User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 46
  2. Negative: 15 out of 46

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2012
    3
    Why do movies so bad, absurd and ridiculous? It is so bad that I laughed at her at the movies! This very poorly made. It's funny until the 20 th minute, after those 20 minutes seemed to have run out of budget or who bought the script in a flea market.
  2. Sep 7, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers. Ok, the first movie was good, have some mistakes but have this little touch that do that people have much scare moments, after we watch REC 2, and have other mistakes, but happen the same case, and now [REC] 3: Genesis, and what happen? Is an awful movie, don't have the same style that the other two [REC] movies had, the result of this movie is a big disaster, have much comic moments -or the move is really bad, and I'm laughing ?- the trama have a potential for be an amazing movie, but the development is really terrible. The performances are bad, extremly bad. [REC] 3: Genesis is the worst chapter of this saga. Collapse
  3. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    rec 3 was the best out of the series, where the first two were all about realism, this just wants to be entertaining, scary, blood-soaked, body-strewn gorefest, it succeeds on a monumental level, there is an adequate development of the two main characters, this is set on their wedding day after all... but it is genuinely creepy, and when she pulls the chainsaw out and stands there like 'BRING IT, MOTHERF***ERS!!!' that is the most badass moment i've seen all year... Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2012
    7
    Recº3 Genesis could be a better movie compared to the first one and the second one that are true masterpieces of the spanish horror genre. This movie is not a serious film, is just a zombie picture for laugh and see blood. There are things that are sutpid like the Sant jordi's joke... not funny at all.
  5. Oct 3, 2012
    5
    Yes it's a sub-standard zombie film with many flaws and it doesn't feel like Quarantine to me. It seems now more of a random spanish film that has zombies in it and was slapped with the name Quarantine. The only thing I can really give this movie is a 5 just because it did keep me slightly interested but in the end, this film suffers from very low scares, plain-to-dull acting and the same ending we've seen for the last few films. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2012
    0
    This movie is a joke, the first one and second at least tried to be more matured and serious about the whole "infected genre", REC 3 is like 100 movies out there with nothing to offer. There is no story, the acting are just laughable, poor dialogue this movie is so ridiculous that at some point some actors use medieval armour, my god!! Total garbage.
  7. Oct 6, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a disappointment ! The first movie of the saga left me breathless. It had well constructed action, a good choice of the style with the camera, and some story behind... the second one kept up and added a couple of details... but this one is a complete failure and a joke. B movie (or Z) exuding all over. Predictable, without style, and no story at all when it is supposed to be the genesis. Seriously this is the genesis ? But one thing above all: you have to maintain a criteria and stick to it the entire film, if the zombies can run and be fast, then be it !! What you cannot do is make them slow and clumsy whenever it suits you, that's called cheating. There's is laws and science in all that zombie stuff or I believe so. Expand
  8. Oct 23, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. you basically watch this movie because A)the first two were awesome and B) there is a bride with a chainsaw on the cover. Well it doesnt follow the same style as the first so that is disapointing and there is only one scene involving the chainsaw the movie is a bit of a let down. There isnt much else to recommend about this movie besides that one scene and maybe the ending.....hopefluly they learn from their mistakes. Expand
  9. Oct 28, 2012
    2
    This movie is no real rec movie. It sucks in so many ways. No motion sickness camera style in a rec movie?! This is a really bad trashmovie with some very good splatter-effects. Okay and it has rec in the name.
    I loved the frist rec but this one sucks a lot mot than rec 2.
  10. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    Awesome First Person View Horror Movies. Must watch on Netflix or DVD. Enjoy the cast and the production. Great CGI. Not sure why there is always hate for these type of films; seems that most review user reviews are from non horror zombie fans.
  11. Dec 1, 2012
    4
    I really cannot understand why the director of the (Rec) series would want to take it's reputation of being one of the few remaining and well respected zombie horror movie series and butcher it with this awful movie. Honestly it's the same quality as a crappy straight to dvd zombie movie. They made so many dumb changes with this entry. It's the first entry to not use the found footage, and whether or not that's a huge flaw will depend on personal preference, I'm personally tired of that now overused style, but would gladly take it back if it will bring the next movie back to it's horror roots. It's not the least bit scary or serious. Zombies in the previous (Rec) movies were extremely fast, in this their slow and clumbsy taking away sense of fear. The movie is also filled with what I believe to be attempts at humor, but are so stupid they wont even make you chuckle. I was frequently thinking to myself "Really? Did they really just put that into this movie?". (Rec) 3: Genesis destroys what was once a good Zombie series. To the other fans out there just skip this and pray the announced 4th movie avoids being anything like this peice of crap. But hey I do jave to give them credit for putting in a decent love story in there, but seriously though still avoid and keep those good memories of (Rec) 1 & 2. Expand
  12. Sep 10, 2012
    4
    Do not say that the film was one of the best in its triology, but had a lot of things in which I was not happy, as for example, the camera on hand which was replaced by a film common, there is no sense "genesis" because I have not seen any explanation for a start, the first two movies are better, not just look at this.
  13. Sep 8, 2012
    8
    REC 3 departs from the well established REC formula of a handheld camera and replaces it with a standard cinematic experience. Whilst this removes any hope of horror that the film may have wanted it brings REC 3 into its own niche in the series. Clara and Koldo are as any couple should be, madly in love. However when the infection as seen in the previous films enters their wedding reception it becomes a fight for their lives and a very well written romance film rather than a horror. This may put some fans and potential fans off it but if you overlook the massive change of heart it has and how well implemented it is you begin to see it not as a REC film but as something that wants to be its own thing. The only gripe I have with the film is that it does have handheld bits then franticly interchanges between the cinematic and handheld at one point in the film and also it is too blood soaked, removing the sense of realism the first 2 films had. REC 3 is a romance film with zombies, not a horror film. Expand
  14. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    Clara and Koldo will never forget their special wedding day, especially after a deadly contagion transforms their wedding guests into a pack of flesh-eating monsters! [●REC] 3 kicks things off with the same familiar format, using a variety of vantage points that are being filmed from several hand-held devices. As soon as the wedding is crashed, however, there is an immediate shift in style to a more traditional form of filmmaking that comes as quite a shock. This allows series creator Paco Plaza more freedom as he packs tons of black humor and outrageous gore into this blood-soaked sequel. Where [●REC] placed its aims on realistic shocks and terror, [●REC] 3 owes much more to the works of Sam Raimi and Peter Jackson when it comes to splatter. Instead of tossing a bouquet, Clara spends her wedding night hacking up guests and lopping off heads with her trusty chainsaw. Leticia Dolera and Diego Martín make an entertaining pair, as both are able to play up the comedy as well as the horror in equal measure. In addition to the subtle ques that are dropped throughout the opening, we also catch background glimpses of news footage that as it is being recorded from the quarantined building across town, intricately linking this to the two previous films. While the jarring difference in tone may surprise fans, [●REC] 3 is entirely enjoyable in its own right, and a welcome addition to the series. -Carl Manes
    I Like Horror Movies
    Expand
  15. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    Es un poco truño de peli, pero para una precuela esta bien :) deberian de mejorar muchas cosas, pero bueno menos mal que con la 4 pelicula de esta saga se acaba y va a ser similar a la primera :D
  16. Feb 20, 2013
    5
    I'm not gonna slaughter this movie nor I'll advice against watching it but you gotta know that this isn't anything like the first 2 RECs. It's more like a parody. A gory darkly humorous slasher movie with a couple of links with the previous REC movies. To be clear I do like gory movies. I like blood. Bodies being chainsawed in half and brains being splattered over walls. But I was expecting a movie like REC 1 and 2. It started off pretty interesting. It somehow felt relieving being out of that dusty apartment. Cheering people celebrating at a wedding party. Chaotically filmed with a handycam again. You'll love it or you'll hate. I love it. But what I hated was the fact that after about 15 minutes the handy-cam was put down. Right at the moment I got ready for the expected rollercoaster ride. Bam. Bye REC. To me the strength and charm of the previous REC movies was the realism. To me the effect is being destroyed by turning it into a "regular" movie. If only the movie would have had a totally different title and had nothing to do with the previous movies i'd probably like it. But as a REC movie I think it kinda sucks. I didn't mind watching it and I did have a laugh so now and then, but those moments where overwhelmed by opposite reactions. Expand
  17. May 19, 2013
    2
    Rec (1) and Rec 2 were scary.
    But this one is really not.
    Why is it just sometimes a found footage movie?
    It's just a trashy slasher, with some funny moments.
  18. Aug 1, 2014
    7
    Antes de ver [REC] 3: Genesis, no tenía muchas expectativas, después de haberla visto no me había gustado mucho, pero luego empecé a pensar que la película no fue mala, de hecho al contrario, fue buena.
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    Sep 7, 2012
    88
    [REC] 3 Genesis is a prequel to the first two "[REC]" movies, but that doesn't much matter. You don't need to have seen them to enjoy this film, which provides fresh blood for a tired genre.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Sep 6, 2012
    40
    With slapstick smothering the scares, [REC 3] is further marred by a plot in which the muted Catholicism of its antecedents is turned up to full blast.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Sep 6, 2012
    20
    It's the same-old flesh-chewing. Like vampires, this genre is getting deadly.