Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: November 21, 2012
4.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 173 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
51
Mixed:
45
Negative:
77
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
5
notlawMay 1, 2016
Over all didn't feel to bad about this movie. I didn't see the original so i cant comment there but hemsworth does a decent job at acting the part given the circumstances and hutcherson has a moment or two the rest of the cast take em orOver all didn't feel to bad about this movie. I didn't see the original so i cant comment there but hemsworth does a decent job at acting the part given the circumstances and hutcherson has a moment or two the rest of the cast take em or leave em especially whoever plays hemsworths brother in the movie shell of a actor. the story itself isn't that great but have definitely seen worse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Jan 13, 2016
While it does have its inherent flaws, it proves to be much better than the original...

Watch this movie online http://www.watchfree.to/watch-1d9e0d-Red-Dawn-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
GentM2015Jun 10, 2015
I don't think that this movie is as bad as some critics say but that doesn't mean that it's good either.It gets convoluted most of the time and some of the acting is pretty much terrible.The action if you can call it that way it's not goodI don't think that this movie is as bad as some critics say but that doesn't mean that it's good either.It gets convoluted most of the time and some of the acting is pretty much terrible.The action if you can call it that way it's not good and in the end this remake is just another reason to hate what Hollywood are doing with the old films just for some money,they are destroying the movie industry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SkyrimGuy935Feb 20, 2015
Quite possibly the definition of an unnecessary remake. The original wasn't all that great either, but this movie is just terrible. The acting and dialog are both underwhelming, the characters are massively underdeveloped, and the effectsQuite possibly the definition of an unnecessary remake. The original wasn't all that great either, but this movie is just terrible. The acting and dialog are both underwhelming, the characters are massively underdeveloped, and the effects still look like they're stuck in the 1980s. The only reason this gets a 3/10 is for the mildly entertaining action. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TGDROXFeb 16, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If Red Dawn was the first episode of a mini-series, it would be awesome and I would watch all other 5 episodes. It introduces so many plot points, such as the black kid's father being a sellout, the black kid having a tracking chip in him, the Korean general who threatened to handle things himself, and the huge opportunity for Josh Peck's character to evolve from a whiny, completely unlikable wanker in to a strong, inspiring and competent leader of the Wolverines.

But it isn't.

Would you build half of a bridge?
Would you cook your food halfway?
Would you sleep in half of a bed?
Then why does Red Dawn have only half of a story?

None of those intriguing plot points are ever resolved.

When (spoiler) Chris Hemsworth's character gets killed, I honestly thought "There's no way Josh Peck and Josh Hutcherson can carry the rest of this movie."

Their characters hadn't developed at all.

Josh Hutcherson's character flip-floped all over the place, one minute puking at the sight of a dead body and the next minute robbing a Subway. Not an underground train, which would be B.A., it was the sandwich chain that he robbed.

Josh Peck's character had no redeeming qualities. He was irresponsible and had gotten people killed because he was so stupid. It would be interesting to see how he had to adapt and step up and grow as a person, having to take his brother's place.

I highly doubted that the two as actors could keep me interested in the movie to the end. But I was interested to see how well they could carry the rest of the movie.

But they didn't carry it. The movie was over. Their characters would never develop. The plot would never be resolved. The story would never be finished.

It wasn't an artistic, creative swerve that left you refreshed and intrigued. It was lazy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
tylerdurden1Nov 25, 2014
Where do I start?!?! Simply awful casting for every role, especially for the role of Matt. Not one character flowed or was even close to resembling the characters originally portrayed in the first version. They took certain parts that hadWhere do I start?!?! Simply awful casting for every role, especially for the role of Matt. Not one character flowed or was even close to resembling the characters originally portrayed in the first version. They took certain parts that had value in the 1st flick like the hunting just as an example that was one of many and devalued it. The main enemy is the ultimate slap in the face though....North Korea has opened a can of whup ass on the U.S. and it's laughable to the point of hysterics. What a total waste of time, wish I never took the time to watch it. Some movies you should just leave alone and never re-do and this was one of them....Can't be PC and make a movie like this work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Nov 23, 2014
I never saw the original film, but I know that the enemies have changed from the Russians to the Koreans in the remake which shows the progression of America over the years. This is a movie for teenagers considering the are so many youngI never saw the original film, but I know that the enemies have changed from the Russians to the Koreans in the remake which shows the progression of America over the years. This is a movie for teenagers considering the are so many young people involved. Chris Hemsworth was badass in this remake, I really enjoyed watching him. It also has an unexpected ending that you will never see coming. Red Dawn is definitely underrated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Red Dawn" 10 Scale Rating: 4.5 (Mediocre) ...

The Good: Despite the silliness, I was entertained through portions of it. It isn't a realistic movie at all, but the actors did a decent enough job with what they were given ... The Bad:
"Red Dawn" 10 Scale Rating: 4.5 (Mediocre) ...

The Good: Despite the silliness, I was entertained through portions of it. It isn't a realistic movie at all, but the actors did a decent enough job with what they were given ...

The Bad: ... but they weren't given much. I can only suspend belief so far before a film becomes inadvertently humorous. While the original became a cult classic, this one is mostly forgettable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
chwAug 22, 2014
Red Dawn was a terrible remake. Hiring young actors who only whisper and mumble is a terrible choice, and re-hiring for other movies (Battle of the Year) is worse.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tvchicano07Jun 30, 2014
Best movie ever. However North Korea is its own enemy by oppressing and enslaving its own people. I loved the action in this movie even though it is different from the original it is still awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FilmVirtueFeb 15, 2014
I thought "Red Dawn" had enough Guns, violence, frustration and heroic attributes to be like the original--but that's the only reason. The acting was terrible. In fact the only acceptable acting done in this movie had to be by Hemsworth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
heychrisfoxFeb 8, 2014
This movie was almost entirely unintelligible. It felt like watching a typical action movie on fast forward the entire time. Any form of realism or plot did not exist. There was so little time for any acting due to the immensely fast pace ofThis movie was almost entirely unintelligible. It felt like watching a typical action movie on fast forward the entire time. Any form of realism or plot did not exist. There was so little time for any acting due to the immensely fast pace of the story that the fact that actors were even hired for the roles is a miracle. Even with a wealth of subject matter to draw from with the original story as a launching pad, this movie failed so dramatically that it should win awards to better encapsulate how poor of a job it did. The best moments were the opening credits It was all downhill from there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGoer14Jan 26, 2014
Why people are bashing this movie? I bought Red Dawn the night before, and I found it pretty decent, it falls apart throughout, but it is actually a decent watch, I enjoyed it, it was entertaining and exciting, not perfect in any sense. oneWhy people are bashing this movie? I bought Red Dawn the night before, and I found it pretty decent, it falls apart throughout, but it is actually a decent watch, I enjoyed it, it was entertaining and exciting, not perfect in any sense. one dimensional characters, not really convincing but for what it is, it is a B popcorn movie to not be taken seriously but only for fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheWaffleDec 16, 2013
This was a much better movie than people give it credit for. Every review seems to have completely missed the obvious overtones referencing the war in Iraq.

This movie introduces far more conflict in the audience than the original. The
This was a much better movie than people give it credit for. Every review seems to have completely missed the obvious overtones referencing the war in Iraq.

This movie introduces far more conflict in the audience than the original. The original was purely propagandistic in its treatment of the 1984 USSR. This edition, set against the historical backdrop of the insurgency in Iraq and Afghanistan, makes the audience feel much more conflicted about the actions of an American insurgency.

Contrary to all the complaints about North Korea as the enemy (every review seems obsessed with arguing that the US is too tough to be taken down by North Korea, which is the mentality that the opponent exploits in the movie) this movie succeeds because it doesn't harp on the details of the enemy, because the enemy is secondary to the personal struggle of the characters.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
khutchNov 7, 2013
You can not believe what is thrown in your face, even if it is a film, where imagination has no limits, the idea sounds so shallow and misguided. You are not convinced at any time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
bryce7454Nov 6, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was by far way worse then the first red dawn which was ok but this one was horrible North Korea or whatever countries would have ha pretty hard time invading America. Also one military soldier could would not train wimpy civilians that have absolutely no discipline to be better than US special forces.
And how could the chinese and North Koreans not take out like 7-10 guys with ponds of C4 plastic explosives that they some how easily stole?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheQuietGamerSep 27, 2013
It's mildly entertaining and highly unrealistic. I've never seen the original so I can't compare it to this remake. I can say that it can be entertaining at times but overall the odd casting choices and emotional moments that fall short bringIt's mildly entertaining and highly unrealistic. I've never seen the original so I can't compare it to this remake. I can say that it can be entertaining at times but overall the odd casting choices and emotional moments that fall short bring the experience down. Still it can be worth a watch just for the decent yet unrealistic action sequences that are packed with explosions. The cast does a good job but the only character that feels like they belong in a movie like this is Chris Hemsworth. Seeing Josh Peck and Hutcherson take down numerous Korean soldiers better than a squad of fully trained marines is more than a little unbelievable. Still the movie is watchable, so if you have nothing better to do then there are worse things to watch in your free time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oblique15Aug 31, 2013
I liked this movie, but it was a bit annoying how easy they take over everything. If you can get past all of that and not take the movie to serious it can be fun. I do think they should not have made it about some teens. It would be muchI liked this movie, but it was a bit annoying how easy they take over everything. If you can get past all of that and not take the movie to serious it can be fun. I do think they should not have made it about some teens. It would be much better with Grown men. It`s not as bad as some people are saying it is, most people just seem to give a movie a 10 or 0 they know nothing in between. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
kane148Aug 23, 2013
I don't know why Chris Hemsworth always ends up in bad movies, but this is another one. Way too much teen/young adult angst, cliches, and hollow characters. Honestly, most of the people in here I couldn't have cared less about, nor do II don't know why Chris Hemsworth always ends up in bad movies, but this is another one. Way too much teen/young adult angst, cliches, and hollow characters. Honestly, most of the people in here I couldn't have cared less about, nor do I remember them a day later. The story doesn't make any sense either, because by the end of the movie I still couldn't figure out why the hell there was an invasion in the first place, nor why an army which could defeat the US military couldn't kill a couple kids... Thankfully the action scenes are tolerably good, but overall there's too little fighting and way too much whining. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
VyrasJul 28, 2013
A solid movie that could have been so much better. The characters are not particularly interesting and it did not have as epic of a feel as it could have.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
leonardoshaneJul 23, 2013
This movie isn't completely awful but it has quite a few flaws. For example the script for the movie kills off people that seem like the best characters, and it was one of the worst endings in a movie that I have ever seen. But the overallThis movie isn't completely awful but it has quite a few flaws. For example the script for the movie kills off people that seem like the best characters, and it was one of the worst endings in a movie that I have ever seen. But the overall movie is o.k, it doesn't spend too much time in character development, it's action packed, and the plot was pretty good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Patrick94Jun 8, 2013
This is just a really boring movie. I wasn't going in expecting anything other than a bad movie, but even with that mindset this movie disappoints. Not even worth a rental. Absolute waste of time and money.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Forrestgump1Jun 4, 2013
"As a huge fan of the original, If you can put aside all the cheesy, corny acting of our leads, chances are your going to like this new take on the classic film. Its intense, exciting and builds up huge momentum on its original. I know i'm a"As a huge fan of the original, If you can put aside all the cheesy, corny acting of our leads, chances are your going to like this new take on the classic film. Its intense, exciting and builds up huge momentum on its original. I know i'm a wolverine." B+ Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
UtopianStuffMay 30, 2013
Okay, it's no secret that "Red Dawn" is not loyal to the original "Red Dawn," but that does not make the new one bad. Yes, a remake was unnecessary, but the movie was pretty legit as far a remakes go. It has the same premise and it did itOkay, it's no secret that "Red Dawn" is not loyal to the original "Red Dawn," but that does not make the new one bad. Yes, a remake was unnecessary, but the movie was pretty legit as far a remakes go. It has the same premise and it did it well. What I took away from the movie is the execution, which was a mess. But I guess I still liked the movie a bit so I'll be nice and give it a positive rating, because I'm just a sucker like that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
VibroKnifeMay 28, 2013
Whoa. Was this a joke? I couldn't tell have the time if the makers were trying to be serious or not. The movie goes way too fast. At one point, the narrator literally says 2 sentences on how their group is training over the span of what isWhoa. Was this a joke? I couldn't tell have the time if the makers were trying to be serious or not. The movie goes way too fast. At one point, the narrator literally says 2 sentences on how their group is training over the span of what is supposed to be weeks in 2 minutes. There is NO attention to detail here. There is no way you could cram such a epic idea in a hour and a half movie. The characters were unlikable and forgettable. I don't remember any names. At all. It was clearly rushed to make some cash. Perhaps the worst part of the movie is pretty much the ending where the narrator quotes the worst sequel baiting I have ever heard in my life. He pretty much simmers down and gives a big emotional speach on how they will fight back and take their homeland after weaksauce of battles. You really just have to see the ending to believe how bad this movie was pushed out for a quick buck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TheZebraMay 3, 2013
When I saw the trailer, my first thought was "oh God, not this, anything but this!" I decided to go and see it anyway, and I was right. A good 80's film was born again as a cheap, and just plain boring film riddled with corny and overusedWhen I saw the trailer, my first thought was "oh God, not this, anything but this!" I decided to go and see it anyway, and I was right. A good 80's film was born again as a cheap, and just plain boring film riddled with corny and overused plot elements. Please, just watch the original film and let the new one stay in the Best Buy value bin. That's where it should remain. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
hoops2448Apr 23, 2013
Remakes are all the style now as if Hollywood has run out of things to say so here is Red Dawn, a modern day remake of a 70s cold war paranoia picture. Back then the idea Russia could descend the world into darkness was very real and now itsRemakes are all the style now as if Hollywood has run out of things to say so here is Red Dawn, a modern day remake of a 70s cold war paranoia picture. Back then the idea Russia could descend the world into darkness was very real and now its the same with North Korea, oh wait, no it isn't. The film follows a group of survivors of a full scale invasion of suburban America by the North Koreans (I am honestly not joking). This group must band together and start a campaign of guerrilla warfare to take back their neighborhood and their country. (yet again, I am not joking) I really should have hated Red Dawn more than I eventually did. Don't get me wrong, I still pretty much loathed it. The cast is filled with miscast actors or just plain dreadful ones but it also has a few pretty great ones. For instance Chris Hemsworth is the right kind of charming/brooding to play former soldier Jed although Josh Peck is just horrendous as his hot headed (which he plays as constipated) brother Matt. Adrianne Palicki seems to be making a thing of the whole action woman thing but has had to wait a good 2 years for her two action films to be released after being held back for years. However she entertains as tomboy Toni although Isabel Lucas irritates and infuriates as her sister Erica. A pre Hunger Games Josh Hutcherson is in the film but I honestly cannot say anything about him because his presence isn't memorable. The main problem is that there is a borderline decent film hidden beneath the bad acting and illogical story that was changed as not to irritate the Chinese (the Chinese that were never going to see the film in the first place) as if they hadn't heard of a story before. The main draw of Red Dawn is the fact it is directed by Dan Bradley, a stunt coordinator who understands what makes good action as he has proven in the Bourne films he has worked on. The action is never short of fantastic from the opening invasion to the final showdown in a taken over police station. Its visceral and honestly some of my favorite action in a while, its that good. It's shocking that a film with this caliber of effects and stunts is let down by an idiotic plot change late into production and some woefully bad acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mrmonsterApr 14, 2013
Like "War of the Worlds", with aliens replaced by North Korea. This is a truly awesome movie with an original story, great action, and lots of twists and turns that make this movie impossible to turn off. Awesome, truly awesome.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
J_Thom123Apr 6, 2013
O.k. so in this version of Red Dawn in lieu of an actual powerful, adversarial nation like during the Cold War the United States is instead invaded by a country with less then half the GDP of the poorest US State and roughly the population ofO.k. so in this version of Red Dawn in lieu of an actual powerful, adversarial nation like during the Cold War the United States is instead invaded by a country with less then half the GDP of the poorest US State and roughly the population of Texas. This vast gulf in military power and funding is offset slightly by having China and Russia help out North Korea; which doesn't make much of a difference since the US Military has more equipment then the next 13 largest militaries...combined, and most of them are our allies. Of course they could get few actual Koreans to act in this movie, so the "North Korean" army looks more like the "Peoples Republic of Greater Asia", which in retrospect would have made a much more realistic storyline. Beyond the horrible plot that serves as a perfect example of the kind of paranoia that's driving our nation to bankruptcy spending untold billions on a gigantic military, the movie does do two things rather well. First, the comparison between the Wolverines and the insurgents fighting the US and the North Korean invasion force proclaiming that it wants to "save" America make the movie an excellent walk in "the other sides" shoes, essentially saying: "this is what it feels like to Iraq, Afghanistan, etc." The second thing which it does well are explosions. They are done very well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
molemaster43Apr 6, 2013
I was surprised by this movie. I thought it was pretty entertaining. It isn't amazing, but it certainly isn't as bad as the critics make it out to be. I felt that this movie had lots of exciting action sequences that were both crazy withI was surprised by this movie. I thought it was pretty entertaining. It isn't amazing, but it certainly isn't as bad as the critics make it out to be. I felt that this movie had lots of exciting action sequences that were both crazy with effects and very suspenseful. This is a touchy subject, but I felt that this movie was an exciting, inspiring movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews