Repo! The Genetic Opera

Repo! The Genetic Opera Image
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the year 2056 – the not so distant future – an epidemic of organ failures devastates the planet. Out of the tragedy, a savior emerges: GeneCo, a biotech company that offers organ transplants… for a price. Those who miss their payments are scheduled for repossession and hunted byIn the year 2056 – the not so distant future – an epidemic of organ failures devastates the planet. Out of the tragedy, a savior emerges: GeneCo, a biotech company that offers organ transplants… for a price. Those who miss their payments are scheduled for repossession and hunted by villainous Repo Men. In a world where surgery addicts are hooked on painkilling drugs and murder is sanctioned by law, a sheltered young girl searches for the cure to her own rare disease as well as information about her family’s mysterious history. After being sucked into the haunting world of GeneCo, she is unable to turn back, as all of her questions will be answered at the wildly anticipated spectacular event: The Genetic Opera. (Lionsgate) Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 7 out of 15
  1. 75
    Piles on the glam-rock spectacle and coal-black comedy at such a brusque pace that it often seems in danger of rattling off the rails entirely.
  2. 50
    Only time will tell whether REPO! can live up to its cult potential, but the potential is most definitely there.
  3. 50
    It's not often you come across a film as unique as this, and while my taste for liver, lights, and sweetbreads isn't what it once was, this is still a fine post-Halloween aperitif, with guts to spare.
  4. 40
    Feels destined to please a campy coterie of fans and no one else.
  5. 38
    There probably aren't enough futuristic Goth rock musicals, but Repo! The Genetic Opera is weak on a couple of things a musical needs: music and lyrics.
  6. If steampunk bloodbaths aren't for you, it's a long wait for the fat lady to sing.
  7. 10
    The film is bad -- not good-bad, tacky-bad or fun-bad, just plain awful and nearly unwatchable.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 64
  2. Negative: 9 out of 64
  1. Jan 4, 2015
    10
    A fantastic musical and movie. The cast is great and perform exceptionally. The story is good and well written as are the songs. If you areA fantastic musical and movie. The cast is great and perform exceptionally. The story is good and well written as are the songs. If you are looking for a good horror/musical give it a watch. Expand
  2. BenC
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    This movie is absolutely incredible. The singing is fantastic, as is the plot and theme. I really don't understand why all these critics This movie is absolutely incredible. The singing is fantastic, as is the plot and theme. I really don't understand why all these critics are so negative about it. Expand
  3. BellaM.
    Mar 20, 2010
    10
    This film is truly the Rocky Horror of our generation. Yes, it's campy but that's a huge part of it's charm and appeal. There This film is truly the Rocky Horror of our generation. Yes, it's campy but that's a huge part of it's charm and appeal. There are SO many opportunities for callback lines, and it's just an absolute blast. Not to mention the music is FANTASTIC. Expand
  4. NickS.
    Nov 13, 2008
    9
    A fun filled adventure! Love it or hate it this is a one of a kind gem that everyone should experience.
  5. Dengaku
    Nov 5, 2009
    9
    I was shocked by the critic scores, to be honest. This movie is great. I thought the singers were terrific and the dark story quite I was shocked by the critic scores, to be honest. This movie is great. I thought the singers were terrific and the dark story quite fascinating (i'm not sure about believable, though). My friends and I are having a blast randomly breaking into these songs throughout our school days. The lyrics are probably seen as lacking due to the fact that virtually everything is sung, even casual conversations. I personally don't converse with people in poems. Anyway, the movie is fun, bold, and intriguing. If it seems like your sort of thing, don't let some critics ruin it for you. Expand
  6. AMovieCritic
    Jan 25, 2009
    8
    A pretty great film, recommended to fans of twisted, dark, and original movies. Unlike anything I've ever seen. Its low-budget roots are A pretty great film, recommended to fans of twisted, dark, and original movies. Unlike anything I've ever seen. Its low-budget roots are always clear and at times I wondered how this would have looked with a bigger budget but Darren Lynn Bousman, (director of the best Saw, the 2nd one) makes the most of this, with some great stylish lighting and sound. Fun movie. Expand
  7. Nona
    Jan 11, 2009
    0
    This is by far the worst movie I have ever seen. It's like sitting through a two hour evanescence/rammstein/marilyn manson music video This is by far the worst movie I have ever seen. It's like sitting through a two hour evanescence/rammstein/marilyn manson music video except that some of their videos have credible artistic merit. I guess there is bound to be an audience for this kind of thing, but do not watch this film expecting a real cult classic. Being a fan of cult films of all kinds myself, I went in expecting some entertaining gems, but instead I got whiny songs about how much better it is to be 17 than 16 (lets be honest, there is no difference), an unacceptable lack of gore (especially when you consider the director is responsible for the Saw series), and disappointing performances on behalf of every actor in the film (congratulations Paris Hilton, you managed to a find a film in which you might not have given the worst performance in the whole cast). This film has not a single redeeming quality. I can honestly say, as much as I tried to find a light in the darkness, I have nothing good to say about this film. Expand

See all 64 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Movies Based on Plays and Musicals

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Movies Based on Plays and Musicals Image
    Published: June 14, 2012
    It's becoming increasingly clear that this week's "Rock of Ages" is not a great film. How bad will it need to be to rank among the worst stage-to-screen adaptations in recent memory, and what 10 films made the jump most successfully?