenter and Jay Fernandez. This felt more like a movie while REC felt moreIt could've used a bit more originality since it was almost an exact copy of REC, and they should have used unknown actors to play the parts rather than Jennifer Carpenter and Jay Fernandez. This felt more like a movie while REC felt more like a newscast gone horribly wrong. I can't deny that it was scary, however. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CineAutoctonoDec 7, 2015
Quarantine , the adaptation of the super scary movie REC , made in Spain was a movie almost full of fear, but like the ganeas were not removed before the adaptation, but better Spanish than American .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews