Restrepo

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 75
  2. Negative: 3 out of 75

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 20, 2010
    9
    I'm a huge war film and documentary fan and a high school history teacher so I had high expectations about this film and was certainly not disappointed. This was clearly one of the most powerful war movies I've ever seen. I never got a sense that the soldiers or the filmmakers had a clear point of view about the war or their role but that, in and of itself, says much about the overallI'm a huge war film and documentary fan and a high school history teacher so I had high expectations about this film and was certainly not disappointed. This was clearly one of the most powerful war movies I've ever seen. I never got a sense that the soldiers or the filmmakers had a clear point of view about the war or their role but that, in and of itself, says much about the overall U.S./Afghanistan policy. I couldn't help but see frightening glimpses of Vietnam, Iraq, and Korea. History certainly repeats itself and we (the U.S.) seemingly never learn our lesson; however, this movie proves that sending young, innocent men into harm's way for cloudy objectives is too often the default and demented policy of a nation too quick with the trigger finger and an egomaniacal attitude. I highly recommend seeing this movie and I intend on showing it to my students when it comes out on DVD. Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2011
    7
    It is good the general public is now able to see just how remote and prehistoric most of Afghanistan is. Restrepo is the name of a fallen soldier from the Korengal Valley in 2007 and it is also the name of the outpost the soldiers in Battle Company construct in the valley and name after him. The Korengal Valley is two provinces north of where I was stationed and it makes my base, whichIt is good the general public is now able to see just how remote and prehistoric most of Afghanistan is. Restrepo is the name of a fallen soldier from the Korengal Valley in 2007 and it is also the name of the outpost the soldiers in Battle Company construct in the valley and name after him. The Korengal Valley is two provinces north of where I was stationed and it makes my base, which was remote and sparse, seem like Vegas compared to OP Restrepo. A long deployment to Afghanistan is extremely monotonous punctuated by brief periods of action. This is how the documentary is edited. It briefly shows some of the soldiers a week pre-deployment, as newbies on the ground, and then follows their highlights (and lowlights) throughout the next 15 months. Building the new outpost takes up most of their time as do the relentless patrols to the surrounding villages. They conduct shuras (meetings) with the locals who they know are in contact with the Taliban but dare not tell them their locations for fear of death. It would be extremely difficult to convey the bleak day in, day out routine of a deployment that long and in around 90 minutes, Restrepo does not really pull that off. There are a lot of firefights on film including one with a KIA and they effectively show just how confusing situations like that can be. This documentary felt too brief for the heavy subject matter; however, I'm glad it was made at all. The guys on the ground at the Company level and below rarely get any face time. Expand
  3. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    8
    Nearly no narritive, but a powerful film that is one of the best documentaries of 2010.
  4. Feb 12, 2011
    8
    I can see people not liking this movie, and I think their criticisms are legit. How do you make a war documentary in the middle of a war, and expect it to make sense? The people who die in this film are still dead, still murdered, and by the end of it, when they explain what has happened since, their deaths feel empty, pointless, their lives wasted on ideas that don't count in places whereI can see people not liking this movie, and I think their criticisms are legit. How do you make a war documentary in the middle of a war, and expect it to make sense? The people who die in this film are still dead, still murdered, and by the end of it, when they explain what has happened since, their deaths feel empty, pointless, their lives wasted on ideas that don't count in places where ideas aren't allowed to exist freely. Places such as Afghanistan. As for the survivors, what is to become of their lives? How do they transition back into our universe? How can they communicate with us after what they have seen and done? How do we even begin to comprehend their needs when they have lost a piece of innocence that we in the West get to have our entire lives? They are changed. This documentary shows them changing, shows what they have done. It makes no judgments, pulls no punches, and I can't believe the crew survived when men trained to kill did not. You have to approach this film passively, and with an open mind. Expand
  5. Jan 9, 2011
    8
    Very gritty and intimate look at the day-to-day life of a combat troop in Afghanistan. These filmmakers have some real balls for being right in the middle of combat like they were.
  6. Dec 1, 2010
    8
    Restrepo is real. It is not like the Hurt Locker (no offense), but this is actual camera work during the war. The cameramen must have been paid a lot to be in a warzone that is considered the most dangerous of all war zone. Nevertheless, the movie based its story on the visceral power of the film. They want to get the audience feeling for the death soldiers by not showing but implying.Restrepo is real. It is not like the Hurt Locker (no offense), but this is actual camera work during the war. The cameramen must have been paid a lot to be in a warzone that is considered the most dangerous of all war zone. Nevertheless, the movie based its story on the visceral power of the film. They want to get the audience feeling for the death soldiers by not showing but implying. Sometimes Restrespo fell short on its plot but most of the times it shows real emotions of soldiers that fought for our country. Restrespo is probably one of the better documentaries of the year, considering that there are a lot of good docs this year. Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2010
    8
    What I appreciated most about this film is how much of it was just showing the soldiers doing their thing in the Korengal, a dangerous valley outpost in Afghanistan. The camera was either on the soldiers out in the field, or it was on a solider in a one-on-one interview after the end of the deployment. There was no long discussion giving context or setting the stage, no footage of mediaWhat I appreciated most about this film is how much of it was just showing the soldiers doing their thing in the Korengal, a dangerous valley outpost in Afghanistan. The camera was either on the soldiers out in the field, or it was on a solider in a one-on-one interview after the end of the deployment. There was no long discussion giving context or setting the stage, no footage of media coverage or interviews with third parties. I'm no expert on documentaries, but I thought this was the most valuable aspect of the film: you get to actually see what happened. Expand
  8. Jan 1, 2011
    8
    If you like documentary films you'll like this and if you like war films you'll like this. A great combonation of the soldiers telling you about what happened and actually seeing what happened through the hand held cameras. Everything is memorable from the story told to the people invloved. Documentary film making at its best. Again as a watched this I'm reminded that in war there are no winners.
  9. Mar 3, 2011
    9
    Made up of intimate interviews and disturbing combat footage, the movie does what it sets out to do. It throws the grisly circumstances of war up on screen and lets us interpret them. And by not delving too far into these questions (and not taking any real stance), the filmmakers allow the material to reach a much wider audience than if they had (thus, it wonâ
  10. Jan 3, 2012
    7
    Restrepo is worth watching if you want a glimpse into the modern soldier and the warfare they are involved in. Being a documentary, it is necessarily low on closure and plot. What you see are real humans and their experiences, thoughts, and emotions during a 15 month deployment in a difficult place. It is not an exciting film, but it is an important one.
  11. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    This is a documentary which uninhibitedly depicts its young protagonists in literally every spectrum of their lives during their 15 month deployment in the Korengal valley Afghanistan. whether pro or anti war it is never the less a harrowing experience watching these young souls face such extreme circumstances so far from home.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. A film that is beautiful, harrowing, heartbreaking -- and necessary.
  2. 100
    Restrepo is about soldiers, not politics. The question of whether U.S. troops belong there isn't posed. Their devotion to duty and each other is unquestioned.
  3. If you're looking for a political message, either for or against U.S. involvement in Afghanistan, this is not your movie. The directors were satisfied with telling us about a group of courageous, honorable young soldiers - a salute these men richly deserve.