Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 23, 2005
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 187 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
131
Mixed:
17
Negative:
39
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
johnf.Nov 29, 2005
Memories of a world that doesn't exist anymore... much to my deep regret.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JGarrettNov 29, 2005
I started to fall asleep during the first hour, then forced myself to stay awake for the remainder counting the number of other people falling asleep in the theatre. The play is better storyline wise, but this movie has fantasic singing and I started to fall asleep during the first hour, then forced myself to stay awake for the remainder counting the number of other people falling asleep in the theatre. The play is better storyline wise, but this movie has fantasic singing and harmonies. Thumbs up for Jessie, Rosario, Traciee, Adam. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DannyDarkoMar 13, 2011
I am so glad that they made this film. I was four years old when the play opened, and so had it not been for this movie I may have missed out entirely, which would have been a shame. I am not a fan of most movie musicals, because, likeI am so glad that they made this film. I was four years old when the play opened, and so had it not been for this movie I may have missed out entirely, which would have been a shame. I am not a fan of most movie musicals, because, like novel adaptations, they generally cannot capture the true essence of an original work of art. This movie accurately portrays all of the emotions of the musical; although, regrettably, it only hints at the concept of a dirty, gritty New York without fully embracing it, as the stage version did. The movie, directed by children's movie veteran Chris Columbus, is easily one of the most moving musical films in history, as well as one of the most fun. There are a multitude of themes in this film, and the one I found most touching was the idea of always living life to the fullest, because you never know, this could be your last day on Earth. "No day but today" is a phrase that I believe, now more than ever, should be embraced by everyone. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MargaretD.Nov 27, 2005
Alright, like many others I was a person who saw the stage play and eagerly awaited the movie to be released (my birthday falling on the same weekend was a pleasent coincidence) and I must say that I was NOT disappointed. For those who say Alright, like many others I was a person who saw the stage play and eagerly awaited the movie to be released (my birthday falling on the same weekend was a pleasent coincidence) and I must say that I was NOT disappointed. For those who say that the film lost something from the stage to screen, yeah that happens with EVERY musical that goes to the big screen- but Christopher Columbus and the amazing cast really made up the bit that was lost. The movie stayed true to the plot and message of RENT and every performance was good. Definently a 10 out of 10. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnishaD.Nov 27, 2005
It's amazing how critics just bash for the sake of looking erudite. This was a great film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GareT.Nov 28, 2005
I adored this film. It moved me very much. There are changes from the stage show which are not necessarily welcome but, in hindsight, not necessarily missed. The ensemble performed quite well and like a true ensemble, with no real standout. I adored this film. It moved me very much. There are changes from the stage show which are not necessarily welcome but, in hindsight, not necessarily missed. The ensemble performed quite well and like a true ensemble, with no real standout. The characters are flawed, as we all are, but they are perfectly flawed and I am drawn into their stories, their confusions about life and their passions. Kudos for getting this done so that others can experience this piece. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EricJ.Nov 29, 2005
This movie was so much fun, that I found myself singing along a couple of times, even tho I was unfamiliar with the songs. Based on the Brodway musical which was in turn Based on Puccini's masterwork, La Bohème, the movie is This movie was so much fun, that I found myself singing along a couple of times, even tho I was unfamiliar with the songs. Based on the Brodway musical which was in turn Based on Puccini's masterwork, La Bohème, the movie is slyly self-referential when one of the characters refers to the Opera. Lots of wonderful characters of all sorts make this a movie to see again and again! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
abirdMay 9, 2006
Throughly enjoyable. For someone who hasn't seen the play, the movie is refreshing. Watch it without being too judgemental about the socio-political implications, it is smart & sexy. It is abvious that this movie will polarise Throughly enjoyable. For someone who hasn't seen the play, the movie is refreshing. Watch it without being too judgemental about the socio-political implications, it is smart & sexy. It is abvious that this movie will polarise people's opinion beacuse of the subject . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
stane.Jan 2, 2006
Loved the acting and the great music. Did not see the play.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveD.Jan 6, 2006
Equal to the play in every possible way. Everyone should see this. Chris Columbus translated the mood and songs from the stage to film wonderfully. I would give this a 20 out of 10, but I don't have that option. I found my soul at Rent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveF.Nov 25, 2005
This very passionate Rent bubbles with life-affirmation, underclass anger and grittiness, and orgiastic choruses. It depicts one year in the lives of a group of friends in the Lower East Side during the sad age of AIDS before the drug This very passionate Rent bubbles with life-affirmation, underclass anger and grittiness, and orgiastic choruses. It depicts one year in the lives of a group of friends in the Lower East Side during the sad age of AIDS before the drug cocktails. The music generally works but is forgettable, with the exception of three songs. Also, the story becomes threadbare and meanders at times, especially during the movie's last act. However, Chris Columbus has directed the movie well and maintains a fluid, raw and compelling stream of action and music. The actors are all good, especially Idina Menzel, Traci Thoms, Rosario Dawson, and Adam Pascal who all blow you away with their performing/singing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BILLBNov 26, 2005
I saw the original Broadway cast a couple of times and the smartest thing Chris Columbus did was to cast most of the originals in their roles. There are some pretty heavy themes (addiction, AIDS, homelessness, transgender etc..) and yet it I saw the original Broadway cast a couple of times and the smartest thing Chris Columbus did was to cast most of the originals in their roles. There are some pretty heavy themes (addiction, AIDS, homelessness, transgender etc..) and yet it all ends up feeling very hopeful and loving in the end. I never felt sorry for any of the characters.....they all seem to be trying to find their own happiness. Rosario Dawson did a superb job filling the unifillable shoes of Daphne Rubin Vega as Mimi. As others have said, if you have an open mind or were a fan of the stage version of the show, you will enjoy the movie but if you have problems with the "muscial" format, this movie will be hard to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IreneG.Jan 6, 2006
Totally awesome movie. I wouldn't mind seeing it 100 more time...except that it's not in theaters anymore!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryanJ.Mar 1, 2006
This movie was great this is comming from a 16 year old the best movie i ever watched.. really for those who say this movie was horrible you dont know any movies you shouldnt be saying any thing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulienP.Apr 1, 2006
Rent was pure exhileration! I absolutely loved this movie. It has great acting and great music. Everything a movie should be! By far my favorite movie of the year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterB.Nov 22, 2005
The film needed a visual, edgy director to bring the material to live. The musical has great music and a strong book, but Columbus was a bland choice who doesn't bring any passion or point of view to the story. It seems like someone is The film needed a visual, edgy director to bring the material to live. The musical has great music and a strong book, but Columbus was a bland choice who doesn't bring any passion or point of view to the story. It seems like someone is saying "Next Song..ok check the song list, thanks." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahM.Nov 23, 2005
I loved it. I thought Jesse Martin was absolutely fabulous. The Chicago remake was good, Rent was better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeanneC.Nov 23, 2005
I love it! I don't understand how critics can say things like, why don't they get jobs? That is not only a comment to a person of priviledge, but it is a miss reading of the movie. The film is dedicated to people seeking careers I love it! I don't understand how critics can say things like, why don't they get jobs? That is not only a comment to a person of priviledge, but it is a miss reading of the movie. The film is dedicated to people seeking careers and lives in things they are emotionally invested in. When's the last time you saw an accountant singing about how great life can be? Never, because he is practical. Practicality doesn't necessarily make one happy, that's the point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ErynS.Nov 24, 2005
i really really loved the movie. and i'm probably going to see it again. i overall thought it was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillB.Nov 24, 2005
OK, it was a faithful -- and safe -- adaptation of the original, but it mostly worked for me. If Columbus had changed things, people would be howling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AllisonZ.Nov 24, 2005
This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Don't let the negative critics, who obviously just do not get it, stop you from seeing this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LoriMcK.Nov 24, 2005
Having seen the musical on-stage in the States and in England, I was eagerly anticipating this movie. I was NOT disappointed. This is a movie I will see over and over again - and love every minute. Excellent performances from the cast; Having seen the musical on-stage in the States and in England, I was eagerly anticipating this movie. I was NOT disappointed. This is a movie I will see over and over again - and love every minute. Excellent performances from the cast; excellent directing from Chris Columbus. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkB.Nov 24, 2005
Im very courious about the peeps who are giving this movie a rating of 5-0,weather they have A.) actually seen this.B.) From some good awful red state or C.) are Homophobic. This movie was great..It has on flaw it will be veryhard to stand Im very courious about the peeps who are giving this movie a rating of 5-0,weather they have A.) actually seen this.B.) From some good awful red state or C.) are Homophobic. This movie was great..It has on flaw it will be veryhard to stand on it's own without constant comparison to the stage show. I HIghly recommend this film!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesN.Nov 27, 2005
Absolutely loved it!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimBNov 28, 2005
The movie didn't have the 'punch' of the show on stage. But is that just the difference between the stage and movies? The music was still terrific.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulL.Dec 25, 2005
I thoroughly enjoyed the film. Having not seen the play, i had nothing to base it on...but found it to be full of heart and sincerity. Cornball as it can be, the film is moving and touching in it's enthusiasm to please.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
rachelb.Dec 4, 2005
Best musical made into a film in decades!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarynDec 5, 2005
I think this was the best i loved that movie i love the songs in that movie also i rate this movie one of the best and hope to see it is chicago that whould be fun!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanHDec 8, 2005
Wonderful. The LA Times critic doesn't liek it because it's not about glamour and fame. Well, like the rest of us, it is about real life and its just wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KateW.Jan 3, 2006
This entertaining, touching film is faithful to the theatrical production while enhancing its emotional impact.
0 of 0 users found this helpful