Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 17, 1990
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 28 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
23
Mixed:
4
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DianeD.Mar 24, 2003
"I want my own individual order of ginger prawns."
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
HanselH.Mar 24, 2006
No. 9 on the all time metacritic list? No way. Not a bad movie. But highly overrated.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JosieP.Mar 8, 2003
"You are a very strange man"... "You have NO idea.." Irons rocks!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EricS.Aug 3, 2005
What am I missing here? How is this movie a 93 and one of the highest scores on Metacritic?? This is an AVERAGE movie people. The screenplay is poor. I found myself totally uninterested in the outcome of this movie. And how can such a simple What am I missing here? How is this movie a 93 and one of the highest scores on Metacritic?? This is an AVERAGE movie people. The screenplay is poor. I found myself totally uninterested in the outcome of this movie. And how can such a simple plot be so complicated to understand? As for Glenn Close, this was one of her more disappointing acting jobs if you ask me. Notice how she speaks with a British accent during narration, but in the actual acting scenes she loses the accent completely. That was very annoying to me. Oh and the musical score is just forgettable. It was paper thin and did nothing for the movie, which could have used some intensification. I do give this movie a 5 because Irons is stellar as usual, but the real star of this film is Ron Silver. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlancoA.Nov 30, 2002
One of the all-time greats. Jeremy Irons absolutely makes this movie. Pauline Kael's full review of this film is excellent literature, by the way, if you can get your hands on it, even though she's not as big a fan of the film as I One of the all-time greats. Jeremy Irons absolutely makes this movie. Pauline Kael's full review of this film is excellent literature, by the way, if you can get your hands on it, even though she's not as big a fan of the film as I am. I suppose I agree that the Dershowitz was a little too self-aggrandizing... See this film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RodP.Nov 14, 2003
Is it fair to rate this film so lowly when I found myself only occasionally interested enough to raise my head from latest issue of The Economist? Perhaps not. Needless to say Reversal of Fortune, was for me, an entirely underwhelming Is it fair to rate this film so lowly when I found myself only occasionally interested enough to raise my head from latest issue of The Economist? Perhaps not. Needless to say Reversal of Fortune, was for me, an entirely underwhelming experience. Irons and Close are great - no surprise there. The clear weakness was Dershowitz and his little friends. Oh dear. Not only are the characters painful, but the performances are, without exception, unmemorable. Having seen the film on the strength of the American reviews listed above I can only begin to speculate that in 1990 the "Amercian justice fantasy overwhelms reality malaise" swept unabated across the writing community in virtually all American cities. Try this film again in 2003 and I think we'd be looking at 50/100. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeN.Feb 10, 2004
Irons is great. Like Hopkins in Silence of Lambs, he comes across as so intelligent and witty that he makes you like von Bulow, in spite of the fact that you really, really don't want to like Claus von Bulow. Close is excellent too. Irons is great. Like Hopkins in Silence of Lambs, he comes across as so intelligent and witty that he makes you like von Bulow, in spite of the fact that you really, really don't want to like Claus von Bulow. Close is excellent too. Silver does a good job, but the Dershowitz sections have an annoying "made for TV movie" quality about them that brings down the whole tone of the picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrendanH.Apr 7, 2006
I've watched RofV six times and I never get tired of it. Never get tired of Ron Silver's vastly underrated performance, Jeremy Irons' introverted despair, Glenn Close's intoxicating mix of rage and ennui. The film I've watched RofV six times and I never get tired of it. Never get tired of Ron Silver's vastly underrated performance, Jeremy Irons' introverted despair, Glenn Close's intoxicating mix of rage and ennui. The film confronts our assumptions of the "whodunnit" and turns them on their head. In RoV, as in life, we can't always come to definite conclusions to what happened, or why; whether a man is good, evil, or lives in some point in between. Doesn't deserve to be mentioned with "The Godfather", but I love this movie. I think I'll watch it another six times. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatC.Dec 5, 2003
96? No, it's not that good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
YoonC.Sep 23, 2003
Has fine performances by Irons and Close. However, we all know what a egomaniacal public relations masturbator Alan Dershawitz is. Does anyone really need to lend him a hand? Throughout the movie Dershawitz acts like he's taken on a Has fine performances by Irons and Close. However, we all know what a egomaniacal public relations masturbator Alan Dershawitz is. Does anyone really need to lend him a hand? Throughout the movie Dershawitz acts like he's taken on a financially rewarding case to pay for the defense of two black kids facing death row. In reality, the kids were white but this is the kind of lowly manipulation(and prejudice--is it nobler to save black than white kids' lives?)this rank movie revels in. The funniest thing is the only truly likable character is the rich creep played by Irons. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
lasttimeisawJan 7, 2015
With its opening long shot panning above numerous estates in Rhode Island, REVERSAL OF FORTUNE inks a plaintive sentiment to this morally ambiguous true story, the case of socialite Sunny von Bülow (Close), who descends into an unexplainedWith its opening long shot panning above numerous estates in Rhode Island, REVERSAL OF FORTUNE inks a plaintive sentiment to this morally ambiguous true story, the case of socialite Sunny von Bülow (Close), who descends into an unexplained brain-dead coma in the 1980, and her current husband, Claus von Bülow (Irons) is charged with attempted murder by an overdose of insulin injection. Against all the odds to his trial, Claus hires Alan Dershowitz (Silver) as his defence and eventually gets away with the indictment while the truth remains a moot point. In real life Sunny died in 2008 after almost 28 years as a human vegetable and Alan would be involved as an appellate adviser in another notorious case of O.J. Simpson.
continue reading my review on my blog, google cinema omnivore, thanks.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeMar 21, 2016
Reversal of Fortune is finally enjoyable only on its own times. Don't forget to watch all the movies I'm giving 9's in as of this time because movies like this one cannot be missed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews