RED

Summit Entertainment | Release Date: October 15, 2010
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 314 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
234
Mixed:
58
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
8
smijatovMar 30, 2011
"Red" is a surprisingly funny comedy that has a great plot, that just leaves you wanting more. With what would seem a typical action flick story about ex-CIA agents, it is the surprise factor how good the film is, that really got me to"Red" is a surprisingly funny comedy that has a great plot, that just leaves you wanting more. With what would seem a typical action flick story about ex-CIA agents, it is the surprise factor how good the film is, that really got me to appreciate it. The story is ok, but the dialogues are just extremely witty, especially John Malkovich's lines. That being said, John Malkovich and Mary-Louise Parker steal the show. By far the funniest of the cast, they are show-stealers, especially Malkovich with his stuffed (with guns) pig toy. Very creative, very entertaining, very funny, very action packed, and very good acting in the film. Highly recommended if you want a film that will make you laugh out loud for an hour and a half and not feel as if you've lowered your IQ. Great film! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
BenMttOct 27, 2010
Fun and Funny flick! Plot and story line just plausable enough to keep you engaged. Worth the time and money for an enjoyable entertainment. No Oscars here, but what the heck, it's dinner, a movie, and a few chuckles.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
Bullet97Oct 15, 2010
Man, this movie is awesome! This is how you make an old-people action movie, Expendables!! I saw them film part of this in New Orleans, so I was pretty excited about this movie. But when I saw the first trailer with Helen Mirren withMan, this movie is awesome! This is how you make an old-people action movie, Expendables!! I saw them film part of this in New Orleans, so I was pretty excited about this movie. But when I saw the first trailer with Helen Mirren with automatic guns and John Malkovich running after some guys with bombs strapped to his chest, I knew this was gonna rock, and it did!!! The entire cast seems to be having a blast, which just helps their awesome performances. I'm a huge Bruce Willis fan, and I wasn't dissapointed. The action scenes are awesome and cartoony, and the comedy had me rolling on the floor!! Overall, with a strong cast, clever wit and dialouge, and some awesome action scenes, RED is an awesome ride that blows this years other action movies out of the water!! Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
7
wetwebworkOct 30, 2010
Enjoyable nonsense that sags a bit when pushing the far fetched story forwards, but the action is top notch, especially the frying pan scene and spinning police car. In the end it's a feel good movie which is better than The Losers, TheEnjoyable nonsense that sags a bit when pushing the far fetched story forwards, but the action is top notch, especially the frying pan scene and spinning police car. In the end it's a feel good movie which is better than The Losers, The Expendables and Salt, but nothing you'll remember in a year or two. If you like Willis, Freeman and Mirren, then you can't really go wrong. And Karl Urban is great. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
Lopez17Nov 14, 2010
We are already half way through the year and that means we are already half way through the movie season, now I have pretty much seen all the major releases that have come out this year some great like "The Social Network", "WallWe are already half way through the year and that means we are already half way through the movie season, now I have pretty much seen all the major releases that have come out this year some great like "The Social Network", "Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps", "Brooklyn's Finest" , "Salt". "She's Out of my League", "Inception", "Ghost Writer" and many more. What has been most prominent this year are movies involving teams, out of this whole year I have seem maybe four films that have some kind of elite task force or mercenary group involved. From Sly Stallone's over the top explosion extravaganza "The Expendables" to Joe Carnahan's adaptation of the cheesy 80's television classic "The A-Team"(Which I like to call them the C-Team) to the adaptation of a highly unknown comic book series "The Losers". These films have portrayed some kind of elite force that either has to clear there names(The Losers, A-Team) or battle some kind of greater evil afoot(The Expendables). Out of all three of these films the one I had the most fun while watching is the new action/comedy "R.E.D.â Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
You are never too old to make a great action comedy, and Bruce Willis and John Malkovich prove that in RED. This wasn't just another shoot um up kill fest with a story you've seen a million times. RED is action packed, but it's also clever,You are never too old to make a great action comedy, and Bruce Willis and John Malkovich prove that in RED. This wasn't just another shoot um up kill fest with a story you've seen a million times. RED is action packed, but it's also clever, exciting, and hilarious. It's a fresh movie in a typically repetitive genre. Honestly they don't get much better than this! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
BeTheBuddhaOct 15, 2010
Based on a graphic novel of the same name, RED (Retired and Extremely Dangerous) follows a group of retired CIA agents who band together to find some answers after they are being picked off one-by-one.

When former black-ops agent Frank
Based on a graphic novel of the same name, RED (Retired and Extremely Dangerous) follows a group of retired CIA agents who band together to find some answers after they are being picked off one-by-one.

When former black-ops agent Frank Moses (Willis) finds himself the target of an assassination attempt, he goes underground and assembles a team of retired operatives also on the hit list. Together they search out clues as to why they are being targeted and uncover an even bigger conspiracy along the way.

With an all star cast including Dame Helen Mirren, Morgan Freeman, John Malkovich, Ernest Borgnine (still spry at 93!) and Brian Cox, RED is a fun action-adventure romp with just the right amount of comedy to keep it light.

While I was never a fan of Willis, he does bring the cool back from his days as John McClane in Die Hard with this film. His shy and humble Frank Moses is unsure of his charm with the ladies as he tries to woo Sarah (Mary-Louise Parker) whilst also kidnapping her in the process.

Dame Mirren shows off her action heroine chops off as Victoria, a retired assasin and card-carrying member of the AARP and the NRA. Malkovich, well, he's John Malkovich in all his quirkiness and just amusing to watch any time.

As the agent hot on their trail, audiences will have a love/hate relationship with Agent Cooper (Karl Urban). He may look like the end result of the question - "What if Billie Joe Armstrong of Green Day and Leonardo DiCaprio had a kid?" but look for Urban to headline many more movies in the future. There's a leading-man charm factor about him that can't be missed.

Far better story and script than say, The Expendables (a movie that contained so much cheese, one wishes they could sneak in a bottle of wine into the theatre), RED is great escapist fun and isn't that what movies are supposed to be?
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
GathGamerNov 19, 2010
This movie was awesome, I should this to any DC comic fan and Bruce Willis wanna be fanatics, his awesome and blends well with Morgan F. This movie certainly is on my top 10 movies of 2010!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
HikaruOct 17, 2010
RED was a great movie from beginning to end. Full of action packed sequences and laughs, when your not at the edge of your seat watching, you'll be sitting back laughing. Great performances by Bruce Willis and Morgan Freeman, the onlyRED was a great movie from beginning to end. Full of action packed sequences and laughs, when your not at the edge of your seat watching, you'll be sitting back laughing. Great performances by Bruce Willis and Morgan Freeman, the only downside is that some actors really should quit action movies by a certain age. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
txrangersfan72Nov 6, 2010
Fun, humor, action and an exciting story make up this more-tame-than-Pulp-Fiction over-the-top shoot-em-up about a retired group of former government agents/killers who now are the targets of a government trying to protect an executiveFun, humor, action and an exciting story make up this more-tame-than-Pulp-Fiction over-the-top shoot-em-up about a retired group of former government agents/killers who now are the targets of a government trying to protect an executive official. Mary Louise Parker doesn't stretch much outside of her Weeds comfort zone, but Bruce Willis, who appears to look better with age, shows his appeal on screen yet again showing the tough-and-tender side he's become typecast as being. His rapport with John Malkovich's character, Marvin, is priceless. Oscar winner it is not, but RED is what movies are all about. Pure entertainment! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
s1rudeNov 7, 2010
Truly funny, entertainingly ultra-violent and satirically smarter than I expected, Red is everything you could want in action movie staring 50, 60 and 70-something actors. Willis is on his A-game here, and if you've ever liked John McClaneTruly funny, entertainingly ultra-violent and satirically smarter than I expected, Red is everything you could want in action movie staring 50, 60 and 70-something actors. Willis is on his A-game here, and if you've ever liked John McClane you'll like Frank Moses. The rest of the cast is solid as expected, with Mary Louise Parker surprising (me, at least) with her comedic chops. The plot reveal isn't quite Dr Strangelove, but it's a well-placed zing at the military-industrial complex and gives a fun movie some added weight without weighing it down. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TVJerryOct 24, 2010
The title is an acronym for "Retired, Extremely Dangerous," which describes the trio of ex-CIA agents (Bruce Willis, Morgan Freeman and Helen Mirren). After a few threats on their lives, they team up to find out who's behind the conspiracy.The title is an acronym for "Retired, Extremely Dangerous," which describes the trio of ex-CIA agents (Bruce Willis, Morgan Freeman and Helen Mirren). After a few threats on their lives, they team up to find out who's behind the conspiracy. While this is a deftly-crafted action flick, what makes it stand out is the dark comic spin. Add John Malkovich in his most hilarious role ever (who knew?) and Mary Louise Parker as a charmingly-funny neophyte and you've got a smart cast that knows how to deliver. This film won't make cinematic history, but it sure provides a damn good time! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
movieheadOct 30, 2010
Great action flick! Perfect for a Saturday night. This movie captivated me as much as Die Hard did. Willis still rocks it. Mary Louis Parker was a perfect fit in this film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TonyNov 6, 2010
Exactly what you would expect--a fun, mindless action-comedy that greatly benefits from the talent of the actors involved. There are some great actions scenes, but most of the fun is derived from seeing actors like Helen Mirren and JohnExactly what you would expect--a fun, mindless action-comedy that greatly benefits from the talent of the actors involved. There are some great actions scenes, but most of the fun is derived from seeing actors like Helen Mirren and John Malkovich handling machine guns. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
caligalOct 15, 2010
This movie is a lot of fun. It is a quintessential "popcorn picture" -- not a lot of substance, but it doesn't really matter because the cast is so fantastic. If you are looking for an enjoyable diversion of the type that Hollywood rarelyThis movie is a lot of fun. It is a quintessential "popcorn picture" -- not a lot of substance, but it doesn't really matter because the cast is so fantastic. If you are looking for an enjoyable diversion of the type that Hollywood rarely makes these days, then I highly recommend checking this out. In terms of quality, it is miles above most summer blockbusters. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
wrytyrOct 15, 2010
Great fun! My wife and I loved every minute of this shoot-em-up, from the pretty-good script to the decent acting, from the excellent action sequences to the subtextual references to American politics, the whole flick was enjoyable.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
PaintOct 17, 2010
I really enjoyed this movie. It is based on a comic book so expect lots of "over the top" action sequences; apparently some other users didn't know this. Also, the acting is ok, but this movie being an action comedy, it is completelyI really enjoyed this movie. It is based on a comic book so expect lots of "over the top" action sequences; apparently some other users didn't know this. Also, the acting is ok, but this movie being an action comedy, it is completely understandable. I highly recommend this for a Friday night. Please remember, this movie is an ACTION COMEDY. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
BikerjamesOct 19, 2010
This movie is everything the trailer suggests it will be. A funny, somewhat campy romp where the old guys outwit the younger ones. The funniest part for me was seeing Helen Mirren in her formal dress shooting at the enemy on a humongousThis movie is everything the trailer suggests it will be. A funny, somewhat campy romp where the old guys outwit the younger ones. The funniest part for me was seeing Helen Mirren in her formal dress shooting at the enemy on a humongous machine gun on a tripod in a parking garage. It just looked funny. Malkovich played the eccentric quirky personality to perfection and had some funny lines. The movie was not meant to be taken seriously, but instead be a good entertaining diversion and it succeeds. I also thought Bruce Willis showed some of his playful side (ala moonlighting) that I haven't seen from him in awhile. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
vanion2Oct 21, 2010
This movie was exactly what I thought it would be. A roller coaster ride of action and comedy. It has been a while since I have sat down and watched a movie that was just fun to watch. All these nay sayers crying about realism andThis movie was exactly what I thought it would be. A roller coaster ride of action and comedy. It has been a while since I have sat down and watched a movie that was just fun to watch. All these nay sayers crying about realism and character plot should stay home on their couch and enjoy their Oscar winning selections. For the rest of us that want to escape realism for a couple of hours and enjoy being entertained then this is the movie to see. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
sadransOct 23, 2010
You can't go into this movie expecting to have anything really thought-provoking or influential. So that negates a lot of the negative user reviews on here.
I went into this movie expecting it to have some enjoyable action and to be rather
You can't go into this movie expecting to have anything really thought-provoking or influential. So that negates a lot of the negative user reviews on here.
I went into this movie expecting it to have some enjoyable action and to be rather funny, and I was pleasantly surprised by just how funny and enjoyable it really was. If you're looking for a pretty lighthearted and entertaining movie, this one is perfect.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
sonaranetOct 26, 2010
You could say itâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
jediboyOct 30, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Comic-book based Action Comedy featuring Bruce Willis as a retired CIA analyst. A hit squad are dispatched to take him out, for reasons unknown and so begins the adventure.

Willis gets in touch with his old team, Morgan Freeman, John Malkovic, Helen Mirren, and more. All retired, but who still enjoy taking on the odd "contract."

Its a slick ride from start to finish and its the movie Oceans Eleven (12, 13...) and Knight & Day tried to be (but fell short of the mark).

I've seen comments like "its the Expendables with OAPs" but its better than that.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
LFriesen101Nov 7, 2010
Sure it didn't have the BEST story or plot. But it kept me entertained from start to finish. John Malkovich stole the show, he was hilarious. If your looking for an enjoyable action-comedy, go see RED!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
lukechristianscAug 30, 2014
awesome but not better then red 2 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MikePushkinFeb 14, 2011
The movie was great! Packed with action, hardly believable, but action non the less! Memorable characters, silly episodes, nice jokes every little once in a while, Can recommend that movie for those who are searching for a good laugh, as wellThe movie was great! Packed with action, hardly believable, but action non the less! Memorable characters, silly episodes, nice jokes every little once in a while, Can recommend that movie for those who are searching for a good laugh, as well as for those who enjoyed A-Team. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
back2schoolbooDec 15, 2010
To enjoy this movie, you can't expect an action movie with a few small jokes. You need to expect over-the-top action sequences that are only half of the movie, with the other half being hilarious comedy. If you have that mind-set beforeTo enjoy this movie, you can't expect an action movie with a few small jokes. You need to expect over-the-top action sequences that are only half of the movie, with the other half being hilarious comedy. If you have that mind-set before going to the movie, you're in for a delightful couple hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Andys_ReviewsMar 10, 2013
I must say this film does exactly what it says on the tin; it’s brash, explosive and it also has some humour splattered about in there. I did like Bruce Willis in this one; some of his wise cracks put me in mind of his character David AddisonI must say this film does exactly what it says on the tin; it’s brash, explosive and it also has some humour splattered about in there. I did like Bruce Willis in this one; some of his wise cracks put me in mind of his character David Addison in “Moonlighting” (an old TV show for those too young to remember it). I loved John Malkovich as the, almost paranoid, member of the team; he added some great comic moments. Helen Mirren was great (as ever), as was Richard Dreyfuss as the bad guy and Brian Cox. Also a mention fro Karl Urban who played his role with great aplomb; he’ll go far I’m sure. As to the film; well I enjoyed many aspects of it although I did find the age difference between Willis and Parker a tad creepy. Other than that, bring on the sequel! I found it a lot of fun and everything ‘The Expendables’ isn’t; well worth the price of the disc.

SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED

My score: 6.9/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jefequesoFeb 1, 2011
'Red' certainly isn't high-art, but it's an over-the-top, fun, funny, and decpetively smart (and well-acted) rollercoaster ride that utterly entertains from beginning to end. It also happens to be one of the most kickass films I have seen in'Red' certainly isn't high-art, but it's an over-the-top, fun, funny, and decpetively smart (and well-acted) rollercoaster ride that utterly entertains from beginning to end. It also happens to be one of the most kickass films I have seen in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
roddersj04May 11, 2011
I gotta say, I didn't find this film as good as I thought it would be. I thought it would offer more to action-comedy films, but ended up being another actioner with comedy, but the film does manage to hit that place in between being charmingI gotta say, I didn't find this film as good as I thought it would be. I thought it would offer more to action-comedy films, but ended up being another actioner with comedy, but the film does manage to hit that place in between being charming and brutally violent. The cast are brilliant. Short of The Expendables and Inception, this is probably the best cast list of 2010. Bruce Willis, Morgan Freeman, John Malkovich and Hellen Mirren as retired CIA agents, Mary Louise Parker (love her in Weeds) as Willis' love interest and Karl Urban as CIA agent, all acting at top notch form. Did the cast take badass pills during filming, because thats what they (bar Julian Mcmahon and Mary Louise Parker) seem to primarily be. Especially Willis and Urban, whom have a fantastic fight within the CIA headquaters. Props have to be given for Hellen Mirren, wielding machine guns and using turrets like she's been using them her entire acting career, as well as threatening Mary Louise Parker to "kill her and bury her body in the woods" should she break Franks heart. Morgan Freeman isn't actually in the film for much time, but the parts that he is in, he lights up the scenes, and manages to provide one of the films best moments, where Richard Dreyfuss gloats that he can't be touched and Morgan Freeman smacks him across the face. John Malkovich is definately the breakout star of this film, the shining star of this movie. From his first appearance, he proves to be the best character of this film with his wonderfully madcap attiude and his method of madness, including carrying around a stuffed pig that carrys a fold-up gun inside, which is also used to hit back a grenade at an enemy. The best scene in the film has to be the fight at the docks, with Malkovich proving rocket launchers can be beaten by a simple bullet. There's a brilliant pause after the enemy remarks "Thats right, old man" where Malkovich just stops and questions "Old man?" followed by him proving his worth and saying the line of the film, "Old man my ass". So all in all, Red may not be the most groundbreaking film there is, but what is there is undoubtably a fun ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OscarPicks2010Nov 29, 2010
Red, retired extremely dangerous. Those terms are to describe Bruce Willis, John Malkovich, Hellen Mirren, Mary Louise Parker, and Morgan Freeman. The cast is very well known, three out of five won Oscars. But the cast has nothing to do withRed, retired extremely dangerous. Those terms are to describe Bruce Willis, John Malkovich, Hellen Mirren, Mary Louise Parker, and Morgan Freeman. The cast is very well known, three out of five won Oscars. But the cast has nothing to do with the movie's stylish direction with its **** attitude. The director has this **** attitude to direct a movie that's fun and enjoyable for both the audience and its cast. Considering that people in the cast is elite actors, this is kind of a fun project for them, something enjoyable instead of intense acting. That's what made the movie fun, the cast knew that this isn't that serious and they tried to have fun with it. We felt the charm of Bruce Willis and Mary Louise Parker. We felt cool when Hellen Mirren picks up a gun. And we felt disgusted when Morgan Freeman tried to score some booty. But most of all, we felt this is better entertainment than some big budget movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chickiDec 13, 2010
Wonderful action-packed, not-too-gruesome, just the right amount of comedy, just the right amount of so-sweet, the good guy/bad guy pros had just the right amount of steel, the side-kick was just the right amount of silly, the surprises wereWonderful action-packed, not-too-gruesome, just the right amount of comedy, just the right amount of so-sweet, the good guy/bad guy pros had just the right amount of steel, the side-kick was just the right amount of silly, the surprises were surprises, the gunfire had just the right sounds, the special effects were WoW!, it made me jump! when I was supposed to and go Ahh at the right moments, the breaks in the action came at the right times, and the bad-guy had just the right amount of good guy inside. The kiss at the end made me sign. Oh, what fun! Such a kick! A feel-good movie with Action. I really want to see it again :) Nice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
peakchuaFeb 5, 2011
This movie contains high octane, great characters and some humor. The critics who rated this movie are definetely wrong because this movie is the best action movie since the Expendables i have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
l_fesoMar 7, 2011
This movie was extremely well played, I have to admit even to someone like me who rarely like any movie I liked this one more then I thought I would. Its clash of action and comedy really made it a hit but not only that the well chosen actorsThis movie was extremely well played, I have to admit even to someone like me who rarely like any movie I liked this one more then I thought I would. Its clash of action and comedy really made it a hit but not only that the well chosen actors in the movie fed my interest and kept me biting my nails beginning to end with the exciting graphics and action scenes. Now I would recommend this movie to anyone because I was able to watch it with my entire family and my kids loved it I had to dub out the profanity but there were hardly any swear words and my husband loved this movie.. I liked it. I think this is the first movie I enjoyed since I was a child;. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NinjaAsokMar 9, 2011
This movie reminds me of tha good old action movies from the 80s... it even have a touch of the Die hard movie.. why isn't there more of these films... you cant always look at Oscar nominated suicidal depressing stuff. Its a good cast asThis movie reminds me of tha good old action movies from the 80s... it even have a touch of the Die hard movie.. why isn't there more of these films... you cant always look at Oscar nominated suicidal depressing stuff. Its a good cast as well and Mary-Louise Parker teams good with Bruce Willis as the innocent sexy girl looking for an adventure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
filmtrashreviewJun 20, 2011
RED takes action films to a new level never discovered before. Pure badassness that will have any Michael Bay fan screaming in his seat is impressive but to do it without having an explosion around every corner as well as developing a storyRED takes action films to a new level never discovered before. Pure badassness that will have any Michael Bay fan screaming in his seat is impressive but to do it without having an explosion around every corner as well as developing a story line that will let everyone else enjoy the film, is just 100% impressive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bram29Jan 18, 2013
the main plot gimmick of the movie never ceases to lose it's charm, and the actors give their best performances. of course, over the years, this kind of stuff must almost come natural to them now. now philosophical depth to be found, but athe main plot gimmick of the movie never ceases to lose it's charm, and the actors give their best performances. of course, over the years, this kind of stuff must almost come natural to them now. now philosophical depth to be found, but a wonderful evening all the more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 24, 2014
Entertaining, amusing and a well-contained action flick. Good times all around. Didn't get boring for a second.

The build-up between a retired CIA agent Frank Moses and a bored-of-her-life Sarah was perfect and almost hilarious, and the
Entertaining, amusing and a well-contained action flick. Good times all around. Didn't get boring for a second.

The build-up between a retired CIA agent Frank Moses and a bored-of-her-life Sarah was perfect and almost hilarious, and the steady growth and deepening of their relationship worked very well without taking the film away from what it was really about.

The style, humor and action all blended well together. All the characters had their parts to play, more or less, and no one was left sitting in the side lines.

Want some guilty-pleasure, carefree action and lots of shooting without it raining blood and guts every other second? This is for you.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JaySupertrampFeb 6, 2012
Cool action movie with a typically linear predictable story. Nice movie for a silent sunday evening to chill down and only watch without thinking. Just enjoy!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
skyminsterJul 23, 2012
Red is, well, cool. Very cool. Maybe awesome. It's a great film anyway. Its got exciting, fast-moving and tense action sequences, funny moments that make you laugh out loud, good acting, good character building and a kinda nonsensicalRed is, well, cool. Very cool. Maybe awesome. It's a great film anyway. Its got exciting, fast-moving and tense action sequences, funny moments that make you laugh out loud, good acting, good character building and a kinda nonsensical story-line, it doesn't really explain much, but you can tell it's more thought than something like Transformers. I could easily give it a nine out of ten, but it has a few minor problems scattered around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 29, 2014
I never, ever, ever would've expected to see Helen Mirren hold up a gun and take a perfect shot. Red manages to get Helen Mirren to do that... except it's an AK-47. And it's awesome, because Mirren can actually pull it off. Red is far betterI never, ever, ever would've expected to see Helen Mirren hold up a gun and take a perfect shot. Red manages to get Helen Mirren to do that... except it's an AK-47. And it's awesome, because Mirren can actually pull it off. Red is far better than the scummy action flicks all year long--and with an outstanding ensemble of actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JuanoloApr 1, 2012
First off, this is a 9.25 out of 10. This has about everything. Action, comedy, it's real great. Acting is good. Everyone does a good job. Story and score are both really good. Overall this is a funny action ride that you should watch. It'sFirst off, this is a 9.25 out of 10. This has about everything. Action, comedy, it's real great. Acting is good. Everyone does a good job. Story and score are both really good. Overall this is a funny action ride that you should watch. It's really good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RealMuthaFApr 28, 2013
A great action comedy with great actors and plot, RED shows that even such "peaceful" actors as Morgan Freeman and Helen Mirren can be great action movie stars. There are two characters which stand out for me. Firstly, Malkovich's characterA great action comedy with great actors and plot, RED shows that even such "peaceful" actors as Morgan Freeman and Helen Mirren can be great action movie stars. There are two characters which stand out for me. Firstly, Malkovich's character is outright hilarious, he made a great performance playing that paraniod psycho. However, it's the Bruce Willis' main hero character that stands out in a negative way, in my opinion. Perhaps I'm just fed up with Willis, but his whole acting comes down to a constant ironic grin, calm voice and nothing more, so he's the only minus of the movie for me. In all other aspects, RED's awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
StaticSpineApr 19, 2014
The whole thing with retired secret agents is pretty interesting, but the story seems pretty silly most of the time. On the other hand there is a bunch of great actors here. Overall, the movie is a bit boring, because it has very few badassThe whole thing with retired secret agents is pretty interesting, but the story seems pretty silly most of the time. On the other hand there is a bunch of great actors here. Overall, the movie is a bit boring, because it has very few badass action scenes and the comedy-oriented stuff is not that fun too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RikiegeSep 25, 2012
It's the best action movie I've seen in my life! It is so good and fun! also has parts of comedy. I recommend it to everyone! Fewer women over 60 years ... In short: Not to be missed!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ACanadianCatOct 29, 2013
A fun outing to the theater. It does not take it self to seriously but is not silly either. The characters are all very interesting and loads of fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
It's not exactly as intelligent as it is almost mindlessly entertaining, but "Red" is still a worthwhile cinematic experience, with some interesting twists and turns scattered throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jimbo82Apr 3, 2013
Red is an excellent film with a perfect mixture of comedy, action, and thrills and spills. In addition to this, you get an intelligent script and some great acting (Malkovich in particular was brilliant). Highly recommended viewing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
iLightningApr 5, 2013
Red boasts shockingly comical violence, an unpredictable plot and is overall a brilliant film. The action is suitably balanced, with enough crazy and enough gritty to please everyone. The cast of big names deliver great performances creatingRed boasts shockingly comical violence, an unpredictable plot and is overall a brilliant film. The action is suitably balanced, with enough crazy and enough gritty to please everyone. The cast of big names deliver great performances creating a truly unique set of lovable characters. A fantastic action movie for any action fan, comedy fan, Bruce Willis fan, and their grandma. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 16, 2013
Red delivers the goods (action, explosions, fun,) senior style. It takes a handful of some of Hollywood's best actors and actresses, and throws them in a silly, goofy, CIA-style world full of car chases, bazookas, paranoia, and, of course,Red delivers the goods (action, explosions, fun,) senior style. It takes a handful of some of Hollywood's best actors and actresses, and throws them in a silly, goofy, CIA-style world full of car chases, bazookas, paranoia, and, of course, action! And it has Morgan Freeman Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
rafingal23Aug 26, 2014
I loved this movie the most for it's humour. The action was good. The casting was good. Helen Mirren did a fantastic job in this movie. Good movie but room for improvement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 28, 2016
Red is my favorite color. RED proves that my reds are effortless. RED is somehow getting a good score but at the same time could end up being in the mixed section.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
alejandro970Oct 27, 2016
Fortunate blend of action and comedy, supported by dynamic roles of Willis, Freeman, Mirren and Malkovich. Good choice for a between day evening with the needly bag of popcorn
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews