User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 283 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 283

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 10, 2010
    10
    Ok, this is not a movie that critics will be kind to. If you liked the first three, this is more of the same. Like a nice burger: you know the taste, but its still tasty.

    This series is really all about the action now. 3D is better than the post converted movies but no where near Avater level; still a lot of fun.

    Best not to overthink this movie - just enjoy it for what it is: popcorn fun
  2. Sep 11, 2010
    7
    You would think that critics or users who rate this movie negatively should understand by now that this type of movie is not for them. As cheesy action flix movies go, this one was all right. It's no better or worse than the other movies in the series (OK, maybe better than the first one).
  3. Jan 26, 2013
    6
    this movie is nowhere near as good as the first three, the plot has more gaping holes than a pornstar convention, or even every pornstar in america, it completely abandons most of the plot points from the first films, and even reveals that a cure for the t-virus ALREADY EXISTED... the cast this time around mostly consists of stereotypes: the asian, the black guy, the hollywood producer, the british girl, the pervert... need i go on, the action is rather entertaining despite the ridiculous amount of slo-mo littered throughout the movie, the 3d is implemented rather well, the soundtrack, by tomandandy, is the best in the series, if you like the first three movies, or are a hardcore action junkie, than you might enjoy this, but don't bother pointing out the quarry-sized plot holes throughout the movie, trust me, everyone else noticed them to... Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2010
    1
    Yawwn, yawn, yawn! Nothing new! Boring! Terrible 3D! First 20 minutes makes for a good nap. Another classic example of Hollywoodthink that more is better! Not everything has to be in 3D to be good. Studios are killing the 3D process in its infancy. Don't waste your money.
  5. Sep 21, 2011
    4
    Thank God, at least the movie is better than its first two prequels.
  6. Sep 26, 2010
    3
    Afterlife has absolutely nothing to do with the games. Unless you want to include Wesker's red eyes and some character models ripped straight out of Resident Evil 5. The movie is poorly acted, and for a 3D film -- it's insanely boring.
  7. Nov 3, 2010
    3
    i have seen plenty of action horror movies. this is one of the worst. it is boring from beginning to end. there are no new surprises or thrills. it just more of the same of the last three except a lot worse.
  8. Sep 10, 2010
    9
    I was excited to hear that Paul Anderson would be directing Resident Evil Afterlife, the fourth film in the Resident Evil franchise. After two decent sequels to the first film, I had hopes, albeit hesitant hopes about this one. Alas, you can put your hesitance aside. This film astounded me by how well it was done. I saw it in Imax 3-D, and I was impressed.
    For starters, the 3-D camera
    system was the same one used to film Avatar. To me, it seemed that Anderson managed to make it better! I found myself flinching and drawing back a few times in the film. Not because of the guns and bullets assaulting me through the screen, but by the rain seeming to gently fall towards me. And sometimes it was to keep the zombie blood from getting all over me. Anderson also focused on making the background and environment gently stand out in 3-D too. I was also pleasantly surprised by the music for this movie. Tomandany did a great job with it. The Outsider (Resident Renholder Mix) was used towards the end too. Afterlife features a variety of settings throughout the film. I never felt like an environment was being recycled or get a feeling of deja vu. The slow motion and bullet time that is heavily used in this movie is over used a few times. But not enough to ruin a scene though. The acting, while not top notch, was a lot better than the previous three movies. I was doubting Anderson's pick to have Shawn Roberts play the film's principal antagonizer, Albert Wesker. Luckily Roberts did a phenomenal job. I feel sorry for doubting his ability to portray Wesker. The cast from the previous movies did well, as did the newcomers. Although I was astounded by Milla not being naked some part in one of her films for the first time. The most notable thing about this movie is its pacing. Unlike Extinction which was too slow and Apocalypse which was too fast, Afterlife is a steady pace of action, story, and more action. While this was a primarily action film, it had a driving story which was, suffice to say, very epic.
    Overall, I give Paul Anderson a nine out of ten on Resident Evil Afterlife. My reasons, balanced mix of action and story, excellent 3-D, interesting characters, and a variety of settings. Well done Paul, I hope there is another one in the works!
    Expand
  9. Sep 12, 2010
    7
    This Resident Evil movie is exactly what all the others, past and future, should be-- a spotlight on Milla Jovovich kicking some zombie ass in the most gruesome fashion possible. Is the movie filled with plotholes the size of a mountain? Sure. Should that matter? In any other movie, yes, but not Resident Evil. It's immune to the conventions of other films, because it's only purpose is to entertain, and in that purpose, it succeeds. The 3-D is the best I've seen (I never saw Avatar in 3D), and definitely helps set the mood and the tone of the film. My only real complaint is Anderson's overuse of slow-mo. Every single fight scene has it, and while it's cool, it just becomes distracting and somewhat dull somewhere around the 4th or 5th time you see it. I recommend all the Resident Evil movies for anyone looking for some fun zombie slaughtering, not Oscar-level fare. Expand
  10. Sep 10, 2010
    9
    This movie is quite awesome! If you want to see it, you should see it in 3D. The gimicks work quite well. When you see it, don't look at is as a "Resident Evil game" movie. Watch it as a separate entity to the Resident Evil culture and series. What I liked about this movie most was the styling of the world. A grey apocalypse has fallen, giving the world a feeling of depression. As for the critic's "it's humorless", no duh, it's a horror movie, and for the comment about them not running "full speed" through the apocalypse, after several years of doing one thing, I think it wouldn't really frighten you anymore. I mean, she's been chased by zombies a million times.

    All I can say is, don't let the movie critics reviews steer you clear of it. This is a great movie that you deserve to let yourself watch. Watch it as an action movie and you'll be happy.

    The only thing I can really say bad about this movie is that it felt just too short. But this does seem to be a part 1 of 2, so I can only anticipate the next!

    All in all, great movie, treat yourself!
    Expand
  11. Sep 15, 2010
    0
    3d cameras from Avatar,special effects from Matrix and no new idea of its own.And my advise to Wentworth Miller:go back to prison.you were much better there.
  12. Sep 23, 2010
    4
    This film offers fantastic action scenes and the 3D was better than most films i see. The plot has many holes within and fails to explain a few details. As a Resident Evil game fan i am extremely pleased characters and enemy's were introduced into the film, feeling i can relate to the film. Boss fights seem to short and to easy to be killed and sometimes act in stupid ways, out of their characteristics. Overall this film is well worth watching if you are a Resident Evil game/film fan, but if you are looking for a good story base, this isn't for you. Expand
  13. Sep 29, 2010
    5
    You know I REALLY liked the previous three Resident Evil movies and thought they were highly entertaining. This one can be described in on word "discombobulated" (lacking coherency). They made some very strange story choices with Alice and the ending is just plain ridiculous! The movie industry seems to project that with CGI you can sacrifice acting, now with 3D you can just make pretty pictures, kill things, have lots of action, and the audience will eat it up. I really hope 3D is a total flop!!! Expand
  14. Sep 22, 2010
    2
    Un confuso churrazo irredento que no tiene ni siquiera la gracia de mostrar como se debe la belleza física de Milla Jovovich, que ya aparece un tanto cuanto traqueteada después de cuatro películas en las que combate zombies correlones -y, por lo que se ve, habrá una quinta ocasión.
  15. Sep 13, 2010
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Does Milla Jovovich still write songs? Arguably, the Ukranian-born Jovovich is the Harper Lee of supermodels-cum-songwriters. Nobody told her that supermodels were supposed to be dumb; they don't release albums as startlingly accomplished as "The Divine Comedy". Filmmaker Richard Linklater must have sensed that music was Jovovich's true calling when he cast her as a folksinger in "Dazed and Confused", where the composer of the Kate Bush-inspired "Gentleman Who Fell"(the former Vogue cover girl captures Bush's flair for the theatrical with a playful deftness) can be glimpsed strumming a blue guitar in the company of stoners. Released in 1994, "The Divine Comedy" holds up, made all the more astonishing since Jovovich was only nineteen at the time. In a sense, she invented Fiona Apple. As an actress, she also played everybody's favorite fifteenth-century heretic in Luc Besson's "The Messenger: The Story of Joan of Arc", in which her performance as The Maid of Orleans fell somewhere between Ingrid Bergman and Jane Wiedlin. To put it tactfully, Jovovich could have used more seasoning, but she wasn't awful on the scale of Sofia Coppola in Francis Ford Coppola's "The Godfather III"; she deserved a second chance at a project that called for more than a pretty face and tight physique. But Hollywood can be unforgiving to actresses who bomb in their first starring role(witness Brittany Murphy's descent after Nick Hurran's "Little Black Book"), so once again, she's "Alice in Video Gameland", playing a woman with a pretty face and tight physique in "Resident Evil: Afterlife", her fourth(fifth, if you count Kurt Wimmer's "Ultraviolet") go-around as deadly eye-candy, with the added plus of being deadly eye-candy in 3D. (Admittedly, the film works on the level of spectacle: the 3D is first-rate.) Jovovich, however, is too smart for her prevailing demographic group. (The music video for "Gentleman Who Fell" references avant-garde filmmaker Maya Deren's "Meshes in the Afternoon", for Pete's sake.) Unfortunately, whereas Apple was romantically involved with Paul Thomas Anderson, the once-promising singer-songwriter ended up with the other Paul Anderson. Jovovich's pairing with her filmmaker/husband on the "Resident Evil" series recalls Geena Davis' work with ex-hubby Renny Harlin("Cutthroat Island", "The Long Kiss Goodnight") in that the action-oriented films ruined Davis' cachet as an adept dramatic actress. "To Kill a Dogwalker", indeed. With a break or two, maybe Jovovich could've had Famke Janssen's career. As she proved in David Twohy's "A Perfect Getaway"(a vastly underrated movie about duplicitous honeymooners on holiday in Hawaii), the beautiful Versace girl does indeed have an acting range than extends beyond steely resolve, in which she more than held her own with Steve Zahn, showing at long last, the opportunity to do more than shoot guns in skin-tight outfits. Expand
  16. Oct 11, 2010
    0
    Im all for cheesy action films but this was just **** honestly there is nothing better about this film then any other action film in anyway,
    worst action scenes out of any action movie, worst effects out of any action movie, worst 3d out of any 3d movie, design work was terrible
    im not one of those people that want the acting and story to be oscar winning but this is in no way entertaining
  17. Sep 29, 2010
    2
    One of the funniest movies I have ever seen. The movie started out pretty epic, but soon turned into a comedy. They ruined my second favourite character (Chris) by making him a dumb douche bag. Terrible casting. Wesker could have been done better, but he was alright in this movie.

    So, what's good about this film? Two things: The cinematography was fantastic and the 3D was great.
  18. Oct 10, 2010
    2
    This series needs to be put out of its misery. Nothing new is brought into the fold and 3D hasn't done anything but just made it more annoying to watch. The acting is nothing to write about (which begs the question why even write a critique on the movie?) and it just mindless gunning and explosions after that.
    Bad acting, bogus plot, total waste of time.
  19. Sep 10, 2010
    10
    If you are a true fans of Resident Evil Game or Movie this is The Best Resident Evil Movie Ever ! (3 D is a must !)...if you are not, so 3 D is a must also ! It's far..far...better than Clash of The Titans. If you are a fans of Mika Nakashima (thank god, finally, there is Japanese native actress for the movie inspired from Japanese Game- CAPCOM), you will see her in this movie. Enjoy !
  20. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    Of course, like any critic. They will hate on this film. Why? Anything totally unrealistic, and from the imagination, never quite settles with them. If something unbelievable happens, it get a smack for that. Well yeesh this movie is about zombies, right their you should know that you will expect a unrealistic movie from the get go. Things are not entertaining, why?

    Putting that aside,
    RE:afterlife was a really fun ride. 3d was was great, especially in the prison, when Alice starts popping zombie heads off, and blood comes raining at you in 3d. Or more simplistic, was at the beginning, just viewing the opening credits was really cool.

    All in all of course it didn't replicate the guy, and good reason that would be boring, Ya let's go watch a movie that's identical to what I just recently played. Instead, like the previous 3 installments that are self-contained form the games, but it does reference things from the game, that make you go oh sweet! I was also happy to see lot's of RE5 references, which were glistening in 3d, not to mention weskers, super speed, and dodging bullets. Critics also cite that it's a rip off of the matrix, maybe so. But if they actually played the games they would see ok, the game probably borrowed from the matrix, and re: afterlife borrowed from the game. But I will admit the scene where the two alice clones crash backwards through the window while shooting, yah that is definitely form the matrix, but that doesn't make it bad just because it took inspiration from a great film. Another thing is critics have to point out mistakes, such as, they were dirty in that last scene, now they're clean. Hey, this is obviously a movie for men who enjoy the sexy ladies, why not have them as the dirty girl in one scene, and the hot, sexy and glamorous girl in the next. We don't care that it makes an inconsistency. They're good looking, so stop acting gay, and enjoy them.
    Expand
  21. nop
    Sep 13, 2010
    8
    You can't properly enjoy this movie without understanding its video game background. Yes, it is filled with pseudoscientific nonsense, cookie-cutter characters and over the top action scenes. But there are many visually stunning moments, plot is relatively coherent, if compared to other action films, and there are more heart-warming video game references than you can count. Visual style of this movie borrows heavily from Matrix, Aeon Flux, GitS and not exactly in worst way possible. At least Mila Jovovich is much more believable as superhuman action girl than her counterpart in Aeon Flux. I believe, this move perfectly does what is supposed to do - represent classic video game franchise on silver screen in most spectacular way without adding overly complex plot or giving needless exposure to new characters nobody cares about. It is impressive enough to forget about small details such as boat appearing from nowhere, zombies, who apparently don't move while camera doesn't show them, or Wesker being almost exact clone of Agent Smith. I like how support characters die in this movie and nobody cares, everyone being more concerned about his own survival. I'd just like to see more fear on faces of those poor actors who forced to imagine hordes of zombies while staring at camera in empty room. And no more bullet time, thanks.
    P.S. I believe those 3 top reviews on the list assumed better score than assigned by metacritic. They seem to be quite positive, definitely not "average".
    Expand
  22. Sep 14, 2010
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you are a longtime resident evil fan, sure, watch this. Otherwise, I would feel horrible if I suggested that anyone watch this. You do not see zombies until about 30 minutes into movie... if you ask me, zombies is THE major part of the series. If you think zombies are too unrealistic to watch, stay away from this. At BEST, this is a Matrix with zombies (the two do not mix well). Worst part is, the end leaves you at a cliffhanger, leading into yet ANOTHER Resident Evil movie (they should have stopped after the second in my opinion). All in all, 2/10 at best and that is being generous. Don't watch this unless you are (like me) a die hard Resident Evil fan and MUST see anything that has to do with it. Expand
  23. Sep 14, 2010
    5
    This movie is pretty much what you'd expect if you've seen the first three. It's better than extinction, but not as good as the original. There's no real need for 3D, it doesn't add anything to the movie itself. It was annoying that Afterlife seemed to attempt to make the stories of the prequels completely irrelevant.

    There was some nice nods towards the games, which slightly make up
    for the artistic license taken with the story. Overall, it was watchable, but nothing at all special. Expand
  24. Sep 15, 2010
    5
    It's certainly watchable but definitely mediocre. Who ever is in charge of the make-up department for this movie should have fired. Who puts on eyeshadow, deep mascara and lipstick during an all-out-war against flesh eating zombies? And what is up with the action scenes? Honestly, its a sloppier version of The Matrix. If i didn't like the whole trilogy so much, i would not recommend anyone to see this movie. Expand
  25. Sep 19, 2010
    2
    When you think of Resident evil, you think of Zombies and Alice kicking some Zombie ass.....that is of course until you see Resident Evil Afterlife!
    All the bad acting of the first 3 without any of the awesome action. All of the fight scenes (there aren't many) are a super crappy version of the matrix slow motion dodging. I won't give away the plot for those of you who are going to see it
    but it's pretty nonexistent anyway. Expand
  26. Oct 9, 2010
    4
    "Resident Evil is a Pompous film , the nature and reality of it gets kind of boring or so after the first 20mins , the 3D is impressive and will jump at you. But the performances are terrible , the directing needs work and the story needs a "Major" upgrade" .. C
  27. Oct 2, 2010
    2
    c´mon guys from "hollycrap" this movie is horrible! we all pay now we have to pay the "3D tax" to see a movie with no 3D???!!! (the funny part is that you have to use glasses otherwise....)
    This is happening in lots of 3D movies, no 3D whatsoever, this is call cheating people and get rich with it.
    The movie itself...who cares!!!They don´t care when a girl that
    looks like a rotten egg appears next day looking glamorous and shine on the back of an airplane (they went to a professional hairdresser before taking off, brilliant stuff...)They don´t care to show a city that is certainly burning for years (the buildings are made of a special compound of gasoline and concrete, well imagined....)they dont care to show characters that have no inner life or any sort of relation with the others around (sometimes i didn't know who ware the zombies...)
    Ok i know its an action movie with brainless potential before i enter cinema but this is too much!! Ok we like to be fooled but please try to fool us well! How many people worked on this project?They don´t have any one that watches the movie before it gets out? I want my "3D Tax" money back, and by the way, the normal ticket money back also....
    Expand
  28. Oct 5, 2010
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bad acting, bad action, bad script and bad pacing. There you have the recipe that Paul W.S. Anderson put together to create his latest masterpiece, Resident Evil: Afterlife.

    The film picks up where the last one ended, with Alice having a whole bunch of clones. Now I'll get in to a little spoiler bit here, consider this a warning. All the clones die in the first action scene.

    This film is 90 minutes long, out of that the action probably takes 25 minutes at tops, and that's including slow-motion and bad one-liners in the middle of them. Speaking of slow-motion, 75% of the action sequences are entirely in slow-motion and it gets old really quick.

    The story goes nowhere and the dialogue feels deader than the dialogue in the original 1996 Resident Evil game. The middle 55 minutes of this film is constant talking about nothing of interest with character void of any personality. We even get introduced to Chris Redfield, a classic character from the game, who in the film does absolutely nothing from the moment he steps on screen until the credits roll.

    The fact that the franchise has made it to its fourth instalment with critics panning every entry thus far is amazingly mind boggling and I guarantee we'll see a fifth one in a few years. If this and the previous ones are any indication, the next one will be even worse.

    I'd give this a lower score if it wasn't for the fact that there is but one good action scene, though waiting about 60 minutes for it to happen wasn't fun and it was over in 3 minutes.

    Don't pay to see this film, it's not worth it. If you want to spend 90 minutes of your life watching monsters and clunky dialogue, then go watch someone playing through the original game, it takes about as long and is actually entertaining. Hell, you could even watch the DOOM film, that one was much better than this.
    Expand
  29. Oct 14, 2010
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Anyone who has watched the first chapters in this story knows that it has little to do with the games other than having a few of the characters from the games in it. (by name only basically). But this latest entry into the movie franchise actually has little to do with the previous ones. After seeing a dozen or so "Alice's" slice and dice their way into Weskers underground lair and then seeing them killed off one by one we see the "Real" Alice suddenly appear with a gun to Weskers head, only to have Wesker take away her powers with a quick syringe to the neck. To which Alice says "Thank You " to Wesker. A chopper crash later and we don't know if wesker is alive or dead but Alice survives (of course).

    Alice commandeers a plane and goes to Alaska to meet up with the survivors from the last movie, but all she finds is an Amnesiac Claire. Together they fly into the city and meet up with another bunch of generic survivors and lo and behold we finally meet Chris Redfield! But Claire doesn't know him because remember she has amnesia.

    To make a long story longer they hatch a plan to get to a big tanker that claims to be virus free but when they get there no one is there, they are all below deck in holding tanks waiting to be experimented on. And guess who shows up? That's right! Wesker! Wesker is now an Uber Bad ass and commences to beat the snot out of Chris and Claire until Alice (who was being held hostage by infected dogs that can open their mouths really wide,) Blows the top of weskers head off with a shotgun that shoots Quarters. (I'm not kidding). Claire and Chris then shoot about a million rounds into Weskers body. They release all of the captives and go to the chopper bay and see one chopper missing. It turns out that Wesker!?! has taken a chopper and escaped. And he doesn't have a scratch on him. Alice yells to them to come up on deck and they watch as Weskers chopper explodes in a mini Nuclear explosion because Alice planted a bomb on just the right chopper that Wesker was going to steal.

    As the credits roll we see a bunch of Umbrella stormtroopers in more choppers being given orders by a "Female" Wesker wearing some sort of glowing beetle on her chest.

    The movie mercifully fades to black and yet another Resident Evil Movie is continued until next time.
    Expand
  30. Jul 24, 2011
    6
    Being a fan of zombie movie and having enjoyed the first three I was expecting better. Not a bad movie but I got the feeling the ideas are running thin and the plot and subsequent twists have been repeated too often to have any impact. if you have watched the first three then take a look as there will inevitable be a fifth part, if you have no interest in the Resident Evil story then don't bother with this movie. Expand
  31. Aug 6, 2013
    4
    In this one, the 3D was awesome and excellent but the story is super choppy with crappy zombie animation. Didn't they realize that Mulachy can make better resident evils than Anderson. What the f**k did I just watch? A hot chick killing zombies that look like s**t? Bad but 3D and action you're good on the safe side. Very choppy and the acting was really BAD. Well it was also good in some moments that were fun to watch like the beginning with the Chinese guards and everything- awesome 3D. Expand
  32. Nov 29, 2010
    5
    The Resident Evil series has never been high on logic, thoughtful dialogues or nuanced performances, but it was always good unclean brainless zombie fun. This time the script is beyond awful, the acting is abysmal and the direction an incoherent string of enhanced-for-3D set pieces which Paul W. S. Anderson thinks look super-cool but are in fact poor man's rip-offs of The Matrix, Blade, Equilibrium and, strangely, Silent Hill. Still, fans of the series will find some very guilty pleasures even in this mess. Expand
  33. Sep 12, 2010
    7
    i will admit the movie is not consistent in most areas but it is good for resident evil movie and especially in this stage of the story. i think that any resident evil would like this the cast performed well enough and the plot was satisfactory not perfect but it was good for the way the plot has gone so far
  34. Sep 15, 2010
    7
    Why did I enjoy this? This film is awful, the pacing is far too quick, the action blurry and infrequent, the plot is laughable, the villains hilariously unbelievable (not in a realistic way, in a "why are you even doing this!?" way) and the acting is mostly horrifying.

    And i loved it. Fun as hell, hysterical, laugh out loud genius. I can't encourage you enough to go see this film, but on
    one condition, you take a friend ready to laugh out loud and mock it from the stalls. Watch this film in silence and you're doomed to loath it. Watch in company and you'll laugh hearty than a heart who is enjoying a DVD of "The best of laurel and hardy!" Expand
  35. Sep 10, 2010
    8
    I liked it, well done. The only thing I think they should of done was more action scene. They did a great job with the 3D. I would not mine seeing it again.
  36. Sep 10, 2010
    8
    If you've seen the first 3 movies, you know what to expect from this movie--action. It is missing one thing that the rest of the series has plenty of--zombies. Yes, there are zombies but there is nowhere near the number of zombies confronted face-to-face like there were in the other 3. Nevertheless, it is still a great movie, even in 2D.
  37. Sep 15, 2010
    7
    Yes, the film has no plot to speak of, and yes the film is formulaic and derivative, and yes (this is the one that really bothers me about this particular entry in the series) the film is full of contrivances, the worst being: How do we get rid of all those pesky Alices??? Kill them off of course! However... I have to confess that like the previous films, this series is a guilty pleasure for me. Unlike the entirely too slick, too pretensious summer blockbuster fare we usually get (e.g, especially the _Transformers_ type), the _Resident Evil_ films seem to revel in their kitschiness and for me that gives them more heart.. These films are low grade B fare, they know it and have fun with their lowliness! Moreover, the heart and soul of these films is Alice; though I would never make the case for Milla Jovovich being a brilliant actress, she brings a remarkable soulfulness to the role that holds these films together. My fear -- my sense -- is that this film is transitioning her out of the series (the Redfield siblings seem to get too many key moments) and to my mind, without Alice, this series is dead. Expand
  38. Sep 11, 2010
    7
    Paul Anderson is really not a bad director as some have perceived. I think he knows how to create great action set pieces. I like the locations he always chooses to shoot at. Although there aren't that many. He needs work on casting and writing. I believe he is almost as good as Ronald Emmerich. Plot:(5) Failed source material that at least invloves the game's villian and main hero this time. The enemies are still not as varried as the games. The sub villian was an axe wheliding zombie which was just a basic enemy in the game. The movie had no tyrants or giant mutated sea creatures. Lets hope El Giante makes it in the next installment. I did not understand why no one trusted Chris. He was locked up in a cage and they actually had someone guard him while they are faced with a great global treat. If he really wanted to kill someone he could have lewered the dumb guard next to the cell and snapped his neck and stolen the keys. He was in the cell chilling out like being a prision was chill and no big deal. I dispised the cliches like memory loss and the dumb survivors. They always seem to die one scene at a time like in a slasher movie. It was well paced in terms of direction, but the preditiblity put a lot of hurt on the suspense. Varaity:(6) Action takes over almost every scene. When the story kicks in, it just becomes a chore to watch. Not one brilliant piece of dilalog. I felt that the fight scenes disapointed. The enemies died far too quickly and didn't put up much of a fight at all. It didn't feel like much of adventure since the characters were stranded on a large building in the middle of the dead city. It was fun to look at and the intro was practically flawless. Acting: (5) Milla is a great looking actor that suits the Fem fatal that she portray. She is dressed far better and is more convincing as a manga super hero come to life. The guy who played Wesker was also well cast. He was dark and reminded me very much of the game character. The rest of the characters such as Clare and Chris bareley made an impression. Poorley casted, poorley dressed and have no real purpose in the film other than to support backup for Alice. The skeptical producer who stared in the film was flat out annoying. The actor who played Lucthor had a much larger role than Chris. He had nothing to do with the games, yet he was practically a main supporting actor. He wasn't horrible, yet he reminded me of a wanna be Will Smith. Audio: (9) Unique musical score that builds on 80's horror and cybor-punk techno. Fight scenes felt hard hitting and monsters sounded frighting. Would have been nice to hear a few more remixes in the orchestrated library.

    Ending: (5) It didn't leave an impact on me. It looked good and the set up for the battle was appropriate. Why did they need to throw in a hold up scene? Why did Alice just watch her friends get beat up and locked up? The bad guy had insane reflexes yet stood there and took the bullets like he needed to give Alice a chance. It wrapped up decently and we get a surprise ending which fans will appreciate.
    Expand
  39. Sep 11, 2010
    6
    This was a step down from the previous films. It's easily the worse one. I suggest rewatching one of the old films instead. This one was really slow and I did feel bored in multiple spots.
  40. Sep 11, 2010
    7
    I don't understand why the critics hate the Resident Evil franchise so much. Personally any movie with Milla Jovovich is good in my opinion. But any movie with Milla, and zombies...well hell, how can you go wrong?
  41. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    Best movie in the franchise so far. RE: Afterlife is on par with the original Resident Evil film in terms of parallels to the game, high production values, and handful of outstanding action set pieces.

    What you won't find here is story. If you're looking for anything with depth, or even believability, don't bother spending any money on this one.

    If you're a fan of the game or you're
    just happy watching Milla Jovovich **** **** up, go watch it. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  42. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    This film is a classic great action scenes dont understand why it got 37 great film hoping for a sequel watch it in 3d will be a breathtaking experience for gamers like me and fans of the resident evil series it is a must watch
  43. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I accept that the movie isn't good at all and the plot is just crap, but if you want to get high and watch it, i recommend it, the special effects are awesome! ;) Expand
  44. Sep 25, 2010
    6
    Here we go again, another Resident Evil movie, just great. Well, while most might be pretty skeptic about this newest Paul W.S. Anderson directed installment of the popular video game to movie franchise gone bad, fear not. Although these movies started bad from the beginning, Afterlife proves to basically be the same formula, but polished and a step up from the last three crap-fests. The 3D was charming and proved to be a delight. All of this stupid Matrix, slo-mo bullet-time **** has just got to stop though. It's bad enough that Wesker looks so much like Neo anyways!! I'm just trying to figure out which one of the games allowed you to bust into slow-motion bullet time to dodge bullets, giant axes and mutated doberman pinscher's! Anyhoo, despite all of the overblown action, the movie actually held together pretty well. It was actually more reminiscent of the old zombie films like 'Dawn of the Dead' and 'Night of the Living Dead'. Warning though, if you have not seen the other Resident Evil movies, especially Extinction, you might be kind of confused with the relations of some of the characters. I enjoyed the idea of reducing Alice (Milla Jovovich's) powers back down to a mortal, ass kicking human being instead of this mutated, T-cell prodigy. This reduction still doesn't restrain her from triple back flipping off of walls and all that, but none the less, it was much better than Extinction and the other two. I thought the movie could have been a little bit darker, more serious and more horror movie like. I never understood why Paul W.S. Anderson decided to try to take this radical approach toward a video game that was basically a homage to the old zombie films. If he would just leave out half of the action nonsense and factor in more scares and horror, It might actually live up to the title of Resident Evil. *Overall, Resident Evil: Afterlife was a fun, popcorn movie with pretty thin characters, desolent locales and hordes and hordes of 3-D zombie gore. The huge, hooded guy with the gigantic axe was a pretty cool enemy. I liked Wesker's character, he was a good evil villain, but i would have just changed the way he looked for the movie in fear of a lawsuit from the Wachowski's! And yes the 3-D was actually very enjoyable and definitely added 1 extra star to this review as well as some extra visual charisma to the movie. Expand
  45. Sep 19, 2010
    8
    You know coming into this movie what you're getting into. Obviously, critics do not like the action/slash films that compose the majority of the Resident Evil franchise. It was an enjoyable experience if you wanted action of which it was filled.
  46. Oct 26, 2010
    7
    This movie is like 'Resdient Evil' meets 'Left for Dead', with TV stars (the girl from Heros, ice woman and Wentworth Miller from Prison Break).
    It is enjoyable enough for a mindless action movie, but the story has some holes in it.
  47. Oct 6, 2010
    8
    Forget about story. Forget about characters. Resident Evil has none of that. But gues what ? It's the fourth installment with the same problem , and regardless to say it not a problem anymore at all. This is the seriall maybe the first in the histroy of action cinema that exists purely on action and cool (and someone would say lame) scenes in the maner of a music video. 3d brings great refreshment in the franchise , and action scenes which are great coreographed first ,and well directed , with fantastic electronic soundtrack literally explode in the theater. Opening action scene blew me away , and scene with the giant thing svinging axe is a pure chiller. As someone who is not a fan of a new 3d hype started with Avatar , this movie i have to say cant live without it. This is visual and sound strike on senses and Resident evil has only that intention. He does it pretty good , and if you cant stand movie without plot and with shallow charcters you should aviod this. Paul Anderson delivered what he does the best , and i hope he will go even further for the fifth one. The serial is stronger then ever. Expand
  48. Oct 7, 2010
    8
    Resident Evil Afterlife 3D is great, the story is regular, the action secuences are great, the 3D effects are amazing and the movie final is good. Only problem of the movie is the story, i waiting more from the director. RE film saga is the only of video game movies that feels as playing the game.
  49. Oct 16, 2010
    6
    This is not a movie for critics it really comes down to a couple of simple questions. Did you enjoy resident evil 1? If so then this is going to be for you! I know it's cliched but it is still a pretty good zombie/action film, I mean take this for what it is, a Zombie film based of a game and its pretty good, it evolved over the last few films and this is no bad thing. Now if you love Res then there are things in this film your going to love the Nemesis for 1, if you don't love it but still enjoy the films then your going to feel pretty much like me, could of done without the Nemesis Character and in my opinion its a bit late in the game to throw it back in... it was in the first film but nothing major since then has mainly been about Alice who is super human but she isn't any more although it doesn't seem to hinder her in any way. Overall a pretty good resident evil film not sure how many more they can make until they've totally diluted the series Expand
  50. Oct 17, 2010
    6
    By no means anything exceptional but nothing truly terrible either. The special effects are actually pretty good; the 3D is not needed and there are some great action scenes. The villain is literally like a video game character actually put into a movie and is laughable and the plot doesnt really lead to anything. Nothing terrible and good fun.
  51. Jan 3, 2011
    1
    I almost felt asleep while watching this movie, it was that terrible ! There were a few scenes that were unrealistic. I know that it's not suppose to be real, but seriously, surviving a plane crash after you lose your power (of course i'm talking about Alice Abernathy), had just crossed the line. I was waiting for something to happen that is really worth watching, but nothing came. This movie is a joke, obviously just made for money. Definitely my top 10 '' Worst movies of 2010 ''. Expand
  52. Dec 30, 2010
    4
    = S was an incredible disappointment, the scenes of "action" were invaded by the technique "matrix" used filthy, in short I love resident evil, I love the 3 previous movies but this was a tremendous waste covered with toilet paper and a bow of ****
  53. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    This is a thoroughly boring film, one which had me nodding off in the cinema and wanting to need the loo, just for an excuse to leave the theatre! The story itself is totally inaccessible to anyone who has not studied Resi to degree level, and the plot has some major holes and discrepancies, as well as some downright confusing bits. The monsters now look so grotesque they are laughable (the dogs a prime example of this), and new 3D effects are a cash in and add nothing to the plot or film. One good thing is the cliffhanger ending but this will likely lead to another rubbish sequel. Expand
  54. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    Here i go, i have been a fan of resident evil since about 1992ish when i watched my brother play RE1. From there i loved Resident Evil, i have all the games and its the only thing i have kept since i moved out when i was 16 years old.

    That said its a review about the film, so far tbh i have hated the Resident Evil films, the first was ok, the second was good because it had nemesis but i
    didnt like the film, the third was ok not at all great but this film....... i thought it was EPIC!

    i only just watched it today although being a die-hard fan the films in the past have put me off watching it :(

    but i am soo glad that i did watch it, i thought the guy from prison break who played Chris did a great job, the lead up to the boat was amazing and it did resemble the game, i know that it was not an exact match but they cant just stop from the story that they have made for the last 3 films and have Barry Burton as the main character.


    It was like Resident Evil 5 (parts) but the film was good enough to not resemble the game, i hope they dont take too many bad reviews and end it or have just one more film because i really did like it.

    The reviews on here are a joke, user reviews are just giving out bad feedback because of the previous films and even CRITICS are giving it a bad review because you couldnt see Milla Jovovich naked.....how are these people real CRITICS???


    If this film now changes too much or "dies" from now its because too many people who don't love the Resident Evil series like i do post stupid ideas on forums and reuin what dosen't need to be changed. What i mean is if the director reads these review sites or forums he will be swamped in idiots ideas and it will destroy what is good.


    I know there is a lot of bad reviews on metacritic but just look at them there total BS this film was amazing.


    WELL DONE
    Expand
  55. Dec 11, 2010
    4
    This one is a bit more off kilter than the rest. I suppose you could chalk that up to the whole end of the world...but the intro is a lot ridiculous. The best the 3D really ever does is to better our picture of our cast running in slow motion. That and if you blink you miss the zombies in the zombie movie.
  56. Dec 6, 2010
    5
    this movie was okay. I think this is one of the best resident evil movie so far. I love resident evil All the resident evil movies are mediocre. This movie has a lot of action. This movie was predictable but i still like the action. this movie did have less action that i expected but the action i seen in this movie was really good. A good movie to buy on blu ray and dvd
  57. Nov 29, 2010
    3
    After 4 years of the so called evil corporation "Umbrella", we still haven't gotten tired of this particular franchise. As entertaining as it may seems, we might be getting a little tired of Mila Jovovich being undefeatable (even though she doesn't have any powers in this film) by the undead zombies. The plot is simple and straight foward. Alice (Jovovich) continues her journey on trying to destroy the whole Umbrella Corporation. Joining her this time is Ali Larter (Heroes), Wentworth Miller (Prison Break), and Boris Kodjoe (Undercovers). Not that this cast is any better than its previous installment. Though it may be in 3D, but few scenes actually worked in 3D. Paul W.S. Anderson's (directed the first Resident Evil) directing is as bad as it can be. The camera angles weren't right and he just doesn't know what to do with the material on his hands. Resident Evil: Afterlife may serve as a treat for fans, but critics find this bad for your teeth. Expand
  58. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    OK, we loved the movie, but had to take two 1/2 points off for two reasons. 1: Clair's 'oh how come I can't remember anything story' which was so lame once you find out, it was leading up to something that was really nothing that couldn't of been said in the first 5 minutes. 2: There will be a 5th one cool, but they didn't know that, so don't end a movie with a cliffhanger like Heroes the TV series did, then find out they're not going to fund you another one. Otherwise, great effects, great score, OK acting from most of the cast, 3D was worth every second, and also parts of this 'typical undead' movie was not all cliche, which brings this kind of genre into a different playing field. Expand
  59. Mar 7, 2011
    9
    While I have never seen a Resident Evil movie before this one, and I've never played one of the video games, but this was a great movie, one of the most unique zombie movies I've ever seen, while there were parts of it I didn't understand I caught on pretty quick, after this one I can't wait to watch the older ones, and the ending hints at more entries in this series, I can't wait.
  60. Dec 24, 2010
    0
    Loved the previous RE movies, for the most part. This one puts them all to shame. Sure, we know what to expect by now. Yet this one just sucked. Badly. Lame plot. Lame special effects. None of the hot chicks in skimpy dresses shooting bad guys stuff that made at the least the first one soooooo (sic!) worth watching. So this one was really disappointing in most every single way. Seems they just ran out of money to hire decent graphic designers, make up artists, or script writers. Neither some guy in mask yelling and growling, a star actress looking all tired and worn out, or plot that is plain retarded is going to impress anyone these days. Hope they try better next time, and just get back to basics: good looking actors, decent plot, decent special effects, and certainly a better director. Expand
  61. Feb 1, 2011
    4
    This movie wasn't the worst I've seen but overall it's bad. The story was screwed from the first movie and it only got worse. The action of this movie is not bad but very boring. The high point of the movie for me was Shawn Roberts portrayal of Albert Wesker. It was dead on from Resident Evil 5. The rest was a few nice looking scenes and everything else was crap. The reason this movie doesn't get a zero from me was what I mentioned above. As a huge fan of the games, this just butchers it. Expand
  62. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    This is simply a very good movie. If you do not like zombie movies, then do not bother. Effects are good, plot is not too bad. It's simply a good 90+ minutes of entertainment.
  63. Jan 11, 2011
    5
    I can mention at least 10 similarities between thiz film and THE MATRIX (1999)! Gun-fighting vs. a group of tactical team in hallway, smashing into building window and firing back while it falls (with slow motion too!), bullet time technique when the villain Albert Wesker is avoiding the bullet, and even the villain character (Wesker himself) is Agent Smith look-alike! (the way he talked and expressed), and many more. Terrible rip-off! Thiz game adaptation is a sequel from three early movies: RESIDENT EVIL (2002), RESIDENT EVIL: APOCALYPSE (2004), and RESIDENT EVIL: EXTINCTION (2007). Paul W. S. Anderson takes back his command as Director since the first franchise. In my observation, Anderson is another -Michael Bay- type of mindless popcorn Director, who always delivers mind-blowing action with extra excessive situation and seems fully unrealistic, like what he showed on MORTAL KOMBAT (1995), AVP: ALIEN VS. PREDATOR (2004) and DEATH RACE (2008).The brainless main plot follows Alice (Milla Jovovich) continue to fight against Umbrella Corporation, which is turning the world into zombieland. Like the tag line on the poster says, She is back and she is bringing a few of her friends, thiz movie is appearing all the original characters of game version, such as: Claire Redfield (Ali Larter), Chris Redfield (Wentworth Miller), and Jill Valentine (Sienna Guillory) although only appears as cameo in ending. There is no character development in thiz movie, everything is flat. It is 97 minutes movie with a bunch of slow-motion sequences. One thing is for sure, in the movie like thiz you do not even have to worry during the film, the main character wont die in any circumstances. Prepare yourself for another carousel ride!


    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  64. Jan 9, 2011
    3
    They should have stopped at the very most at RE3. This was made just to show off the 3D aspect. The story was limp and it has put a downer on the whole series of these films.
  65. Mar 24, 2011
    4
    This movie is okay. I like the first three resident evil movies. There wasn't much action in this movie and the story wasn't really that great either.
  66. Feb 24, 2011
    2
    This movie was an absolute insult to the RE line.
    I gave it a 2 only because Mila in spandex is worth 2 the move itself was rediclulous.
    There were from what i saw 6 different movies going on all at once and it did not make a damn bit of sense.. the ending stunk. and I am a big RE fan.
    The first movies have nothing in common with this one.
  67. Mar 29, 2011
    4
    I love the Residet Evil Franchise, but Afterlife is a massive failure. The story is quack... the dialogue stupid. ok so you have an army of Alices with super powers storming an umbrella underground, and rather than using their powers to clear the way, they only disable cameras? hello??? Anderson did you think people were stupid or what... it goes on with as we know by now that the way to kill zombies is to shoot them in the head, but still Alice and her companions stubbornly will shoot in the chest at point range... feel the fustration buiilding... what do you do when you get the main villain on his back? well you shoot him again in the chest and look surprise when he stands up. There is a new bad guy with a giant Ax and no explanation who he is or how he became, except bullets to the head don't do squat. too many holes in this movie. what a shame. Expand
  68. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Don't you just hate it when hollywood makes movies for the money and not for the craft, But then again if I owned a billion dollar movie studio I'd probably be making these franchise money making no substance having crappolla movies like resident evil as well, why, because it's all about the money. You can always tell when a movie lacks substance when you walk out of the theater thinking "Why the hell was this movie made?" and then you dig in your pocket lift your movie stub and realize that you just been suckered out of your hard earned money........... Expand
  69. Mar 19, 2011
    3
    Now, Video-Game licensed movies always SUCK. (Except Prince of Persia, go see it.)
    Hollywood doesn't know how to transfer an Interactive media into an Uninteractive Media.
    The games have been going backwards from the movie, While Re4 was the only good game in the series and RE5 is making the series **** again, The movies keep trying and are getting better and better every time there's a
    new one.
    Trust me, whilst RE4 is the only good RE game, 1,2,3,5 all suck, The movies are going backwards, They're going from mega-**** to "Half Decent."

    While RE was terrible, became really good, then **** again (*Cough* RE4 Was great *Cough) The movies have always been bad, here it's getting better and better, so yeah, wait 'till the last one.
    Expand
  70. Mar 7, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible. Whether or not it follows the game, this movie fails in both schools of thought. As a movie onto itself, no elements are explained. Want an explanation on the chest spiders? Chris/Claire/Wesker relations? Where the executioner came from and how he is different than the zombies? The presence of type 2 plagas amidst t-virus zombies? How Alice survived a plane crash when she has no powers and is just a regular human? You won't find them in the movie. If you think the movie should follow the games, you are out of luck too. The inclusion of the chest spiders, the type 2 plagas, the executioner and even Chris Redfield himself was just a nod to RE5 and are obviously force-written into the script. There is ZERO explanation as to how the Plagas and Executioner came into existence, or why they're even there besides a brief slow-mo fight scene. Chris's reunion with Claire had the potential sucked out of it when Claire was under the amnesia-influence of the drugs from the chest spider (that's not even what it does in the game, but whatever) and didn't even recognize him. Not that it mattered because that was the only mention of them being siblings in the entire movie anyway. Then there's the Redfield showdown with Wesker - which was never mentioned before, and all of a sudden we're supposed to know that this is an epic fight. Weak writing, weaker story, force-feeding the audience elements from the game that were not explained to fit the movie's storyline. The only reason I didn't give this a 0 rating was because the graphics, zombie make up, and fight scenes were fantastic. Expand
  71. Feb 1, 2012
    4
    Well, nothing new, nothing interesting, it's nearly null. Find another subject or go to bed if you'd like to, this film isn't worth your time and your money. I missed my money when rent this film, so please don't make the same mistake like mine
  72. Apr 29, 2011
    7
    Afterlife is definitely the most unnecessary film in the Resident Evil franchise. Not a lot happens throughout the film that advances the plot of the series, and as such, it kind of stumbles when compared to the great Extinction. It's still a very entertaining movie, with amazing action scenes and a decent progression. The cliffhanger ending is the most disappointing of the series, and blows the door off for the fifth entry in the series. The 3D Blu-Ray is also by far the best 3D film to be created to date. Expand
  73. Feb 1, 2012
    4
    Resident Evil: Afterlife doesn't quite restore the series to the same level of fun as the first film was, but at least it's a step back in the right direction. The stunts and effects are more polished than ever, and there are some extremely entertaining set-pieces (and pleasingly, one of these set-pieces, with survivors desperately defending an abandoned prison against a seemingly endless horde of zombies takes up a good portion of the film). Milla Jovovich appears to still be having fun in her role as series protagonist Alice, and mercifully, writer/director Paul W S Anderson eventually saw sense and chose to remove her ridiculous super powers, and instead give her a seriously cool tool of destruction to wield (who'd have thought spare change could be so deadly?). Wentworth Miller and Boris Kodjoe are both perfectly competent in their roles, and Shawn Roberts makes a much better big baddie Albert Wesker than Jason O'Mara did in Extinction. Despite the improvements from parts 2 and 3, Afterlife still has its fair share of problems. The plot is still ridiculous, the film world full of inconsistencies and the script more wooden and laborious than hauling a wardrobe through an antique furniture shop. An over-indulgence of the 3-D gimmick is also extremely annoying - I don't think Wesker's trademark sunglasses spinning towards your waiting eye sockets would have looked that impressive on the big screen, never mind on DVD! So it's still a thoroughly uneven affair, but at least the fourth Resident Evil film doesn't seem to be taking itself too seriously. And that's lucky, because if it was, then it'd be mocked to within an inch of its afterlife (see what I did there?). Expand
  74. Jul 10, 2011
    0
    This movie is in perfect sync with it's theme - a zombie full of rot. There is not a shred of originality here, not a line of clever dialogue and not a single frame of exciting action or trully jawdropping effects. And you can't even shoot it in the brain.
  75. Jan 27, 2012
    3
    Featuring weak CGI and carelessly directed by Paul W. S. Anderson, 'Resident Evil: Afterlife' also relies on dull characters and on a repetitive storyline.
  76. Aug 30, 2011
    1
    just an awful movie ,definitely worse than the first three. 3D effects are not really great and the story ... well is there really a scenario? The first was correct, the second and the third were not that great and with the fourth I'm sure i won't watch another RE.
  77. Oct 24, 2011
    7
    It's actually not THAT bad, not as boring as the first RE movie. The action scenes are decent and the zombies look really nice. The thing I have to complain about is the use of monsters from RE 5 which as far as I'm concerned is a travesty and the second worst Resident game (right next to RE 4). I mean, a guy with a gigantic ax-hammer and a sack over his head? seriously? Shouldn't he be in Silent Hill or something? Expand
  78. Nov 9, 2011
    6
    RESIDENT EVIL: AFTERLIFE is the best of the sequels in the Resident Evil series and has fantastic 3D, which makes the viewing experience even better.
  79. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    I'm a hardcore fan of the games, all I can say is this crap needs to stop. Afterlife is probably the best of the series, but thats literally not saying anything, as this whole series, despite the first one being mediocre, has been a joke. Wesker (shaun roberts) and redfield (wentworth miller) are the only good elements of this trainwreck, but the way the introduce them, the story, the majority of action, is all ridiculous and overall crap. Save your money and avoid this, ESPECIALLY if your a fan of the games, because this series has butchered the memories they created. Expand
  80. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    People often slam these movies, yet the characters are likeable and the action is sizzling hot, better than most movies and certainly better than any other zombie franchise. It doesn't hurt that the film looks and sounds fantastic on Blu-ray as well. The one consistent flaw from the past three films, that still plagues Afterlife, is the up and down writing. Paul Anderson needs to realise that the audience doesn't need to have everything laid out, plain, in front them. The plot can turn, get a bit confusing, and have tragedy. But instead, the film constantly uses painfully simple dialogue and plot points to get through. But the action is amazing, if not too reliant on slow motion. For any fans of less serious movies, or someone who loves a good action flick, this is more than worth checking out. Expand
  81. Oct 25, 2012
    5
    To be honest, I hated the first 3 RE movies and only gave this a chance because I saw the others so I was rather suprised that I actually liked it. Not the entire movie mind you, The first half was poor but the last 50 mins of the film was suprisingly enjoyable. I only have 3 problems with the film. The first is the CGI. In the begining of the film, It was painfully obvious that the Alice "clones" were people in CGI suits and that was disapointing. The second being Wesker. Wesker is the main villain of the RE series and in this film he is a joke. He is played off as a poor Agent Smith (the villain from the Matrix) and he spends the entire film getting his butt kicked, Only for a few seconds (while he is beating up Chris and Claire) is he the true badass he really is. The third is the extremely poor use of 3D through out the film. Let's face it, they simply used 3D to make more money and care very little about the actual use of it, Critic reviews show proof of that. Besides all that, It was not that bad of a film and imo the best in the series. Expand
  82. Mar 4, 2012
    0
    It will make Resident Evil purists and fans of quality film making alike puke their guts out for the duration. A lame 97 minute masturbation over Milla Jovovich, as if anyone cares about her any more.
  83. Mar 27, 2012
    4
    probably the worst from the series, i liked the franchise but this movie was nothing compared to others, lazy start, getting bored most of the time. 4 out of 10 not more not less
  84. Feb 2, 2013
    6
    Alice returns to destroy the evil Umbrella Corporation once and for all, but her journey leaves her trapped with a small band of survivors in an abandoned prison compound that is surrounded by thousands of the undead. It will be up to her to find an escape and lead the group to the safe haven known as Arcadia. Paul W.S. Anderson has outdone himself once again in RESIDENT EVIL: AFTERLIFE, creating the most mindless and over-budgeted entry in the series. Anderson's complete lack of concern for story and character is more apparent than ever. From beginning to end, there is no progression or expansion on any of the events from the previous films. It is an unnecessary chapter at best, and a boring one at that. Several new characters are introduced from the video game series, only to be given fewer lines and background than they had in their playable forms. The one place where RESIDENT EVIL continues to excel is in the fast-paced and explosive action sequences, although most are self-indulgent attempts to exploit the 3-D gimmick used in the film's theatrical release. Unfortunately, the open ending lends proof that Anderson's career will continue onward to bigger (but not better) things. -Carl Manes
    I Like Horror Movies
    Expand
  85. Apr 20, 2012
    4
    the worst movie of the serie resident evil. I enjoyed Resident evil 3 but when i watched 4 i've started to lose my faith in the serie. just don't watch this movie
  86. Sep 14, 2013
    3
    Truly a braindead movie, one of the worst I have seen in a while. No plot, boring action with slow-motion scenes for the 3D, cardboard characters, just to name a few flaws of this stinker. Besides the writer (same idiot who directed this crap) was so unoriginal he had to steal ideas from other sources too ('Silent hill' and 'Stalker PC' esque monsters...). Truly a bad movie, only recommended if you want to punish yourself or like B-movie. AVOID IT! Expand
  87. Dec 31, 2013
    1
    Adaptação cinematográfica assustadoramente e incrivelmente péssima em todos os sentidos, e ainda me pergunto como gastam dinheiro a toa para fazer essa desgraça.
  88. Nov 28, 2012
    3
    A pretty stale story told in ridiculous fashion. Paul W.S. Anderson ultimately tries and fails to prove, once again, that intelligence in filmmaking is overrated.
  89. Dec 8, 2012
    3
    Haven't seen the others in the saga, but this wasn't that good. There were some elements that I enjoyed, but i'll be able to tell more when I see the series in order. Milla Jovovich is not a good actress though.
  90. Mar 11, 2013
    6
    This whole series is pretty crappy, but I like that the movies are starting to become truer to the games. It's pretty entertaining, but lacking depth in many parts. Most of the actors actually look a lot like the characters so that's a plus.
  91. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    I have watched this movie three times so far and I have to say that it fits nicely it's own canon, does not surprise, keeps pushing the story at it's unique pace of two minutes per piece and is as action-packed as ever. No philosophy, watch with friends.
  92. Oct 27, 2013
    0
    i don´t know why some people likes this film,in my opinion anyone must like this film.absolutely nothing in this film is good and the story makes no sense at all.
  93. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Resident evil series and afterlife is so cool . there is nothing to hate about the movie it is fun and amazing . Grade A+ ..............................................................................
  94. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    Now I am really surprised. How can this movie have so many negative critics? It was magnificent! That scenario of the end of the world.. and that guy with the axe.. one word: WOW
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 7 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Phil Contrino
    40
    Jovovich is on cruise control here and she fails to bring any kind of new life to a character that has been very good to her.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    40
    What fun there is to be had is undermined by drab 3D, hacked-out dialogue and rehashed plots.
  3. 25
    It's a humorless movie of morphing zombies (they take on beastly attributes), phoned-in performances and trite dialogue.