User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 461 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 461
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RoryP.
    Feb 8, 2008
    5
    I think this film is overrated. Although it is an awful lot better then his last film, the Fountain. The film reliance on style causes problems, especially in the first act, where we are introduced to split screen and various other stylistic devices for no other reason then to give the film a professional sheen. There use in these areas were shallow and pointless, they did not progess any I think this film is overrated. Although it is an awful lot better then his last film, the Fountain. The film reliance on style causes problems, especially in the first act, where we are introduced to split screen and various other stylistic devices for no other reason then to give the film a professional sheen. There use in these areas were shallow and pointless, they did not progess any element of the story. I think if Aronofsky had laid off at the beginning and let the stylistic devices build up as the addictions took hold, it could have been a much better film. There is little character development. It appears to be a film situated in an Expand
  2. DaveH.
    Oct 30, 2006
    5
    In the vein of Trainspotting and the even more odious Human Traffic, beneath all the ostentatious showiness, is a lifeless, one-note film. The people are not so much characters as they are caricatures. Vices such as drugs, prostitution, antidepressants and erm... ECT are presented as dehumanising in the most reactionary, doctrinaire fashion imaginable and I felt very little empathy for In the vein of Trainspotting and the even more odious Human Traffic, beneath all the ostentatious showiness, is a lifeless, one-note film. The people are not so much characters as they are caricatures. Vices such as drugs, prostitution, antidepressants and erm... ECT are presented as dehumanising in the most reactionary, doctrinaire fashion imaginable and I felt very little empathy for Leto or Connelly, who are presented more as subjects to Aronofsky's painfest than as real people. We don't believe a word Leto says when he proclaims "I just want to make [his mum] happy", which brings us to the brilliant Ellen Burstyn, who is the heartbreakingly naive mother. She is the only reason to see this film. Expand
  3. Tasha
    Aug 26, 2002
    5
    more of a movie with intentions to "shock". Lacks thoughtful dialogue, and strays from complete development of characters.
  4. Feb 24, 2013
    4
    Weird, confusing, and pointless. I really don't understand what all the hype is about. Yes, Ellen Burstyn performance was unbelievable, but the movie was just terrible. Honestly, I know it has a huge cult following, but wtf is so special about it? Please someone fill me in...What am I missing?
  5. BryanE.
    Aug 27, 2001
    6
    Visually stunning, but narratively empty. This film goes over territory that has already been covered in a very one-note and unimaginative fashion. Arronovsky is no doubt a talented stylist. But he shows off at the expense of realism and character development. Rent "Trainspotting" for a more nuanced and interesting take on this subject matter.
  6. Mar 15, 2012
    6
    The impact of this film depends on where you're from and what you've been exposed to in real life and in other reality based films. Not to sound pompous but if i was from a sheltered middle class suburban upbringing I'd probably find some othe sens painfully graphic, but having done my time in the ghettos (plural) I've seen way worse. The directing was the most entertaining aspect. TheThe impact of this film depends on where you're from and what you've been exposed to in real life and in other reality based films. Not to sound pompous but if i was from a sheltered middle class suburban upbringing I'd probably find some othe sens painfully graphic, but having done my time in the ghettos (plural) I've seen way worse. The directing was the most entertaining aspect. The story, well, even if I hadn't experienced some of it in person I'd have read about it countless times before seeing this simply because I'm middle aged. So I guess you might also have to be kind of young to be shocked as well. It's well crafted and if you feel like you 'should' see it so you understand the current pop culture references, then do so. It's not a waste of time. If you want to see the real thing though, check out 'Dope Sick Love'. It's a mind blowing doc that's readily available for free online. Just google it. It makes this film seem like 'Dora the Explorer'. Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    6
    This movie is without a really special movie. The style is admirable and bold and Ellen Burstyn's performance is one the best I have seen in a very long time. It explores the effect of drugs in a terriffic way and I think it's safe to say that everyone of us wants to distance ourselves from drugs after watching this film. Nevertheless, there is something about this movie that makes meThis movie is without a really special movie. The style is admirable and bold and Ellen Burstyn's performance is one the best I have seen in a very long time. It explores the effect of drugs in a terriffic way and I think it's safe to say that everyone of us wants to distance ourselves from drugs after watching this film. Nevertheless, there is something about this movie that makes me very, very uncomfortable. I think it's simply because this movie is way too special for my taste, sorry to say. But I definitely think that we all should give it a chance. Expand
  8. Dec 2, 2013
    6
    It tries so hard to be dark and dramatic that it becomes comical. If the movie was ten minutes longer, zombie hitler would rise from the grave and give the whole world cancer or punch orphans in the face. The movie works hard to build a connection with the audience and the characters, but squanders it at the last minute because the creators had too many ideas whirling in their heads.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. 100
    No one interested in the power and magic of movies should miss it.
  2. Reviewed by: Ernest Hardy
    30
    Too self-consciously dark, too aware of its long, murky, art-designed descent into the underbelly of America's addictive personality.
  3. A powerful fable about love and addiction that manages to be darkly humorous when it isn't graphic or harrowing in the extreme.