User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 324 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    I love this movie, contains more action and surprises than the previous movie afterlife, although it does not contain much plot, one can say that is good from start to finish, as fans can enjoy a good action in this film.
  2. Mar 16, 2013
    9
    Just watched the movie second time and was curious to see how many awards it won. This movie features some of the exciting moments ever shown in the series before and i was disappointed that it did not won the number of awards and top ratings it deserved. Anyway i am a big fan of the series and this movie is one of the best.
  3. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    a highly entertaining movie, retribution is an effective return to form for the franchise (afterlife having more plot holes than your average uwe boll film), kevin durand (a very good actor in his own right) portrays barry burton perfectly, johan urb was an okay leon, and li bingbing was a gread ada, the plot explains much of the strange plot occurrences in the last films (how did the t-virus escape raccoon city? where is jill? etc.) and the action scenes are well choreographed and entertaining, the 3d is put to decent use (more depth than in-your-face, though a little more in-your-face wouldn't have been bad), the film as a whole is brilliant entertainment. Collapse
  4. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    a really epic action movie, whoever played leon kennedy can suck it, but everyone else did a decent job, the vfx were perfectly done, the storyline is much better than the other films, watch it or you'll be missing out, big time.
  5. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    really, really cool, especially in 3d, seriously, go out, drive to the video store, demand this, bring it home, watch it, with popcorn, and you will most certainly adore every minute of it
  6. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    i love this movie, the action is so well done, and the plot is on strong form, considering the rest of the series, kevin durand and li bingbing, (i'm sure i spelt that wrong) do an admirable job, it is awesome.
  7. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    the moscow sequence was one of the best action scenes ever made, period. most of the cast does a good job, the action is absolutely badass and amazing, and i don't usually think about this, but the score was really fitting, considering the first had marilyn manson, which was too loud, the second had jeff danna, which was too orchestral, the third had charlie clouser, which was too forgettable, so, musicwise, fourth and fifth are boss, with tomandandy providing a perfect score for perfect asskickings, :) Expand
  8. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    hell of a lot of fun, resident evil retribution is epic, especially in 3d, kevin durand was the best barry burton imaginable, seriously, he kicked ass, it was really amazing
  9. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    come on, this is the most entertaining film i've seen this year, sometimes, you just need to turn that brain down and just let the film take you wherever it will
  10. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Let me begin by saying that I thiught that The Dark Knight Rises will be the movie of the year but after watching this smart, detailed, well paced, good acting of a film, I am sorry Dark Knight, MIllas Back. This film is as good as The Shawshank Redemption and Titanic, I mean this film has zombies that shoot! They are scary.... BOOOO
  11. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    This movie was a great 3D movie theatre movie. If you are a fan of the movies and the recent games this movie will be a great addition to the never ending saga. If you haven't watched the previous movies you will be very lost and unappreciative of the characters and their roles both in the movies and games. I have always been a big fan of both movies and games and this addition to the series I thought was great and very entertaining! Expand
  12. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    I don't see how this film had such mixed reviews. Resident evil is what it is, a action packed zombie series based on a video game. Although the plot and ending where more than 'strange' and at times it was hard to piece the film together, at the end of the day it is what it is, and it does not try to be an intercultural thriller or romantic story. If you like horrifying jumpy zombie action, this film is spot on. Expand
  13. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Definitely the best film in the series thus far, i must say, jovovich is quite a badass, retribution is well-casted, the action is incredibly entertaining, and it's just a great film all across the board.
  14. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    There is a lot I'd like to say to defend my enjoyment of this movie, but I'll just say that it really hit home for me. I didn't expect anything and came out of it feeling very satisfied that I was able to see a movie that made me so exhilarated. I almost don't want to share it because I'm a little bit selfish and think that people who won't appreciate the movie don't deserve to see it, but for the sake of supporting the franchise, I want to encourage people who will accept and enjoy the movie for what it is - fast-paced, precise, beautiful, and a promise of things to come. Expand
  15. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    This has been the only movie I have ever gone back to the theaters so I could watch it again. The only reason I feel compelled to write a review is because: 1) The movie theater was almost empty both times i went to watch it. 2) The reviews are mostly negative. I have never seen any of the past movies or played the games. I only went with a few friends just to kill time and I am happy I did. Now the negative critics say it wasn Expand
  16. Sep 16, 2012
    9
    Mind relaxing, bullets flying. It does what it is designed to do. Just when you are tired of all the summer PG13 rated fight scenes here comes another round of Resident Evil with its R rated goodies. It is a more finely tuned instrument than its previous movies. The fight scenes are shot real well and old crew is all there so you never feel like they left any of the actors behind. I never got bored once and liked this much better than the Total Recall reboot earlier this year. With its top notch CG work and familiar theme I give this one a go. Expand
  17. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    I enjoyed this movie and the first 4 very much. Resident Evil: Retribution promises thrills and enjoyment for casual movie-goers and fans like myself.
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Sep 21, 2012
    40
    Giant brains with teeth, suburban mutant zombies, more bullets than a John Woo film festival, and hot girls in skin-tight S&M outfits pummelling each other to a deafening dubstep soundtrack. If you're looking for brainless, blood-guzzling carnage, you've found it.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 19, 2012
    40
    Jovovich's physicality and chilly mien (she was originally a "project" of the Umbrella Corp.) carry the series from start to … whenever it finishes, which might not be for quite a while yet.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Sep 15, 2012
    60
    Anderson utilizes slow-motion 3-D to hyperbolic effect while again casting Jovovich as the epitome of badass sexiness.