Overture Films | Release Date: September 12, 2008
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 79 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
28
Mixed:
21
Negative:
30
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
NazguleroNov 17, 2010
I turned of my new flat screen tv after watching this movie for five minutes. If a movie starts off really bad, you know it can only get worse. So why waste your time siting through this ? Hollywood's assumption that you can just arrange aI turned of my new flat screen tv after watching this movie for five minutes. If a movie starts off really bad, you know it can only get worse. So why waste your time siting through this ? Hollywood's assumption that you can just arrange a date between arguably two of the best actors ever and make it work, well...it did not quite work out.
I would say the best thing about this movie is that you can tell after 55 seconds that it is crap. That way, you have a choice.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
2
KyleS.Oct 3, 2008
I can't understand how anyone could find the ending surprising. It was literally one of the most obvious "twists" I've ever seen. Whatever happened to just telling a good story? Pacino and DeNiro were, really, the best thing about I can't understand how anyone could find the ending surprising. It was literally one of the most obvious "twists" I've ever seen. Whatever happened to just telling a good story? Pacino and DeNiro were, really, the best thing about the film. But that's not saying much. Terrible movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
HenryOJan 6, 2009
Wow... didnt expect this one to be as c**p as it turned out to be, it was the first time I actually walked out of a cinema in disgust. Bad story, very poor performance from De Niro and Pacino!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BobbieohG.Aug 28, 2008
It truly needs a better director. Jon Avnet is terrible and pretty much ruins this movie. It has a good script, two excellent actors, and an okay crew or production team. But alike last time, it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MichaelS.Sep 13, 2008
As a very big fan of both of these superstars, I am extremely disappointed at the mediocrity present here. Story is very weak and filled with Cliches. Compare this to Ronin and to Heat and this trite movie becomes embarrassing. Oh well I As a very big fan of both of these superstars, I am extremely disappointed at the mediocrity present here. Story is very weak and filled with Cliches. Compare this to Ronin and to Heat and this trite movie becomes embarrassing. Oh well I guess Bob and Al have some spare time and the extra cash never hurts. Hey Mr. Deniro would you show this at your Film festival ? I don't think so . I went to the opening screening last night here in Chicago. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LouB.Sep 8, 2008
Well, well past their prime. Terrible. Just terrible from these washed-up, egomaniacs. Remember when they waited for scripts and worked with only the best?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Mr.JimSep 9, 2008
Wonderful ... De Niro & Pacino are great ! Perfect thriller movie !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarkB.Jan 8, 2009
After making (and getting torpedoed for) Sabrina and Random Hearts for director Sydney Pollack, Harrison Ford reportedly vowed never to work with him again. Recent sad and untimely events have rendered this a permanent nonissue, but perhaps After making (and getting torpedoed for) Sabrina and Random Hearts for director Sydney Pollack, Harrison Ford reportedly vowed never to work with him again. Recent sad and untimely events have rendered this a permanent nonissue, but perhaps Al Pacino should similarly just say no to a third collaboration with Jon the Fried Green Tomatoes guy (not to be confused with Jon the Singing Detective guy or Jon the National Treasure 1 & 2 guy). Pacino's first film for Jon Avnet, 88 Minutes, wasn't all THAT bad--it was the equivalent of a mystery paperback that provides an acceptable beach read but that you'd be hard pressed to recall any details of two hours after finishing it. But his second film with Avnet (and third with Robert DeNiro), Righteous Kill, is a disaster, a thoroughly artificial and fraudulent police thriller that's about as street-smart as a blind man crossing a busy intersection without benefit of dog. Vigilante movies almost by nature range from morally questionable to ethically nonexistent, but I'd trade Michael Winner's and J. Lee Thompson's entire seamy Charles Bronson Cannon Pictures output (which at least wasn't BORING) for this (which IS). And if there's one thing I want less to witness on screen than either or both acting legends having a discussion about The Brady Bunch (proving once and for all to anyone who's still unconvinced that Hollywood screenwriters' Tarantinoesque fascination with ephemeral pop culture psuedo-landmarks has now officially Gone Too Far), it's a mystery whose audience-cheating resolution recalls, of all things, the Which-Cyclist-Has-The-Fatal-Disease climax of Steve Tesich's and John Badham's horrible, instantly forgettable 1980s sports flick American Flyers. Many viewers who felt cheated by the fact that DeNiro and Pacino shared only one big scene together in Michael Mann's gargantuan meditation on law and order, Heat, could at least take comfort in the realization that said sequence at least showed off both greats at the near-peak of their powers. Righteous Kill's most egregious crime is that it renders the two guys almost completely irrelevant, which in some ways may not totally be a bad thing: now that Leonardo DiCaprio has replaced DeNiro as Martin Scorsese's BFF, perhaps DeNiro can now focus full-time on his own superb, 2-for-2 directorial career (A Bronx Tale, The Good Shepherd). As for Pacino, perhaps he can take a hint from 1930s and 40s Universal horror flicks and go for Scarface 2: The Return, wherein Tony Montana, whose Olympic-sized white-powder consumption helped him survive the machine gun attack, reemerges to assume a shadowy but significant role in the hip-hop recording industry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RichardW.Oct 1, 2008
Movies like this one will destroy the well-earned reputations of the co-stars sooner rather than later. A horrible mess, with a ridiculous twist.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JaredC.Aug 28, 2008
What a way to bomb there careers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TVSep 11, 2008
Wow. Just...wow. I thought that Michael C. Hall's defining work would always be David Fisher from Six Feet Under but his performance as Dexter has outshone that and then some. Oh, wait...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SueP.Sep 12, 2008
Couldn't have been more bored. A total waste of good talent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillyS.Sep 13, 2008
Pacino. DeNiro. Acting Legends. Unfortunately, they will be remembered for their 10 minute scene together in Heat because nobody's going to remember them in Righteous Kill, a made-for-TV movie with take the money and run written right Pacino. DeNiro. Acting Legends. Unfortunately, they will be remembered for their 10 minute scene together in Heat because nobody's going to remember them in Righteous Kill, a made-for-TV movie with take the money and run written right in the script!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattJ.Sep 13, 2008
I don't know why all the critics are so hard on this movie. It was good and worth the money. All the actors did a great job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Sep 14, 2008
All aging actors reach a critical point of diminishing vim and collapsing vigor; to pretend otherwise, that the whatever-genarian isn't within shouting distance with his own mortality, would put a strain on the audience's All aging actors reach a critical point of diminishing vim and collapsing vigor; to pretend otherwise, that the whatever-genarian isn't within shouting distance with his own mortality, would put a strain on the audience's suspension of disbelief. From John Wayne in "The Shootist" to Clint Eastwood in "Blood Work", the savvy actor knows its audience have a long memory; they'll remember the younger version of themselves with fondness, so he uses his weathered face like a Dorian Gray canvas to comment on his own body of work. But not seventies icons Al Pacino and Robert DeNiro, who both act like they have appointments in Samarra. Since rappers are noted to adore Brian DePalma's "Scarface", the hip-hop setting in "Righteous Kill" is a clever acknowledgment of the black music community's love affair with Pacino's Tony Montana. (SPOILER ALERT!) When Rooster shoots Spider(50 Cent), it's like a kiss on the cheek, a note of thanks to the rap industry. Too bad it's not Pacino who does it doggy-style with Carla Gugino, then he could yell, "Say hello to my little friend," over Gugino's cries of "Harder! Harder!" DeNiro, by the way, is sixty-five-years-old; Gugino, thirty-seven. "Righteous Kill" is a routine police procedural with a denouement that insults the audience by cheating. Parceled throughout the film, Turk(Robert DeNiro) imparts a confession of sorts, in great length, on grainy black-and-white video, but when the moment of its recording is revealed, moviegoers will notice that the running time of his monologue doesn't match what they previously heard in its totality. Turk uses a notebook for reference, but in the video, he's always looking straight into the camera. "Righteous Kill" doesn't cheat to the extent of Frank Oz's "The Stepford Wives", or Alexandre Aja's "Haute Tension", but the filmmaker owes his audience a plausible twist ending that checks out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelM.Sep 15, 2008
Occasionally the critics are too smart for their own good. This move is very well done and the crowd at the theater on Sunday afternoon seemed to agree with me. Lots of positive vocals going on and laughs in the right places. The two stars Occasionally the critics are too smart for their own good. This move is very well done and the crowd at the theater on Sunday afternoon seemed to agree with me. Lots of positive vocals going on and laughs in the right places. The two stars looked great and did an excellent job. Secondary players were equally good. Do yourself a favor and go take a look. My bet is you will like the film if you like De Niro and Pacino. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamM.Sep 21, 2008
I read all the bad reviews for this movie beforehand and do not agree with them at all. I thought the screenplay was brilliant, great twist at the end, and the acting was pretty superb as well. Don't believe the hype, judge for yourself!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoshF.Sep 28, 2008
I feel ashamed to have sat through this all when everyone I started it with walked out, save for my brother. Deniro is a shadow of his former self and essentially an embarrassing contradiction, much like McCain. Why would either of the two I feel ashamed to have sat through this all when everyone I started it with walked out, save for my brother. Deniro is a shadow of his former self and essentially an embarrassing contradiction, much like McCain. Why would either of the two leads' agents recommend this tripe to them? WOW! I still think Pacino can act, but this movie is no example I would submit to the jury whatsoever. After all these words, one more: WHY?!? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LevS.Sep 30, 2008
Absolute DOG of a movie. Made with utter contempt and disrespect for the audience. Goes to show, just because you work in Hollywood and you've made a movie with de Niro and Pacino, you can still be a f***ing hack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PatrickM.Jan 12, 2009
I just pretend that this movie doesn't exist and that these two actors are dead. This was the worst film of the year. Everything about it was sh*t.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZackS.Jan 20, 2009
I highly enjoyed this movie. Ya it was a little slow but it kept me guessing and i really did not expect the ending. I really recommend this movie it was just a good movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoeB.Jan 6, 2009
There's been a lot of talk about this movie, mostly bad. I watched it last night and was quite interested to see where it would go wrong. It never really does though, I think the main issue here is how pedestrian the actual movie looks. There's been a lot of talk about this movie, mostly bad. I watched it last night and was quite interested to see where it would go wrong. It never really does though, I think the main issue here is how pedestrian the actual movie looks. It's generic quality does little to distinguish it from countless other films made in this style. The lead performances are not horrible, they're just uninspired. Any two actors could have played the De Niro and Pacino roles. People expect these guys to be able to direct themselves when we've clearly learned from historical accounts that even the greatest actors need solid direction. Jon Avnet is really the perp here, guiding both men through a series of re-hashes from other films hoping to score points as an homage. The baseball scene at the beginning is clearly aping "The Fan", while the ending is a shameless replay of the ending from "Heat". De Niro should not have been allowed to rest on his laurels (mugging and turning down the corners of his mouth at every opportunity), while Pacino was never really given a whole lot to do other than react. I understand that the idea of making a film in their home town and to be able to "buddy it up" for a few weeks was alluring in itself, but seriously, don't these guys have some people around them to bounce these scripts off of? I mean, what would it take for De Niro to send a copy of the script to his good friend Marty and say, "whatdya think?" In the end, I suppose the decision to make this film made was made for myriad reasons, none of which however, seem to stem from anything sincere. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JustinF.Aug 28, 2008
It has a good cast and script, it's just that the execution and direction jaw-droppingly drops the whole movie to 2/4 rather than a 3/4. And I thought it was very annoying and just sensationally dull and boring. What a shame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BarneyH.Aug 28, 2008
I am a huge fan of Al Pacino and Robert De Niro. I thought it would be okay for the cause of the director. But believe me, what he has done here is horrid work. It makes your stomach ache and the question of asking when the pain will stop I am a huge fan of Al Pacino and Robert De Niro. I thought it would be okay for the cause of the director. But believe me, what he has done here is horrid work. It makes your stomach ache and the question of asking when the pain will stop continues repeating itself over and over during the feature. It's ridiculous. People say the scripts good and both Pacino and de Niro were great. Wha-a-a-aWhat?! Thats a mistake, Pacino looks tired and crackes windows with his off-pitch voice as he swindles by, De Niro can't control himself, he just gets pissed off real easy in the movie because he hates that he even accepted the role. But it stinks!!!! I couldn't resist satying. I left instantly once the credits began rolling. All that rock-and-roll, like where's the originality. It's sentimental and dumb. DISAPPOINTING. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TerryH.Aug 29, 2008
I'm not disappointed. Pacino and De Niro collide once again in a side-by-side performance that will bomb their careers. Pointless, it copies many films, and a complete waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LaurenE.Sep 12, 2008
Filmmakers think that is an Al Pacino movie, they don't have to worry about it. But this movie really suck, even if De Niro is in it. You can get great actors, but if the plot is bad so that the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanielS.Sep 13, 2008
this is how i imagine the dialogue in the film: DeNiro " i thought it was you!" Pacino " no I thought it was you!" repeat for however many hours..there's you're movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
migJun 14, 2009
U people r just hating. This movie was awesome. 88 minutes was the worst movie in history. This one was awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Criminals get off lightly, die soon after with a "Righteous Kill", veteran detectives on the case.
They're too old!!! Pacino & De Niro were great actors but this doesn't really work. Pacino looks like a cross between Paul McCartney & Richard
Criminals get off lightly, die soon after with a "Righteous Kill", veteran detectives on the case.
They're too old!!! Pacino & De Niro were great actors but this doesn't really work. Pacino looks like a cross between Paul McCartney & Richard Lewis from Curb your Enthusiasm & De Niro just grimaces his way through it.
It is quite predictable but still not the worst thing I've seen all year.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
CharlottePApr 13, 2011
You know you're in trouble when you look forward to the scenes that 50 Cent is in. Marvel as two hacks who should be ashamed of themselves collect their paycheques for making little or no effort throughout until Pacino phones in someYou know you're in trouble when you look forward to the scenes that 50 Cent is in. Marvel as two hacks who should be ashamed of themselves collect their paycheques for making little or no effort throughout until Pacino phones in some trademark hysteria and eye-rolling at the end. Gasp as the plot twist which was obvious from the start is revealed to an audience who by this time surely couldn't care less. Cringe as the dodgy sub-plot (she likes it rough) leads to nasty payback. She deserved it, innit. But the audience didn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
A_NorthernerMar 27, 2012
Spoiler alert - pairing De Niro and Pacino together does not result in a great film alone. Given the chance to star alongside each other for what, on this outcome, may well be the final time, De Niro and Pacino play a pair of veteranSpoiler alert - pairing De Niro and Pacino together does not result in a great film alone. Given the chance to star alongside each other for what, on this outcome, may well be the final time, De Niro and Pacino play a pair of veteran detectives struggling to keep up with a serial killer on the loose. Thinking back I struggle to recall either of their characters actually doing any police work in the slightest, this falls to Donnie Wahlberg and John Leguizamo. Both actors play their characters as nonchalant, wise-cracking smart asses. This is a natural character for Pacino but why both need to appear so is unnecessary and just adds to the feeling that their hearts were not in this fully. That said, the story plods along until the dreadful twist at the end that left me more confused initially than anything else until I recognised how the writer had got away with it. A cheap trick, not in league with the writers previous work (Inside Man), that leaves the viewer feeling disappointed with the previous hour and half serving no purpose but lead up to this charade. Ardent Pacino and De Niro fans may be interested but otherwise steer clear. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BroyaxJan 26, 2017
Les deux monstres sacrés réunis à nouveau ! et dans un polar grosso merdo pas trop mal ficelé ma foi. Cependant, il ne s'agit pas de Heat et toute comparaison avec la superbe épopée criminelle serait fort mal venue.

Le scénario qui repose un
Les deux monstres sacrés réunis à nouveau ! et dans un polar grosso merdo pas trop mal ficelé ma foi. Cependant, il ne s'agit pas de Heat et toute comparaison avec la superbe épopée criminelle serait fort mal venue.

Le scénario qui repose un peu trop sur le gros rebondissement de la fin est quelque peu embrouillé ; le fait que les papys soient toujours des inspecteurs sur le terrain nuit également à la crédibilité : la retraite c'est à 80 piges chez les poulets ? ah sans doute trop d'hormones de croissance ! D'ailleurs, le bon Brian Dennehy complète le trio de vieillards mais en tant que patron pilotant un bureau, il détonne moins dans l'environnement.

Cela étant dit, on se régale avec Al et Bob et le film sait tenir en éveil. On espérait -relativement à Heat évidemment- bien mieux à dire vrai ou plutôt (presque) aussi bien. Peine perdue mais La loi et l'ordre est tout-à-fait acceptable et permet aux deux stars de s'exprimer un minimum : on a sauvé les meubles !
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews