Screen Gems | Release Date: March 15, 2002
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 328 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
191
Mixed:
87
Negative:
50
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
Bal81Apr 12, 2011
When i first watched it i thought it was ok but after afew more views i realised it could have been done alot better and by then i was over the dissapointing licker scene and the flying dog kick scene.
Going back and prefering it and the
When i first watched it i thought it was ok but after afew more views i realised it could have been done alot better and by then i was over the dissapointing licker scene and the flying dog kick scene.
Going back and prefering it and the sequels now ,the reason for it is because im now in my thirties and when i first watched it i was in my early early twenties and a massive Res fan.
Theres always room for another director to try again or maybe enjoy what Capcom are bringin to the screen and with a great start from Res Evil:Degeneration which is a complete graphical movie it does a better job of catering for the fans.
All that aside though,coming back to these films i realise its not great but good is good enough especially when so much crap is coming out these days that this film and its sequels are quiet enjoyable afterall. Just dont expect too much.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
HedilioMar 11, 2013
It's a really entertaining movie, but Is it Resident Evil? Certainly not. It would've been cooler if they had actually followed the game's storyline.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
busbfranJan 7, 2015
Resident evil has amazing suspension, though struggles to maintain direction. There is no stand out performances here however, nothing below average. The first half of the movie is very strong until the zombies are introduced. The creepyResident evil has amazing suspension, though struggles to maintain direction. There is no stand out performances here however, nothing below average. The first half of the movie is very strong until the zombies are introduced. The creepy atmosphere and unanswered question will intrigue even the simplest of audiences. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeAug 13, 2014
Resident evil tries too much to be like the games and it's not really a good result.The fight scenes are cheesy and and the last monster is made with some incredibly bad CGI effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SiAScORCHNov 5, 2014
While I'm a huge fan of pretty much anything Resident Evil, I can't let that affect my honest review. The movie isn't so bad and I do watch it from time to time. I like horror movies, and this is one of the movies that I'm able to watch moreWhile I'm a huge fan of pretty much anything Resident Evil, I can't let that affect my honest review. The movie isn't so bad and I do watch it from time to time. I like horror movies, and this is one of the movies that I'm able to watch more than once which isn't always the case. I would honestly say the movie is worth watching, or owning if you can find it cheap. It's interesting and has a lot of action so at times it'll have you on the edge of your seat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
perkjlJan 8, 2016
A decent Sci-fi with some clichéd action sequences and a little horror elements thrown in. Barely if at all follows the games, but has some similarities. The original Resident Evil film surpasses the later installments. The set pieces areA decent Sci-fi with some clichéd action sequences and a little horror elements thrown in. Barely if at all follows the games, but has some similarities. The original Resident Evil film surpasses the later installments. The set pieces are well done. They feel claustrophobic and unsettling just like the earlier games on Sony's PlayStation. The environments involving underground tunnels and labs are definitely the film's strong point. Overall, it's an average movie that's easy on the eyes. For a movie adaption of a video game it could be worse. Just don't expect good acting and sadly no "Jill sandwich" lines. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BillT.Mar 19, 2002
VERY true to its source. If you are fan of the cheesy stories and bad voice acting of the games you will love this movie. It doesn't ever try to be anything but a movie version of a Resident Evil game and is totally enjoyable as long as VERY true to its source. If you are fan of the cheesy stories and bad voice acting of the games you will love this movie. It doesn't ever try to be anything but a movie version of a Resident Evil game and is totally enjoyable as long as that is the level of your expectations. The ending ROCKS. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
HeatherAug 15, 2002
About as good as it gets for a movie based on a video game. Plenty of gore and a very creepy feel to it that was done very well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PiranhaG.Sep 13, 2003
Resident Evil games deserve a much better movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
HalfwelshmanJan 26, 2012
I'll admit this from the off - I am not a fan of the Resident Evil games. I think I played Resident Evil 3 briefly a long time ago but that's where my experience with the series ends. The first film in the series is a bit of a guilty pleasureI'll admit this from the off - I am not a fan of the Resident Evil games. I think I played Resident Evil 3 briefly a long time ago but that's where my experience with the series ends. The first film in the series is a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine. Resident Evil works as a pretty decent example of both an action and a horror movie - the set pieces are entertaining and stylish, there are a couple of decent scares and the whole film maintains momentum (if not quite tension) throughout. Milla Jovovich has another ballsy action heroine role to add to her C.V., and while Alice is not quite up there with Leeloo, she's a solid protagonist that does exactly what is required of her, that is to say she still kicks serious undead behind. The rest of the cast, and their characters are generic and unmemorable, and as is traditional with this kind of film, it quickly becomes a game of "who's going to be zombie lunch next". Will we ever see Michelle Rodriguez playing a different character? It's highly doubtful, but hey, she's got a good thing going with type-casting, so who am I to judge. The script is also pretty clunky, but at the end of the day it's just an action-horror movie, and one based on a video game at that, so you don't expect much in that regard. The CGI was also never top-of-the-line (being a film entirely financed by small European studios) and these effects look even worse today, so thankfully they're used sparingly. You can have a pretty good time with Resident Evil if you're prepared to gloss over a few issues, and just take it for what it is - a bit of fun. You'll really see it at its very best if you watch it with a couple of friends, perhaps with a beer or two, then you can all indulge in what makes it good entertainment, and as one, you can also ridicule what makes it...less good. Just sit back, leave your brain outside and enjoy the ride. And watch out for the lasers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
"Resident Evil" is a zombie movie based on a famous game franchise. The movie is different from the game and offers new perspective and entertainment, if and only if you can handle the cheesy dialogue and the lost-its-way plot of the movie.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
6
hoops2448Feb 14, 2012
The charm of the first Resident Evil is that it accepts that its for a video gamer crowd. Its loud, its proud and because of that, there is a slick pace and tone that makes the movie enjoyable. It also has the predictably hammy performancesThe charm of the first Resident Evil is that it accepts that its for a video gamer crowd. Its loud, its proud and because of that, there is a slick pace and tone that makes the movie enjoyable. It also has the predictably hammy performances you can expect in a video game adaptation with Milla Jovovich and James Purefoy being the main culprits with Michelle Rodriguez bringing her usual latin tough girl routine. Sure the film is mindless but it puts sufficient enough menace into the monsters with the zombies being well created and performed. The CGI used in the film has noticeably aged since the film came out and it doesnâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BrandonBonaseraJan 27, 2017
Resident Evil is cheesy entertainment, which, although unable to capture the atmosphere of the game, still manages to be enjoyable despite its shortcomings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
eTurkeyApr 2, 2012
If you're a fan of the video games and have not seen this film then DON'T suddenly scramble away to the nearest video store with the belief that this film is anything like those titles, because that would be a bare-faced lie. Whilst thisIf you're a fan of the video games and have not seen this film then DON'T suddenly scramble away to the nearest video store with the belief that this film is anything like those titles, because that would be a bare-faced lie. Whilst this movie does hold its own for the most part it deviates so far from the popular games that it bares only minimalistic origins to It's original inspiration. Positive aspects about this feature is the soundtrack which features music very suited to the atmosphere of the setting and the CGI which was fantastic for the time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ManiacacaAug 23, 2013
This was... alright. It didn't follow the RE lore exactly, though did a good job with story telling.
The action scenes didn't fit RE at all, and felt too cheesy.
The sequels are actually decent, and I did enjoy this as a movie series in
This was... alright. It didn't follow the RE lore exactly, though did a good job with story telling.
The action scenes didn't fit RE at all, and felt too cheesy.
The sequels are actually decent, and I did enjoy this as a movie series in it's own right. It'd be worth a rent to any RE fan I'd say.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
KayVen17Aug 27, 2016
Deutsche Review - Kritik

Story: 17/25 Punkte
Schauspieler: 14/25 Punkte
Bearbeitung: 16/25 Punkte
Sound: 18/25 Punkte

Gesamtpunktzahl

65/100 Punkte
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FanboyAug 2, 2004
I am a huge Resident Evil fan so I was very disappointed with the movie. I am giving it a 5 only because it was entertaining. Other than that pretty much everything was ok or very bad. After I saw the movie, I went to the IMDB and saw that I am a huge Resident Evil fan so I was very disappointed with the movie. I am giving it a 5 only because it was entertaining. Other than that pretty much everything was ok or very bad. After I saw the movie, I went to the IMDB and saw that George Romero (Night of the Ling Dead, Dawn of the Dead, and Day of the Dead) was originally suposed to write and direct the video game adaptation. I looked all over the internet to find Romeros script and finally found it. After 2 hours non-stop of reading the script I got mad. Romeros script was perfect for the adaptation.It kept the main charactors Chris Redfield and Jill Valentine, and had a story that was close to the original RE. Paul Andersons scrpt changed pretty much everything that made the game so great into just an action movie other than a survival horror. Why the stutdio didn't choose Romero's script is beyond me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DaveC.Sep 22, 2004
So blatantly naff, that it's impossible not to be entertained by it. Resident Evil is full of crude stereotypes for characters and heavy handed use of stylistic and narrative cliches but lets not dwell on this as Resident Evil provides So blatantly naff, that it's impossible not to be entertained by it. Resident Evil is full of crude stereotypes for characters and heavy handed use of stylistic and narrative cliches but lets not dwell on this as Resident Evil provides plenty of cheap b-movie fun to keep you entertained. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
mickeymouseJan 25, 2005
Pros: Some very scary moments, acting pretty good Cons: Nearly as mindless as the zombies, nothing is explained.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
LOmarGJul 28, 2013
Can be disappointing on so many levels, but even though it doesn't do a good job of adapting the game, I still find this entertaining and watchable. The Manson/Beltrami score collaboration works well, as does the cold corporation slant.Can be disappointing on so many levels, but even though it doesn't do a good job of adapting the game, I still find this entertaining and watchable. The Manson/Beltrami score collaboration works well, as does the cold corporation slant. It's just that considering the source material, this doesn't live up to the awesomeness it could've been. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
ArkonBladeMar 23, 2011
im a huge fan of the RE games ive played them all . what disappoints me about theese video games to movies the most is the pure abandonment of the source material . not much about this movie resembles much of any thing to the resident evilim a huge fan of the RE games ive played them all . what disappoints me about theese video games to movies the most is the pure abandonment of the source material . not much about this movie resembles much of any thing to the resident evil game outside it has zombies and is in a mansion thats about where it all ends . its a wachable movie if you try to forget its called resident evil . with out chris , jill , barry , and wesker the stars of the first game you dont really have a resident evil movie just some zombie flick branded with its name trying to cash in on it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleNov 15, 2016
Undeniably entertaining, Resident Evil often mirrors a schlocky and campy science fiction film from the 1980s. With campy dialogue and cheesy effects, Resident Evil has a fantastic time creating an interesting universe in which businesses areUndeniably entertaining, Resident Evil often mirrors a schlocky and campy science fiction film from the 1980s. With campy dialogue and cheesy effects, Resident Evil has a fantastic time creating an interesting universe in which businesses are evil and do everything for the bottom line. Not sure where they got that idea. We are all about serving stakeholders (business major joke). That said, though entertaining, its thematic undertakings are done via force feeding. Additionally, the film is plagued by cliches, poor dialogue, bad writing, bad acting, and now aged effects. When Resident Evil hits, however, its tension is hard to deny.

First, the negatives. The writing - both in the dialogue and character development - is horrific. Apparently Milla Jovovich is named Alice in this film and Michelle Rodriguez is Rain. Maybe I missed that, but even their names are barely developed here minus a few mentions here-and-there. The film tries to play this off by having Alice suffer from amnesia in the beginning, but this barely works when the audience does not even really know who Alice is either. This prevents the audience from being able to really develop any form of connection with her character, beyond the primal need to survive. The bad dialogue in the film is accentuated by poor delivery at times that really pulls you out of the moment. For example, the final sequence on the train has Generic White Male Character #3 yell something to Alice and both of them totally blow their lines. This really kills the momentum of an otherwise tense sequence by pulling you out of it. Essentially, the acting in Resident Evil makes you realize it is a film.

The cliches are far too many to list out, but obviously, Resident Evil's approach to zombies is hardly unique. Every other zombie movie has headshots as the means of death and it has been to death at this point. Fortunately, the film felt the need to try and revive this cliche. The film also lumps in a malevolent computer system, poorly behaving corporations, superviruses, hidden antiviruses, and "unexpected" zombie transformations to the cliche equation. The film's cliches even do brush against its thematic elements. Not only are these anti-business elements spelled out for the audience by explaining that businesses never learn and never care about others, but these are wildly typical. Resident Evil is hardly profound in this arena and makes the film feel all the more cliche. By the time this film came out, audiences had been introduced to the concept that businesses were evil sometimes and did not need to see this mentioned here. Director Paul W.S. Anderson is hardly pulling the wool away from the audience's eyes here, especially since the Enron scandal happened in October 2001. Of course, this is hardly the first business scandal on the books. Films that try and have some kind of thematic element need it to actually be, well, worthwhile. When everybody already agrees and the film spells it out for you, it is highly likely to fall on deaf ears as it does here.

All of this said, Resident Evil can be a highly successful film at times and is undeniably fun. For action junkies, Resident Evil will deliver the requisite adrenaline boost. With great scenes of horror blended with good music and good action sequences, Resident Evil can really leave you on the edge of your seat, waiting in dread for what is around the next corner. Many love Anderson's work on the horror film Event Horizon (have yet to see it myself) and it is easy to see why here. Resident Evil definitely scares and use the mystery of the situation its protagonists finds themselves in to really ramp up the horror and the tension.

Overall, since it is an action film, I feel the need to be lenient on Resident Evil. Its action set pieces are great fun and really well-executed. For all of his faults as a director, Anderson knows action. Sadly, the film simply has nothing else below the surface to survive and simply self-destructs.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
voidersApr 26, 2013
That movie was good and bad points. I liked the actors, the soundtrack, the mistory about how the virus escaped. Mila is good actress, the script is original, but is not amazing, is just "another hollywood action movie".
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
FilmMasterEddyAug 13, 2016
Guilty Pleasure Time!

That venerable horror subgenre, the zombie movie — immortalized by George A. Romero in his “Living Dead” trilogy — gets a malnourished rebirth in “Resident Evil,” the long-in-development screen adaptation of the
Guilty Pleasure Time!

That venerable horror subgenre, the zombie movie — immortalized by George A. Romero in his “Living Dead” trilogy — gets a malnourished rebirth in “Resident Evil,” the long-in-development screen adaptation of the hugely popular videogame franchise.

Co-written and directed by the young British director Paul Anderson (who, apparently to avoid confusion with Paul Thomas Anderson, now calls himself Paul W.S. Anderson), German-shot and financed pic works as a prequel to the games, although it uses many of the games’ popular zombie characters (with such indelible names as the Licker, the Crows and the Zombie Dogs).

Short prologue is set inside the sprawling underground research labs of Umbrella Corp., known as the Hive. Umbrella appears to be an all-purpose household company but is actually the front for a top-secret military technology and genetic experimentation operation. (It’s a subject fit for Romero, and he did write the first script and had been set to direct.)

Anderson (who directed the videogame adaptation “Mortal Kombat”) maps out the Hive’s infrastructure, satirizing the security paranoia. The Hive’s security is regulated by an artificially intelligent computer called the Red Queen (one of a series of Lewis Carroll allusions); 10 minutes in, the Red Queen locks down the Hive and begins a series of defensive measures (including releasing poisonous gas into densely populated workspaces). A deadly virus was released into the Hive’s ventilation system, and the Red Queen, who behaves like a menstruating Hal 9000, will do anything, ANYTHING to keep it contained.

Enter some soldiers, including One (Colin Salmon) and Rain (Michelle Rodriguez), dispatched to shut the Red Queen down. They’re accompanied by Alice (Jovovich), a soldier with a temporary memory loss, and by Matt (Eric Mabius), who claims to be a cop.

They shut the Red Queen down, but in doing so the Hive’s passageways are unlocked, giving free reign to hundreds of contaminated workers who, as a result of their exposure to the virus, are now very undead.

The manic zombie mayhem that ensues — unfolding “High Noon”-style in real time — is in many ways a scene-for-scene copy of Romero’s 1985 “Day of the Dead.” But, unlike Romero, Anderson fails to situate “Resident Evil” zombies within any larger social context.

Anderson’s script lines up all the elements for a B-movie quickie: the multiethnic cast, the chicks who kick ass and the traitor-in-our-midst scenario. But Anderson is too set on making an A-picture here, focusing on a series of exhaustingly routine big-action set pieces. Like the recent “Queen of the Damned,” “Resident Evil” seems conceived more out of a desire to provide lip service to fans of the underlying source material than to make compelling entertainment. Anderson’s zombie shenanigans are as empty as “Queen of the Damned’s” vampire theatrics.

Nonetheless, Anderson’s surface effects are occasionally admirable. Pic relies more on prosthetic makeup and animatronic f/x than on digital technology, giving pic’s zombies and other assorted monsters a more organic sense of form and movement.

Pic is reasonably accomplished technically, though Richard Bridgland’s production design is standard-issue futuristic grunge, recalling similar futurescapes from Anderson’s own “Soldier” and “Event Horizon,” as well as last summer’s “John Carpenter’s Ghosts of Mars.”
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
HassalehOct 14, 2016
If you want cheap B-movie action entertainment, look no further. Resident Evil is a good movie to watch at a get-together with some friends, maybe on Halloween night after a couple of beers when you're no longer aware that this movie sorelyIf you want cheap B-movie action entertainment, look no further. Resident Evil is a good movie to watch at a get-together with some friends, maybe on Halloween night after a couple of beers when you're no longer aware that this movie sorely lacks any real scares, likeable characters or convincing acting. In this context you can have fun with this film but certainly not if you expect anything thought-provoking or technically impressive.
On the long list of bad video game adaptations to film it may sit in a decent mediocre spot but considering how awful these movies generally are you should actually expect less than average from this film. If you want to watch something really good, then avoid this one.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
GinoE.Jun 19, 2004
At first, I Thought it was just another horror movie with bad acting and stupid one-liners. Then I saw the bad special effects and two guys of the cast resemble Bill Paxton and Christopher Lambert. Then I knew this was something more... I At first, I Thought it was just another horror movie with bad acting and stupid one-liners. Then I saw the bad special effects and two guys of the cast resemble Bill Paxton and Christopher Lambert. Then I knew this was something more... I don't know who acts worse; the heroes or the zombies... And stop casting Michelle Rodrigues as the tough bitch! I'm sure that shes willing to try a different kind of role next time. It's not a torture to watch Milla flykick zombie-dog ass and snap zombie necks with her thighs though... Some of the sets resemble the actual game. Unfortunately 'The Hive' really resembles one of the 'shells' from Metal Gear Solid 2. And for all you zombies out there: "You have to work for your meals!" Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
IanM197Sep 17, 2010
It isn't a movie that's going to set the world on fire and it certainly isn't the best video game adaptation out there, but Resident Evil succeeded mildly at making an entertaining, if boring at times, film. It obviously isn't perfect and theIt isn't a movie that's going to set the world on fire and it certainly isn't the best video game adaptation out there, but Resident Evil succeeded mildly at making an entertaining, if boring at times, film. It obviously isn't perfect and the horrible CG looks almost stop-motion at times (the Licker in particular could have been done far better, or dropped completely) and it foreshadows enough to give you a reason to watch the sequel. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
MovieLonely94Oct 19, 2010
The idea is nice and the action is quite impressive, but this movie is so uninteresting and boringly dull that it makes fans of the franchise want to stick to the video games instead.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
drlowdonSep 4, 2016
Turning the (cheesy) horror games into such an action orientated fare means that, as well as not being a particular great film, Resident Evil also has little in common with the video games on which it is supposedly based. To be totally fairTurning the (cheesy) horror games into such an action orientated fare means that, as well as not being a particular great film, Resident Evil also has little in common with the video games on which it is supposedly based. To be totally fair there have been worse video game movies (Super Mario Bros, Street Fighter) but the script is pretty poor and the plot lacks coherence meaning that overall this is a bit of a waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CooterPatooterMar 4, 2012
I know this comes as lukewarm praise, given Anderson's horrendous catalogue, but this is his best film. Skip the rest of the series. Actually, skip this one too.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews