Reservoir Dogs

Reservoir Dogs Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 575 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 100
    Grabs you by the throat and digs its claws in deep. From the moment that the unwitting viewer tumbles into the realm of Lawrence Tierney's gang of eight, they are hopelessly trapped there until the final credits roll.
  2. Reservoir Dogs sizzles - it's dynamite on a short fuse, and you watch it with mesmerized fascination, simultaneously attracted and repelled by the explosion you know will come.
  3. 100
    You may not like the terms Tarantino sets, but you have to admit he succeeds on them.
  4. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    88
    Too lingeringly creepy to ignore. [23 Oct 1992]
  5. The film's look and themes also recall those of Howard Hawks. Avoiding artful, fussy compositions, Tarantino constructs much of Reservoir Dogs from simple medium-shot long takes.
  6. Film.com
    Reviewed by: John Hartl
    80
    All of it is vital and involving, and some of it is hilarious...I've rarely seen a group of people in a darkened theater react as viscerally as they do to Reservoir Dogs.
  7. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Julie Salamon
    40
    The only thing Mr. Tarantino spells out is the violence. I have seen much more blood spilled, yet I felt sickened by the coldness of this picture's visual cruelty. [29 Oct 1992, p.A11(E)]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 98
  2. Negative: 4 out of 98
  1. AdamB.
    May 3, 2006
    10
    This movie was so awesome. And though Tarantino was not the first director to make use of non-linear plotlines (Mystery Train by Jim This movie was so awesome. And though Tarantino was not the first director to make use of non-linear plotlines (Mystery Train by Jim Jarmusch), he very much brought a quirky style of direction and storytelling into the end of the twentieth century and now into the twenty-first. Reservoir Dogs remains my favorite gangster movie only because it isn't so stereotypical of that genre of film. Expand
  2. PMG
    Jun 15, 2014
    10
    I will say this movie is almost as good as Pulp Fiction! What caries the movie is the dialoge and it takes some serios talent to make reallyI will say this movie is almost as good as Pulp Fiction! What caries the movie is the dialoge and it takes some serios talent to make really entertaining scenes where in there is very little action. Strong performences make this movie feel real and the torture scene if you ask me is among the greatest movie scenes of all time. When all is said and done this is my second favorite Tarantino movie and 6th favorite movie of all time. Well **** Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2010
    10
    Sorry for the translation.

    The year was 1992 - In the cinematic landscape is a new director and a new movie. The director named Quentin
    Sorry for the translation.

    The year was 1992 -

    In the cinematic landscape is a new director and a new movie. The director named Quentin Tarantino, the film Reservoir Dogs.

    Synopsis: Robbery, fleeing in a warehouse, debates, quarrels, emotional consequences, death stars. (Except one, perhaps).

    Who is Quentin Tarantino: A brilliant storyteller. (S.m. skillful storyteller)

    About Reservoir Dogs: A film against intellectual arrogance. When you're seriously pissed use the tools that are familiar to make you feel better.

    What are the symptoms (nervousness): A brilliant storyteller and surprises you when he talks about topics such as handling, race, music, religion, violence. So his characters before the cameras never lose vitality even in extreme situations. Everything is structured around the conversations that are always stimulating. Tarantino shakes you from stupor.

    As you can: through the camera, leaving no escape. You're down there shooting, anyway.

    What is comparable to the work of Tarantino: The most famous artist Mamontow toy. The Russian dolls.

    In that sense: The Russian doll is a collection of dolls, Russian wood of different sizes, nicely colored. Each piece can be inserted into another and is divided into two parts. The pieces in them are not full, but empty. Only the latter, the smallest, which is called "seed" is full.
    The largest piece is called "mother". The Russian doll, the figure represents a peasant mother and generous as it may be the land. The creative mind of Tarantino is generous as it is a Russian doll.

    Got a message for Mr. Tarantino? Yes, welcome in Italy. Venice is beautiful. A partnership with Carlo Verdone would an Oscar in Italy.

    An example of imaginative narration (narration).

    Ok.

    Un giorno, un non vedente era seduto sul gradino di un marciapiede con un cappello ai suoi piedi e un pezzo di cartone con su scritto: «Sono cieco, aiutatemi per favore!» "One day a blind man was sitting on the slope of a sidewalk with a cap at his feet and a piece of cardboard with this written on it: â
    Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2011
    9
    An awesome Crime Gangstar movie. I finally watch this movie. I love it. This is one of the best movie i seen. Memorable lines and scene. ThisAn awesome Crime Gangstar movie. I finally watch this movie. I love it. This is one of the best movie i seen. Memorable lines and scene. This movie brings action and comedy. An Crime gangster movie ever body should watch. very entertaining. I never watch this movie before because I didnt think it was going be all this good. If you haven't watch it already you should. Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2015
    8
    Really good film, much better than I anticipated, much better than Pulp Fiction. The entire film is expertly shot, the actors are brilliantReally good film, much better than I anticipated, much better than Pulp Fiction. The entire film is expertly shot, the actors are brilliant and convincing, and both the story and the way in which it is told is/was original. Expand
  6. Dec 2, 2012
    8
    'Reservoir Dogs' marks the debut of legendary Quentin Tarantino, who revolutionized the heist genre with this movie. Crude jokes, nearly 300'Reservoir Dogs' marks the debut of legendary Quentin Tarantino, who revolutionized the heist genre with this movie. Crude jokes, nearly 300 uses of the f-word in a running time of only 90 minutes and an awful lot of blood. In the Tarantino-esque manner of using as few scenes as possible, this film is focused on the dialogues. Tarantino himself describing what Madonna Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2016
    1
    Not as good as Galaxy QuestNot as good as Galaxy Quest

    ....................................................................................................................................................
    Expand

See all 98 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  2. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.