Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 11, 2011
4.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 143 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
37
Mixed:
41
Negative:
65
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
Kellkel1Mar 19, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Worst movie i had seen since "The Fog". The lead had absolutely no chemistry with her counter parts. The dialog was horrible, the screen shots were jagged, the celebration reminded me of a village full of inbreed villagers set in Mardi Gras. The villians were laughable as villians... the cruelty was over the top & seemed faked. The best part of the movie was when Gary Oldman died (I guess everyone is facing hard times in this economy)... as his character gave me a headache.

I was actually on the side of the wolf... kill all the stupid, inbreeded town people... they bring the stupid curve to a whole new low. Amanda Seyfreid was the best thing in this movie (which believe me is not saying much) but her character shows no emotion & I had a tough time seeing the evil side that they tried to focus on. During the movie I actual googled the listing time to see how long I was required to be tortured by this movie... the 12 year olds l took w/ me liked it... but this movie - which had the making to be a cult classic fell so short of anything worth watching.

I want my money or time back from this movie.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
PapaCheeseMar 14, 2011
I'm one of those people that finds a way to like if not love 9 out of 10 movies. That said, RRH is that 1 out of 10: the Stinker...just a weird and stilted film that never finds its footing. One of the funkier things about the movie isI'm one of those people that finds a way to like if not love 9 out of 10 movies. That said, RRH is that 1 out of 10: the Stinker...just a weird and stilted film that never finds its footing. One of the funkier things about the movie is that it has the trappings of a period piece where you expect the characters to have at least a little bit of British accent, but they all end up talking like your standard modern American (with the exception of Gary Oldman who overacts--or maybe it just seems likes he overacts b/c the other actors barely are acting). Visual, Design and Costumes were cool... especially RRH's deep red Hood/Cape contrasting with the cool colors. Bottom Line: Amanda Seyfried's beauty saves the movie from being a zero. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
BartMar 12, 2011
If you are a teenage girl that thinks the Twilight series is art and the best thing ever, or that the Justin Biber movie was great, then you may like this film. Otherwise, it is a steaming pile of werewolf poo. What a waste of time, withIf you are a teenage girl that thinks the Twilight series is art and the best thing ever, or that the Justin Biber movie was great, then you may like this film. Otherwise, it is a steaming pile of werewolf poo. What a waste of time, with bad acting and bad CGI effects. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
1
hollyvMar 18, 2011
Amanda Seyfried is, visually, perfectly cast as Red Riding Hood... and was the best acting in the film. I don't know what Gary Oldman was thinking when he took on this project. Did he lose a bet? Either way, Grandma, what lame acting! IAmanda Seyfried is, visually, perfectly cast as Red Riding Hood... and was the best acting in the film. I don't know what Gary Oldman was thinking when he took on this project. Did he lose a bet? Either way, Grandma, what lame acting! I found myself rooting for the big bad werewolf... and wondering why, despite living in a snowy mountain village, no one ever wore a coat. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
heyitsmegrif4Dec 21, 2011
You should watch it and expect to like it because of its premise Who is the Wolf but really besides Amanda Seyfried's amazing a just hot performance it is a waste of time and ends up being completely stupid. I give this movie 14%.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
0
mrdmMar 13, 2011
The real title of this movie should be "The Twilight Saga continues: Red Riding Hood". The movie is blandly filmed as independent feature with a few epic shots here an there. By here and there I mean, the beginning and end of movie. LessThe real title of this movie should be "The Twilight Saga continues: Red Riding Hood". The movie is blandly filmed as independent feature with a few epic shots here an there. By here and there I mean, the beginning and end of movie. Less than talented acting cast, a storyline where the director says to himself " it doesn't matter if it's confusing, let's focus on the cheap love triangle". Poor graphics. The guessing game of "whose the wolf" is marvellously praised. However, it falls flat as a movie that makes up it's story along the way. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
BadsniperJul 23, 2011
This movie has very little to go on; It's not scary, or funny, and it has a plot that is forgettable. The characters were unimaginative; the story was fallible. There are other, better movies to be watched.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
shrineApr 7, 2011
Why? Oh, why they have to make movies like this? I was hopping to see a Red Rinding Hood story filled with horror and slaughter of villagers.. and what did I get? A love triangle and stupid plot although Grandma was kind of creepy. The bestWhy? Oh, why they have to make movies like this? I was hopping to see a Red Rinding Hood story filled with horror and slaughter of villagers.. and what did I get? A love triangle and stupid plot although Grandma was kind of creepy. The best thing about this movie is that it was pretty funny. Maybe the scene where Red is talking with the Wolf telepathically would be nominated for MTV 's Best WTF? moment. As lame the movie is I can find one thing that is pretty usual in all Medieval times villages: there is Always an Idiot. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
MsrysnnobJun 18, 2011
I guess there is no way I can use the rating system here when you have people admittedly saying the movie was just alright but not have anything really good to say about it, but then giving it a 9 or 10. This movie was a disaster and evenI guess there is no way I can use the rating system here when you have people admittedly saying the movie was just alright but not have anything really good to say about it, but then giving it a 9 or 10. This movie was a disaster and even though Amanda Seyfriend is in it, is not a good enough reason to rate it high. That is not a true review. She is a very limited range actress, and while has done a couple of good things, she really can't due dramatic roles with the depth they require. A really good actress can sometimes do something good with the character despite crappy writing and wierd animals flying around. I suppose it is young people who keep saying they like this crap and therefore will never get anything better..what a shame. Filmaking in the last decade has hit it's lowest point. The continual dumbing down of american youth. *sigh*.I'll stick to the older character and dialogue driven oldies. I don't need a lot of bells and whistles to keep my attention. I can have deep thoughts about a good plot and find entertainment in that, as always. I am so glad I was born in the 50's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
lala303Apr 10, 2011
Bad editing, bad acting, bad directing, and bad writing all amounts to a waste of money. If you're looking for a good movie, you are definitely in the wrong place. It's a shame to think that a good plot would be ruined like this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Khunter4382Jul 18, 2011
Interesting score, but that is about it. With a very talented cast, that talent never shows itself, and this film nearly falls into B-movie status. It is just as corny as cornbread casserole! The whole thing is just odd, unrealistic, andInteresting score, but that is about it. With a very talented cast, that talent never shows itself, and this film nearly falls into B-movie status. It is just as corny as cornbread casserole! The whole thing is just odd, unrealistic, and choppy. Easily one of the worst films of the decade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MechMarineJun 23, 2011
Twilight with a new skin. I am divided on if this is a movie or purposely insulting to the original story from Grimm. Same topic of being in love with a monster that should be eradicated if they ever appear. Same topic of a slut being theTwilight with a new skin. I am divided on if this is a movie or purposely insulting to the original story from Grimm. Same topic of being in love with a monster that should be eradicated if they ever appear. Same topic of a slut being the protagonist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Edward9630Jul 23, 2011
Red Riding Hood is an ok film. The wolf scenes in the film are pretty cool. My problems with this film is the fact the title is misleading. The Red Riding Hood I heard in my childhood was nowhere near what this movie was. I couldnt reallyRed Riding Hood is an ok film. The wolf scenes in the film are pretty cool. My problems with this film is the fact the title is misleading. The Red Riding Hood I heard in my childhood was nowhere near what this movie was. I couldnt really care about the characters or who lived or die and the film is just boring. I would say see this film if you want but for me i wouldnt watch this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
AkkharAug 19, 2011
What the hell ? They just ruined the classic fairy tale ! they wanted to made another twilight !!! Twilight sucks and this sucks 3 times more then that ! Only positive thing i found was the Village set ! but other then that nothingWhat the hell ? They just ruined the classic fairy tale ! they wanted to made another twilight !!! Twilight sucks and this sucks 3 times more then that ! Only positive thing i found was the Village set ! but other then that nothing works...Nothing ! They ruined the classic story , To the Director "Never do one thing over and over again" , Acting was so bad ! Amanda tried but failed and the director wanted to make 2 more "Edward" in this movie and guess what like Robert they should also take acting lessons . i had only hope in Gary Old-man but i think it was his worst acting job ever .

Story : .3/2 [Ruined the classic]
Directing : .4/2 [Stop thinking about twilight]
Acting : .3/2 [There are a lot of people who can act . take them]
Sound : 8/2 [only two of then were good]
Edit & Effect : 1.2/2 [like the village set]

OVERALL : 3/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
RodrigoBGCOct 15, 2011
Only one thing was good in this film and his name is Gary Oldman, everything else is a crap, Amanda Seyfried must stop acting, every movie she does is a ****
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Alexander_FredDec 31, 2011
Catherine Hardwicke, the same director who directed the utterly terrible Twilight, takes a beloved children's fairy tale and mutilates it so that it becomes a tiresome and tedious medieval soap opera filled with talking werewolves. The actingCatherine Hardwicke, the same director who directed the utterly terrible Twilight, takes a beloved children's fairy tale and mutilates it so that it becomes a tiresome and tedious medieval soap opera filled with talking werewolves. The acting is lackluster at best with Amanda Seyfried leading the pack of bad performances. The makeup design was horrible with the female and male actors all dolled up as if they had the luxury of twenty-first century cosmetics. The score is nothing to brag about and the dim lighting used in all scenarios prohibited this film from becoming at all emotionally impactful. The only saving grace is the twist ending, which then soils itself with the defecation of the final ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Mad_Hatter91May 23, 2013
Red Riding Hood is a 2011 horror film directed by Catherine Hardwicke. Valerie is a beautiful girl in love with Peter but his parents want him to marry Henry. Valerie and Peter are planning to run away but in the meantime Valerie's sister isRed Riding Hood is a 2011 horror film directed by Catherine Hardwicke. Valerie is a beautiful girl in love with Peter but his parents want him to marry Henry. Valerie and Peter are planning to run away but in the meantime Valerie's sister is killed by a werewolf. This will cause the arrival of his father Solomon, and will begin a monster hunt.
Amanda Seyfried in the role of Valerie is very convincing and this shows his talent as an actress. Even Gary Oldman in the role of father Solomon makes no exceptions. The problem is that the cast is not able to identify with the role and large flaws, the plot full of cliches avoidable, the tension is not felt at all and too many similarities with the Twilight saga (the girl fought over by two men, the appearance of the werewolf etc
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
spomposelloJul 27, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Grimm fairy tales have always been ripe for adaptation, but unfortunately, the people behind "Red Riding Hood" seemed to have overlooked this. http://spomposello.hubpages.com/hub/Movie-Review-Red-Riding-Hood-2011 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MegWhiteleyMar 29, 2012
I remember when I watch the trailer of Red Riding Hood, I think, a new twilight, but with other characters?, really?, after I watch the movie, and I say: This is a new Twilight version but with other characters, terrible, is ugly, a disaster.I remember when I watch the trailer of Red Riding Hood, I think, a new twilight, but with other characters?, really?, after I watch the movie, and I say: This is a new Twilight version but with other characters, terrible, is ugly, a disaster. All this words be the better to describe Red Riding Hood. The cast is very regular, Amanda Seyfried not is a great actress, but have her moments, but in Riding Hood, no, is horrible, with a same face of Stewart on Twilight, and the rest of the cast, really? have a horrible performances, and do a boring movie. Now the screenplay, have good intentions, but really? the father is the wolf? what happen?, is a terrible idea. Now do this classic tale like a horror film, or poor intent or horror movie is bad. I think that the movie have some good (but no excellent effects), the screenplay terrible, horrible performances, and the final do of Red Riding Hood one of the worst films of the last year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
AutiTakahashiJul 13, 2012
So this is what you get when you insert the Twilight characters into a children's fairy tale. "Red Riding Hood" is a wannabe horror movie starring dumb and lifeless teenagers who are tremendously drunk with hormones. Alcohol may produceSo this is what you get when you insert the Twilight characters into a children's fairy tale. "Red Riding Hood" is a wannabe horror movie starring dumb and lifeless teenagers who are tremendously drunk with hormones. Alcohol may produce better behaviors.

The setting is a medieval village in the woods. A girl named Valerie stands out from the crowd because she wears a bright red cape and because she is played by Amanda Seyfried. Right across her is Peter, the hunky wood chopper. His face appears to be stuck in a state of no emotion. Even when he's really mad, we can't feel a single thing. I think it's a talent.

Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/red-riding-hood/
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MarceloPaiAug 30, 2012
One of the worst films that i have seen on the last year. It's like a Twilight version for red riding hood, terrible. Please tell to the director that lycanthropes are people that transform into normal wolves, werewolves are MONSTERS.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews