User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 265 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 265
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnnyE.
    Apr 10, 2002
    10
    Really Cool movie.
  2. KeenanS
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Despite what critics and some people had to say about it, I absolutely loved Resident Evil. Sure the story doesn't exactly follow the games, but it created its own identity and was a well-written, competent story. The action scenes were well done, even if the zombies lacked blood and there was plenty to go around in terms of excitement. I loved the music and it fit well with the Despite what critics and some people had to say about it, I absolutely loved Resident Evil. Sure the story doesn't exactly follow the games, but it created its own identity and was a well-written, competent story. The action scenes were well done, even if the zombies lacked blood and there was plenty to go around in terms of excitement. I loved the music and it fit well with the themes. Best of all, Milla Jovovich kicks so much ass in this film! Give it a try, it's actually quite good. Expand
  3. MikeH.
    May 10, 2002
    10
    Martin R......Sucks Shootsy......Sucks Real Critics......Losers Everbody Else......You're alright. People that gave a ten for this @$$ kicking, Zombie bashin', Licker Bitchin' movie, YEEEAAAAAAHHHHHHHH! YOU RULE!
  4. Jezz
    May 31, 2002
    10
    Great!
  5. MatejP.
    Jul 22, 2002
    10
    Luckily no one is listening to the critics. They suck anyway. The movie is great. Sure the story isn't exactly perfect but the music and lots of scenes rule. The best thriller I have ever seen!
  6. THOMASG.
    Aug 22, 2003
    10
    This was an awesom movie that you either love it or u hate it and i can tell u i loved it, having played the games and heard that the movie was comming out i knew i just had to see it, and i cant wait for the next one.
  7. Lee
    Jul 1, 2006
    10
    Brill movie, great action and great for if you want to watch a good horror!
  8. CoreyP.
    May 23, 2002
    10
    Great movie. Could have been better, but it was great, held good to the resident evil series.
  9. Wayne
    Jun 15, 2002
    10
    The critics do not know a good movie from a bad one! The critics are totally wrong on giving a great movie such a poor rating and review. Resident Evil is the best movie i've seen! I've seen it and there was NO accident, Remember the coffee guy sceen and you will see my piont on : NO ACCIDENT.
  10. BradyC.
    Jun 4, 2002
    10
    Personally it scared the crap out of me at some points and had the best a most gore i've seen in any movie and they better as sure hell make Res 2 i wanna see some cop zombies and kid zombies oh and there had dam well be thoes freaky ass crows!!
  11. Ryan
    Aug 4, 2002
    10
    Oh my god! what is this movie doing on the worst movies list? I spent the entire movie drooling over Milla, and let me say that getting to experience it in the theater I kept getting scared/excited/chills. I never had much faith in critics, but now I can't help but loathe them.
  12. GraemeL.
    Aug 4, 2002
    10
    For a zombie movie it was great! For a video game movie it was great! it really recreated the resident evil world well.
  13. HughB.
    Sep 4, 2002
    10
    It was good and gory and it was briliantly made.
  14. Lalalahatspunkychik
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    So cool.
  15. [Anonymous]
    Apr 30, 2003
    10
    Michelle is the best.
  16. SarahR.
    May 29, 2003
    10
    HCK this movie is the best!! i absolutely love it!! michelle kicks ass in here and i love the remarks that she makes!! i dont care wut u all say the movie is the best and i have seen it over 100 times and i still love it!! i hope they come out with another one cuz i cant wait!! though i was really ticked that michelle had to die even thou i knew she had too! but it would b the best if HCK this movie is the best!! i absolutely love it!! michelle kicks ass in here and i love the remarks that she makes!! i dont care wut u all say the movie is the best and i have seen it over 100 times and i still love it!! i hope they come out with another one cuz i cant wait!! though i was really ticked that michelle had to die even thou i knew she had too! but it would b the best if they could bring her back! it wont happen cuz a bullet to the brain is pretty much it! the novie rocks!! dont diss it u crazy ppl out there!! Expand
  17. MissayO.
    Sep 24, 2005
    10
    An action packed movie from start to finish.
  18. ninjabob
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Watched this movie in theatres atleast 6 times... Brilliant acting (maybe not the best ever but put yourself in the characters shoes) and a nice story, love the special effects. First 30 min. are the best, could watch that over and over and over again.
  19. Tomn.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    A brilliant movie, above the standard action film. While it may not have the best lines in cinema histyory, and some of the acting is a bit cack (matt never changed his expression, once), it still stands to be a great fun film. With some of the best music ever heard in an action film, hectic and exciting action scenes, and a depressing but cool ending, this film doesn't fail to A brilliant movie, above the standard action film. While it may not have the best lines in cinema histyory, and some of the acting is a bit cack (matt never changed his expression, once), it still stands to be a great fun film. With some of the best music ever heard in an action film, hectic and exciting action scenes, and a depressing but cool ending, this film doesn't fail to disappoint. The laser corridor, Rain's first zombie encounter and the final battle on the train are among the films highlights, and Mila Jovovich and Michelle Rodriguez put on decent performances. This film is easily worth a rent; remember that these critics putting down Resident Evil are the same ones that said Pirates Of The Carribean was not a fun film. Expand
  20. PeteB.
    Mar 25, 2002
    10
    Very good movie. Good story, nice action and nice chicks. You gotta love zombies.
  21. W.G.
    Jun 15, 2002
    10
    Is RE 2 gong to have all of the known characters such as, Jill, Berry, Clair, Sherry, William birkin, Leon, Chris, Rebbeca, Veronica, and all the others? That would be cool with nemesis, those anphibian creatures, and the ones that cut off heads. (play RE 3) and have slower zombies. They were too fast in the movie. And the giant worm that gets electrocuted in the game. Have the police Is RE 2 gong to have all of the known characters such as, Jill, Berry, Clair, Sherry, William birkin, Leon, Chris, Rebbeca, Veronica, and all the others? That would be cool with nemesis, those anphibian creatures, and the ones that cut off heads. (play RE 3) and have slower zombies. They were too fast in the movie. And the giant worm that gets electrocuted in the game. Have the police station in the movie as well. There's an movie idea for RE 2. (At least I tried to follow the games) Expand
  22. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    I personally don't understand all the hate towards the Res evil films. I feel like this film is drastically underrated and so I've given it a 10. Probably deserves no better than a 8, but it can still be a pretty compelling film. It's not about to blow your damn mind, but I really think it's worth the time of day if you are just looking for a sweet zone out film that you can still followI personally don't understand all the hate towards the Res evil films. I feel like this film is drastically underrated and so I've given it a 10. Probably deserves no better than a 8, but it can still be a pretty compelling film. It's not about to blow your damn mind, but I really think it's worth the time of day if you are just looking for a sweet zone out film that you can still follow what's happening. Expand
  23. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one awesome story of carnage. I loved Alice. I loved Rain but shame that she got infected. I liked the lazer slash and dog chase screens. Everybody should watch this one! Expand
  24. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    Having never played any of the games, I rate this without the "...but it didn't follow the game's plot, 0/10" nonsense. I thought this was a fabulous movie. Although the whole zombie thing has really taken over a lot of movies, apps, and games lately, Resident Evil brought a fresh take on the slow-moving, falling-apart crap we're so used to nowadays. I appreciated the fact that there was aHaving never played any of the games, I rate this without the "...but it didn't follow the game's plot, 0/10" nonsense. I thought this was a fabulous movie. Although the whole zombie thing has really taken over a lot of movies, apps, and games lately, Resident Evil brought a fresh take on the slow-moving, falling-apart crap we're so used to nowadays. I appreciated the fact that there was a plot, and a pretty decent one at that. It wasn't just the characters pulling ammo out of their asses and killing hundreds of zombies. It was a great movie. Expand
  25. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    i love resident evil trilogy and this one3 it is go epic watching a group of rad ass people kill zombies but this one is never better then dawn of the dead or world war z . resident evil is better then shaun of the dead
  26. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    CAMON!
    please dont do this to me! critics are negative? in all movies????? but why? CGI are bad? plot are bad? crew are bad? well, is just an user review against all of those critics but the users win and in the end, Resident Evil rules!!!! --thank God!
  27. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    Personally, I think RE is one of the best movies I've ever seen, and trust me, I've seen a lot of movies! It has an original story, good characters, and extremely good storyline and there's so much in the movie.. action, horror.. the relations between the characters, the way they need to unite to survive.. it's such a good and interesting movie! I find so weird that people have so manyPersonally, I think RE is one of the best movies I've ever seen, and trust me, I've seen a lot of movies! It has an original story, good characters, and extremely good storyline and there's so much in the movie.. action, horror.. the relations between the characters, the way they need to unite to survive.. it's such a good and interesting movie! I find so weird that people have so many negative critics! I mean, I know it was inspired in the game, and i know Alice isn't in it.. but people need to get one thing straight: those are two different things! and to be honest, I think it's pretty cool that there is a female bad ass the major character! Expand
  28. RyanT.
    Oct 9, 2003
    9
    I think the movie is great. It isn't based directly off a game which would make it utterly dull because you know exactly how it would end. The special features could have been better but it was funny to hear the comments about how the soundtrack was made.
  29. BabyM.
    May 6, 2003
    9
    A great movie. i dont understand why it gets such a low score from the reviewers. fantastic from start to finish and as good as any horror film to date.
  30. EricaJ.
    Mar 16, 2002
    9
    Much better than I expected. Don't expect this to be just another video-game adaptation. Awesome story and tons of surprises.
  31. JacobR.
    Mar 21, 2002
    9
    Really cool movie. Slicker than the B-movie predecessors, which I, for one, am grateful. I don't know what movie the critics saw, but I apparently saw the good version.
  32. VolkB.
    May 31, 2002
    9
    Could have been better but was the scariest movie in a LONG time... compare it to Scream!! HAHAHA ... Only gamers would like the movie though so f... off critics!
  33. StaceyG.
    Mar 16, 2002
    9
    Very scary! The scariest movie of the year, by far!!!! Good plot and storyboard. Good acting, just a little corny but no probs!! If I was 10 years old, I would have peed my pants and ran out screaming! I can't wait for the sequel!!! I WANT FLESH...
  34. HowardT.
    Mar 19, 2002
    9
    Much much much better than I expected. Probably the best video-game-based movie ever. Looking forward to see the next episode.
  35. RogerW.
    Mar 20, 2002
    9
    OK, people, lighten up already. You had to know going in that this is not a Merchant-Ivory production. :) But thanks to the loads of bad reviews this flick has gotten, I walked in with low expectations and got blown away. RE was visually amazing, action-packed, and FULL of scares. The story is actually fairly involved, the script works well, the acting is just what the doctor ordered, and OK, people, lighten up already. You had to know going in that this is not a Merchant-Ivory production. :) But thanks to the loads of bad reviews this flick has gotten, I walked in with low expectations and got blown away. RE was visually amazing, action-packed, and FULL of scares. The story is actually fairly involved, the script works well, the acting is just what the doctor ordered, and of course Milla and Michelle are gorgeous. I never played the game, but the movie was fun regardless. Expand
  36. D.J.
    May 24, 2002
    9
    Great scientific scene, followed only a small part of the original story. and it could have been better, cz the whole fighting duration was too short and so as the boss fighting (too easy to kill it). Looking forward to the next one's coming.
  37. Uri
    Jul 10, 2002
    9
    Very cool. I expected basically nothing and it turnes out to be the best movie made after a game so far! And it doesn't matter that I'm not really a gamer for some time now. I really enjoyed it!
  38. MichaelW.
    Jun 18, 2003
    9
    This is a great example of a film that fans love and critics hate. This is demonstrated by the fact that the critics gave it an avg. score of 30 and we gave it a 75!!! Roger Eber said, "The movie is 'Dawn of the Dead' crossed with 'John Carpenter's Ghosts of Mars,' with zombies not as ghoulish as the first and trains not as big as the second. The movie does This is a great example of a film that fans love and critics hate. This is demonstrated by the fact that the critics gave it an avg. score of 30 and we gave it a 75!!! Roger Eber said, "The movie is 'Dawn of the Dead' crossed with 'John Carpenter's Ghosts of Mars,' with zombies not as ghoulish as the first and trains not as big as the second. The movie does however have Milla Jovovich and Michelle Rodriguez." And your point?? He gave it a 25 based on that! I would have given it a 90 based on that! I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE SEQUEL!! Expand
  39. KevinM
    Mar 13, 2009
    9
    This score is probably the best I can give any of Paul WS Anderson's films. I know this is the worse reviewed by critics and some of the users won't agree with me on this, but this first one to me is actually the best of the 3. Apocalypse wasn't as good and Extinction was just alright, though I like the set up for a sequel at the end of it.
  40. RodericR.
    Jul 18, 2009
    9
    I actually enjoyed this movie a lot. I played the games and am well aware of the "lore" of RE, but sometimes the movies don't need to follow exactly. Plus, this is kind of new territory here, with the movie actually coming after the game. I still wish I could filter reviews and remove all "0" scores. A movie that bad should make you *literally* vomit in your mouth, unable to even I actually enjoyed this movie a lot. I played the games and am well aware of the "lore" of RE, but sometimes the movies don't need to follow exactly. Plus, this is kind of new territory here, with the movie actually coming after the game. I still wish I could filter reviews and remove all "0" scores. A movie that bad should make you *literally* vomit in your mouth, unable to even watch it in its entirety and sad for the plot of humanity and anyone's soul who came within 10 feet of it. Thus, only a handful of movies would be able to get such a ridiculous score. Expand
  41. DiN.
    May 22, 2002
    9
    If you don't play the games, or games in general, how do you expect to like a movie that is based on them? Has someone heard of "target audience"?
  42. EricS.
    Mar 15, 2002
    8
    A surprisingly good action/horror film...it entertainingly trashes both corporations and zombies.
  43. DaserR.
    Mar 22, 2002
    8
    This is a finely crafted movie of the B genre. It is one of those scary roller-coaster experience movies that grabs you at the beginning and and takes you for a ride. It is also stunning visually and has great music. The parting shot is simply classic.
  44. KristinaV.
    Mar 29, 2002
    8
    I thought Resident Evil was a very thrilling movie. It was very suspenseful and kept me on the edge of my seat.
  45. KerriM.
    Feb 19, 2003
    8
    Art does not come from mixing video games and horror movies, but the product can still be fun. Sure it's predictable, but the monster-magic is at time amazing, the pace never slacks, and Milla gets mostly naked. It has everything I want from a monster flick.
  46. LanceE.
    Aug 6, 2004
    8
    -This is not the best movie of all time (Whoever thinks that it is mustn't watch many movies) but it is entertaining, in an absurd entertaining sort of way. I love the games as well, but come on people, how could they make it based exactly on the games? If they did that, the movie would be worse, not better. The games have some of the stupidest scripts of any game (Truly, you -This is not the best movie of all time (Whoever thinks that it is mustn't watch many movies) but it is entertaining, in an absurd entertaining sort of way. I love the games as well, but come on people, how could they make it based exactly on the games? If they did that, the movie would be worse, not better. The games have some of the stupidest scripts of any game (Truly, you can't say the script in the games is great, because it isn't. Case in point: "Wait! Don't shoot! (Loading disc sound) I'm a human!" or, "You could have been a Jill-sandwich") So, if they made the script like the videogame, people would either hate it or laugh at it, much like we all do when we play the games. -Acting: The only good actor/actress in this was Jovovich, and that's stretching it. If the game has such a bad script, and the movie has a pretty bad script, you can't expect the acting to be superb. These actors aren't big-name stars like Tom Cruise or Nicole Kidman, so you shouldn't expect a roster of huge stars. But the acting wasn't deplorable, at least. Plot: Again, if you want it to be more like the game then the plot in the movie would also suck. What are the games about? Some people getting stuck in a city which has been infected with a virus that turns people in to zombies and trying to get out and stop a corporation named Umbrella. Isn't that what the movie's about? Except it takes place in one area rather than a whole city. Actually, so do the games. So come on, you can't expect the movie to have a good plot if the games don't. Action: It had decent action, and sometimes really good. Like the part with the lasers when those commando guys are trapped in the room and that guy gets his head sliced off when we all thought he was going to make it. Milla Jovovich had some nice moves, like the snapping of necks, jump-kicking a zombie dog. That's where the movie has most of its fun: stupid, pointless action sequences, which seems the only reason the movie was made. -Overall: It is pretty true to the game, except the characters. I would have preferred the Romero script which stays true to the games, but there's no use in complaining if it's not going to happen. But really, it's not a bad movie. The point is, it's entertaining if a little stupid. Sure, the plot's stupid, the acting sub-par, the action sequences aren't spectacular, but still, it's one of those movies you watch and have fun and not really think about. This isn't an M. Night Shyamalan film! That's what the games are about, pointless fun. If the games don't require an IQ over 50, why should the movie? Really, who was expecting this movie to be brilliant? Oscar worthy? Not me. And if you want something more like the game, Res Evil: Apocalypse will at least have Jill Valentine. Expand
  47. AllanT.
    Dec 20, 2002
    8
    These critics don't know sh.t, the only movies they like were made 100 years ago in black and white.....YAWN!
  48. Sep 8, 2011
    8
    I've never played the video games so I can't compare this to them, but I can tell you this is a very enjoyable Zombie movie, this movie actually made me jump twice, it's really a great movie, and I'm looking forward to the other movies in the series.
  49. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    Considering how low a budget this film had, it was really surprising just how far they stretched it. This is perhaps the only Resident evil (non-animated) movie that I liked. I really like that they decided not to just remake the story from the games and make an original character with her own story. I really like Alice and Milla does a great job playing her. Rodriguez also does a good jobConsidering how low a budget this film had, it was really surprising just how far they stretched it. This is perhaps the only Resident evil (non-animated) movie that I liked. I really like that they decided not to just remake the story from the games and make an original character with her own story. I really like Alice and Milla does a great job playing her. Rodriguez also does a good job but she more or less just plays the same character that she always plays. The rest of the cast were just forgettable. As to the movie as a whole, it was a decent horror that did have some chills and did a good job capturing the tone of the games, or at least the first two games. Overall: An enjoyable movie that is perhaps one of the better video game movie adaptations. Expand
  50. Feb 24, 2014
    8
    Very good convert from video game to movie, kept true to the game for those that have played it.
    It is what it is and far this reason I rate it highly.
  51. Llyander
    Aug 5, 2002
    7
    Dude, you do not go to see Resident Evil expecting witty dialogue, philosophical characters and a revolutionary screenplay. You go to see the T-Virus, zombes by the bucketload and people dying in creative ways. I LOVED this movie. Just sit down, munch your popcorn and turn your brain off for a while. Mmmm. Brrraaaiiinnnss.
  52. ERJ
    Sep 7, 2008
    7
    I love this movie. Not perfect, pretty flawed, but i love it.
  53. MarkH.
    Mar 21, 2002
    7
    For you game-fanatics, you'll find that several sequences within the movie will be reminiscent of "Half-Life." Overall, it's a fun good scary romp, just what I was looking for that Tuesday afternoon (matinee prices).
  54. BrianM.
    Apr 17, 2002
    7
    An entertaining movie that mostly does stay true to the RE series.
  55. SaerA.
    Jun 17, 2004
    7
    Resident Evil will have you jump up, yell, and will get you entertained.
  56. Uter
    Sep 15, 2003
    7
    It's not brilliant, but I was entertained all the way through.
  57. Hellboy
    Dec 1, 2004
    7
    This Movie Waz Allright But The Girl Who Plays The Lead Girl Is Pretty Hot And Ugly At The Same Time Well A Pretty Great Movie.
  58. Brandon
    Mar 19, 2004
    7
    I was dazzled by this film the first time i saw it, but after a few days i thought it was weak...It hardly followed the Resident Evil Videogame. How is a Licker the main boss of the movie. Now that is weak. Where is the Tyrant? I gave it a seven simply because this is possibly the best videogame movie. Super Mario Brothers was crap, Final Fantasy...i'm tempted to say was the worst I was dazzled by this film the first time i saw it, but after a few days i thought it was weak...It hardly followed the Resident Evil Videogame. How is a Licker the main boss of the movie. Now that is weak. Where is the Tyrant? I gave it a seven simply because this is possibly the best videogame movie. Super Mario Brothers was crap, Final Fantasy...i'm tempted to say was the worst movie i have ever seen (which is a low blow because the games are rather good) and Mortal Kombat is alright...not spectacular. Resident Evil delivers, but could of been so much better...and the music sucks. Expand
  59. S.D.
    Jul 17, 2008
    7
    I like the film really. But I think, it's because I have never played the game. So, the film is a good action/zombie movie, but only for people who, never played the game. And this is the best Movie of the trilogy.
  60. Sep 12, 2010
    7
    i thought this movie was an alright start to the resident evil franchise despite not following the original game series storyline. the story was satisfactory not perfect and the cast performed well and convincingly. i would recommend this movie
  61. Apr 12, 2011
    7
    When i first watched it i thought it was ok but after afew more views i realised it could have been done alot better and by then i was over the dissapointing licker scene and the flying dog kick scene.
    Going back and prefering it and the sequels now ,the reason for it is because im now in my thirties and when i first watched it i was in my early early twenties and a massive Res fan.
    When i first watched it i thought it was ok but after afew more views i realised it could have been done alot better and by then i was over the dissapointing licker scene and the flying dog kick scene.
    Going back and prefering it and the sequels now ,the reason for it is because im now in my thirties and when i first watched it i was in my early early twenties and a massive Res fan.
    Theres always room for another director to try again or maybe enjoy what Capcom are bringin to the screen and with a great start from Res Evil:Degeneration which is a complete graphical movie it does a better job of catering for the fans.
    All that aside though,coming back to these films i realise its not great but good is good enough especially when so much crap is coming out these days that this film and its sequels are quiet enjoyable afterall. Just dont expect too much.
    Expand
  62. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    It's a really entertaining movie, but Is it Resident Evil? Certainly not. It would've been cooler if they had actually followed the game's storyline.
  63. Jan 7, 2015
    7
    Resident evil has amazing suspension, though struggles to maintain direction. There is no stand out performances here however, nothing below average. The first half of the movie is very strong until the zombies are introduced. The creepy atmosphere and unanswered question will intrigue even the simplest of audiences.
  64. Aug 13, 2014
    7
    Resident evil tries too much to be like the games and it's not really a good result.The fight scenes are cheesy and and the last monster is made with some incredibly bad CGI effects.
  65. Nov 5, 2014
    7
    While I'm a huge fan of pretty much anything Resident Evil, I can't let that affect my honest review. The movie isn't so bad and I do watch it from time to time. I like horror movies, and this is one of the movies that I'm able to watch more than once which isn't always the case. I would honestly say the movie is worth watching, or owning if you can find it cheap. It's interesting and hasWhile I'm a huge fan of pretty much anything Resident Evil, I can't let that affect my honest review. The movie isn't so bad and I do watch it from time to time. I like horror movies, and this is one of the movies that I'm able to watch more than once which isn't always the case. I would honestly say the movie is worth watching, or owning if you can find it cheap. It's interesting and has a lot of action so at times it'll have you on the edge of your seat. Expand
  66. BillT.
    Mar 19, 2002
    6
    VERY true to its source. If you are fan of the cheesy stories and bad voice acting of the games you will love this movie. It doesn't ever try to be anything but a movie version of a Resident Evil game and is totally enjoyable as long as that is the level of your expectations. The ending ROCKS.
  67. Heather
    Aug 15, 2002
    6
    About as good as it gets for a movie based on a video game. Plenty of gore and a very creepy feel to it that was done very well.
  68. PiranhaG.
    Sep 13, 2003
    6
    Resident Evil games deserve a much better movie.
  69. Jan 26, 2012
    6
    I'll admit this from the off - I am not a fan of the Resident Evil games. I think I played Resident Evil 3 briefly a long time ago but that's where my experience with the series ends. The first film in the series is a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine. Resident Evil works as a pretty decent example of both an action and a horror movie - the set pieces are entertaining and stylish, there areI'll admit this from the off - I am not a fan of the Resident Evil games. I think I played Resident Evil 3 briefly a long time ago but that's where my experience with the series ends. The first film in the series is a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine. Resident Evil works as a pretty decent example of both an action and a horror movie - the set pieces are entertaining and stylish, there are a couple of decent scares and the whole film maintains momentum (if not quite tension) throughout. Milla Jovovich has another ballsy action heroine role to add to her C.V., and while Alice is not quite up there with Leeloo, she's a solid protagonist that does exactly what is required of her, that is to say she still kicks serious undead behind. The rest of the cast, and their characters are generic and unmemorable, and as is traditional with this kind of film, it quickly becomes a game of "who's going to be zombie lunch next". Will we ever see Michelle Rodriguez playing a different character? It's highly doubtful, but hey, she's got a good thing going with type-casting, so who am I to judge. The script is also pretty clunky, but at the end of the day it's just an action-horror movie, and one based on a video game at that, so you don't expect much in that regard. The CGI was also never top-of-the-line (being a film entirely financed by small European studios) and these effects look even worse today, so thankfully they're used sparingly. You can have a pretty good time with Resident Evil if you're prepared to gloss over a few issues, and just take it for what it is - a bit of fun. You'll really see it at its very best if you watch it with a couple of friends, perhaps with a beer or two, then you can all indulge in what makes it good entertainment, and as one, you can also ridicule what makes it...less good. Just sit back, leave your brain outside and enjoy the ride. And watch out for the lasers. Expand
  70. Sep 21, 2011
    6
    "Resident Evil" is a zombie movie based on a famous game franchise. The movie is different from the game and offers new perspective and entertainment, if and only if you can handle the cheesy dialogue and the lost-its-way plot of the movie.
  71. Feb 14, 2012
    6
    The charm of the first Resident Evil is that it accepts that its for a video gamer crowd. Its loud, its proud and because of that, there is a slick pace and tone that makes the movie enjoyable. It also has the predictably hammy performances you can expect in a video game adaptation with Milla Jovovich and James Purefoy being the main culprits with Michelle Rodriguez bringing her usualThe charm of the first Resident Evil is that it accepts that its for a video gamer crowd. Its loud, its proud and because of that, there is a slick pace and tone that makes the movie enjoyable. It also has the predictably hammy performances you can expect in a video game adaptation with Milla Jovovich and James Purefoy being the main culprits with Michelle Rodriguez bringing her usual latin tough girl routine. Sure the film is mindless but it puts sufficient enough menace into the monsters with the zombies being well created and performed. The CGI used in the film has noticeably aged since the film came out and it doesnâ Expand
  72. Apr 2, 2012
    6
    If you're a fan of the video games and have not seen this film then DON'T suddenly scramble away to the nearest video store with the belief that this film is anything like those titles, because that would be a bare-faced lie. Whilst this movie does hold its own for the most part it deviates so far from the popular games that it bares only minimalistic origins to It's original inspiration.If you're a fan of the video games and have not seen this film then DON'T suddenly scramble away to the nearest video store with the belief that this film is anything like those titles, because that would be a bare-faced lie. Whilst this movie does hold its own for the most part it deviates so far from the popular games that it bares only minimalistic origins to It's original inspiration. Positive aspects about this feature is the soundtrack which features music very suited to the atmosphere of the setting and the CGI which was fantastic for the time. Expand
  73. Aug 23, 2013
    6
    This was... alright. It didn't follow the RE lore exactly, though did a good job with story telling.
    The action scenes didn't fit RE at all, and felt too cheesy.
    The sequels are actually decent, and I did enjoy this as a movie series in it's own right. It'd be worth a rent to any RE fan I'd say.
  74. Fanboy
    Aug 2, 2004
    5
    I am a huge Resident Evil fan so I was very disappointed with the movie. I am giving it a 5 only because it was entertaining. Other than that pretty much everything was ok or very bad. After I saw the movie, I went to the IMDB and saw that George Romero (Night of the Ling Dead, Dawn of the Dead, and Day of the Dead) was originally suposed to write and direct the video game adaptation. I I am a huge Resident Evil fan so I was very disappointed with the movie. I am giving it a 5 only because it was entertaining. Other than that pretty much everything was ok or very bad. After I saw the movie, I went to the IMDB and saw that George Romero (Night of the Ling Dead, Dawn of the Dead, and Day of the Dead) was originally suposed to write and direct the video game adaptation. I looked all over the internet to find Romeros script and finally found it. After 2 hours non-stop of reading the script I got mad. Romeros script was perfect for the adaptation.It kept the main charactors Chris Redfield and Jill Valentine, and had a story that was close to the original RE. Paul Andersons scrpt changed pretty much everything that made the game so great into just an action movie other than a survival horror. Why the stutdio didn't choose Romero's script is beyond me. Expand
  75. DaveC.
    Sep 22, 2004
    5
    So blatantly naff, that it's impossible not to be entertained by it. Resident Evil is full of crude stereotypes for characters and heavy handed use of stylistic and narrative cliches but lets not dwell on this as Resident Evil provides plenty of cheap b-movie fun to keep you entertained.
  76. mickeymouse
    Jan 25, 2005
    5
    Pros: Some very scary moments, acting pretty good Cons: Nearly as mindless as the zombies, nothing is explained.
  77. Jul 28, 2013
    5
    Can be disappointing on so many levels, but even though it doesn't do a good job of adapting the game, I still find this entertaining and watchable. The Manson/Beltrami score collaboration works well, as does the cold corporation slant. It's just that considering the source material, this doesn't live up to the awesomeness it could've been.
  78. Mar 23, 2011
    5
    im a huge fan of the RE games ive played them all . what disappoints me about theese video games to movies the most is the pure abandonment of the source material . not much about this movie resembles much of any thing to the resident evil game outside it has zombies and is in a mansion thats about where it all ends . its a wachable movie if you try to forget its called resident evil .im a huge fan of the RE games ive played them all . what disappoints me about theese video games to movies the most is the pure abandonment of the source material . not much about this movie resembles much of any thing to the resident evil game outside it has zombies and is in a mansion thats about where it all ends . its a wachable movie if you try to forget its called resident evil . with out chris , jill , barry , and wesker the stars of the first game you dont really have a resident evil movie just some zombie flick branded with its name trying to cash in on it. Expand
  79. Apr 26, 2013
    5
    That movie was good and bad points. I liked the actors, the soundtrack, the mistory about how the virus escaped. Mila is good actress, the script is original, but is not amazing, is just "another hollywood action movie".
  80. GinoE.
    Jun 19, 2004
    4
    At first, I Thought it was just another horror movie with bad acting and stupid one-liners. Then I saw the bad special effects and two guys of the cast resemble Bill Paxton and Christopher Lambert. Then I knew this was something more... I don't know who acts worse; the heroes or the zombies... And stop casting Michelle Rodrigues as the tough bitch! I'm sure that shes willing to At first, I Thought it was just another horror movie with bad acting and stupid one-liners. Then I saw the bad special effects and two guys of the cast resemble Bill Paxton and Christopher Lambert. Then I knew this was something more... I don't know who acts worse; the heroes or the zombies... And stop casting Michelle Rodrigues as the tough bitch! I'm sure that shes willing to try a different kind of role next time. It's not a torture to watch Milla flykick zombie-dog ass and snap zombie necks with her thighs though... Some of the sets resemble the actual game. Unfortunately 'The Hive' really resembles one of the 'shells' from Metal Gear Solid 2. And for all you zombies out there: "You have to work for your meals!" Expand
  81. Sep 17, 2010
    4
    It isn't a movie that's going to set the world on fire and it certainly isn't the best video game adaptation out there, but Resident Evil succeeded mildly at making an entertaining, if boring at times, film. It obviously isn't perfect and the horrible CG looks almost stop-motion at times (the Licker in particular could have been done far better, or dropped completely) and it foreshadowsIt isn't a movie that's going to set the world on fire and it certainly isn't the best video game adaptation out there, but Resident Evil succeeded mildly at making an entertaining, if boring at times, film. It obviously isn't perfect and the horrible CG looks almost stop-motion at times (the Licker in particular could have been done far better, or dropped completely) and it foreshadows enough to give you a reason to watch the sequel. Expand
  82. Oct 19, 2010
    4
    The idea is nice and the action is quite impressive, but this movie is so uninteresting and boringly dull that it makes fans of the franchise want to stick to the video games instead.
  83. Mar 4, 2012
    4
    I know this comes as lukewarm praise, given Anderson's horrendous catalogue, but this is his best film. Skip the rest of the series. Actually, skip this one too.
  84. Nov 1, 2012
    4
    Zombie movies are very views.
  85. Jan 23, 2014
    4
    I will not jump on the "this movie messed up Resident Evil" bandwagon. Clearly, the film series is going to have a completely different direction and take place in a different fictional universe than the games. Having said that, the film's plot is still too incoherent and the dialogue still too juvenile to make it memorable in any way.
  86. Nov 5, 2014
    4
    Pretty standard zombie movie with an interesting plot. It's always tough to try and make a movie based on a video game, you are never quite sure which audience you are going to offend first. I think it hobbled along okay. A bit shaky here and there but it didn't try to overstep too far except with the CGI work. Waiting a few years may have helped with that. I feel like the scale wasPretty standard zombie movie with an interesting plot. It's always tough to try and make a movie based on a video game, you are never quite sure which audience you are going to offend first. I think it hobbled along okay. A bit shaky here and there but it didn't try to overstep too far except with the CGI work. Waiting a few years may have helped with that. I feel like the scale was shortened a bit soon. Of course that is notorious in horror movies. Probably the coolest guy in the movie died before he could show off how BA he is. Annoying. I love Milla though. She is a cutie while still being an awesome female action hero. This is one of her first tries in that role and she handles it alright. It is your standard zombie movie. I don't why people feel like you need to make zombies more complicated, its simple they are mindless and slow they die with a head shot there is just a freakin lot of them. While being bloody and gruesome the human touch and feeling didn't get lost, they really tried to save each other and not be stupid. It became what it intended I suppose. A shooter zombie flick based on a popular video game. Not overly impressive in any way. Watch it if you want. I won't stop you. Expand
  87. Todd
    Aug 4, 2002
    3
    Poor dialog. No real plot. Predictable flow. Sloppy filming and editing (I counted a boom in the shot on no fewer than 7 times). I reccommend rental over purchase.
  88. UsmanA.
    Jul 20, 2002
    3
    The film is very slow in pace, no storyline, no need of nude scenes, overall a bad experience.
  89. Todd
    Aug 4, 2002
    3
    Poor dialog. No real plot. Predictable flow. Sloppy filming and editing (I counted a boom in the shot on no fewer than 7 times). I reccommend rental over purchase.
  90. EricC.
    Feb 12, 2003
    3
    The reason I'm not giving this a zero is because after I saw the movie, which was pretty bad, I felt like seeing the commentary. Surprisingly, it was quite enjoyable and pretty funny. There's many hilarious and interesting comments about how the filmakers and cast made the movie. So watch it once, just to get the idea of what's going on, listen to the commentary, and then The reason I'm not giving this a zero is because after I saw the movie, which was pretty bad, I felt like seeing the commentary. Surprisingly, it was quite enjoyable and pretty funny. There's many hilarious and interesting comments about how the filmakers and cast made the movie. So watch it once, just to get the idea of what's going on, listen to the commentary, and then throw it out for good. Expand
  91. Feb 9, 2013
    3
    I actually kinda wanted to like "Resident Evil", but in the end, it's just too silly for me to really recommend it. Even though it's not really awful, it's never any more than cheap mediocrity, rushed plotwriting, suspenseless action, shallow performances, annoyingly loud and pompous synth/electric music score that saps all atmosphere from decent setpieces, and (although this was madeI actually kinda wanted to like "Resident Evil", but in the end, it's just too silly for me to really recommend it. Even though it's not really awful, it's never any more than cheap mediocrity, rushed plotwriting, suspenseless action, shallow performances, annoyingly loud and pompous synth/electric music score that saps all atmosphere from decent setpieces, and (although this was made around the youth of CGI) some of the worst computer effects I've ever seen. Some of these things I didn't mind so much by the end of the movie, and if it was a little neater, more polished and enjoyed the atmosphere over vapid gore and jump scares, I probably would consider it a decent one-time watch. That being said, it's only a fun idea falling short of any memorable entertainment, despite having Michelle Rodriguez shooting zombies. Expand
  92. Aug 6, 2013
    3
    Till now, this movie absolutely blew my brains into watching a hot chick kill zombies with a bang. Well, that's what Resident Evil is for. Based on a video game, its a whole mess of a movie. Nothing compelled to the smart and excellent video game and nothing to the horrible direction of Paul W.S Anderson. It's a survival horror movie, its has created its whole new genre to take place intoTill now, this movie absolutely blew my brains into watching a hot chick kill zombies with a bang. Well, that's what Resident Evil is for. Based on a video game, its a whole mess of a movie. Nothing compelled to the smart and excellent video game and nothing to the horrible direction of Paul W.S Anderson. It's a survival horror movie, its has created its whole new genre to take place into cinemas. But atleast the effects are fun to watch. I also give credit to Anderson by making this brainless action setting that is fun to wrap your mind around. But unfortunately, it sucks. Bad. Expand
  93. Feb 1, 2015
    3
    Frankly, there's nothing encouraging to see in this movie. It's just another plotless, formulaic, cheesy and unnecessarily violent movie based on a famous videogame franchise. Stay away from this, please.
  94. BrianK.
    Aug 1, 2002
    2
    Ya know this movie followed the game pretty well, same premise, T-virus, underground facility under a mansion oh yeah and horrible dreadful voice acting just like the game. But the game was scary, the story made sence and zombies actually ate their victims..this movie had some intense moments but it got lost to easily and slowwed down too much in some parts. This is the guy who directed Ya know this movie followed the game pretty well, same premise, T-virus, underground facility under a mansion oh yeah and horrible dreadful voice acting just like the game. But the game was scary, the story made sence and zombies actually ate their victims..this movie had some intense moments but it got lost to easily and slowwed down too much in some parts. This is the guy who directed Mortal Kombat, his movie have a good video game look but they are mired by ridiculous acting, plot summary and spotty comic book dialouge. Oh yeah I think Michelle Rodriguez should just give up on acting, she can't plus she always picks bad movies like this one and Fast and the furious... Expand
  95. MikeW.
    Oct 3, 2004
    2
    I have always been a fan of the Resident Evil games, but this movie takes a great game and turns it into a mindless action movie. Really the games are not action oriented, they are more of a slow plot and puzzle driven games.
  96. JeffM.
    Sep 16, 2002
    2
    Absolutely dreadful. If the filmakers set out to replicate the monotonous and empty atmosphere of a tired and derivative shoot-em up style game, then they definitely succeeded. I give it a score of 2 -- a point for each of Milla Jovovich's breasts, which were undoubtedly the highlight of this piece of crap.
  97. alex
    Oct 25, 2005
    1
    As a big fan of the games and other zombie movies, I was very disappointed! The only good part was the end, which 28 Days Later did much better. Not scary at all, and the CGI monster looked like crap!
  98. DerekM.
    Mar 31, 2004
    1
    How did they ever make a cheesy action film based on a great horror game? First off, the characterization was simply deplorable. The movie consists of one cheesy action sequence after another. Any plot that this movie had was just an excuse for someone to aim a gun at someone or something else, or fit in a flashback sequence set in a creepy-looking garden. If scantily clad females, guns, How did they ever make a cheesy action film based on a great horror game? First off, the characterization was simply deplorable. The movie consists of one cheesy action sequence after another. Any plot that this movie had was just an excuse for someone to aim a gun at someone or something else, or fit in a flashback sequence set in a creepy-looking garden. If scantily clad females, guns, and zombies are all that you need to like a movie, you'll love this one. Just don't watch it with the intent of finding interesting characters, a good plot, or even a good scare. This movie has none of that. Expand
  99. will
    Jan 31, 2005
    1
    Completely ruined the feeling of terror felt from past zombie films. Yes this is the worst movie i have ever seen.
  100. samj.
    Dec 14, 2005
    1
    The movie was ok but in relation to being true to the vidio games it was bull. the thing that makes it so much worse is that people who dont play the games will never know the true majesty of resident evil. and the same goes for movies like final fantasy and doom. how hard is it to keep the story the same as the original? God! if you are blinded by this terrible reproduction you should The movie was ok but in relation to being true to the vidio games it was bull. the thing that makes it so much worse is that people who dont play the games will never know the true majesty of resident evil. and the same goes for movies like final fantasy and doom. how hard is it to keep the story the same as the original? God! if you are blinded by this terrible reproduction you should play the games for yourself and see just how good it is. Expand
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 24
  2. Negative: 11 out of 24
  1. While computer games can boast an abundance of nifty graphics and odious villains and plucky protagonists on long journeys, they're invariably a tad wanting in the cinematic essentials -- you know, stuff like plot and characterization and theme.
  2. 50
    Is this the future of horror or just some bizarre fluke? Don't ask me, I'm having too much fun to care.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    50
    Evil's one strong presence is lead Milla Jovovich -- and not because the script gives her supercop/soldier anything interesting to say.