United Artists | Release Date: November 14, 1980
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 444 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
308
Mixed:
23
Negative:
113
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MosesR.Jul 2, 2006
The greatest biopic of all times....the portrayal of Jake La Motta could not have been done by anyone besides De Niro.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredS.Oct 8, 2005
Arguably the greatest movie of the past thirty years. Many critics regard this film as probably the last "great achievement" in American cinema...and for good reason. DeNiro is Oh-My-God good as Jake LaMotta. The film is both hard to take Arguably the greatest movie of the past thirty years. Many critics regard this film as probably the last "great achievement" in American cinema...and for good reason. DeNiro is Oh-My-God good as Jake LaMotta. The film is both hard to take and beautiful to look at, which is probably why so many people nowadays have a hard time watching it. A single frame of this film has more depth than the last four "Best Picture" winners put together. Quite an accomplishment on Scorsese's part. An American masterpiece. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Mr.HankeyApr 22, 2006
This goes as one of Scorcese's classics along with Taxi Driver. Yes it is violent in a boxing way and an abusive way but still you will find superb directing and one of the best performances Deniro has ever given to the screen. Deniro This goes as one of Scorcese's classics along with Taxi Driver. Yes it is violent in a boxing way and an abusive way but still you will find superb directing and one of the best performances Deniro has ever given to the screen. Deniro does a fine job of playing Jake LaMotta because he really captures LaMotta as a jealous and as I said before abusive man. By the end of the movie you realize that you may have sat through one of the greatest 80's movies of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewH.Jun 23, 2006
Required viewing for anyone who likes movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimJJul 21, 2007
Just brilliant. One of my favorites. I also love the critical comments from Dave Kehr of the Chicago Reader. You have to wonder at some point if he questions his taste.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
othosticeJun 30, 2008
I lived in Chicago when Kehr was the critic for the Reader. He hated EVERYTHING that wasn't subtitled. What a pretentious little twit. Where is he now? Blogging and writing a column on DVDs for the NYT. If you hate the classics, no one I lived in Chicago when Kehr was the critic for the Reader. He hated EVERYTHING that wasn't subtitled. What a pretentious little twit. Where is he now? Blogging and writing a column on DVDs for the NYT. If you hate the classics, no one takes you seriously after a while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewS.Nov 17, 2005
Stunning. Brilliant acting performaces from Dinero and cast, ex movie duringcellent directing, and cinematography. Pause the during beginning scenes in the Bronx. They are beautiful stillshots.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JamesMNov 19, 2005
One of the greatest films of all time? Certainly not. But what it attempts to do it does well: it has magnificent cinematography, brutal boxing scenes, relationship disputes, and of course you feel out of breath and exhausted when it is all One of the greatest films of all time? Certainly not. But what it attempts to do it does well: it has magnificent cinematography, brutal boxing scenes, relationship disputes, and of course you feel out of breath and exhausted when it is all over. But it fails in a nuber of areas, such as the pacing and, like all Scorcese movies, it doesn't quite know what it wants to focus on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattH.Apr 18, 2006
Martin Scorsese's ultimate masterpiece. Quite simply the greatest American film ever made, featuring the greatest performance in the history of cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MikeFeb 15, 2008
I liked the beginning, but then it became soooo boring!! I bought the movie because I "heard" it was soooo great. What a waste!
1 of 7 users found this helpful
10
ArkonBladeOct 26, 2010
Fantastic acting and a interesting story about jake lomatta a boxer from the old days of boxing . its a rise and demise story from lomaata's beginings to his fall . the guy certanly led a interesting life and deniro and peci really bringFantastic acting and a interesting story about jake lomatta a boxer from the old days of boxing . its a rise and demise story from lomaata's beginings to his fall . the guy certanly led a interesting life and deniro and peci really bring thoose charicters to life . the black and white look to the film really gives it that 50's era feel to it. if you like films based on true storys this is deffinitly a must see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
1966ZodiacJul 10, 2011
This movie SUCKED!! I'm sorry I'm totally going against the crowd on this one. It's boring & long and it felt like a chore watching it. I really wanted to like it. I really tried, but you know what if a movie is really that good (according toThis movie SUCKED!! I'm sorry I'm totally going against the crowd on this one. It's boring & long and it felt like a chore watching it. I really wanted to like it. I really tried, but you know what if a movie is really that good (according to critics)why should you try to like it? Man I freakin hate this movie. ALL boxing movies are better than this crap Rocky 1-6, Million Dollar Baby, and The Fighter are MUCH better. I know why the critics love this movie because it's bold and so vastly different from any other film. You know what that's very true. It is bold and vastly different, but in a VERY BAD way. (semi-spoiler) It's literally just about a douchebag boxer. He doesn't go though a change or journey or anything it just shows his life. He beats his brother & wife. He cusses alot. He kisses an underage girl(well she really didn't look underage) and the movie literally just ends in a random spot. I don't even care about the real story now because he was such a douche.However, he wasn't like an awesome villain douche or anything. It's not like he was the Joker,Hannibal Lecture, or Darth Vader. He was simply a douche that I didn't care about, and wasn't interested in. This movies overrated and people are just saying it's a masterpiece to follow the trend. Well F**k that. Eff this movie and Eff what the critics say. I respect peoples opinions, and if you like this movie fine. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions. Just don't annoy me about it to watch it because I did and it was a terrible waste of my time. Expand
3 of 15 users found this helpful312
All this user's reviews
8
ERG1008Aug 24, 2010
Martin Scorsese's biopic of boxing champion Jake La Motta.
Robert De Niro is outstanding playing the insecure, paranoid & not particularly pleasant La Motta. With the later scenes after La Motta had retired, it's hard to believe this is still
Martin Scorsese's biopic of boxing champion Jake La Motta.
Robert De Niro is outstanding playing the insecure, paranoid & not particularly pleasant La Motta. With the later scenes after La Motta had retired, it's hard to believe this is still De Niro playing the same character as the transformation is so good.
Joe Pesci is very good for his portrayal of Joey La Motta, Jake's brother.
The fantastic music is also definitely worth an extra point for the great way in which it was used.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Justinavery7074Mar 15, 2011
One of the all time greatest movies. I can't find a goddamn thing that's wrong with this. I'll say that this is better than "Goodfellas" or "Taxi Driver"
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
LondonTrueloveNov 8, 2010
Yet another vastly overrated "classic". The whole time Lamotta is just being a meathead with a terrible temper. I'm a huge De Niro and Scorsese fan (Goodfellas, Casino), and that's why I gave it the 3, but I just don't get why people overhypeYet another vastly overrated "classic". The whole time Lamotta is just being a meathead with a terrible temper. I'm a huge De Niro and Scorsese fan (Goodfellas, Casino), and that's why I gave it the 3, but I just don't get why people overhype this film so much? I will say this though, De Niro does a great job of making you hate Lamotta. Expand
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
6
TokyochuchuApr 22, 2014
I have watched and re-watched Raging Bull many times. And everytime I do, I walk away from the film wondering why it's held in such high regard. Then I convince myself that I must be missing something and I go back watch it again. RinseI have watched and re-watched Raging Bull many times. And everytime I do, I walk away from the film wondering why it's held in such high regard. Then I convince myself that I must be missing something and I go back watch it again. Rinse repeat. I love Scorsese and DeNiro but for whatever reason, Raging Bull feels like a kitchen sink drama with boxing sequences. Maybe this film will forever be a mystery to me. Oh well... Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
crazJun 15, 2011
This is one of the greatest movies ever made starred by the great Robert De Niro....all the quotes used in this movie are absolutely fantastic! Joe Pesci's acting was perfect....love this quote : 'if u win, u win, if u lose, u still win!'
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KazuoMay 24, 2011
Intense Movie, brilliant De Niro, but sometimes story writing is a bit weak................................................150 characters, there you go
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaApr 1, 2012
A stunning film that you will rediscover every time you see it. Robert de Niro also gives the best performance of his career. The fight scenes in the film are the best boxing scenes of any film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JPWenzelJul 8, 2012
A great movie, directed to the point of perfection, the acting was great and the movie felt very real to me, the one problem i had was not with the directing or acting, but with the production. The black and white hurt my eyes and made itA great movie, directed to the point of perfection, the acting was great and the movie felt very real to me, the one problem i had was not with the directing or acting, but with the production. The black and white hurt my eyes and made it hard to tell what was what, but it is a movie I recommend to anyone asking Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJan 10, 2014
Brilliantly acted and directed as expected, but it felt like something was missing. I can tell why this one is a classic, but there was something off about this, which bugged me a bit, but not a ton. One of the best sports films for sure andBrilliantly acted and directed as expected, but it felt like something was missing. I can tell why this one is a classic, but there was something off about this, which bugged me a bit, but not a ton. One of the best sports films for sure and definitely deserving of the praise it has received. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MawsonAug 4, 2012
Wonderful movie, an absolute classic. I can't quite give it a ten (that score is reserved for the absolute masterpieces), but it comes close, very close. De Niro and Pesci are mesmeric, beautiful and flawless performances that captivate andWonderful movie, an absolute classic. I can't quite give it a ten (that score is reserved for the absolute masterpieces), but it comes close, very close. De Niro and Pesci are mesmeric, beautiful and flawless performances that captivate and enthral from the first moment to the last. This should be seen by everybody, its about as good as modern film making gets. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DollisOct 16, 2012
Best movies I've seen in this year is Looper and batman the dark knight rises ,my all time favorite movie's are The Godfather (1972) .Taxi Driver (1976). Carrie (1976). Scarface (1983). GoodFellas (1990) . Raging Bull (1980) .Casino (1995)Best movies I've seen in this year is Looper and batman the dark knight rises ,my all time favorite movie's are The Godfather (1972) .Taxi Driver (1976). Carrie (1976). Scarface (1983). GoodFellas (1990) . Raging Bull (1980) .Casino (1995) there masterpiece movies, what i don't like are the silly remakes why a new carrie movie ? this is the 4th movie carrie the made it's just stupid ,Sissy Spacek and Piper Laurie are absolutely perfect ,they both got Oscar nominations out of it, for God sake! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Raging Bull is the best boxing movie ever made, even better than 'Rocky.' I do; however, use the term 'boxing movie' loosely, as both 'Raging Bull' and 'Rocky' are character studies.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
EsaiSouzaNov 26, 2012
One of the finest films of it's decade or any decade. Martin Scorsese painted not only a pretty picture but a beautiful and profound one as well. When I see this movie my breath is taken by the masterful acting ability of the great Robert DeOne of the finest films of it's decade or any decade. Martin Scorsese painted not only a pretty picture but a beautiful and profound one as well. When I see this movie my breath is taken by the masterful acting ability of the great Robert De Niro. This is sure to make you hate but pitty him at the same time. Breathtaking just pure genius. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
9
SwatiDec 14, 2013
Raging Bull is not so much about boxers as it is about the everyday life of them. In this case, Jake LaMotta is an insecure piteous brute of a man who knows no better. He does not inspire admiration as athletes in other sports might. TheRaging Bull is not so much about boxers as it is about the everyday life of them. In this case, Jake LaMotta is an insecure piteous brute of a man who knows no better. He does not inspire admiration as athletes in other sports might. The story is not about someone getting somewhere, but about the experience itself, with all the highs and lows, and the final decline.

The plot follows two brothers as they see good and bad times together as the elder LaMotta challenges this boxer and that during the 1940s. The Mafia who runs the show always seems to have a hand in everything and keep the belt out of his grasp. Jake's obsessive behaviour toward his wife Vickie also makes up the major part of the plot. Her every gesture and remark is taken out of context and exaggerated beyond reason.

Robert De Niro tackles yet another complicated character for his friend Scorsese. Jake is a whack job who aims big but doesn't know how to present himself. Joey LaMotta (Joe Pesci), Jake's brother, is his manager. He is also short on temper but at least he's sane enough to recognize the importance of keeping up appearances and does his best to keep his brother's public image intact. Joe Pesci does a decent job portraying him as a tentative over-shadowed little brother who has accepted his place and goes along with the occasional bullying until it's too much.

Jake never seems to fully accept his good fortune of getting it on with his sweetheart Vickie (Cathy Moriarty), who he suspects of cheating at every turn. This suspicion threatens everything in his life. At first you might feel sorry for what he has to go through but as his family begins to suffer by his maniac outbursts, you can't help but be sympathetic to everyone but Jake.

Vickie seems without emotion at first but as time passes some hints of her humanness pass through the filter. Moriarty does a splendid job in making her a sympathetic character even in the middle of the endless hints at her infidelity. She plays her with a laid-back, subtle approach, and feels plastic at times until she shows her quirks occasionally. I admired her greatly, and felt like if a woman carried herself like this, she is bound to have her man, or men in general, follow her around like puppies.

Shot in black and white, the picture evokes a time when this was the standard. All the details to bring the 40s to life are captured perfectly_ the bars, clubs, cars, dresses and so on. The cinematography was a stroke of genius.

Raging Bull is not a sports drama. Actually, after the first few fights are shown, seldom is time spent inside the ring. We witness more of Jake's life outside in the world, where he is not hidden under a guise and has to fend for himself. The movie never attempts to explain how Jake became like he did. Scorsese trusts us to derive our own meanings. He just shows us the scenes of violence, love, family and then moves on to the next scene. His touch is light and imperceptible, yet his signature is all over it.

But unlike his other movies where everything sort of explains itself, I feel like this lacked the cohesiveness of his other works. Scorsese was successful in portraying the experiences of sudden fame and wealth and its effects but it was too vague for me to feel anything. Apart from a few scenes between the brothers which brought me close to tears, other times I just didn't feel anything at all.

Raging Bull may be more liked than Taxi Driver, but in my opinion it was too ambitious and failed at some level. Goodfellas is where Scorsese eventually succeeded in getting everything in precisely the right amount as they are needed to make a film work. Whether the movie worked perfectly or not is immaterial in the wake of De Niro's performance, and this movie should be watched just for that.The Academy finally recognized his talent and commitment and awarded him the Oscar for Best Actor.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moviefan1980sJun 12, 2013
This is my favorite Martin Scorsese film, along with "Goodfellas". Robert De Niro delivered a powerful performance of real life middleweight boxer Jake LaMotta. Whoever doesn't like this film has problems.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SEROJOct 19, 2016
For me.. the story was promising but ended up being nothing special! Great acting though (deserved oscar for DeNiro) , but on personal level - i wasn't impressed at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticOct 25, 2013
The epic sports drama. Martin Scorsese's magnum opus, and Robert De Niro's as well. His performance is starkly authentic and amusing and all of the positive aspects of an actor put together. 'Ordinary People' is completely overrated.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysFeb 16, 2014
Raging Bull isn't Scorcese's best work, not by far. Considering this was his fifth feature film, it wasn't bad, but for a director like Scorcese we know he can push the limits. But Raging Bull just stayed in the sidelines and never fully gotRaging Bull isn't Scorcese's best work, not by far. Considering this was his fifth feature film, it wasn't bad, but for a director like Scorcese we know he can push the limits. But Raging Bull just stayed in the sidelines and never fully got in the ring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews