Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: October 3, 2008
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 225 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
121
Mixed:
25
Negative:
79
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
SkipYoungJan 26, 2009
It tries to be Cinema Verite, but I never believed it. So many of the emotional reactions struck me as implausible and melodramatic: Rachel
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
txrangersfan72Sep 19, 2010
This might be the oddest reaction I've had to a movie in a long time. Overall, the movie was a complete bore. I think it was poorly directed by Jonathan Demme. The length was tantamount to watching paint dry. Granted, it was primarilyThis might be the oddest reaction I've had to a movie in a long time. Overall, the movie was a complete bore. I think it was poorly directed by Jonathan Demme. The length was tantamount to watching paint dry. Granted, it was primarily centered around women, so drama is a given, but the extent and unending drama in this movie is unnecessary and quite stupid.

Yet...

Anne Hathaway, as nails-on-chalkboard irritating as she is in this movie, obviously pulls off a stunning performance since I completely removed Anne Hathaway from the role. She WAS Kym. And, thus, as bad as the movie was, Anne Hathaway moved up a level in my book. A fantastic performance definitely worthy of the Oscar nod.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
MovieMan12Jun 13, 2013
Anne Hatth a whatever her name is awful, just like this movie. It was painfully horrible to sit through. A pile of rubbish. It did not warrant my time. I hated everything about it.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
JWApr 4, 2009
Average at best. Attempts to be subtle by bitch slapping us with the obvious.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GManMay 10, 2009
Worst piece of garbage I've ever had the misfortune to be sat in front of. A God-aweful train train wreck of a movie, and a tragic waste of a few precious minutes of the remaining days of my life. Gah!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BenKApr 21, 2009
A confusing mismash of brief scenes, music and awkwardness. A painful movie only to be watched with painkillers.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RichardM.Oct 10, 2008
this film brings a world to the screen that is hard to separate from once it has ended. dark and funny and real like few other films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
aideenMFeb 10, 2009
Excellent acting. Anne Hathaway is memorable in a difficult role. Her experiences with a dysfunctional family, during her sister's wedding weekend, are heartbreaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelL.Mar 9, 2009
Hathaway is beyond brilliant--the perfect portrayal of an addict through unsympathetic--as opposed to warm and fuzzy--means. Self-absorbed, unwilling to accept responsibility, her Kym is spot-on. Yet, we still root for her for some reason. Hathaway is beyond brilliant--the perfect portrayal of an addict through unsympathetic--as opposed to warm and fuzzy--means. Self-absorbed, unwilling to accept responsibility, her Kym is spot-on. Yet, we still root for her for some reason. As perfect as Hathaway, Winger and the rest of the cast are, the film is burdened by Demme's odd need to include us in the wedding--capturing every mundane, ultimately irritating detail of Rachel's unique reception on-screen. Hey, had I actually known these people and been a guest, I'd have had a hoot. But I don't, and I was bored to tears. Had a brave editor cut 90% of the reception footage, "Rachel Getting Married" would have ascended to masterpiece status. Instead, it's a great, if self-indulgent, character study blessed with perfect performances and a witty, brave, and unexpected script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarylM.Oct 10, 2008
Any cynic worth his (lack of salt) cannot deny the uniqueness of this film. Some may perhaps criticize or denigrate certain idealistic aspects when speaking to the mix of characters at this wedding, but this type of criticism pales when Any cynic worth his (lack of salt) cannot deny the uniqueness of this film. Some may perhaps criticize or denigrate certain idealistic aspects when speaking to the mix of characters at this wedding, but this type of criticism pales when factored against the humanity of it's character portrayals. It also speaks beautifully to how life-changing tragic events are never fully processed or "moved past" by those immediately affected or possibly causal toward same. The film tackles this subject matter relentlessly, and successfully. A masterpiece of compassion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MickiC.Nov 8, 2008
Had I not been sitting in the middle of a row, I would have walked out. This movie had NO redeeming qualities. Poor cinematography, unattractive characters whose personalities were underdeveloped anyway, simplistic plot line, poor costumes. Had I not been sitting in the middle of a row, I would have walked out. This movie had NO redeeming qualities. Poor cinematography, unattractive characters whose personalities were underdeveloped anyway, simplistic plot line, poor costumes. The best thing about it was the dog, Olive! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PatrickD.Dec 1, 2008
my opinion of it was that it was too long and i am unsure what it was trying to accomplish. i would have been a bigger fan of an ending like her crashing of the same bridge that had killed her little brother and while only one of them is my opinion of it was that it was too long and i am unsure what it was trying to accomplish. i would have been a bigger fan of an ending like her crashing of the same bridge that had killed her little brother and while only one of them is outlooking they dont find out and continue with the wedding. Then just before the kiss the police show up and inform them that kym is dead. I would have applauded an ending like that. The movie however probably wouldnt be realistic, but who cares about realism. The movies are escapism; the trend of realism sucks. If kym had died she really would have been shiva the destroyer and the movie which is never really about rachel getting married would be all the funnier and sadder because the only way that she can get the attention she hates and wants would be to kill herself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TonyB.Apr 24, 2009
Have you ever watched a good home movie that was in desperate need of editing because many unnecessary and/or too long scenes were allowed to go on forever. If you have, you will be reminded of that experience when you see Rachel Getting Married.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndySApr 30, 2009
I felt the need to rate and review this film for it's low score according to users. As of now, it is sitting at a 5.5 which is entirely too low considering most the crap that gets rated up here. Rachel Getting Married was a great film I felt the need to rate and review this film for it's low score according to users. As of now, it is sitting at a 5.5 which is entirely too low considering most the crap that gets rated up here. Rachel Getting Married was a great film which gave me some of those rare moments in movies where I felt the emotions of the characters and their problems. It gives us a realistic picture of how a family would deal with a crisis like the one portrayed here. Despite your opinions of the characters, they are realistic nonetheless, which makes the film that much more poignant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ZenonNov 1, 2008
One of the most boring movies I have ever seen. The characters were all unlikable. Too much talk and not enough action. Awful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GaryNov 10, 2008
I'm convinced the professional critics are plain nuts. If I had made this movie with a hand held camcorder these same critics would not even watch it. It is simply depressing and awful. You care nothing for the characters and even less I'm convinced the professional critics are plain nuts. If I had made this movie with a hand held camcorder these same critics would not even watch it. It is simply depressing and awful. You care nothing for the characters and even less for the screenplay, that is, if you want to call it one. I walked out in the middle as did most of the audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardW.Oct 11, 2008
Incredible performances -- Hathaway, Dewitt, Winger, Irwin -- in a film of great depth and real emotion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LauraSNov 22, 2008
The good: Anne Hathaway's acting. The fact that my companion and I kept wanting to talk about different scenes when the movie was over. The bad: Let's face it, the movie was a bit dull. I found myself squirming in my seat. The The good: Anne Hathaway's acting. The fact that my companion and I kept wanting to talk about different scenes when the movie was over. The bad: Let's face it, the movie was a bit dull. I found myself squirming in my seat. The ugly: Nothing. Anne Hathaway is still beautiful even when they try to make her look bedraggled, even when she has a bloody lip and a black eye. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SamSDec 1, 2008
Mainstream reviewers have gone from hating indie movies to loving them over the past few years. That's great, but in the quest to get away from cliches, they've gone too far. It's great to recognize over-processed, commercial Mainstream reviewers have gone from hating indie movies to loving them over the past few years. That's great, but in the quest to get away from cliches, they've gone too far. It's great to recognize over-processed, commercial pieces of shit, but not at the cost of blindly embracing un-processed shit. This movie is a crazily cliched romantic comedy with an "offbeat" hipster girl and pretentious names. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JonRDec 2, 2008
This movie is too realistic. The troubled sister is convincing as a self-centered selfish addict far, far from recovery, although I've known addicts as needy who maintained some wit and warmth. The bride a the dad and the mom were as This movie is too realistic. The troubled sister is convincing as a self-centered selfish addict far, far from recovery, although I've known addicts as needy who maintained some wit and warmth. The bride a the dad and the mom were as screwed up in their different self-concerned ways, just as you'd expect in a dysfunctional family. They had no good lines. No one did. We heard a joke or two at the wedding dinner, but we'd already heard them in the trailer, where they were funny. The groom and his family seemed quite human, but they were kept out of sight. The Time critic has it about right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewLOct 23, 2008
A pretentious movie for pretentious people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
LanceA.Dec 4, 2008
Sam S., you are a tard. this isnt an indie movie. So your entire point was void. It was made by the same person that made silence of the lambs! i dont like the movie much either, but if you base your entire post on one things thats not true, Sam S., you are a tard. this isnt an indie movie. So your entire point was void. It was made by the same person that made silence of the lambs! i dont like the movie much either, but if you base your entire post on one things thats not true, it can be a problem. I do however agree with what you said about this movie trying to act "like" an indie movie, which i dont understand because i think Indie movies are becoming more contrived and cliched than anything else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VladS.Oct 5, 2008
After seeing the preview a couple of weeks ago I went into this prepared not to like this movie very much being, instead, more curious about the very favorable critical reaction. About a third of the way through, however, I realized I was After seeing the preview a couple of weeks ago I went into this prepared not to like this movie very much being, instead, more curious about the very favorable critical reaction. About a third of the way through, however, I realized I was watching a masterpiece. It's tempting to say it is Fellini or Altman-esque but that would diminish the accomplishment of the director, writer, photographer, and performers who together created a film I can not liken in its entirety to any other... how many times can you say that? The trick to watching this is not too judge or classify Hathaway and the other characters -- which is difficult to do because they are they are so finely wrought and the camera work makes you feel like you are part of almost every scene. Just sit back, let the action unfold, and go with the flow. You may or may not want to be part of the family or wedding party but it is impossible not to be touched, moved, shocked, amused, entertained if you give this movie a chance and don't becloud your vision with personal filters while watching it. This is filmmaking at its best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MaggieL.Oct 7, 2008
An excellent portrait of two sisters and a mother. Anne Hathaway and Debra Winger are magnific in their roles.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lindad.Jan 31, 2009
Never have I been so frightened for a main character in a movie or so wanted to hug her and make it all okay. Great actors, great direction who would long for more!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NickFeb 9, 2009
Just horrible!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TimCMar 12, 2009
I love movies usually in any movie even ones i don't like, and espicially one like this rated so high, I can find something to like but this movie is awful and boring. The acting may be good but so what and who carest!! I watch movies I love movies usually in any movie even ones i don't like, and espicially one like this rated so high, I can find something to like but this movie is awful and boring. The acting may be good but so what and who carest!! I watch movies for story not just acting. Total waste of time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LorenzKMar 13, 2009
No movie has ever moved my heart like this one. It is filled with sadness and joy and a celebration of humanity. Kym really tries to be sober and live a life, and honest. If you do that you will be loved, that#s what I learned.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JM.Mar 16, 2009
Horrible. I thought this movie would never end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffB.Mar 16, 2009
I thought this was an incredible examination of family and of pain that we have long internalized, but never forgotten. And to Tim C, I love movies within movies, but there are also things called character driven movies. How is it awful? Is I thought this was an incredible examination of family and of pain that we have long internalized, but never forgotten. And to Tim C, I love movies within movies, but there are also things called character driven movies. How is it awful? Is it like that guy who said that it was just a wedding video by rich people? Well, this is the internet. Can't expect everyone to have a coherent opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GaborA.Mar 25, 2009
Critics rarely let me down this much, but man was this an over hyped suck fest. Scenes come in pairs: Mundane(people dancing at a wedding, introductions, long hugs, eating food, etc), and then to make up for that we have string of cliches Critics rarely let me down this much, but man was this an over hyped suck fest. Scenes come in pairs: Mundane(people dancing at a wedding, introductions, long hugs, eating food, etc), and then to make up for that we have string of cliches and melodrama. But wait. Its an interracial wedding. Now its interesting, right? Sorry. Drug addiction. Past tragedy. Some of this could have been interesting if not always presented in the same manner with the same results over and over (every character cries at least 10 times). Even the performances are overrated. Everyone just gets into one zone and never breaks from it (probably because it seems this movie was filmed in two days). This isn't a genre leap at all. Just indie at its worst. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkCApr 14, 2009
I wonder if all the low ratings here come from people who actually appreciate unique films, or who expected to see something slicker, or another movie altogether? I can see not caring too much, personally, for the characters. But I wonder if all the low ratings here come from people who actually appreciate unique films, or who expected to see something slicker, or another movie altogether? I can see not caring too much, personally, for the characters. But they're not exactly meant to be likeable. I found the "interracial" "musician" element of the film a bit precious, myself (and wished they'd stop with the damn music at some point). But I thought the direction had a great, fresh immediacy. The whole cast was absolutely stellar. And the story of addiction's effect on a family is told frankly, unsentimentally--but with compassion, as well (yes, morons--and it's a big reason they "argue so much"). The film is a great achievement for its writer, director and cast. Can't think of many films that do what it does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidMay 31, 2009
A masterpiece. Anyone who has had a family tragedy or tensions will see the immense value of this film. Hathaway is a revelation here and I'm sure most of the negative comments come from folks who expected a typical Hathaway PRINCESS A masterpiece. Anyone who has had a family tragedy or tensions will see the immense value of this film. Hathaway is a revelation here and I'm sure most of the negative comments come from folks who expected a typical Hathaway PRINCESS DIARY PART 14 but this is life and the chirpy Anne we have come to love was not invited to this wedding. Bravo to everyone involved, esp. director Demme. Thanks for an astounding evening....we didn't even pause the DVD for a restroom break! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LorieGMay 8, 2009
what a worthless lib-fest. One person has a few bucks, and the rest of the rats hang on for a good? time. This just shows the rest of us how worthless liberals are.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobS.Jul 22, 2009
This was a difficult movie to watch... and it was amazing. If you gave it a 0 or 1 then I guarantee that you've never known an addict. Hathaway's performance was phenomenal. I feel that all of the scenes that many reviewers felt This was a difficult movie to watch... and it was amazing. If you gave it a 0 or 1 then I guarantee that you've never known an addict. Hathaway's performance was phenomenal. I feel that all of the scenes that many reviewers felt were superfluous were designed to bring you closer to the family. The viewer was meant to experience this wedding as if they were part of the family and experience Kym's pain as if it affected them personally. This was of the best films that I have seen this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MBAug 5, 2009
Was this Demme's attempt at Dogma? He should leave it to Von Trier and the other Europeans. If the majority of American families act like this - we truly are at the end of the Empire.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ValentinaCAug 7, 2009
I've just seen this film and i thought it was beautiful. Not only the plot and the acting was good, but notice the cinematography. Please do.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TrevorSep 1, 2009
wtf... I find it hard to believe this received the critical reviews it did. You would think professional movie critics would be able to see through faux-art contrivances that fill this movie from beginning to end, but apparently not. This wtf... I find it hard to believe this received the critical reviews it did. You would think professional movie critics would be able to see through faux-art contrivances that fill this movie from beginning to end, but apparently not. This film epitomises the phrase "all style and no substance". There really is no plot to speak of; imagine watching someone random person's wedding video, and you'll come pretty close to approximating what it was like to watch. The attempt to include every conceivable race and culture in the wedding party / ceremony is totally contrived. One of the most annoying, pointless films you are likely to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TimSSep 2, 2009
The acting is good and convincing. The movie is arty, indeed. But it doesn't save it from being excrutiatingly boring. Deep films which are also dynamic and interesting do exist; this one fails to keep attention.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JohnNov 11, 2008
Some of the most authentic dysfunctional family dynamics and dialogue ever, but also some of the most overlong, pretentious, contrived scenes ever. The wedding was excruciating. Why did we need 8 or 9 different musical groups at a wedding. Some of the most authentic dysfunctional family dynamics and dialogue ever, but also some of the most overlong, pretentious, contrived scenes ever. The wedding was excruciating. Why did we need 8 or 9 different musical groups at a wedding. It was 2 movies, one that worked, and one that looked like a college music dept review. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnANov 10, 2008
My jaw has dropped that critics and audiences alike aren't revering this film. Oh, well, the classics sections of the movie rental places are filled with films similarly received when initially released. Especially Anne Hathaway, Bill My jaw has dropped that critics and audiences alike aren't revering this film. Oh, well, the classics sections of the movie rental places are filled with films similarly received when initially released. Especially Anne Hathaway, Bill Irwin and Debra Winger are incredible in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
etayOct 10, 2008
The actual story is melodramatic but it's shot to look like a small indie & Anne Hathaway only ever looks like Anne Hathaway -- the result being you can never get into the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
M.Y.Oct 1, 2008
This is a dreadful and annoying movie about whiny rich people that romanticizes addiction. It's drenched in that Jonathan Demme white guilt where all cultures are represented and all the minority characters are saintly and sage, yet This is a dreadful and annoying movie about whiny rich people that romanticizes addiction. It's drenched in that Jonathan Demme white guilt where all cultures are represented and all the minority characters are saintly and sage, yet curiously soulless. The acting is good but the self-indulgent writing and nonstop world music make the movie interminable. If KCRW were a movie, this would be it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MikeMikeNov 15, 2008
I usually trust a movie where the first several critics rate it at 100. 100 means perfect, people. This movie is a boring disaster. I am absolutely speechless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffH.Nov 15, 2008
Wonderful-great script and acting-in the class of The Big Chill but without the good music-Hathaway deserves an Oscar nomination.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BeatriceNov 10, 2008
Absolutely horrendous. Not only are the critics wrong, I can't believe this garbage was even made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
tdmacNov 16, 2008
Quoted from Lawrence Toppman's review in the Charlotte Observer: "Alfred Hitchcock once said, "Drama is life with the dull bits left out." Well, Rachel Getting Married is drama with the dull bits left in." Hahah. That made me laugh. I Quoted from Lawrence Toppman's review in the Charlotte Observer: "Alfred Hitchcock once said, "Drama is life with the dull bits left out." Well, Rachel Getting Married is drama with the dull bits left in." Hahah. That made me laugh. I just saw this movie and that sums it up perfectly. I really do love slice of life stories, but this one was near unbearable. Was it necessary to include ALL of the toasts from every character and every extra in the room during the filming of the dinner reception? I mean sure. Set the tone. Let's get a taste of a few of them and then get to Kym's toast. That scene alone must have been 27 minutes long. The movie felt like it was shot in real time over the course of 2 - 3 days. Rachel goes to the bathroom in mornings. Rachel moves a hair out of her face. Rachel can't find the toothpicks. Rachel goes to the garage. Rachel hangs a shower curtain. Rachel watches Dad compete in a dishwasher loading competition with her fiance. That last one was real. Yikes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelK.Nov 16, 2008
Thanks to the style of filming, it was almost like I was there. Hathaway proves she is not just a pretty face but also a talented actress. The rehearsal dinner scene, I was uncomfortable & nervous, on the edge of my seat, waiting for a total Thanks to the style of filming, it was almost like I was there. Hathaway proves she is not just a pretty face but also a talented actress. The rehearsal dinner scene, I was uncomfortable & nervous, on the edge of my seat, waiting for a total meltdown. The dishwasher scene was totally unpredictable and after seeing the film last night, I'll be going to see it again tomorrow and maybe at the end of the week. Jonathan Demme has done it again, better dust off your Best Director speech for the Oscars!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DWillyOct 10, 2008
Oh, my GOD, what a bad movie. I love down and dirty low budget movies (Once and Celebration are two of my all time favorite films). This gave me an eye ache, a taste ache and I finally had to run from the theater; aghast at what the hell all Oh, my GOD, what a bad movie. I love down and dirty low budget movies (Once and Celebration are two of my all time favorite films). This gave me an eye ache, a taste ache and I finally had to run from the theater; aghast at what the hell all those good reviews could have been based on. Maybe it was the appearance of reality, jammed as it was with unattractive non-actors jostling in front of a berserk hand held camera; plus the: "Oh, look, Anne Hathaway isn't wearing any makeup!" daringness of it all. Yech and yech. See Margot At The Wedding instead, please. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AlexP.Oct 12, 2008
Ordinary People becomes Dave Chapelle's Block Party. Starts as a high wasp melodrama where a brother's drowning death is the source of the main character's fucked-uppedness. And the repressed Connecticut family shows itself to Ordinary People becomes Dave Chapelle's Block Party. Starts as a high wasp melodrama where a brother's drowning death is the source of the main character's fucked-uppedness. And the repressed Connecticut family shows itself to be kinda dysfunctional. And then, when we sense Kym might just make it, you get the reception after party with the three-acts-too-many of musical guests. Those are harsh words--but I have to be harsh because if you go to this movie thinking it's The Celebration, or an Altman-y masterpiece, you will be disappointed. What it is is a better-than average movie for adults with a lot of fine actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanLNov 28, 2008
A note to reviewers: They are critics for a reason. And you are not for the same reason. Get an education. Maybe then you could understand that EVERYTHING that a director includes in a film is there for a reason. Don't be so quick to A note to reviewers: They are critics for a reason. And you are not for the same reason. Get an education. Maybe then you could understand that EVERYTHING that a director includes in a film is there for a reason. Don't be so quick to shove everything off. And don't call these people "yucky". Some of us have families who have gone through similar things. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
stevesNov 30, 2008
This could have been an interesting movie about the trials of an addict coming out of rehab contrasted with a happy family event, her sister's wedding. Instead, the director decided to make a movie about a wedding with some small This could have been an interesting movie about the trials of an addict coming out of rehab contrasted with a happy family event, her sister's wedding. Instead, the director decided to make a movie about a wedding with some small portion of the drama about the conflicts between the druggie and the family. A real disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinA.Nov 6, 2008
If you like your films realistic, this is the one for you. It doesn't serve the lowest common denominator by explaining everyone's history and intentions. Instead it respects the viewer (or observer as the case seems to be). And If you like your films realistic, this is the one for you. It doesn't serve the lowest common denominator by explaining everyone's history and intentions. Instead it respects the viewer (or observer as the case seems to be). And the pacing and subtlety are perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LindacOct 18, 2008
I have never done this before but I think this movie has made me change my ways! This was the WORST movie I ever paid money for! From the first min to the last min of this movie I just wanted someone to just kill me! The dish washer part of I have never done this before but I think this movie has made me change my ways! This was the WORST movie I ever paid money for! From the first min to the last min of this movie I just wanted someone to just kill me! The dish washer part of the movie come on get real now please I cant believe you would spend that much time in a part of the movie that was so not needed!!! If I could get my $29.00+ and the 2 hours of my life back I would still not be happy for the fact that other people are going to go see this movie....Please send this to back bottom shelf of no mans land so we can all forget about this movie!..... Thank you for your time Linda Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BillBOct 18, 2008
Lousy! This movie tries to be human and touching, and forces us to care about Kym, the angry, cynical drug addict daughter who I hated. Why was she a drug addict? And did I have to see a movie about her whining and temper tantrums - a Lousy! This movie tries to be human and touching, and forces us to care about Kym, the angry, cynical drug addict daughter who I hated. Why was she a drug addict? And did I have to see a movie about her whining and temper tantrums - a crescendo is when she accuses her mother of causing the film's central crisis (I won't reveal it) then slaps her - what stupid melodrama. You know nothing about her, or anyone else, just that they live in another one of those Charming and Beautiful New England Houses (like the one in As Good as it Gets) filled with not so charming or beautiful people. Oh, and Rachel is getting married in an over the top liberal, Interesting wedding that turns the film into a music video. Total bore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlanM.Nov 8, 2008
It's certainly possible to make an interesting film about nast ypeople. This film however is not that. If I was at a party with these people, I would find an excuse to leave and be out at the first chance, Not since Lost In Translation It's certainly possible to make an interesting film about nast ypeople. This film however is not that. If I was at a party with these people, I would find an excuse to leave and be out at the first chance, Not since Lost In Translation has such a bad movie gotten such good reviews.. Uninteresting, nasty people. Uninteresting nasty movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JackieNov 9, 2008
We walked out of the film after Kym confessed at her meeting that she was responsible for the death of her Brother. A film that was dark, depressing and not entertaining. Is the public so stupid to put up with the lack of excellece of plot, We walked out of the film after Kym confessed at her meeting that she was responsible for the death of her Brother. A film that was dark, depressing and not entertaining. Is the public so stupid to put up with the lack of excellece of plot, writing and just plain bad films? Dysfuntional families? No, dysfunctional Hollywood. Pathetic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillyS.Nov 9, 2008
Connecticut. Home of the multi-racial, socially diverse, polically correct American family. yeah, right! I need re-hab to if my family was that perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JosephF.Oct 23, 2008
Enormous downer. not entertainment. would not have chosen this film going in.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MariaK.Oct 25, 2008
I simply decided to copy Linda C's coment since it so accurately represents my feelings and those of the three people who went with me to watch it. This turned out to be the longest and most boring film I have ever seen...I also know I simply decided to copy Linda C's coment since it so accurately represents my feelings and those of the three people who went with me to watch it. This turned out to be the longest and most boring film I have ever seen...I also know that the people who sat next and around me felt the same way since I could hear their snoring through the show!! ""I have never done this before but I think this movie has made me change my ways! This was the WORST movie I ever paid money for! From the first min to the last min of this movie I just wanted someone to just kill me! The dish washer part of the movie come on get real now please I cant believe you would spend that much time in a part of the movie that was so not needed!!! If I could get my $29.00+ and the 2 hours of my life back I would still not be happy for the fact that other people are going to go see this movie....Please send this to back bottom shelf of no mans land so we can all forget about this movie!..... Thank you for your time"" Maritza K. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DroogDroogOct 27, 2008
A surprisingly excellent film. The actors don't act like actors and this movie doesn't even feel like a movie. It's more like an experience -- and a fully realized one at that -- and with all its awkward speeches, family A surprisingly excellent film. The actors don't act like actors and this movie doesn't even feel like a movie. It's more like an experience -- and a fully realized one at that -- and with all its awkward speeches, family hysterics, and quiet joy, there is a real humanity captured on film here. First rate stuff. Do yourself a favor and see this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewP.Oct 29, 2008
The most accurate movie ever made about the reality of being newly sober. Additionally, it was a realistic look at a family. Great film. Best of the year so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FantasyOct 31, 2008
How anyone can like this movie is beyond me? I was about to throw up at the bridal dinner when guest after guest made stupid toasts. This movie meandered along at a snails pace. After an hour I had had enough and walked out. I could care How anyone can like this movie is beyond me? I was about to throw up at the bridal dinner when guest after guest made stupid toasts. This movie meandered along at a snails pace. After an hour I had had enough and walked out. I could care less about any of the characters. Watching paint dry is more entertaining this endless turmoil. I think the critics are mad. Enough said. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KellyS.Jan 12, 2009
Simply engaging.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LawrenceP.Jan 24, 2009
Scripts a little clunky in spots but overall RGM makes you wish there was an Oscar for ensemble work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LinLJan 27, 2009
If you see this movie for Anne Hathaway's performance -- and understand that she's taking a break from being the winsome princess -- you won't be too disappointed. "Ordinary People" it's not (very perceptive of someone to If you see this movie for Anne Hathaway's performance -- and understand that she's taking a break from being the winsome princess -- you won't be too disappointed. "Ordinary People" it's not (very perceptive of someone to bring that up) but it's an interesting, colorful place to spend a couple of hours (though the wedding scene does go on and on and on). One thing I haven't seen mentioned is that physically, Hathaway does not look as if she could be part of this family -- her face, complexion, features don't with with them at all. Careless casting, or was this on purpose for the obvious reasons?? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HannaS.Feb 10, 2009
I loved this movie- the characters, the tension, the exuberance of the wedding. Anne Hathaway and the supporting actors were magnificent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DanD.Feb 15, 2009
I had no interest in these self-absorbed characters. There was nothing compelling or interesting about them at all, and the film just congratulates their pomposity. If you enjoy watching random wealthy strangers' wedding videos, then I had no interest in these self-absorbed characters. There was nothing compelling or interesting about them at all, and the film just congratulates their pomposity. If you enjoy watching random wealthy strangers' wedding videos, then you might enjoy this, but I didn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndreaB.Feb 2, 2009
This was like one, long form acting class exercise and an embarrassment for all involved. I kept thinking that there might be an epiphanal moment, which was the only reason we didn't walk out. Not even a glass of wine could ease the This was like one, long form acting class exercise and an embarrassment for all involved. I kept thinking that there might be an epiphanal moment, which was the only reason we didn't walk out. Not even a glass of wine could ease the boredom and pointlessness of this waste of film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayL.Feb 24, 2009
Just a fantastic film, although admittedly not for everyone. Reminded me of the Danish film "Festen".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
jacksfilmblog.blogspotFeb 3, 2009
Director Jonathan Demme and his cinematographer Declan Quinn do a great job creating the atmosphere of a real wedding video. The whole film is shot in a hand-held, home-movie style, with characters often acknowledging the camera and Director Jonathan Demme and his cinematographer Declan Quinn do a great job creating the atmosphere of a real wedding video. The whole film is shot in a hand-held, home-movie style, with characters often acknowledging the camera and sometimes the other cameras in the room even getting in the shot. However, this style is often at odds with the random bursts of melodrama that Jenny Lumet Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LadoR.Mar 20, 2009
Without a doubt the worst film I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayH.Mar 8, 2009
It's certainly well acted, especially by Anne Hathaway and Debra Winger. Terrific and convincingly made story. Not very cheery, but movies on dysfunctional families rarely are. Well photographed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LoganWApr 12, 2009
Horrendous mess of a movie without a single redeeming character. In short: a group of the rich and clueless stage a wedding; ennui ensues. Reasons to hate these people? The lead character, despite selfishly having committed manslaughter, is Horrendous mess of a movie without a single redeeming character. In short: a group of the rich and clueless stage a wedding; ennui ensues. Reasons to hate these people? The lead character, despite selfishly having committed manslaughter, is still a self-centered, self-destructive twit. The wealthy but dim yuppie scum have an Indian-themed wedding, even though no actual Indians are present, of course The only pale highlight is the few moments of song by Robyn Hitchcock, who deserves better. I kept fantasizing that a Terminator would show up and hose the whole cast with machine-gun fire, But if that had happened, then this movie would not serve its real purpose as time-served in Purgatory. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarkLApr 16, 2009
Demme should not be allowed to make another movie, amatuerish, boring and plain bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MatthewApr 18, 2009
I have a headache now. One of the most overrated movies I have ever seen. WOW. I learned nothing and I certainly was not entertained. Cry me a river.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TimGApr 2, 2009
I had high expectations for this movie, but I was extremely disappointed. If you want to watch two hours of whining by two women, this is the movie for you. I thought there would be more substance to this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DougMApr 4, 2009
A string of over-indulgent unrealistic characters. A story with no punch. Dull. Lifeless. The director should be slapped.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RogerMApr 7, 2009
Worst movie in the history of movies. The favorable newspaper reviews only prove why the average person puts very little faith in what those critics have to say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KaiFMay 12, 2009
I wanted to give it a 9, but after reading all the comments i finally gave it a 10. It's kind of uplifting that this movie got so many mixed responses, but still i could't really understand why. Then i read a comment about how this I wanted to give it a 9, but after reading all the comments i finally gave it a 10. It's kind of uplifting that this movie got so many mixed responses, but still i could't really understand why. Then i read a comment about how this is the most overrated movie since Lost in Translation. I think this says it all. There are three types of reviewers. 1. Who totally hated it 2. Who totally hated it but at least recognized the great acting 3. Who totally loved it. I think the first two groups of people got astray in their local big commercial cinema because the title stood next to those of the standard Hollywood production...best family drama i have ever seen and i have seen it twice, because it was not a second boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnSMay 24, 2009
15 minutes in and I knew renting this looked like a mistake. 30 minutes in and I stopped watching. Yet another example of a movie loved by critics and panned by those of us who just want to enjoy a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PatDJun 27, 2009
An implausible piece of liberal, PC rubbish. Thumbs up for some of the acting performances, a shame it was all for naught in this stinker. Interesting merely as a study of what's wrong with America: neurotic, dysfunctional, nihilistic, An implausible piece of liberal, PC rubbish. Thumbs up for some of the acting performances, a shame it was all for naught in this stinker. Interesting merely as a study of what's wrong with America: neurotic, dysfunctional, nihilistic, delusional. Oh, and all that violin playing was very annoying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
marlacAug 2, 2009
I should have listened to the viewers - where did i read this was a good movie? YUCKO! way too contrived - OMG this was horrible - too much talking - no action - what a bad soap opera.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KathyONov 11, 2008
Dull, dull, dull - much of this film had no relevance to the plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KeithC.Nov 12, 2008
Despite revolving around a happy occasion, this is a real downer. This movie is really about Rachel's younger sister Kym, who is a walking time bomb ready to throw a tantrum at the drop of a hat. She is a neurotic chain-smoker and Despite revolving around a happy occasion, this is a real downer. This movie is really about Rachel's younger sister Kym, who is a walking time bomb ready to throw a tantrum at the drop of a hat. She is a neurotic chain-smoker and recovering drug addict. With her nervous laughter and cynical tongue, she does everything to steal the spotlight away from rachel's big day. This low-budget, dramatic train wreck seems totally unscripted. The constantly moving hand-held camera jiggles and shakes. it simulates turbulence from a bumpy airline flight. there are several dull and boring stretches with bland characters not worth caring about. The speeches and toasts around the dinner table seem to be made up on the spot ad-libs. The pervasive background music is irritating and sounds worse than chalk on a blackboard. The movie resorts to a dishwasher loading contest for excitement. The movie is unsettling and uncomfortable to sit through. it could not end soon enough for me. the movie provides a heavy dose of reality portraying life as complicated, painful and messy. A better alternative than this poorly edited, homemade wedding video is to rent "Four Weddings and a Funeral." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LaurenN.Nov 15, 2008
Raw. Organic. Dark. Voyeristic. Hathaway's performance is nuanced and brilliant. The rest of the cast are also very natural. Filmed in a documentary style, the viewer feels as if s/he is the cameraman. Admittedly, it takes a while to Raw. Organic. Dark. Voyeristic. Hathaway's performance is nuanced and brilliant. The rest of the cast are also very natural. Filmed in a documentary style, the viewer feels as if s/he is the cameraman. Admittedly, it takes a while to get used to the hand held camera work and dark grainy quality of the film. It doesn't take long to realize though, that that is part of what makes the film work. This is not a film for people who want heavy plot and action. It is a character study and an extremely well done one at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnS.Nov 22, 2008
The very person you'd try to avoid in everyday life is force fed to you with no relief - a cinematic water torture aimed at the masochists among us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
agnesNov 23, 2008
Think of your worst nightmare. Then be prepared to walk into a theater and try to keep your eyes open. This is as boring as it comes. You care nothing for any of the characters. There isn't a score low enough to properly rate this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanHNov 25, 2008
I was reminded of the horror classic that had the tagline "Keep telling yourself it's only a movie..." Rarely has a drama made me this uncomfortable. Perhaps THE consummate dysfunctional family drama. Yes, the wedding itself drug on too I was reminded of the horror classic that had the tagline "Keep telling yourself it's only a movie..." Rarely has a drama made me this uncomfortable. Perhaps THE consummate dysfunctional family drama. Yes, the wedding itself drug on too long, and it seemed a little unrealistic how things went from complete emotional chaos for most of the movie to peace, joy and group hugs the day of the wedding, but still a great piece of filmmaking. Anne Hathaway and Rosemarie Dewitt are locks for Oscar nominations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
seanmNov 28, 2008
Self-important and meandering. Wastes some wonderful ingredients by focusing too much attention on the vacuum that is supposed to be a plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BerndH.Nov 8, 2008
A circus. Much of it was incoherent. Terrible music. If not for the very pretty Ann H. I would have walked out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnitaNov 8, 2008
This was absolutely the WORST movie my husband and I have ever seen!!!! I was literally fighting to keep my eyes open...FYI we went to the matinee...not a night time showing. The camera work was awful...very shaky ...hence my headache! The This was absolutely the WORST movie my husband and I have ever seen!!!! I was literally fighting to keep my eyes open...FYI we went to the matinee...not a night time showing. The camera work was awful...very shaky ...hence my headache! The shaky camera work kind of started off like that Blair Witch movie! The plot was just dreadful, the 2 main characters were unbelievable as an engaged couple. There was no chemistry between the 2 in our opinion! Please please save your money! DO NOT BOTHER SEEING THIS FARCE OF A MOVIE!!!! We finally had to follow suit and leave a third of the way through...just as THE MANY MANY theater goers did BEFORE of us that morning!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
A.LaurenDec 1, 2008
What an overrated piece of garbage! The director and screenwriter could not make up their minds as to who the protagonist was; consequently, we the audience members are left to witness a disorganized flailing of life drama, dragged out over What an overrated piece of garbage! The director and screenwriter could not make up their minds as to who the protagonist was; consequently, we the audience members are left to witness a disorganized flailing of life drama, dragged out over multiple unnecessary hours. What astonishes me the most is the fact that so many reputable newspapers have given such high marks to this film. It'll make me think twice before trusting their advice again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffHOct 22, 2008
I am sympathetic to those who give this film a bad review, and who walked out feeling terrible. We all have stress and dysfunction in our families, why pay to see this stuff? And yet, I have to say on reflection, this is one of the best I am sympathetic to those who give this film a bad review, and who walked out feeling terrible. We all have stress and dysfunction in our families, why pay to see this stuff? And yet, I have to say on reflection, this is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Why? The level of reality Demme achieved, as if you were actually watching real people, is astounding. The lived in feel of the house and the random friends all felt very genuine. And the nuanced performances of almost everyone in the film are to be applauded. I can't say I enjoyed this movie, but I was fascinated throughout, and thrilled by seeing something truly unique. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EvanC.Oct 25, 2008
An exasperating movie. When it was good, it was great, but then there would be long sections that should have been left on the cutting room floor. The acting was superb, and Hathaway's playing of the narcisstic recovering addict was An exasperating movie. When it was good, it was great, but then there would be long sections that should have been left on the cutting room floor. The acting was superb, and Hathaway's playing of the narcisstic recovering addict was excellent. But there were times when I kept looking at my watch wondering when it was going to be over. And the music was incredibly irritating. I felt like Kym in saying, "Stop. No more." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
michaelw.Dec 9, 2008
I concede that the film is a tad self-indulgent in terms of length, dramatic past events, and cloverfield-style shakiness; but, the moments that work are exquisite, heartbreaking, and real. To watch the film is to attend a wedding. This I concede that the film is a tad self-indulgent in terms of length, dramatic past events, and cloverfield-style shakiness; but, the moments that work are exquisite, heartbreaking, and real. To watch the film is to attend a wedding. This family becomes your family for 2 hours. Their heartache becomes your heartache. Their joy is yours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JeremyKOct 13, 2009
Extraordinarily disappointing as I had built up some confidence in David Edelstein - who incredulously called this myopic misfire a "masterpiece" - but find myself utterly underwhelmed by this amateur-hour soap opera dresssed up as an edgy Extraordinarily disappointing as I had built up some confidence in David Edelstein - who incredulously called this myopic misfire a "masterpiece" - but find myself utterly underwhelmed by this amateur-hour soap opera dresssed up as an edgy indie film. There is no doubt some craftiness to the direction and use of ensemble acting - but what a soulless cheeseball of a movie. We despise all the characters (sometimes guilting them by association) and the way the over-the-top antics of the main characters who are of so little consequence, not only to each other, but to the detriment of the viewers curiosity about - what happens next? "Who are these people and who cares?" is a more appropriately realistic intuition. A nauseating exercise in watching an out of touch director portray a cliched dysfunctional family, peppered with all the usual (only more agonizing to sit through) drama and squabbles while you get the distinct feeling that on and off screen, this group couldn't be more stuffed with themselves in their self-congratulations - as though something even remotely worthwhile had been fashioned. They're wrong and it's 2 hours of your life you'll never recover. I suppose it earns a four because of the intensity of my disdain for this film (much the same intensity of dislike I had for Paul Haggis' "Crash"-- that must be worth something, mustn't it? This my friends is a film made by and for the fat, happy and utterly ignorant.(Oh, and that's an expression, not an attack on the overweight). Skip it or see it and let the gagfest begin.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BobFOct 17, 2009
Very good acting and, I suppose, a good look at a family in distress. Too long and too many scenes that drift into meaningless wastes of time. The good is outweighed by the boredom. OK at best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesD.Jan 25, 2009
I have my favorite types of movies,but, always have an open mind to just about any movie so long as it is entertaining. Having said that, I would have been better served sitting home in a closet, reading the phonebook for two hours rather I have my favorite types of movies,but, always have an open mind to just about any movie so long as it is entertaining. Having said that, I would have been better served sitting home in a closet, reading the phonebook for two hours rather than wasting two hours of my life sitting through this! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RO.Jan 31, 2009
First, let me say that Rose Mary Dewitt is every bit as good as Anne Hathaway. Nevertheless the movie is every bit as excrucitaing as most weddings. If Demme was out to irritate us, he exceeds all expectations. Only when the 2 actresses were First, let me say that Rose Mary Dewitt is every bit as good as Anne Hathaway. Nevertheless the movie is every bit as excrucitaing as most weddings. If Demme was out to irritate us, he exceeds all expectations. Only when the 2 actresses were squared off was the movie mildly believable - the rest of it is just a mess. Stay home and watch paint dry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful