Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the year 2056 – the not so distant future – an epidemic of organ failures devastates the planet. Out of the tragedy, a savior emerges: GeneCo, a biotech company that offers organ transplants… for a price. Those who miss their payments are scheduled for repossession and hunted by villainous Repo Men. In a world where surgery addicts are hooked on painkilling drugs and murder is sanctioned by law, a sheltered young girl searches for the cure to her own rare disease as well as information about her family’s mysterious history. After being sucked into the haunting world of GeneCo, she is unable to turn back, as all of her questions will be answered at the wildly anticipated spectacular event: The Genetic Opera. (Lionsgate) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 7 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Sean O'Neal
    75
    Piles on the glam-rock spectacle and coal-black comedy at such a brusque pace that it often seems in danger of rattling off the rails entirely.
  2. Reviewed by: Jenni Miller
    50
    While Repo! is obviously no "Zauberflöte," it does offer up spectacle on an operatic scale.
  3. This would-be cult film is unlikely to inspire "Rocky Horror"-style devotion.
  4. 40
    Feels destined to please a campy coterie of fans and no one else.
  5. 38
    There probably aren't enough futuristic Goth rock musicals, but Repo! The Genetic Opera is weak on a couple of things a musical needs: music and lyrics.
  6. Reviewed by: Sean Howe
    33
    If steampunk bloodbaths aren't for you, it's a long wait for the fat lady to sing.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    10
    The film is bad -- not good-bad, tacky-bad or fun-bad, just plain awful and nearly unwatchable.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 60
  2. Negative: 8 out of 60
  1. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    this is by far my favorite movie ever the songs are great the acting is good and the story is awesome if you've never seen this movie GO BUY IT NOW! also paris hilton is unrecognizable in this. Collapse
  2. BenC
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    This movie is absolutely incredible. The singing is fantastic, as is the plot and theme. I really don't understand why all these critics are so negative about it. Expand
  3. AlayaS
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    This movie is amazing! Worst movie of 2008?! That is bs. The musical abality is amazing the visual art is as equally stunning. The songs get stuck in your head easily and it is even more easy to become completely infatuated with the movie, the play and even more so the Graverobb and writer of the play Terrance. I hope they do a musical and I am personaly spreading the love of repo man to help with its popularity. HOPE THEY MAKE ANOTHER!! Expand
  4. RyanS
    Jan 7, 2009
    9
    Okay, this not good movie and its not a movie for everyone. BUT, all that aside I really enjoyed it, me and my friends had a lot of fun going to see it and we have been talking about it for a week straight now and want to see it again. Its probally gonna be one of favorites, cause its one of those movies I could watch over and over. Expand
  5. Dengaku
    Nov 5, 2009
    9
    I was shocked by the critic scores, to be honest. This movie is great. I thought the singers were terrific and the dark story quite fascinating (i'm not sure about believable, though). My friends and I are having a blast randomly breaking into these songs throughout our school days. The lyrics are probably seen as lacking due to the fact that virtually everything is sung, even casual conversations. I personally don't converse with people in poems. Anyway, the movie is fun, bold, and intriguing. If it seems like your sort of thing, don't let some critics ruin it for you. Expand
  6. SeanF
    Feb 16, 2009
    8
    I thought this film was really good at being what it was supposed to be.. a campy industrial/goth/rock horror opera. While a few scenes seemed a little forced, the overall experience is a guilty pleasure if you are into the goth/post goth scene. Expand
  7. Nona
    Jan 11, 2009
    0
    This is by far the worst movie I have ever seen. It's like sitting through a two hour evanescence/rammstein/marilyn manson music video except that some of their videos have credible artistic merit. I guess there is bound to be an audience for this kind of thing, but do not watch this film expecting a real cult classic. Being a fan of cult films of all kinds myself, I went in expecting some entertaining gems, but instead I got whiny songs about how much better it is to be 17 than 16 (lets be honest, there is no difference), an unacceptable lack of gore (especially when you consider the director is responsible for the Saw series), and disappointing performances on behalf of every actor in the film (congratulations Paris Hilton, you managed to a find a film in which you might not have given the worst performance in the whole cast). This film has not a single redeeming quality. I can honestly say, as much as I tried to find a light in the darkness, I have nothing good to say about this film. Expand

See all 60 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Movies Based on Plays and Musicals

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Movies Based on Plays and Musicals Image
    Published: June 14, 2012
    It's becoming increasingly clear that this week's "Rock of Ages" is not a great film. How bad will it need to be to rank among the worst stage-to-screen adaptations in recent memory, and what 10 films made the jump most successfully?