User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ToddJ.
    May 9, 2001
    7
    The worst movie I've seen this year. tell Tom Cruise I want my 3.99 back.
  2. PatrinaS.
    Sep 5, 2001
    10
    It was very entertaining...The plot and setting were superb...This movie was highly entertaining...It kept me interested the entire time.
  3. SpazimN.
    Mar 2, 2001
    10
    This has to be one the best movie this year and of its period. It was magical and depressing all at the same time.
  4. JohnK.
    Jun 22, 2001
    10
    I rate this movie a 10 because Kate Winslet looks sexy.
  5. SofiaS.
    Jul 22, 2001
    10
    This film is the best that I have seen in my life. Geoffrey, Joaquin and Kate are wonderful!!
  6. Wibble
    Sep 22, 2002
    9
    It may not make a profound statement but i can think of worse ways to spend my time... geoffrey rush is fab in this..
  7. shehex
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    Well now...sublime. Magnifique. I absolutely love Geoffrey Rush and I must say that his role as the Marquis de Sade was performed exceptionally. My favourite part of the movie is , you know...that intimate encounter between the late Maddy and the youn priest.Call me kinky, but I dare say that this movie fits perfectly not only the mind of those evolved in a different manner, sexually Well now...sublime. Magnifique. I absolutely love Geoffrey Rush and I must say that his role as the Marquis de Sade was performed exceptionally. My favourite part of the movie is , you know...that intimate encounter between the late Maddy and the youn priest.Call me kinky, but I dare say that this movie fits perfectly not only the mind of those evolved in a different manner, sexually speaking, but it evoques sexuality in such a manner that it fits each and every living thing on earth. Expand
  8. AllanF.
    Jul 14, 2002
    8
    Witty, sexy, and entertaining!
  9. EricS.
    Aug 31, 2004
    9
    A disturbing vision of the dark side of self-expression. Intentionally sensationalized and deliberately off-color, it ventures to the very edge of the R rating. In doing so, it achieves an anarchy typical of all great indie films.
  10. GaborA.
    Mar 31, 2005
    9
    Perfect up until the overdone ending. But literally perfect to that point.
  11. May 5, 2013
    7
    A pretty well made film with some excellent performances, particularly from Geoffrey Rush and Kate Winslet. It did, however, seem incomplete; there were a couple of threads that didn’t seem to tie up. I was interested in the story of the doctor’s wife and also the wife of the Marquis. Both of these characters came and went without any reference to them again; I found that a little odd. IA pretty well made film with some excellent performances, particularly from Geoffrey Rush and Kate Winslet. It did, however, seem incomplete; there were a couple of threads that didn’t seem to tie up. I was interested in the story of the doctor’s wife and also the wife of the Marquis. Both of these characters came and went without any reference to them again; I found that a little odd. I have never read any of the works of the Marquis de Sade, but having seen this I’m tempted to take a look and see if it’s really as depraved as they say. As for the film, definitely worth a look although I did find it a tad drawn out and a tad too long.

    SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED

    My score: 7.1/10
    Expand
  12. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    This movie is delightful! ...not quite sure what Todd (below) means by referring to Tom Cruise for he is not there. This movie is engaging, touching, humorous, and clever. The Art direction is fantastic; the performances outstanding, the ambience feels real! Each time I watch it I enjoy it as I did the first time. It is not a 10, not even a 9 -not to me- but Less than an 8? I don't thinkThis movie is delightful! ...not quite sure what Todd (below) means by referring to Tom Cruise for he is not there. This movie is engaging, touching, humorous, and clever. The Art direction is fantastic; the performances outstanding, the ambience feels real! Each time I watch it I enjoy it as I did the first time. It is not a 10, not even a 9 -not to me- but Less than an 8? I don't think so! If you haven't watch it, and you can find it, do see it...you will have the last word. Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. 90
    A savage comedy of sexual extremes; the barbed laughs draw blood.
  2. 80
    Occasionally becomes pretentious and shrill -- sometimes Mr. Wright isn't aware that his material is so good that he doesn't need to comment on his characters.
  3. Profane, sacrilegious, pornographic, sadistic and Sade-istic, titillating and the most honorable movie of the year.