User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 107
  2. Negative: 13 out of 107
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkK
    Apr 14, 2009
    2
    Don't believe your friends. This is not the next Rocky Horror. It's not even the next Shock Treatment. It's a glossy, fast-edited version of a completely forgettable musical. Ultimately, the music -- combined with inane lyrics -- does discredit to people like Sarah Brightman and Ogre, who have stamped their names onto this mess. It's an brave attempt, perhaps, but Don't believe your friends. This is not the next Rocky Horror. It's not even the next Shock Treatment. It's a glossy, fast-edited version of a completely forgettable musical. Ultimately, the music -- combined with inane lyrics -- does discredit to people like Sarah Brightman and Ogre, who have stamped their names onto this mess. It's an brave attempt, perhaps, but ultimately the music sucks. Visually, the film is striking at points but clearly derivative, riffing off of the videogame BioShock and Blade Runner... but the visuals are weakened by jerky "Saw"-like jumpcuts, and the general lack of ambiance, both with the music, and with the somewhat substandard background atmospherics, drowned out by the craptacular soundtrack. There will be those who watch this a half-dozen times with their friends who start to appreciate the musical suckitude and learning some of the lyrics... but these are probably the same people who enjoy watching two girls, one cup. There is actual talent involved in this project... but unfortunately, the project just wasn't a good one. And no, it's not that I don't appreciate other things in this genre. Instead, we see goo musicians defer to some L.A. hipster's music... someone with no real experience for writing notable music... and it shows! What a complete misuse of Ogre and Sarah Brightman! (What is it about L.A. that it tends to take musical influences from everywhere else in the world and turns it into boring, generic lame metally dreck?!) At this point, the majority of 54 people rating this on Metacritic have said good things about this movie... but that's a sign of little more than a L.A. cult of personality. Not a Rocky... not a Hedwig... not a Dr. Horrible. Not even a Shock Treatment. Some of the Hot Topic crowd will get excited about this commercially prepackaged angst, but really, let's hope they off themselves soon and put the rest of us out of their misery. Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    this is by far my favorite movie ever the songs are great the acting is good and the story is awesome if you've never seen this movie GO BUY IT NOW! also paris hilton is unrecognizable in this.
  3. NielsW
    Jan 9, 2009
    3
    This film could be seen as a breath of fresh air. But that accounts for originality only, as the air itself smells quite foul in this case. To me it feels like the movie is trying too hard. The story itself is fairly interesting and the performances themselves are quite good. But to me everything is lost when a beautifully crafted setting is interspersed with comic-book like flashbacks This film could be seen as a breath of fresh air. But that accounts for originality only, as the air itself smells quite foul in this case. To me it feels like the movie is trying too hard. The story itself is fairly interesting and the performances themselves are quite good. But to me everything is lost when a beautifully crafted setting is interspersed with comic-book like flashbacks and a quite out of touch scene where one of the main characters has a rebellious teenage fit and the woeful gothic elements are suddenly replaced with a punk rock scene. And the camera work isn't helping much either. The visual effects are quite nice, but with shots bouncing around from vantage point to vantage point it feels more effort was put into creating one long music video rather than capturing the actors' performances as best as possible. At least it ends in a similar manner as every good opera does and the makers certainly deserve credit for trying to bring this sort of entertainment to the big screen. But it's trying to appeal to too many different audiences at the same time. There are much, much better operas out there. Expand
  4. ChrisK
    Feb 19, 2009
    4
    Only goth losers would think this is at good as grease. Take A Shower.
  5. BellaM.
    Mar 20, 2010
    10
    This film is truly the Rocky Horror of our generation. Yes, it's campy but that's a huge part of it's charm and appeal. There are SO many opportunities for callback lines, and it's just an absolute blast. Not to mention the music is FANTASTIC.
  6. sharon
    Jan 8, 2009
    10
    Anthony Stewart Head, Sarah Brightman, Ogre, the Grave Robber and Alexa Vega are awesome
  7. AlexB
    Jan 8, 2009
    8
    A combination of familiar cultural traits reminiscent of both Blade runner and Cabaret with some of 1984, The strange case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde as well as some oriental/Tarantinian style (in its comic book parts and the fact that a very young girl is the main character who carries such a big burden), the result is an entertaining film that adheres loyally to its operatic spirit and A combination of familiar cultural traits reminiscent of both Blade runner and Cabaret with some of 1984, The strange case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde as well as some oriental/Tarantinian style (in its comic book parts and the fact that a very young girl is the main character who carries such a big burden), the result is an entertaining film that adheres loyally to its operatic spirit and is sure to impress upon the futurists, philosophers and Gothic-lovers alike. Expand
  8. StepenJ
    Jul 6, 2009
    9
    It's a lot of fun to watch. Most of the performances are good (yes, even Paris). Highly recommended.
  9. RyanQ
    Aug 30, 2009
    0
    Wow... it's really bad... really, really bad. just turned it off after about 45 min. couldn't take it anymore. bad music, poorly shot + acted + directed. the only thing worse that all that? the pathetic lyrics/ dialog. simply embarrassing. don't wast your time!!!
  10. IanI.
    Apr 30, 2010
    10
    Amazing. that's all i have to say.
  11. Ursula
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    I saw this movie at the Fantasy Filmfest in Germany and it really blew my mind! Granted, it's not a film for critics and you do have to stomach a lot of bloody and "gutty" scenes, but I simply enjoyed the whole thing. I just read a review which argued that one weakness of the film is that there isn't really a song that the movie-goer can hum on the way home from the theater - I I saw this movie at the Fantasy Filmfest in Germany and it really blew my mind! Granted, it's not a film for critics and you do have to stomach a lot of bloody and "gutty" scenes, but I simply enjoyed the whole thing. I just read a review which argued that one weakness of the film is that there isn't really a song that the movie-goer can hum on the way home from the theater - I think that is a strong point! Compared to "Sweeney Todd" (another bloody musical ;-)), the music was much more complex and kept you surprised and didn't bore you at all. Plus, the vocal performances were astoundingly good! I knew that Sarah Brightman and Anthony "Giles" Head could sing, but all the others were amazing, too, not least the young Alexa Vega! It's dark, it's bloody, it's crazy, it's fun!!! Expand
  12. AlanB.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    Like a good solid cross between Ultraviolet and Voyage of the Rock Aliens, this movie was all I expected and more. Super trashy and and knowing it! Don't expect plain old good from this movie. Be ready for a temper tantrum of exultant gut wrenching greatness.
  13. ZachL.
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    I had the pleasure of seeing this film this past weekend and I enjoyed every minute of it. And given the way that the know-nothing "critics" are rating it, it's sure to become this generations Rock Horror.
  14. Nona
    Jan 11, 2009
    0
    This is by far the worst movie I have ever seen. It's like sitting through a two hour evanescence/rammstein/marilyn manson music video except that some of their videos have credible artistic merit. I guess there is bound to be an audience for this kind of thing, but do not watch this film expecting a real cult classic. Being a fan of cult films of all kinds myself, I went in This is by far the worst movie I have ever seen. It's like sitting through a two hour evanescence/rammstein/marilyn manson music video except that some of their videos have credible artistic merit. I guess there is bound to be an audience for this kind of thing, but do not watch this film expecting a real cult classic. Being a fan of cult films of all kinds myself, I went in expecting some entertaining gems, but instead I got whiny songs about how much better it is to be 17 than 16 (lets be honest, there is no difference), an unacceptable lack of gore (especially when you consider the director is responsible for the Saw series), and disappointing performances on behalf of every actor in the film (congratulations Paris Hilton, you managed to a find a film in which you might not have given the worst performance in the whole cast). This film has not a single redeeming quality. I can honestly say, as much as I tried to find a light in the darkness, I have nothing good to say about this film. Expand
  15. M.Alex
    Jan 10, 2009
    10
    Lovely movie, no idea why the critics went so hard on it. It is gothy, but not in a bad way, Head's absolutely amazing, Hilton is utterly OK. A nice, fun movie.
  16. ScottK
    Jan 22, 2009
    10
    This movie was awesome! Obviously the people giving it a bad review are people who don't appreciate live musical shows or operas, as this was shot in the style of an actual Broadway performance and not specifically as a movie is layed out or choreographed.
  17. BenC
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    This movie is absolutely incredible. The singing is fantastic, as is the plot and theme. I really don't understand why all these critics are so negative about it.
  18. MichaelC.
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    A revolutionary display of originality.
  19. LiyakD
    Apr 27, 2009
    10
    One of the latest movies that have obsessed me so much.
  20. EvanS.
    May 16, 2010
    10
    In a Hollywood with nearly nothing truely classic to offer anymore, repo the genetic opera is something new. well acted, well sung, songs so catchy you'll want to break out singing about zydrate, the films addictive drug, where ever you are. i was so surprised by the "critics" on this one. repo is dark art at it's best, some scenes reflecting on modern horror others pure satire. In a Hollywood with nearly nothing truely classic to offer anymore, repo the genetic opera is something new. well acted, well sung, songs so catchy you'll want to break out singing about zydrate, the films addictive drug, where ever you are. i was so surprised by the "critics" on this one. repo is dark art at it's best, some scenes reflecting on modern horror others pure satire. this is a movie i can watch again and again, without doubt, the one of the best movies to appear since the millennium shift. Expand
  21. RandyP.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    This movie was even better than I thought it was going to be. The drive from San Antonio to Austin was well worth it!!
  22. JonZ.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    The Critics Are Wrong! I went to see this movie, opening night in San Francisco with a bunch a friends. We all laughed and thought the movie was very done. Visually it was amazing to watch, lots of colors, special effects as well as dark comedic themes. Yes, its a musical...but I assure you it will be the best musical you have seen since Rocky Horror/Moulin Rouge combined! The film's The Critics Are Wrong! I went to see this movie, opening night in San Francisco with a bunch a friends. We all laughed and thought the movie was very done. Visually it was amazing to watch, lots of colors, special effects as well as dark comedic themes. Yes, its a musical...but I assure you it will be the best musical you have seen since Rocky Horror/Moulin Rouge combined! The film's music was an excellent fusion of industrial goth rock and captivating opera narrations. Many of great musicians were involved in the music of this film. Ohgr from the band Skinny Puppy even plays a supporting role in the film. This is not your typical musical, this is a Goth Rock Opera...unlike any before its time. Give it a chance, check it out and make your own judgment. and like Ursula below said "its dark, bloody, crazy, sexy and fun!" Expand
  23. AdamK.
    Dec 19, 2008
    10
    The looks on this movie are just artistical. A truly cyberpunk musical with strong and precious songs and above average performances from no-singers (except for Ogre and Brightman). A wonderful musical to enjoy.
  24. Dengaku
    Nov 5, 2009
    9
    I was shocked by the critic scores, to be honest. This movie is great. I thought the singers were terrific and the dark story quite fascinating (i'm not sure about believable, though). My friends and I are having a blast randomly breaking into these songs throughout our school days. The lyrics are probably seen as lacking due to the fact that virtually everything is sung, even casual I was shocked by the critic scores, to be honest. This movie is great. I thought the singers were terrific and the dark story quite fascinating (i'm not sure about believable, though). My friends and I are having a blast randomly breaking into these songs throughout our school days. The lyrics are probably seen as lacking due to the fact that virtually everything is sung, even casual conversations. I personally don't converse with people in poems. Anyway, the movie is fun, bold, and intriguing. If it seems like your sort of thing, don't let some critics ruin it for you. Expand
  25. EricK
    Jan 19, 2009
    2
    The camera work is poor, and at time nauseating if you suffer from any degree of motion sickness. This film attempts to become a Rocky Horror to the current generation, but misses the boat entirely. Popular enthusiasm comes from a generation of instant gratification that want's its own "cult classic" without trying to give it the time to develop.
  26. Kevin
    Jan 24, 2009
    1
    I enjoy bizarre movies, so the concept of a horror musical appealed to me, but honestly, the idea was not well-executed. The acting, music, lyrics were all below average. Great idea: bad film.
  27. MaxB
    Jan 24, 2009
    9
    Makes Sweeney Todd seem like the Teletubbies with Rock Opera music (Not musical, this means singing thru the whole movie). Sharp directing with nice offbeat style horror/commedy mixed in making the bloody scenes (which there are quite a few of) all the more fun rather than cringe worthy. If your the type of person who likes to just kick back and listen to some decent rock/techno music Makes Sweeney Todd seem like the Teletubbies with Rock Opera music (Not musical, this means singing thru the whole movie). Sharp directing with nice offbeat style horror/commedy mixed in making the bloody scenes (which there are quite a few of) all the more fun rather than cringe worthy. If your the type of person who likes to just kick back and listen to some decent rock/techno music well now there is a movie to watch and listen to. The only thing that I really didnt care for was the fact that it was an Opera (I hate plays/operas/musicals), so when listening to lyrics its more of telling the story and dialog rather than an actual song... but considering most musicals/operas are not rock, it makes this soundtrack all the more better too listen to. Expand
  28. AMovieCritic
    Jan 25, 2009
    8
    A pretty great film, recommended to fans of twisted, dark, and original movies. Unlike anything I've ever seen. Its low-budget roots are always clear and at times I wondered how this would have looked with a bigger budget but Darren Lynn Bousman, (director of the best Saw, the 2nd one) makes the most of this, with some great stylish lighting and sound. Fun movie.
  29. CalebH
    Jan 26, 2009
    9
    A very different experience for the average viewer to say the least! When it comes right down to it, Repo! is one of the most original ideas to ever hit the big screen. It's an ambitious, chaotic, and dangerous attempt to give musicals a new perspective in this modern age. Music wise, this movie has some stellar pieces that I will be singing to myself for years to come. There are a A very different experience for the average viewer to say the least! When it comes right down to it, Repo! is one of the most original ideas to ever hit the big screen. It's an ambitious, chaotic, and dangerous attempt to give musicals a new perspective in this modern age. Music wise, this movie has some stellar pieces that I will be singing to myself for years to come. There are a few that fall short, but the good heavily out way the bad. Acting is brilliantly done partially due to great direction from director Darren Lynn Bousman. Not much character development takes place during the film, but is explained to you through comic-esc displays of their past. The film is relatively short and could stand to be a tad longer, or a tad shorter depending on how you viewed the story aspect. Repo! is not you parents musical by any means; In fact, it might not even be your kind of musical, or movie for that matter. Repo! is only to be loved by a certain group, however, it should at least be appreciated by everyone else. The best rock opera I have ever seen. Expand
  30. RyanS
    Jan 7, 2009
    9
    Okay, this not good movie and its not a movie for everyone. BUT, all that aside I really enjoyed it, me and my friends had a lot of fun going to see it and we have been talking about it for a week straight now and want to see it again. Its probally gonna be one of favorites, cause its one of those movies I could watch over and over.
  31. Repo!Girl
    Feb 11, 2009
    10
    Repo! is exactly what it was supposed to be. Some of the sung dialogue could have been better, but no musical/rock opera is perfect. I guess the disturbing aspects of the film made it too much for critics. The comic-esque flashbacks are awesome, and surprisingly, Paris Hilton does a really great job as Amber Sweet. I think a lot of fans were worried that she was going to screw the movie Repo! is exactly what it was supposed to be. Some of the sung dialogue could have been better, but no musical/rock opera is perfect. I guess the disturbing aspects of the film made it too much for critics. The comic-esque flashbacks are awesome, and surprisingly, Paris Hilton does a really great job as Amber Sweet. I think a lot of fans were worried that she was going to screw the movie up, but she played her part perfectly. Expand
  32. JustinG
    Feb 15, 2009
    9
    Repo is definitely a niche movie. It is aimed towards lovers of rock, metal, and Gothic culture, so anyone who abhors such things need not watch. Also, it is an opera. There will be singing. Lots of it. That being said, Repo delivers on what it should to its target audience. The music is amazing, the story is wonderfully tragic, and the entire ambiance is dark and gritty. The major flaws Repo is definitely a niche movie. It is aimed towards lovers of rock, metal, and Gothic culture, so anyone who abhors such things need not watch. Also, it is an opera. There will be singing. Lots of it. That being said, Repo delivers on what it should to its target audience. The music is amazing, the story is wonderfully tragic, and the entire ambiance is dark and gritty. The major flaws seem to lie in that there wasn't much support for the movie, and certain things had to be removed (sub plots, flashbacks replaced by comic book scenes, and Repo Man's rampage at the opera) which may put off some viewers, and the editing is a bit lacking and gives the movie a bit of a harsh flow. Also, some of the lyrics are a bit iffy, but the music is so great that such a minor flaw is easily overlooked. With more studio support, I'm sure a director's cut, sequel, prequel, remake, or whatever the hell the Repo crew want to do, will definitely fix the flaws and give a perfect movie for the fans. Expand
  33. BreakeR
    Feb 8, 2009
    10
    Truly a film that sets itself apart from both horrors and musicals by integrating themes of both. The cast did well and sang the songs very nicely. Some were better written then others but it's nothing to detract from the overall film, it's best moments would be the surprisingly charismatic and suave Graverobber and the complete humiliation of Paris Hilton. The gore is a fun Truly a film that sets itself apart from both horrors and musicals by integrating themes of both. The cast did well and sang the songs very nicely. Some were better written then others but it's nothing to detract from the overall film, it's best moments would be the surprisingly charismatic and suave Graverobber and the complete humiliation of Paris Hilton. The gore is a fun addition to anyone who enjoys B horror movies. An experience worth watching. Expand
  34. AntonioC
    Mar 10, 2009
    9
    Very energetic, very original, visually hypnotic... this movie definitely deserved a better reception from critics. I loved Alexa Vega's performance, and I was particularly surprised by Sarah Brightman. And while I have never really liked Paris Hilton's work, I must admit she did a good job playing the spoiled daughter in this film. I have no idea why she was the target for all Very energetic, very original, visually hypnotic... this movie definitely deserved a better reception from critics. I loved Alexa Vega's performance, and I was particularly surprised by Sarah Brightman. And while I have never really liked Paris Hilton's work, I must admit she did a good job playing the spoiled daughter in this film. I have no idea why she was the target for all these critics' anger. Did we watch the same movie?? Expand
  35. MattK
    Mar 16, 2009
    8
    Just generally a whole heck of a lot of fun.
  36. MattB
    Apr 3, 2009
    8
    I thought this was very enjoyable, and it hasn't gotten boring even after 5 viewings. But it's not perfect. The lyrics could've been written much better.
  37. PatrickY
    May 20, 2009
    5
    A film that has me quite split. A definitely interesting concept with a convoluted plot filled with twists and turns very intentionally in the spirit of tragic opera. There are a lot of ideas and elements that I like in this film. However execution is at times lacking. I enjoyed the performances from Anthony Stewart Head and Sarah Brightman, even Paris Hilton wasn't terrible. But a A film that has me quite split. A definitely interesting concept with a convoluted plot filled with twists and turns very intentionally in the spirit of tragic opera. There are a lot of ideas and elements that I like in this film. However execution is at times lacking. I enjoyed the performances from Anthony Stewart Head and Sarah Brightman, even Paris Hilton wasn't terrible. But a lot of the lyrics and songs just aren't up to snuff. Some being rather insipid and others just forgettable techno pop. The sets are also at times cheesy and cliched. It's hard to predict reactions to this film, it seems to be a love it or hate it affair. I seem to be one of the few exceptions. I kind of liked it, kind of. Expand
  38. DreH
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    I loved this movie... But what i dont understand if the way several people scored this. Several people user Paris Hilton as a scape goat to give this movie a low score. I went in thinking this movie would be bad because of Paris Hilton.. but realized 3 things 1- Paris Hilton plays a MINOR roll in the movie, and only has about 4, to 5 lines. 2- Paris Hilton doesnt have enough air-time to I loved this movie... But what i dont understand if the way several people scored this. Several people user Paris Hilton as a scape goat to give this movie a low score. I went in thinking this movie would be bad because of Paris Hilton.. but realized 3 things 1- Paris Hilton plays a MINOR roll in the movie, and only has about 4, to 5 lines. 2- Paris Hilton doesnt have enough air-time to bring down the movie 3- Paris Hilton actually does a good job as her roll Paris Hilton aside, This movie is different, but not for everyone. This movie excels with its plot/ideals and singing talent is there, but does not always hit the mark. Most the Main actors (whose names i cannot remember, only character names) show their Talent Nathan Wallace, Blind Mag, Rotti Largo show why they were chosen for their rolls. HOWEVER, Shilo misses the mark, and sings for most of the movie. But in all, this movie is NOT for everyone. You either love or Hate this movie, and i clearly love it. Expand
  39. Adrienne
    Aug 12, 2009
    1
    So bad, It's awful. I believe this movie exists solely so Paris Hilton's face can fall off on film. The singing is bad, (exception: Sarah Brightman) the music is bad, the characterization was non-existent. Is there even conflict in this plot? It's just a series of minor subplots that end arbitrarily and go nowhere. The comparisons to the Rocky Horror Picture Show are So bad, It's awful. I believe this movie exists solely so Paris Hilton's face can fall off on film. The singing is bad, (exception: Sarah Brightman) the music is bad, the characterization was non-existent. Is there even conflict in this plot? It's just a series of minor subplots that end arbitrarily and go nowhere. The comparisons to the Rocky Horror Picture Show are unfounded. TRHPS had a cast of uncommon talent (Tim Curry, Susan Sarandon) AND managed to make a relevant statement about the sexual revolution. Repo! tired hard and failed miserably. It seems to want to say something about megacorporations, our growing addiction to plastic surgery and our self-centered and useless youth ... but what are they trying to say exactly? In short: a load of sparkly *Goffick* BS for the Hot topic crowd. One point for: -Dancing stuffed animals in "seventeen" -Vega getting smacked for singing that at all -DJ Granny. Expand
  40. PhillipD.
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    This movie was amazing and instantly one of my favorites. I saw it in Seattle in their traveling show to promote it and there were already people there dressed up and singing along. I hope it gets a chance for a wide release. Also, some of these reviews from the mainstream media are ridiculous. Not only do many of them spend their time attacking things completely unrelated to the movie This movie was amazing and instantly one of my favorites. I saw it in Seattle in their traveling show to promote it and there were already people there dressed up and singing along. I hope it gets a chance for a wide release. Also, some of these reviews from the mainstream media are ridiculous. Not only do many of them spend their time attacking things completely unrelated to the movie (Paris Hilton as a person, not an actress) but they attack other reviews who use phrases like "instant cult classic" or whatever and hold the film to an entirely different standard without giving it a chance. Though to be fair, I don't think Rocky Horror had people dressing up at the second showing ever... Oh, though I will say... This movie isn't for everyone. It is quite gory and it is an Opera. There's practically no spoken dialogue unlike most normal musicals where the music is in the form of individual songs between the rest of the film. Expand
  41. SisterD.
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    There is something wrong with a society that would rather watch a movie about chimps in space or chihuahas in beverly hills than a movie that has great social commentary, great music, beautiful cinematography and is the different that the public is showing they desire from the film industry! Testify!
  42. CarrotS
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    Thus Movie is what's happening.
  43. ElisabethH
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    Contrary to the 'professional' comparisons to RHPS, this film has far more in common with Blade Runner than with anything else. Even knowing that only two of the performers have true 'opera' calibre voices, this was still entertaining enough to sit through. It's a beer and pretzels movie, and a good choice for a saturday night with friends. Assuming, of course, Contrary to the 'professional' comparisons to RHPS, this film has far more in common with Blade Runner than with anything else. Even knowing that only two of the performers have true 'opera' calibre voices, this was still entertaining enough to sit through. It's a beer and pretzels movie, and a good choice for a saturday night with friends. Assuming, of course, that your friends are as universally twisted as mine are. Expand
  44. JerradN
    Jan 26, 2009
    6
    Great concept, fantastic visual and costume design, characters, plot, etc... however, the songs completely ruined it for me. Cheesy dialouge just sing-song with music; it could've been so much better.
  45. JenniferB.
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    I love this movie! I think this was the best musical since Grease came out. I loved the glam and over the top effects of it. I hope that there is a sequel.
  46. DrewC
    Feb 12, 2009
    10
    The "professional" critics (unsurprisingly) don't get it. This is an original and thoroughly enjoyable film.
  47. SeanF
    Feb 16, 2009
    8
    I thought this film was really good at being what it was supposed to be.. a campy industrial/goth/rock horror opera. While a few scenes seemed a little forced, the overall experience is a guilty pleasure if you are into the goth/post goth scene.
  48. AaronA
    Feb 24, 2009
    9
    First saw this live at The Musicbox in Chicago and the crowd was loving it. It was a "back by demand" repeat showing, and some of the crowd was in costume and starting to play along Rocky Horor style. It was a great time and a fun, fun movie. Watch this with a huge group of like minded friends and have fun with it.
  49. SeanC
    Mar 15, 2009
    8
    The discrepancy between the critics' ratings and the user ratings is pretty mind-blowing. I'm not sure what exactly the critics were expecting from the film but it almost suggests a media generation gap between the two groups. Repo is fast, fun, and a completely self-aware cult flick. The music is forgettable after the DVD's back in its case, but during the film it's The discrepancy between the critics' ratings and the user ratings is pretty mind-blowing. I'm not sure what exactly the critics were expecting from the film but it almost suggests a media generation gap between the two groups. Repo is fast, fun, and a completely self-aware cult flick. The music is forgettable after the DVD's back in its case, but during the film it's pretty enjoyable. The story is interesting and builds its characters enough that you care about what happens to them, but the film definitely walks well trodden ground. All the elements of the film, taken on their own, are OK but the whole package elevates it to something that is just ridiculously entertaining. Plus: Paris Hilton's face falls off. That's worth the price of admission alone. Expand
  50. JoeR
    Jun 22, 2009
    8
    It's fun, even if it does get sidetracked sometimes.
  51. AlayaS
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    This movie is amazing! Worst movie of 2008?! That is bs. The musical abality is amazing the visual art is as equally stunning. The songs get stuck in your head easily and it is even more easy to become completely infatuated with the movie, the play and even more so the Graverobb and writer of the play Terrance. I hope they do a musical and I am personaly spreading the love of repo man to This movie is amazing! Worst movie of 2008?! That is bs. The musical abality is amazing the visual art is as equally stunning. The songs get stuck in your head easily and it is even more easy to become completely infatuated with the movie, the play and even more so the Graverobb and writer of the play Terrance. I hope they do a musical and I am personaly spreading the love of repo man to help with its popularity. HOPE THEY MAKE ANOTHER!! Expand
  52. NickS.
    Nov 13, 2008
    9
    A fun filled adventure! Love it or hate it this is a one of a kind gem that everyone should experience.
  53. DanielM.
    Dec 11, 2008
    4
    A geek show. It's not an artless film, and it contains interesting social commentary, but it's so buried under viscera and noise that it effectively defeats its own purpose.
  54. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    The music was catchy, the effects were good, the plot was unpredictable, and I was entertained the entire time. This dark-art film is truly the Rocky Horror of this generation.
  55. Apr 11, 2011
    9
    A brilliant film with fantastic acting, story, visuals and soundtrack. Intelligent and unique with subtle commentary on the compulsions and conditions of our kind. Not the highest budget film but makes up for it in originality and actually having something new to bring to the board rather than just being another mindless action romp.

    Also has a disturbing Gothic charm which is an unusual
    A brilliant film with fantastic acting, story, visuals and soundtrack. Intelligent and unique with subtle commentary on the compulsions and conditions of our kind. Not the highest budget film but makes up for it in originality and actually having something new to bring to the board rather than just being another mindless action romp.

    Also has a disturbing Gothic charm which is an unusual selling point.

    9/10 because some areas of the plot could really have been expanded upon.
    Expand
  56. Jun 9, 2011
    8
    Generally, this movie is based upon the music. If you are short on cash and can only buy the soundtrack, do so. The plot is not a huge thing, but it is a very interesting concept. Much more of a dark outlook than Repo Men. If you ever want to find someone who knows this, just tell them what Zydrate comes in. Definitely not a normal movie. Whether that is good or bad is your choice.
  57. Mar 8, 2014
    4
    Just as bloody, gory and terrifying as the "Saw" series. We have some nice music and lyrics but it gets exceedingly dull as the movie trudges on.
  58. Aug 14, 2012
    2
    How is the user score at 8.2? Am I missing something here? The film is quite terrible. The songs aren't memorable, the story feels non-existent with nothing to really pull it forward except songs that aren't worth tapping your foot to, and the whole thing is just boring. It's sad when Paul Sorvino is better at singing than anyone else in this piece of dung.
  59. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    Critics must have smoked something heavy: this is a really good movie with a great cast (even Paris Hilton, who is the most useless person in this world), great chracters (like Blind Mag), good music and a good plot.
  60. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    Where do I start?
    The acting was good, the music was catchy, it was silly and dark at the same time, it was just a great film all together.
    The music was amazing and I still sing it all the time, the lyrics where between actual music and just a conversation (an abnormal conversation, these characters have nothing normal to talk about) which they actually pulled off pretty well. It was
    Where do I start?
    The acting was good, the music was catchy, it was silly and dark at the same time, it was just a great film all together.
    The music was amazing and I still sing it all the time, the lyrics where between actual music and just a conversation (an abnormal conversation, these characters have nothing normal to talk about) which they actually pulled off pretty well.
    It was silly, the scenes with the Largo's (Pavi, Luigi, Amber and Rotti) never took themselves seriously (except maybe a few parts with Rotti,) and the plot didn't always want to be taken seriously. It was extremely surreal and that's what I love about it.
    Yet again, the plot didn't always want to be taken seriously and a couple things just came out of nowhere and left just as quickly (which pisses me off in ANY movie,) but mostly it wasn't a terrible plot.
    It was dark. Two words, organ repossessions. You can't have that and not have it be dark. It doesn't happen.
    Yes, Shilo could be a total **** and the plot jumped around in a few places, but this is an awesome movie. I haven't seen Repo Men yet, so let's not bring that rip-off up.
    Expand
  61. Jan 4, 2015
    10
    A fantastic musical and movie. The cast is great and perform exceptionally. The story is good and well written as are the songs. If you are looking for a good horror/musical give it a watch.
  62. May 2, 2015
    10
    This film was made by the same duo that made Devil's Carnival. It is well worth the watch for both films, as long as you approach it with a mindset that it doesn't want or need to be taken seriously, and you don't mind listening to people sing, Watch through it and make your own judgements. Personally, I think it worth the time, as the songs tend to pop into your head weeks or monthsThis film was made by the same duo that made Devil's Carnival. It is well worth the watch for both films, as long as you approach it with a mindset that it doesn't want or need to be taken seriously, and you don't mind listening to people sing, Watch through it and make your own judgements. Personally, I think it worth the time, as the songs tend to pop into your head weeks or months later, and you find your favorites on youtube just to hear them again. Expand
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 7 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    20
    So over-the-top it's purple. At the same time, it's not too many lengths of intestine beyond some mainstream movies, "Sweeney Todd" being the most obvious comparison.
  2. 10
    The grim finality of the ensuing pietà suggests the last act of Hamlet or, rather, Hamlet 2--so embarrassing that, for the first time, I wanted to avert my eyes from the screen, although that might have also been because Repo! appears to have been shot with a cell phone.
  3. Reviewed by: Sean Howe
    33
    If steampunk bloodbaths aren't for you, it's a long wait for the fat lady to sing.