Reincarnated Image
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Snoop Dogg goes to Jamaica, immerses himself in Rastafarian culture, changes his name to Snoop Lion and records his first reggae album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Mar 14, 2013
    75
    The film is too slapdash and self-serving to take seriously (it’s release is timed to the precede thesame-named album’s release next month), but it’s a casually entertaining trip, aimed at fans of the charismatic rapper and his recreational substance of choice.
  2. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Jan 30, 2013
    70
    An all-access pass to an artist embarking on a new path, this is entertaining stuff – funny, disarming, even poignant. It's also jammed with terrific music.
  3. Reviewed by: Miriam Bale
    Mar 14, 2013
    60
    Director Andy Capper crafts a surprisingly moving story, particularly in Snoop’s reactions to the deaths of Biggie Smalls and Tupac Shakur.
  4. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Mar 14, 2013
    40
    Snoop has certainly tempered his worldview, but enlightenment isn’t as evident here as much as a woozy weariness, perhaps a long-term byproduct of being very, very stoned.
  5. Reviewed by: Patrick Peters
    Mar 18, 2013
    40
    It features more weed than a pot-warming party at Bill & Ben's but offers little more than spliff-glazed promotion for Snoop's reggae reincarnation.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Kelly
    Mar 15, 2013
    40
    It’s a premise that sounds like the silliest of celebrity vanity but is, in fact, presented as an endearing portrayal of Rastafari culture, spiritual exploration and Snoop’s own past, present and future.
  7. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    Mar 13, 2013
    25
    Part of Snoop’s protean quality comes from the fact that his rhymes only cut so far: He can pivot freely because he’s never dug in too deep.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jul 10, 2013
    6
    A friend of mine put this on for my boyfriend and me to watch. It seemed like a good pick based on the current mood we were in. I had no idea about Snoop changing his name and thought at first it was pretty stupid and silly, but our friend assured us we would understand after watching this documentary. I enjoyed some of it, mostly the more honest scenes where Snoop talks about his past and how he wanted to make more positive music, and honestly the music was groovy. The only problems I had with it were it was a little too long for what it was and the running time (especially in the middle) made it lose it's initial impact it had in the first 30 minutes of the film. Overall I had a good time watching it with my friends and the ending scenes were well done but that middle part made it feel sluggish until it finally crossed the finish line. Collapse
  2. Aug 26, 2013
    4
    Calvin Broadus goes on a pilgrimage to Jamaica, what do you think is going to happen? You got it, a inordinate amount of of smoking. I commend the earnest crusade to reinvent yourself as a artist and Snoop does manage to lay down some acceptable reggae tracks with Diplo but most of this reel is too insistent on getting Snoop Lion high. Expand