Miramax Films | Release Date: October 1, 1992
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 630 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
592
Mixed:
25
Negative:
13
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
nboley08Aug 22, 2010
Tarantino's debut is still arguably his most powerful. "Reservoir Dogs" shows a rathe timid Tarantino in the beginning of his career, but that doesn't mean it's lesser than his later films. "Reservoir Dogs" packs a mean punch full ofTarantino's debut is still arguably his most powerful. "Reservoir Dogs" shows a rathe timid Tarantino in the beginning of his career, but that doesn't mean it's lesser than his later films. "Reservoir Dogs" packs a mean punch full of violence, obscenities, and hilarity all into very fast crime thriller that is sure to get your adrenaline pumping. "Reservoir Dogs" does lack what makes Tarantino's later films somewhat better; a brilliant screenplay. I would love to see Tarantino redo "Reservoir Dogs" now that his confidence in directing and writing has grown considerably. However, this is a fantastic cult film that should be watched by every lover of the cinema. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
muzzikloverMar 6, 2011
The movie that made Tarantino awesome. Probably one of Tarantino's greatest films next to Pulp Fiction, it has everything you expect and love from Tarantino; Memorable dialogs, well written characters, well paced non-linear storyline,The movie that made Tarantino awesome. Probably one of Tarantino's greatest films next to Pulp Fiction, it has everything you expect and love from Tarantino; Memorable dialogs, well written characters, well paced non-linear storyline, constant references to pop culture and tribute like feelings. If you want to explore Tarantino's films, start with this one. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
moviebuff_420Dec 23, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's Tarantino's debut and breakthrough in Hollywood.
i fully admire his efforts on the story and direction.
Everybody just did a great job.Joe,Eddie and our prominent colors steals the show.
Infrequent violence scenes make it powerful and the acting is just over the top.Screenplay rules.
I really liked everyone but Steve Buscemi,Tim Roth and Harvey Keitel just steals the show.
This movie starts the style of Tarantino's long conversation about pop culture,daily and criminal activities which people enjoys till now.
Especially,the infamous cop-torture scene and the when Mr. Pink shoots at cops repeatedly are too good.
This is a perfect crime movie.
It's that kind of movie ,you can see 10 times ,if you liked it.
It was my first non-linear story line Hollywood movie ,they did it so perfectly that now i love this kind.
It's fast pace wouldn't let you bore for one freaking second.
People who love to see crime movies will surely adore it.
Everything is so great which make this flick unforgettable.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
IuliaAndNov 22, 2015
Not a movie to watch with your family, but a movie worth watching, Reservoir Dogs brings a lot to the table. With so much fast-paced action, the dialogue still remains the main focus. Being carefully crafted to surprise and make the audienceNot a movie to watch with your family, but a movie worth watching, Reservoir Dogs brings a lot to the table. With so much fast-paced action, the dialogue still remains the main focus. Being carefully crafted to surprise and make the audience think, the bold dialogue contains a lot of smart discussions sprinkled with just enough humor to be entertaining. As much as I like the action to be arranged chronologically, the "messy" plot gives the movie just the right amount of ingenuity it needs. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
Man, I really liked Quentin Tarantino before he became a retard, directing movies like "Kill Bill". His Sundance movie "Reservoir Dogs" was a great example why; it had everything a crime thriller doesn't need, from great, unexpectedMan, I really liked Quentin Tarantino before he became a retard, directing movies like "Kill Bill". His Sundance movie "Reservoir Dogs" was a great example why; it had everything a crime thriller doesn't need, from great, unexpected directions to a solid cast (mainly Harvey Keitel doing the job). It was a controversial blast that had powerful, appealing force, and that's why I admired it. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
sumsarJan 24, 2011
Simply, a classic. Great cast with great acting and great dialogue. Gangster movie about a bank robbery you don't actually see, you only hear what happened and yet your eyes are glued to the screen every second of the movie. A must see forSimply, a classic. Great cast with great acting and great dialogue. Gangster movie about a bank robbery you don't actually see, you only hear what happened and yet your eyes are glued to the screen every second of the movie. A must see for any movie lover. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobJan 24, 2012
I loved this movie and I enjoyed watching it. The cast was good and it was interesting. Yet the film is a bit too predictable and that sort of ruined it a little. I would still recommend it though.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
RONGIUSep 4, 2010
Sorry for the translation.

The year was 1992 - In the cinematic landscape is a new director and a new movie. The director named Quentin Tarantino, the film Reservoir Dogs. Synopsis: Robbery, fleeing in a warehouse, debates, quarrels,
Sorry for the translation.

The year was 1992 -

In the cinematic landscape is a new director and a new movie. The director named Quentin Tarantino, the film Reservoir Dogs.

Synopsis: Robbery, fleeing in a warehouse, debates, quarrels, emotional consequences, death stars. (Except one, perhaps).

Who is Quentin Tarantino: A brilliant storyteller. (S.m. skillful storyteller)

About Reservoir Dogs: A film against intellectual arrogance. When you're seriously pissed use the tools that are familiar to make you feel better.

What are the symptoms (nervousness): A brilliant storyteller and surprises you when he talks about topics such as handling, race, music, religion, violence. So his characters before the cameras never lose vitality even in extreme situations. Everything is structured around the conversations that are always stimulating. Tarantino shakes you from stupor.

As you can: through the camera, leaving no escape. You're down there shooting, anyway.

What is comparable to the work of Tarantino: The most famous artist Mamontow toy. The Russian dolls.

In that sense: The Russian doll is a collection of dolls, Russian wood of different sizes, nicely colored. Each piece can be inserted into another and is divided into two parts. The pieces in them are not full, but empty. Only the latter, the smallest, which is called "seed" is full.
The largest piece is called "mother". The Russian doll, the figure represents a peasant mother and generous as it may be the land. The creative mind of Tarantino is generous as it is a Russian doll.

Got a message for Mr. Tarantino? Yes, welcome in Italy. Venice is beautiful. A partnership with Carlo Verdone would an Oscar in Italy.

An example of imaginative narration (narration).

Ok.

Un giorno, un non vedente era seduto sul gradino di un marciapiede con un cappello ai suoi piedi e un pezzo di cartone con su scritto: «Sono cieco, aiutatemi per favore!» "One day a blind man was sitting on the slope of a sidewalk with a cap at his feet and a piece of cardboard with this written on it: â
Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
thelordoffilmAug 13, 2010
Reservoir Dogs was Quentin Tarantinoâ
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
BillB.Feb 3, 2007
It wasn't THAT good. The acting was great, but the script is below average.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
Mr.PinkOct 10, 2009
I just have one thing to say.. You put the Lime in the Coconut and you drank 'em both up Put the lime in the coconut, you drank 'em both up.. :D Such a brilliant movie with that song on the credits, it makes it only more brilliant I just have one thing to say.. You put the Lime in the Coconut and you drank 'em both up Put the lime in the coconut, you drank 'em both up.. :D Such a brilliant movie with that song on the credits, it makes it only more brilliant and more Tarantino. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TubieNov 2, 2010
It's sad that not as many people have watched this gem. It's such a great film I did not give it a 10 because some parts drag on a bit but overall this is one of the best movies of all times in my book.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Sep 26, 2015
Reservoir Dogs is the debut film from legendary Director, Quinton Tarantino, and that's why it's taken me such a long time to see it. Most Directors, even the great ones, aren't always successful right out of the gate. In fact, it's a veryReservoir Dogs is the debut film from legendary Director, Quinton Tarantino, and that's why it's taken me such a long time to see it. Most Directors, even the great ones, aren't always successful right out of the gate. In fact, it's a very rare thing to accomplish, but I should have known that if anyone could do it, Tarantino could. In his signature style, Tarantino heavily uses flashbacks to piece together an amazing story of a heist gone bad. The score of a lifetime is at Joe Cabot's fingertips, so he puts together a crew of six of the best criminals his city has to offer. To make sure nothing goes wrong, everyone remains anonymous and is given a nicknames. Right from the start of the film, we know that something has gone terribly wrong, but what happened? That we'll eventually find out in pieces, through flashbacks, in a style that is pure Tarantino. Even in his first film, you can see the style, classic lines, and intriguing that made Tarantino the household name that he is. Aside from flashbacks, the other thing Tarantino is known for, is putting together unlikely casts, that turn out to be perfect for the roles they are in. Harvey Kaitel as Mr. White, may very well be the best of the lot. Kaitel is at the top of his game, and while older and unlikely to be the leader of the group, he turns out to be much more, including the star of this film. Reservoir Dogs is nearly twenty-five years old and it is still as exciting and relevant today as it was then. I never thought anything would ever come close to topping Pulp Fiction as my favorite Tarantino film, but Reservoir Dogs certainly makes a compelling argument for the top spot on that list. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
RegOzApr 5, 2012
I believe this is Tarantino's best movie...well, to me it is definitely better than Pulp Fiction. A great movie indeed, not a 10 but close...I hope to watch it again soon. What else can I say that hasn't been mentioned yet?
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
axelkochDec 2, 2012
'Reservoir Dogs' marks the debut of legendary Quentin Tarantino, who revolutionized the heist genre with this movie. Crude jokes, nearly 300 uses of the f-word in a running time of only 90 minutes and an awful lot of blood. In the'Reservoir Dogs' marks the debut of legendary Quentin Tarantino, who revolutionized the heist genre with this movie. Crude jokes, nearly 300 uses of the f-word in a running time of only 90 minutes and an awful lot of blood. In the Tarantino-esque manner of using as few scenes as possible, this film is focused on the dialogues. Tarantino himself describing what Madonna Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
talisencrwMay 14, 2016
This unique take on the heist-film-gone-wrong was excellent--stylish and intelligently made, yet very funny and inexpensive. Tarantino's accolades from giving American cinema the resuscitation it needed mirrors what has happened, at leastThis unique take on the heist-film-gone-wrong was excellent--stylish and intelligently made, yet very funny and inexpensive. Tarantino's accolades from giving American cinema the resuscitation it needed mirrors what has happened, at least since the 70's, with Martin Scorsese's 'Mean Streets', both in terms of entertaining violence and usage of music in the scoring of films. I greatly thank Harvey Keitel for taking a chance on Tarantino back then--It paid off in spades. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BritishWolfSep 21, 2015
Really good film, much better than I anticipated, much better than Pulp Fiction. The entire film is expertly shot, the actors are brilliant and convincing, and both the story and the way in which it is told is/was original.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
AdamB.May 3, 2006
This movie was so awesome. And though Tarantino was not the first director to make use of non-linear plotlines (Mystery Train by Jim Jarmusch), he very much brought a quirky style of direction and storytelling into the end of the twentieth This movie was so awesome. And though Tarantino was not the first director to make use of non-linear plotlines (Mystery Train by Jim Jarmusch), he very much brought a quirky style of direction and storytelling into the end of the twentieth century and now into the twenty-first. Reservoir Dogs remains my favorite gangster movie only because it isn't so stereotypical of that genre of film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WesE.Jan 6, 2006
Pulp Fiction has a great story, acting and direction, but it doesn't seem real; neither does Jackie Brown. Reservoir Dogs succeeds on these terms simply because it feels so creepily real. The dialog, acting and genius plot are simply brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RDalviMar 20, 2006
Excellent performances. Dialogues contain a lot of abusive language but its worth it. Tarantino'ds performance as Mr. Brown as well as the director and writer is excellent. The other performances also shine. Overall, a great movie with Excellent performances. Dialogues contain a lot of abusive language but its worth it. Tarantino'ds performance as Mr. Brown as well as the director and writer is excellent. The other performances also shine. Overall, a great movie with great content. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesMDec 20, 2005
I cannot stand critics who dislike Tarantino because his movies contain violence. God, if you can't watch movies with violence why on earth are you a movie critic? This is one of my faourite film of all time, and, you can quote me on I cannot stand critics who dislike Tarantino because his movies contain violence. God, if you can't watch movies with violence why on earth are you a movie critic? This is one of my faourite film of all time, and, you can quote me on this, Quentin Tarantino is a genius. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JinsonC.Sep 8, 2006
Reservoir Dogs, the movie that started it all. Such a widely replicated directorial debut has never been made and never will be. Tarantino presents an alternate view of reality as in the perspective of those that break the law as the good Reservoir Dogs, the movie that started it all. Such a widely replicated directorial debut has never been made and never will be. Tarantino presents an alternate view of reality as in the perspective of those that break the law as the good guys. Police are the perpetual villain, always present yet out of sight and all the characters know it. This is one hell of an adrenaline ride and a must see for any fan of film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenB.Sep 15, 2007
Speaking as a Tarantino fan, this film is great. His first film (written when he was 28) is extremely original, with a clever script and a unique outlook. The acting is top-notch, and carries the film, although the trademark Tarantino script Speaking as a Tarantino fan, this film is great. His first film (written when he was 28) is extremely original, with a clever script and a unique outlook. The acting is top-notch, and carries the film, although the trademark Tarantino script goes a long way also. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Mr.HankeyApr 22, 2006
This movie sparked the millions of fans of Quentin Tarantino and made him a big name in independent film. But is the movie good? Yes because it is a interesting look at the jobs of killers and No because it doesn't add up as well and This movie sparked the millions of fans of Quentin Tarantino and made him a big name in independent film. But is the movie good? Yes because it is a interesting look at the jobs of killers and No because it doesn't add up as well and some of the acting isn't as good as I would hope. The violence is very visual and surreal but it shows the brutality of people in a way that you may never have seen before. Also interesting how the incognito's of the killers are colors and also how the language is over used and makes the characters less appealing. The movie is good but not the best out of Tarantino in any form. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenBNov 30, 2007
A witty script and impressive acting carry this movie, which isn't really that as good as all the hype. The quotable dialogue, black comedy, and great performances make the movie worth it, and I really enjoyed it, but Tarantino has A witty script and impressive acting carry this movie, which isn't really that as good as all the hype. The quotable dialogue, black comedy, and great performances make the movie worth it, and I really enjoyed it, but Tarantino has really refined his technique since this movie. For more of the unique dialogue with everything improved upon watch Pulp Fiction, a true masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertIFeb 26, 2008
One gripping piece of filmmaking, with the most terrifying scene on film?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NewKillerStarDestroyerSep 29, 2009
It's a witty and intense movie, with some of the most stylish sequences ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.Nov 27, 2007
The debut film of the greatest American director to ever look through the lens of a camera. Tarantino doesn't make anything but great movies. Every single thing he has directed, written, or even produced has all been outstanding work. The debut film of the greatest American director to ever look through the lens of a camera. Tarantino doesn't make anything but great movies. Every single thing he has directed, written, or even produced has all been outstanding work. If you love movies and you want to see the debut film of one of the greatest directors in our time then check this movie out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SlickReviewAug 16, 2010
This film has some of the best acting I've seen. Definitly an American Crime Classic. Also a very strong lesson on who to trust and who not to trust.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JacobJan 4, 2015
For a first film its good. The characters are interesting and the story is engaging. The choice to tell the story out of order makes me want to rewatch the film as I feel like it’ll make more sense the second time around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews