Ratatouille

Ratatouille Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 1201 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Despite his sensational sniffer and sophisticated palate, Remy's dreams of becoming a chef seem hopeless due to one small detail--he's a rat! Through a twist of fate, he ends up in the world-famous restaurant of his late hero, Auguste Gusteau. With a dash of culinary courage and the help ofDespite his sensational sniffer and sophisticated palate, Remy's dreams of becoming a chef seem hopeless due to one small detail--he's a rat! Through a twist of fate, he ends up in the world-famous restaurant of his late hero, Auguste Gusteau. With a dash of culinary courage and the help of garbage boy Linguini, Remy whips up exquisite meals that impress even the nasty chef Skinner and food critic Anton Ego. Together they conquer the kitchen and prove that big dreams can come true no matter how small you are. [Disney] Expand

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    100
    The subtle colors and textures of the food alone make Ratatouille a three-star Michelin evening.
  2. 100
    A nearly flawless piece of popular art, as well as one of the most persuasive portraits of an artist ever committed to film. It provides the kind of deep, transporting pleasure, at once simple and sophisticated, that movies at their best have always promised.
  3. Brad Bird and Pixar recapture the charm and winning imagination of classic Disney animation.
  4. 91
    Hilarious. And more proof that Pixar is in a class of its own.
  5. 88
    What makes Ratatouille such a hilarious and heartfelt wonder is the way Bird contrives to let it sneak up on you.
  6. 75
    Has the sort of richness and dimension that are the hallmarks of master storytellers at work.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 302
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    Let me just say that I hate and have no respect for Patton Oswalt whatsoever for reasons I'd rather not discuss. But watching this movie, ILet me just say that I hate and have no respect for Patton Oswalt whatsoever for reasons I'd rather not discuss. But watching this movie, I could easily forget he's the voice of Remy, becuase I loved everything about this movie. As always Pixar, great job! Collapse
  2. MarcusM.
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    Superb animation, entertaining characters and a fresh plot.. a fantastic, feel-good movie that brings joy to even the coldest hearts!
  3. John
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    What can you say about a masterpiece? This movie draws your attention from the start and takes you along for a wild ride. It is easily one of What can you say about a masterpiece? This movie draws your attention from the start and takes you along for a wild ride. It is easily one of the best animated movies I have ever seen (which is saying a lot when you compare it to 'The Lion King'). Do yourself a favor and see a classic in the movie house with your family. And if you don't have a family, sneak in behind one. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of Pixar's best movies yet. Remy the rat wants to become a chef and his dream comes true when he accidentally ends up in Paris and and discovers a 5-star restaurant. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    This film is a cinematographic masterpiece, comprising all the key elements of feel-good fun. Inspirational and delightful in its transmittingThis film is a cinematographic masterpiece, comprising all the key elements of feel-good fun. Inspirational and delightful in its transmitting of the key messages which are cleverly interwoven into a thoroughly entertaining plot, the lovable characters simply slot perfectly into place, telling the unusual though very original story in true Disney style. Expand
  6. AndyM.
    Jun 30, 2008
    8
    It's a good movie, a really good movie, in fact. But was it as good as Finding Nemo? As good as Wall-E and the other Pixar classics? It's a good movie, a really good movie, in fact. But was it as good as Finding Nemo? As good as Wall-E and the other Pixar classics? Perhaps, but not nearly as memorable. This movie just felt like... another. I can't find anything wrong with it, really. I can find things wrong in the other memorable Pixar films, but... those films had an air of charm and awe to them, which this unfortunately lacked. It may be the best reviewed of the Pixar movies, but not the most memorable in the slightest. And since I gave Wall-E a 9 and it was better than this, I have to give this one an 8. Expand
  7. AlexL.
    Apr 5, 2008
    0
    I hate this movie.

See all 302 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far)

    The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far) Image
    Published: February 11, 2016
    Check out our lists of the best (and worst) movies of the century so far, ranked by Metascore overall and in a variety of genres.
  2. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?
  3. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.