Screen Gems | Release Date: September 14, 2012
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 420 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
151
Mixed:
111
Negative:
158
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
TheQuietGamerFeb 28, 2013
I've never played on of the Resident Evil video games, but I have seen every movie. I do know that the movies are very different than the games, they focus on action as opposed to the game which focus on horror so fans of the games areI've never played on of the Resident Evil video games, but I have seen every movie. I do know that the movies are very different than the games, they focus on action as opposed to the game which focus on horror so fans of the games are probably going to be upset with this film. I can say that I enjoyed the movie, it's not the ending to the series like I thought it was going to be, but rather a new way to keep them going. I guess as long as they can still get money from the movies they'll keep making more and as a fan I'll keep watching them. Once again the film gives us more characters from the Resident Evil (Leon, Ada Wong, Barry, and a few others) games to star alongside their own main character Alice and act as fan service. I predict that just like in the other films the game characters will just sort of vanish without a reason what so ever and we'll be left to wonder what happened to them. As far as the film itself goes it's not that bad and probably has the most cohesive plot of them all, and I really enjoyed even though it's not perfect. But then again I am a fan of the other movies, and Retribution is just giving me more of what I enjoyed about the other movies and that's bombastic, non-stop action. It's good flick, but if you didn't enjoy the other movies you wont enjoy this one either. So if your a fan by all means watch it, if not skip it. Oh, and newcomers are probably better watching the other movies first so their not completely in the dark with what's going on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Horrifically written, hopelessly spectacle-oriented, and funny when it should never be, "Resident Evil: Retribution" is yet another addition to the ever-growing list of failed Paul W.S. Anderson films.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
ThegodfathersonAug 6, 2013
Resident Evil Retribution isn't great, per say but one of the most imaginative video game movies that I have ever seen. Films like Hitman had more potential but Paul W.S Anderson mixes the most crappiest VFX into well made 3D but still, itsResident Evil Retribution isn't great, per say but one of the most imaginative video game movies that I have ever seen. Films like Hitman had more potential but Paul W.S Anderson mixes the most crappiest VFX into well made 3D but still, its not a boost to the horrible series, its a just a film that will ignite some awesomeness about the series into moviegoers. 3D is epic, made to be watched in 3D but Retribution is still a mess of the franchise. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeJul 23, 2017
At this point, you know what to expect from this series. A lot of bad special effects, disappointing CGI blood, average acting and a nonsensical plot. This movie really is only if you liked the previous Resident Evil movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Bruce722Jan 18, 2013
If you want a movie to feel exactly like a video game, this movie is for you because that's exactly how it feels. I've never seen a movie that felt more like a video game in my life. However, if you're like me and you want your movie to haveIf you want a movie to feel exactly like a video game, this movie is for you because that's exactly how it feels. I've never seen a movie that felt more like a video game in my life. However, if you're like me and you want your movie to have plots that actually make sense and have a nice flow to them, you probably won't enjoy this movie. It's really upsetting that a franchise that started so well has disintegrated into this. The first two films, I thought were outstanding but the next two were plagued with absurd levels of ridiculousness and this film had the worst plot development I've seen yet. It's unfortunate too because the acting is good enough and the action sequences are entertaining but the cheesy 3D elements and the piss poor plot show just how a terrible director can destroy a movie. I'm glad they're only making one more... though, how they made this many just shows how stupid Europeans actually are. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
Rox22Feb 14, 2014
Utter garbage. It's just one series of special effects and action melding into the next, with very little narrative to tie them together. Also, aside from Ada Wong every other character from the games is terribly cast and given almost noUtter garbage. It's just one series of special effects and action melding into the next, with very little narrative to tie them together. Also, aside from Ada Wong every other character from the games is terribly cast and given almost no depth what so ever. Clearly just shoed in to grab the fans, problem is the "actors" offer very little and seem almost bored in their roles.

Clearly this movie franchise now exists simply so Milla can have work (a shame as I think she could do so much better.)

Overall:
By far the worst of the series. The only reason I even give it a 2 is for the effects and Ada (who was the only decent thing in the movie.) No plot, recycled villains and pointless action for the sake of it. One of the few movies I ever walked out on.

Side Note:
Mr. Anderson, if by some miracle you read this: PLEASE stop making resident Evil movies. Capcom is doing more than enough damage to the franchise on its own, they do need you shoveling this putrid manure onto the fire.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
diogomendesFeb 21, 2015
Lifelessly plotted, choppily edited and poorly acted, "Resident Evil: Retribution" is worthy watching merely for the laughs. It's so bad it's hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Iky009Dec 31, 2013
Incrivelmente fantástico como esse filme magistralmente ruim. Não há palavras em meu dicionário linguístico para descrever essa medonha obra do cinema.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
RikiegeDec 22, 2012
This is the fifth and probably not the last installment of the famous zombie movie is always the same.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
Andys_ReviewsJun 1, 2013
Very heavy on the CGI, which is all very well done by the way, I’m guessing a lot of green paint was used. I think just about every fight sequence was shot in slow motion; I’m not sure why but for me it didn’t add any excitement. Nobody willVery heavy on the CGI, which is all very well done by the way, I’m guessing a lot of green paint was used. I think just about every fight sequence was shot in slow motion; I’m not sure why but for me it didn’t add any excitement. Nobody will win any prizes for the performances, although I thought Michelle Rodriguez as Rain did a pretty good job. Okay, from an entertainment perspective, yes, it did its job; an easy to follow plot that has plenty of action and some very pretty ladies; this red blooded male was not disappointed on that front. On the down side; it does look like you’re watching someone else playing a first person shooter video game. It’s left wide open for another sequel (hopefully the last one), so I guess there will be more… And I will be watching.

SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED (Purely for entertainment… If this is your sort of thing that is…)

My score: 5.7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
asthobaskoroSep 23, 2012
For fans, at least the first and second movie, Retribution along with Exctinction is dissapointment. I don't know what I was seeing, Resident Evil: Retribution is a total mess. I couldn't enjoy any single of it. No problem with the 3D, theFor fans, at least the first and second movie, Retribution along with Exctinction is dissapointment. I don't know what I was seeing, Resident Evil: Retribution is a total mess. I couldn't enjoy any single of it. No problem with the 3D, the problem is the whole movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
analogkid280Sep 16, 2012
Mind relaxing, bullets flying. It does what it is designed to do. Just when you are tired of all the summer PG13 rated fight scenes here comes another round of Resident Evil with its R rated goodies. It is a more finely tuned instrument thanMind relaxing, bullets flying. It does what it is designed to do. Just when you are tired of all the summer PG13 rated fight scenes here comes another round of Resident Evil with its R rated goodies. It is a more finely tuned instrument than its previous movies. The fight scenes are shot real well and old crew is all there so you never feel like they left any of the actors behind. I never got bored once and liked this much better than the Total Recall reboot earlier this year. With its top notch CG work and familiar theme I give this one a go. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
6
theahsanhaseebOct 6, 2012
Resident Evil: Retribution; so close yet so far from the franchise. It feels like you are watching an episode of a TV series and when the episode ends, you're going to have to wait till next week, but the bad news is that the next movie isn'tResident Evil: Retribution; so close yet so far from the franchise. It feels like you are watching an episode of a TV series and when the episode ends, you're going to have to wait till next week, but the bad news is that the next movie isn't even going to release till next year. There is absolutely no screenplay and even if there is, it is too typical and terrible and the execution is even poor. Red Queen, the antagonist of the film seems very cheesy and something like a high school bully. There should have been efforts to make it look more likeable and related to the dark side of the entire post-apocalypse element. Leon Kennedy and Ada Wong are included in the movie with the minor roles as well. Leon is a major character in the game series and in the movie he is given a minor role which totally sucks and I can only hope for him to have a major role in the next movie. But I think the film-makers want to keep the game series separate from the film franchise. Who knows? The most disappointing bit, to me, was that it ended right there at a scene which was probably the best scene of the entire movie. Although I must say one thing here: The action sequences of the movie are great including the cinematic 3D experience and visual effects. But the bad news is: there is no acting by any of the cast members whatsoever. Very, very lame acting (still better than Kristen Stewart's acting, LOL!) After all these flaws and mistakes, I still enjoyed the movie because of watching it in a theater because of entire theatrical and 3D experience (I am not a fan of 3D technology but it still managed to impress me). If you are just looking for a pastime then, go buy a ticket and watch this movie. It might turn out to be really good pastime for you. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
oliver1hJan 16, 2013
I wish people would not buy tickets to movies like that.... That way trash movies would be released in lesser numbers every year.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Apemonkey666Jan 12, 2013
Consider this a best of in the RE series: you get to see all the heros, all the zombies and monsters from all the previous films mashed together in an almost continuous action-fest of combat scenes and visual effects. Unfortunately thisConsider this a best of in the RE series: you get to see all the heros, all the zombies and monsters from all the previous films mashed together in an almost continuous action-fest of combat scenes and visual effects. Unfortunately this doesn't mean it's the best RE film, but it's not the worst either. Paul W.S. certainly did a good job of getting as much bang for their 65 million bucks. They do try to explain the ludicrous backstory but it gets lost in all the gunfights and explosions and most people won't care anyway. A good 96 mins of braindead entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
busbfranFeb 3, 2015
Retribution is unoriginal, tiring and half heartlessly directed. Resident Evil is in a desperately need of new idea's, sadly this poorly constructed sequel is full of wasted potential, however Retribution never fails to entertain.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
MeritCobaNov 17, 2015
(I have introduced my own scoring mechanism, this one gets a 1 for being Bleh. A star for the cool white corridor fighting scene which can be watched on you tube for free. No need to suffer through the rest of this pile of crap to see it.).(I have introduced my own scoring mechanism, this one gets a 1 for being Bleh. A star for the cool white corridor fighting scene which can be watched on you tube for free. No need to suffer through the rest of this pile of crap to see it.).

Mister Anderson,

I know that you will never read this letter, but I feel compelled to write you anyway as you are the director of 3 out of 5 Resident Evil movies and thus in a large part responsible for the way the series has developed and is going to develop as you are about to release yet another one in the near future, at least that is what is being promised at the end of this movie.

I, being interested in stories in general, have been itching to ask you a question but before doing so I have to first establish a few things to make you understand the question better.
First let me admit that I never made a movie like you have, let alone made three movies and therefore are not aware of all the toil that goes into a movie. To be honest it seems like a daunting task to make one. Yet I am also a consumer of movies and as such I noticed a few disturbing developments about your works that must be brought to your attention, not only for your own sake, but especially for those who still endure in watching your products. Which made me prompt my question below.

A second thing that I might remark upon is that the movies have never been remarkable in any way and that nobody expects a Shakespearean experience here, although it would be nice if it just had a some of it, just a little part, but even a tiny little bit seems a tree too tall to climb for you. Therefore steady mediocrity has been the defining level of quality of the series, at least up till now.

And here we come to the heart of the matter. You see, most surprisingly the quality of you latest movie seems to have taken a downwards turn, a sharp one, we might say: a nosedive. Which is odd for someone who has been doing this for quite some time and should at least know better through experience. It seems as if you are getting a bit tired of it all.

Now having stated this, I need to back up my statements with examples and, given tons of examples to pick from, I will pick three as showcases of mishandling story telling that even a newcomer would have avoided.

The first is too much of everything. There is unnecessary and mishandled exposition. Exposition is avoided in movies as it is telling something about the story, which therefore yanks a viewer out of the story. Sometimes it is needed to establish the background, like at the start of Star Wars for instance. Star Wars is a good example of well handled exposition as it keeps it to the point and, most of all, it doesn't let the protagonists do the exposition. But what do you do? Not only do you supply a lengthy exposition that is unnecessary as those who have seen the series already know and those who haven't have no use for the lengthy speech, but most of all you have Alice do it, which thus means that whatever dangers she is exposed to will not harm her in anyway. A bad bad mistake.

Then there is the three starts of the movie. It starts with a scene that has no bearing on the rest of the movie, except that it is the end of the previous movie. Then after that start we get another start. And then another before it finally takes off.

And the cast is bloated with too many people, some of whom have been killed in previous movies and thus reappear as 'clones' and in one example even three times over!. In fact there are so many actors that a lot of them get not enough screen time to establish a meaningful personality. Most are killed off, probably to avoid them becoming more interesting than Alice.

The second example is the lack of emotions displayed by everyone involved. Waves of zombies appear and nobody is shocked. People get killed and nobody bats an eye. A clone of an American woman wakes up inside a Russian underground station and gets shot at and for her it is all in a days work. Nobody cares, nobody screams, nobody curses and nobody gives a shyte. They go through the motions as if drugged. Nobody is even trying anymore.

A third thing is Alex Wesker who behaves like Mr. Smith from the Matrix movies. You have to make up your own anti-heroes.

There are many many more examples of completely mishandling everything, but three is enough for the moment as it is time for the question:
Can you please get another script writer? Because the current one sucks.. big time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DukeJonJan 27, 2013
More of the same from the Resident Evil franchise; little more than a sequence of bullet-time gunfights featuring babes in latex carrying SMGs mowing down zombies or black-suited bad guys. It's a shame, as there is a lot of the story theyMore of the same from the Resident Evil franchise; little more than a sequence of bullet-time gunfights featuring babes in latex carrying SMGs mowing down zombies or black-suited bad guys. It's a shame, as there is a lot of the story they could take the time to explore; such as the T-Virus, how the survivors are doing, etc. Instead we get a film that is essentially as dumb as a first person shooter video game. No plot to speak of ("Escape base". Again.), cookie-cutter square jawed heroes and pantomime villains like Wesker. Reminds me a lot of the Underworld series. The first Matrix film proved that you can have latex, sunglasses and bullet time and it doesn't mean you can't have an interesting story to hang it off.

Another problem is that a lot of the characters keep coming back as clones. Why should we care if someone dies if they can appear in the next reel, brand new? They are constantly changing sides as well. The plot is paper-thin - just like a video game we travel from one environment to another (New York, Moscow, Sewer) and once all the grunts are dealt with an end of level boss appears. Playing video games is fun. Watching someone else playing them... not so much. Still, Alice and Valentine look nice in those costumes and all the bullet-porn and cgi is kind of exciting in a lowbrow way whilst it's going on. I just wish the producers would set their standards a little higher.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
sammurphy66Jul 17, 2014
The storyline sucks, the acting is appalling, and the script is disgraceful. With that being said, Resident Evil: Retribution is absolute crap, but its very entertaining crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
dante_finnJul 12, 2014
This movie is just plain bad. Everything about it is bad. Milla Jovovich tries her best but W.S. Anderson just decides to **** it all up.....literally!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
manofthemoonFeb 15, 2015
The guilty pleasure franchise continues with more of the same and continues to be strangely watchable in a perverse way. Still not as good as the two animated "ResEvil" features, but "Retribution" is another one for fans of Anderson's series.The guilty pleasure franchise continues with more of the same and continues to be strangely watchable in a perverse way. Still not as good as the two animated "ResEvil" features, but "Retribution" is another one for fans of Anderson's series. Roll on the final film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
SantiagoMAKiiNASep 17, 2012
How shall I put this to you? ... This is the result of an accident where too much money crashes with the perfect mix of idiocy and amazing visuals.
I was thinking to waste a few more words on this, but I think you get the point, and I'm
How shall I put this to you? ... This is the result of an accident where too much money crashes with the perfect mix of idiocy and amazing visuals.
I was thinking to waste a few more words on this, but I think you get the point, and I'm staring at this delicious meat ball sandwich. Yum!
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
R6exMay 19, 2013
Just love the girls! And to see your game characters (RE6) come to live amazing! Well, didn't have high hopes for this movie, but came away entertained. Think the next one will be nice all my favourite babes blasting away at the army of undead.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
PuciferJun 16, 2013
The only halfway decent movie in this franchise was the first one; RE:R sinks to a new low with lazy video game plotting, wretched acting, shameless product placement/advertising, and Michelle Rodriguez (need we say more?). Of course,The only halfway decent movie in this franchise was the first one; RE:R sinks to a new low with lazy video game plotting, wretched acting, shameless product placement/advertising, and Michelle Rodriguez (need we say more?). Of course, director Paul W.S. Anderson continues to show a flair for striking compositions, but let's face it--he's coasting with this one, probably the worst in the series, although it's hard to tell. But the joke is on me--I won't miss a single entry. Go figure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
aznassassinDec 14, 2012
The worst of the already horrible film franchise that is an insult to the Resident Evil franchise to which it derives from. I am not even going to review this movie. Its just so bad, it insults Resident Evil canon so much that I feel likeThe worst of the already horrible film franchise that is an insult to the Resident Evil franchise to which it derives from. I am not even going to review this movie. Its just so bad, it insults Resident Evil canon so much that I feel like cracking the Blu-Ray disc in half. This the peak of an absolute **** of a movie franchise which I feel strays dangerously close to the horror of the Twilight films, and thanks to it, has cemented itself as my personal SECOND WORST FILM FRANCHISE OF ALL TIME. The first two films were alright, passable as Resident Evil films (and they're true to canon as well! Sort of...). From the third film onwards, well, it just went downhill. There's going to be a sequel, and yes I will be watching it for the sake of it. And no, I guarantee you, it will be complete **** and no, I am not a psychic. Avoid this pile of excrement at all costs, especially if you're into RE, because frankly I cannot see how much worse W.S prickface Anderson can reduce the RE namesake even further down the **** pipe. The definition of ****. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
ascoltami86May 17, 2013
I thought Resident Evil 2 is enough. The movie gets worst and worst. I don't want to be mean, complain, but Paul W. S. Anderson, could u just stop making these movies.
It's just so boring, protagonist always kills enemies, specially weak
I thought Resident Evil 2 is enough. The movie gets worst and worst. I don't want to be mean, complain, but Paul W. S. Anderson, could u just stop making these movies.
It's just so boring, protagonist always kills enemies, specially weak enemies very enemies, protagonist always wins. I don't like super mighty protagonist, I like protagonist who is very weak, but manage to escape or survive. Protagonist like from The Descent.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
Sevvy88Jun 7, 2013
A monumental waste of time. The series gets worse and worse. I don't know why they keep releasing these. Do they actually still make money? I can't ever believe my own eyes when I watch them because they are all so bad. Stop at the first filmA monumental waste of time. The series gets worse and worse. I don't know why they keep releasing these. Do they actually still make money? I can't ever believe my own eyes when I watch them because they are all so bad. Stop at the first film and go no further, and even THAT movie wasn't really that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
JunghovaNov 29, 2012
The irony here is this movie's plot is soooo bad, it feels as if Capcom themselves wrote the script as it is as bad as the story and dialogue of any of the RE games. The CG is decent in most places and the action was also ok....but as soonThe irony here is this movie's plot is soooo bad, it feels as if Capcom themselves wrote the script as it is as bad as the story and dialogue of any of the RE games. The CG is decent in most places and the action was also ok....but as soon as any of the main characters opened there mouths.......scary Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TerenceYiboFeb 3, 2014
我看过的最烂的一部电影,根本没有剧情,充其量一场游乐场跑酷游戏,各种设定逻辑混乱,之前的恐怖荡然无存只有CG特效堆积+长串长串的慢动作,当然除了造型设计比较成功。
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
InverseCriticOct 12, 2013
I don't know why people have not seemed to enjoy this movie very much. That's mostly because I haven't seen the other movies or played any of the video games. But really, if this film wasn't brutal at times, this movie would be neck and neckI don't know why people have not seemed to enjoy this movie very much. That's mostly because I haven't seen the other movies or played any of the video games. But really, if this film wasn't brutal at times, this movie would be neck and neck with the Avengers as the best action movie of 2012 for me. It's smart, has head-on battles which are some of the best I've seen in my life, as well as 3-D that even beats Spy Kids 3, and an opening that even beats Spider-Man 2, and for once, isn't over 2 hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews