Resident Evil: Retribution

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 373 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 16, 2012
    1
    How is it possible? another character that has nothing to do with the history of "resident evil", main characters "Leo and Ada" are secondary characters in this film, Leo has no strength in the movie, when is the opposite in the video game story. Bad edit and direction, lousy script; Wesker is a bad joke, the music is terrible, as bad as it usually goes in amateur short films. How manyHow is it possible? another character that has nothing to do with the history of "resident evil", main characters "Leo and Ada" are secondary characters in this film, Leo has no strength in the movie, when is the opposite in the video game story. Bad edit and direction, lousy script; Wesker is a bad joke, the music is terrible, as bad as it usually goes in amateur short films. How many money actually used in the production? Seems like a fanmovie, except actors (for the cost not quality), about that Expand
  2. Sep 27, 2012
    3
    I was holding the ticket only for the gores and brutality alone, good acting was not expected anyway, and where I live, they cut out the gory (or glory), so basically, I got a ticket to see a funny movie . The ideas are pretty good but the execution need to be improved. There's too many slow motions in fighting scene, maybe because the fight is not good enough to play at normal speed. WhenI was holding the ticket only for the gores and brutality alone, good acting was not expected anyway, and where I live, they cut out the gory (or glory), so basically, I got a ticket to see a funny movie . The ideas are pretty good but the execution need to be improved. There's too many slow motions in fighting scene, maybe because the fight is not good enough to play at normal speed. When Alice through the bullet round in the air, it felt like 123109418 seconds had passed. I'm still going to the RE 6 if they have it, just to find out what's in the end of all the craps. Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2013
    0
    I wish people would not buy tickets to movies like that.... That way trash movies would be released in lesser numbers every year.
  4. Dec 22, 2012
    4
    This is the fifth and probably not the last installment of the famous zombie movie is always the same.
  5. Jun 24, 2013
    3
    directors need to stop making this god awful video game adaptions that are butchering the franchises i hope that someday in the future we could get movies based on video games that wont suck i hope the upcoming metal gear and devil may cry movies wont be as bad as this piece of $h!t
  6. Dec 13, 2012
    1
    My advice for anyone looking to buy this movie: don't. The problem isn't the fact that it doesn't relate to the original games, because I'm sure we've all come to accept the only real similarities these movies have are character names. The problem is that it feels like it was made by a 15 year old boy, and by that I mean the movie goes a little something like this: fights, explosions,My advice for anyone looking to buy this movie: don't. The problem isn't the fact that it doesn't relate to the original games, because I'm sure we've all come to accept the only real similarities these movies have are character names. The problem is that it feels like it was made by a 15 year old boy, and by that I mean the movie goes a little something like this: fights, explosions, over-use of special effects, more fights, more explosions, women in catsuits, women in catsuits that purposely show cleavage, some more explosions, cheesy dialogue, Russian zombie soldiers and an invincible Michelle Rodguiez. I was genuinely surprised to learn the writer/director is nearly 50. I'm giving the movie a 1 instead of my initial 0 because it did have me laughing out loud on more than one occasion at how bad the acting really is. If you feel like you have to watch this because you need to find out what happens next in the ongoing plot, don't bother - nothing happens! The ongoing plot essentially comes to a standstill as the entire movie is based around Alice escaping yet another Umbrella facility controlled by the Red Queen. It's a case of dejavu, we've seen it all before - so what's the point in the movie? Terrible acting, terrible dialogue, terrible development, terrible everything... and yet I keep watching these movies for some reason. Expand
  7. Dec 14, 2012
    1
    The worst of the already horrible film franchise that is an insult to the Resident Evil franchise to which it derives from. I am not even going to review this movie. Its just so bad, it insults Resident Evil canon so much that I feel like cracking the Blu-Ray disc in half. This the peak of an absolute **** of a movie franchise which I feel strays dangerously close to the horror of theThe worst of the already horrible film franchise that is an insult to the Resident Evil franchise to which it derives from. I am not even going to review this movie. Its just so bad, it insults Resident Evil canon so much that I feel like cracking the Blu-Ray disc in half. This the peak of an absolute **** of a movie franchise which I feel strays dangerously close to the horror of the Twilight films, and thanks to it, has cemented itself as my personal SECOND WORST FILM FRANCHISE OF ALL TIME. The first two films were alright, passable as Resident Evil films (and they're true to canon as well! Sort of...). From the third film onwards, well, it just went downhill. There's going to be a sequel, and yes I will be watching it for the sake of it. And no, I guarantee you, it will be complete **** and no, I am not a psychic. Avoid this pile of excrement at all costs, especially if you're into RE, because frankly I cannot see how much worse W.S prickface Anderson can reduce the RE namesake even further down the **** pipe. The definition of ****. Expand
  8. Nov 29, 2012
    0
    Who the hell keeps funding Anderson's crappy Resident Evil movies? Oh, it's Mr. **** Logic! On my personal list, Paul WS Anderson just beat Uwe Boll, as the master of ****-up-any-great-game-into-movie director. BURN IN HELL ANDERSON!!!
  9. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    96 minutes game play footage of a "90s-hack'n'slay-action-adventure"
    with "code: veronica"-mask. Paul W.S. Anderson didn't even try to make a movie anymore...
    ...
    ...
    ...
    ...which was the best decision he could've made! :D
  10. Dec 31, 2013
    2
    Incrivelmente fantástico como esse filme magistralmente ruim. Não há palavras em meu dicionário linguístico para descrever essa medonha obra do cinema.
  11. Jan 20, 2013
    1
    One shooting scene after another. No dialogs. No story. If you change its name to "The Alice Project" no one would realize it is based on a video game franchise. Awful movie.
  12. Mar 19, 2013
    3
    1st movie: Very good movie

    2nd movie: Can't remember :( 3rd movie: Good action movie 4th movie: Only liked it because it had multiple zombies from recent games this movie: Absolutely horrible See, this movie is nothign but pointless action. All they did was take some famous characters, and slap them all in this hole of a movie. Also, they made Leon look like an idiot. I
    1st movie: Very good movie

    2nd movie: Can't remember :(

    3rd movie: Good action movie

    4th movie: Only liked it because it had multiple zombies from recent games

    this movie: Absolutely horrible

    See, this movie is nothign but pointless action. All they did was take some famous characters, and slap them all in this hole of a movie. Also, they made Leon look like an idiot. I kind of liked Barry though... But anyways, this movie makes no sense to me, and it shouldn't have been made. I can't really explain it, that's how much it doesn't make sense.
    Expand
  13. Feb 3, 2014
    1
    我看过的最烂的一部电影,根本没有剧情,充其量一场游乐场跑酷游戏,各种设定逻辑混乱,之前的恐怖荡然无存只有CG特效堆积+长串长串的慢动作,当然除了造型设计比较成功。
  14. Sep 17, 2012
    4
    All i can say for the positives of this film are the CG parts. Anything else that is part of this movie is a disgrace to the resident
    evil franchise. Looks like the films and games of the resident evil
    franchise have just fallen to a new low. This film has bad editing, one fight scene, i felt my eyes hurting due to the choppy editing, most of the acting is awful, i could not stand it.
    All i can say for the positives of this film are the CG parts. Anything else that is part of this movie is a disgrace to the resident
    evil franchise. Looks like the films and games of the resident evil
    franchise have just fallen to a new low. This film has bad editing, one fight scene, i felt my eyes hurting due
    to the choppy editing, most of the acting is awful, i could not stand
    it. The script is stupid and wants us to care for undeveloped
    characters with parts that just seem too rushed and skipped. Also the
    main antagonist of this film (Red Queen) just keeps popping up and it
    seems really cheesy when she does, as they follow the antagonists
    through the scenes.

    Overall, instead of spending money on a piece of s**t action movie
    (Which will definitely get bad reviews and make a profit) , they should
    invest in a reboot of the whole franchise, creating a much darker and
    scarier film. Preferably based off Resident Evil 4 (The Game) and lose
    all of the stupid writing and pointless action. They also need to get a
    good actor for Lyon, as the actor in this movie was horrible and had
    too much muscle on him.

    It is a B movie at best, due to all the pointless action and CGI, but other than that it has taken a new route of stupid in the Resident Evil franchise.
    Expand
  15. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    This has been the only movie I have ever gone back to the theaters so I could watch it again. The only reason I feel compelled to write a review is because: 1) The movie theater was almost empty both times i went to watch it. 2) The reviews are mostly negative. I have never seen any of the past movies or played the games. I only went with a few friends just to kill time and I am happy IThis has been the only movie I have ever gone back to the theaters so I could watch it again. The only reason I feel compelled to write a review is because: 1) The movie theater was almost empty both times i went to watch it. 2) The reviews are mostly negative. I have never seen any of the past movies or played the games. I only went with a few friends just to kill time and I am happy I did. Now the negative critics say it wasn Expand
  16. sLm
    Oct 17, 2012
    6
    Well, not as bad as the last one, of course. But I really laughed when the woman who sank in the ice (at the end of the film) was struggling with sea-zombies and she was like punching them in slow-motion, but we saw clearly that she was just pretending to punch them, hahaha it was like she was playing with teddy bears instead of figthing zombies. About Wesker, I thought he was dead fromWell, not as bad as the last one, of course. But I really laughed when the woman who sank in the ice (at the end of the film) was struggling with sea-zombies and she was like punching them in slow-motion, but we saw clearly that she was just pretending to punch them, hahaha it was like she was playing with teddy bears instead of figthing zombies. About Wesker, I thought he was dead from the last movie lol. And of course, the ending had to be at the white house, lal, it's like the damn center of the fking world of what? I almost laughed when I had to play there in Call of Duty, now also is the last remnants of humanity? XDDD Okay... Expand
  17. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    the moscow sequence was one of the best action scenes ever made, period. most of the cast does a good job, the action is absolutely badass and amazing, and i don't usually think about this, but the score was really fitting, considering the first had marilyn manson, which was too loud, the second had jeff danna, which was too orchestral, the third had charlie clouser, which was toothe moscow sequence was one of the best action scenes ever made, period. most of the cast does a good job, the action is absolutely badass and amazing, and i don't usually think about this, but the score was really fitting, considering the first had marilyn manson, which was too loud, the second had jeff danna, which was too orchestral, the third had charlie clouser, which was too forgettable, so, musicwise, fourth and fifth are boss, with tomandandy providing a perfect score for perfect asskickings, :) Expand
  18. Sep 17, 2012
    1
    The continued decline of a franchise as it progresses is an expected quality and in this regard, Resident Evil: Retribution exceeds at meeting expectations. In essence, the series appears to hit rock bottom (that bottom disguised as a facility that could easily have been stolen from the G.I. Joe movie) right from the start when viewers are treated to a scene that plays out backwardsThe continued decline of a franchise as it progresses is an expected quality and in this regard, Resident Evil: Retribution exceeds at meeting expectations. In essence, the series appears to hit rock bottom (that bottom disguised as a facility that could easily have been stolen from the G.I. Joe movie) right from the start when viewers are treated to a scene that plays out backwards leading up to the moment where Afterlife left off. Although it is an ambitious attempt at adding a layer of freshness to a series that has been steadily going stale, it does not play out as cleverly as it should. The obligatory recap has become rather pointless. It should be expected that those taking in this sequel are pretty much in tune with what has happened up to the moment the opening credits cease. This series doesn't seem all that intent on bringing in new fans. Alice is back. Once again, she must face the bad guys. She impressively fights and flees in slow motion, a gimmick way overused most likely in attempt to drag out the length so people don't feel as cheated. New characters are introduced and old characters make head-scratching appearances that get the briefest of explanations. This element alone could have been interesting had the film's handlers actually focused on it. The fight sequences appear better suited for one of those dance-off films. The acting is horrible across the board. Even the good actors in the film seem to phone in their performances, all too aware that the focus isn't the characters so much as it is the action sequences stitched together in ways that make the film more dull than it should be. The special effects, while cool, are obviously CGI. Some (ok, all) of the action sequences are quite unbelievable. The effects of the last film apparently make no difference in Alice's fighting abilities because she still pulls some rather inhuman moves. Ah, this leads to the problem with continuity. The fate of a few prominent characters remains in question; clearly a sacrifice for introducing new takes on a few game favorites. What the film does well is portray chaos. Unfortunately, that chaos translates into the actual viewing experience as well, ultimately casting this film as nothing more than an interlude in an already middling action/horror franchise. Expand
  19. Sep 17, 2012
    2
    How shall I put this to you? ... This is the result of an accident where too much money crashes with the perfect mix of idiocy and amazing visuals.
    I was thinking to waste a few more words on this, but I think you get the point, and I'm staring at this delicious meat ball sandwich. Yum!
  20. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    There is a lot I'd like to say to defend my enjoyment of this movie, but I'll just say that it really hit home for me. I didn't expect anything and came out of it feeling very satisfied that I was able to see a movie that made me so exhilarated. I almost don't want to share it because I'm a little bit selfish and think that people who won't appreciate the movie don't deserve to see it,There is a lot I'd like to say to defend my enjoyment of this movie, but I'll just say that it really hit home for me. I didn't expect anything and came out of it feeling very satisfied that I was able to see a movie that made me so exhilarated. I almost don't want to share it because I'm a little bit selfish and think that people who won't appreciate the movie don't deserve to see it, but for the sake of supporting the franchise, I want to encourage people who will accept and enjoy the movie for what it is - fast-paced, precise, beautiful, and a promise of things to come. Expand
  21. Sep 26, 2012
    0
    This movie is yet another insult to the RE original series is full of inconsistencies, first of all why Leon an ex RCPD member and Barry an ex S.T.A.R.S member are working with Wesker when Wesker betrayed the S.T.A.R.S alpha team in the Arklay mansion and he tried to destroy the rest of the team in Raccon citu eliminaiting RCPD in the process and they said in the movie that he was theThis movie is yet another insult to the RE original series is full of inconsistencies, first of all why Leon an ex RCPD member and Barry an ex S.T.A.R.S member are working with Wesker when Wesker betrayed the S.T.A.R.S alpha team in the Arklay mansion and he tried to destroy the rest of the team in Raccon citu eliminaiting RCPD in the process and they said in the movie that he was the founder of Umbrella, that is no true the Fonder was Spencer.
    Also they never explain who the obtained the "las plagas" in the movie, but first they **** up because some manjis form RE 5 are in the movie and they said that they are infected with the T-virus while in the games the manjis are infected with las plagas.
    And finally they put Umbrella to Skynet level, seriously, in the movie Umbrella is controled by an IA called the red queen wich like Alice don´t appear in any of the games and Umbrella instead of being a simple pharmaceutical company they are a cloning - mass producing facility, no Joke so in conclussion this movie is a **** terminator movie with poor story, poor characters and it has nothing to do with RE games
    Expand
  22. Sep 27, 2012
    2
    Reminds me of Underworld awakening in that right when it is getting good, and a real plot starts to show up, the movie ends. Disappointing. Just an excuse to draw the series out.
  23. Sep 19, 2012
    3
    It has some creative moments/ideas, but the plot itself is ridiculous and completely nonsensical. Acting in general was terrible. It feels like RE5 was just a tech demo to show CG effects / 3D. Definitely the worst movie in the series so far.
  24. Sep 23, 2012
    0
    For fans, at least the first and second movie, Retribution along with Exctinction is dissapointment. I don't know what I was seeing, Resident Evil: Retribution is a total mess. I couldn't enjoy any single of it. No problem with the 3D, the problem is the whole movie.
  25. Sep 30, 2012
    6
    Honestly, if you go into this movie expecting an insightful and well directed movie you are either a fool or have not seen any of the previous Resident Evil films. It really doesn't matter if you're a fan of the video games at this point since the story broke away from the originals in the first five minutes of the first movie; the names are there, but that's it. Don't get you'reHonestly, if you go into this movie expecting an insightful and well directed movie you are either a fool or have not seen any of the previous Resident Evil films. It really doesn't matter if you're a fan of the video games at this point since the story broke away from the originals in the first five minutes of the first movie; the names are there, but that's it. Don't get you're expectations high, wait to rent the DVD on a rainy day, and you will enjoy this mindless action flick. Expand
  26. Sep 20, 2012
    3
    Hilarious cast for Leon :D
    Seriously, those beard and muscle, totally nonsense compared to the the game :D
    disappointing, really.
    the only awesome thing is the zombies, please replace Leon :D
  27. Sep 21, 2012
    1
    Okay, the action is good, and the overall fighting sequences are well done. But the story is ludicrous. I did like the realistic scenes that took place right as the zombie invasion happened...however it didn't take long for the film to completely rehash the first iteration with the Red Queen being the enemy and having to escape the base.

    Sure the movie has good parts and bad parts, but
    Okay, the action is good, and the overall fighting sequences are well done. But the story is ludicrous. I did like the realistic scenes that took place right as the zombie invasion happened...however it didn't take long for the film to completely rehash the first iteration with the Red Queen being the enemy and having to escape the base.

    Sure the movie has good parts and bad parts, but overall it felt so estranged from the video game series that it shouldn't have been called Resident Evil in any way. It should have been called Insane Action-Zombie Fighter #5.

    Definitely check the trailers and reviews before you buy tickets, because you may be sorely disappointed.
    Expand
  28. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    I enjoyed this movie and the first 4 very much. Resident Evil: Retribution promises thrills and enjoyment for casual movie-goers and fans like myself.
  29. Sep 16, 2012
    9
    Mind relaxing, bullets flying. It does what it is designed to do. Just when you are tired of all the summer PG13 rated fight scenes here comes another round of Resident Evil with its R rated goodies. It is a more finely tuned instrument than its previous movies. The fight scenes are shot real well and old crew is all there so you never feel like they left any of the actors behind. I neverMind relaxing, bullets flying. It does what it is designed to do. Just when you are tired of all the summer PG13 rated fight scenes here comes another round of Resident Evil with its R rated goodies. It is a more finely tuned instrument than its previous movies. The fight scenes are shot real well and old crew is all there so you never feel like they left any of the actors behind. I never got bored once and liked this much better than the Total Recall reboot earlier this year. With its top notch CG work and familiar theme I give this one a go. Expand
  30. Sep 17, 2012
    0
    If only Resident Evil would stick to being a well done and immersive video game series instead of a boring and redundant film travesty. Nothing new with the same boring fight scenes which are well choreographed but also suffers from the same-thing-from-the-last-time syndrome.
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Sep 21, 2012
    40
    Giant brains with teeth, suburban mutant zombies, more bullets than a John Woo film festival, and hot girls in skin-tight S&M outfits pummelling each other to a deafening dubstep soundtrack. If you're looking for brainless, blood-guzzling carnage, you've found it.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 19, 2012
    40
    Jovovich's physicality and chilly mien (she was originally a "project" of the Umbrella Corp.) carry the series from start to … whenever it finishes, which might not be for quite a while yet.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Sep 15, 2012
    60
    Anderson utilizes slow-motion 3-D to hyperbolic effect while again casting Jovovich as the epitome of badass sexiness.