Righteous Kill

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 77
  2. Negative: 30 out of 77

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    I turned of my new flat screen tv after watching this movie for five minutes. If a movie starts off really bad, you know it can only get worse. So why waste your time siting through this ? Hollywood's assumption that you can just arrange a date between arguably two of the best actors ever and make it work, well...it did not quite work out.
    I would say the best thing about this movie is
    I turned of my new flat screen tv after watching this movie for five minutes. If a movie starts off really bad, you know it can only get worse. So why waste your time siting through this ? Hollywood's assumption that you can just arrange a date between arguably two of the best actors ever and make it work, well...it did not quite work out.
    I would say the best thing about this movie is that you can tell after 55 seconds that it is crap. That way, you have a choice.
    Collapse
  2. JaredC.
    Aug 28, 2008
    2
    What a way to bomb there careers.
  3. BobbieohG.
    Aug 28, 2008
    7
    It truly needs a better director. Jon Avnet is terrible and pretty much ruins this movie. It has a good script, two excellent actors, and an okay crew or production team. But alike last time, it
  4. JustinF.
    Aug 28, 2008
    5
    It has a good cast and script, it's just that the execution and direction jaw-droppingly drops the whole movie to 2/4 rather than a 3/4. And I thought it was very annoying and just sensationally dull and boring. What a shame.
  5. BarneyH.
    Aug 28, 2008
    0
    I am a huge fan of Al Pacino and Robert De Niro. I thought it would be okay for the cause of the director. But believe me, what he has done here is horrid work. It makes your stomach ache and the question of asking when the pain will stop continues repeating itself over and over during the feature. It's ridiculous. People say the scripts good and both Pacino and de Niro were great. I am a huge fan of Al Pacino and Robert De Niro. I thought it would be okay for the cause of the director. But believe me, what he has done here is horrid work. It makes your stomach ache and the question of asking when the pain will stop continues repeating itself over and over during the feature. It's ridiculous. People say the scripts good and both Pacino and de Niro were great. Wha-a-a-aWhat?! Thats a mistake, Pacino looks tired and crackes windows with his off-pitch voice as he swindles by, De Niro can't control himself, he just gets pissed off real easy in the movie because he hates that he even accepted the role. But it stinks!!!! I couldn't resist satying. I left instantly once the credits began rolling. All that rock-and-roll, like where's the originality. It's sentimental and dumb. DISAPPOINTING. Expand
  6. TerryH.
    Aug 29, 2008
    2
    I'm not disappointed. Pacino and De Niro collide once again in a side-by-side performance that will bomb their careers. Pointless, it copies many films, and a complete waste of time.
  7. LouB.
    Sep 8, 2008
    2
    Well, well past their prime. Terrible. Just terrible from these washed-up, egomaniacs. Remember when they waited for scripts and worked with only the best?
  8. Mr.Jim
    Sep 9, 2008
    10
    Wonderful ... De Niro & Pacino are great ! Perfect thriller movie !
  9. TV
    Sep 11, 2008
    0
    Wow. Just...wow. I thought that Michael C. Hall's defining work would always be David Fisher from Six Feet Under but his performance as Dexter has outshone that and then some. Oh, wait...
  10. LaurenE.
    Sep 12, 2008
    1
    Filmmakers think that is an Al Pacino movie, they don't have to worry about it. But this movie really suck, even if De Niro is in it. You can get great actors, but if the plot is bad so that the movie.
  11. SueP.
    Sep 12, 2008
    3
    Couldn't have been more bored. A total waste of good talent.
  12. MattJ.
    Sep 13, 2008
    8
    I don't know why all the critics are so hard on this movie. It was good and worth the money. All the actors did a great job.
  13. MichaelS.
    Sep 13, 2008
    4
    As a very big fan of both of these superstars, I am extremely disappointed at the mediocrity present here. Story is very weak and filled with Cliches. Compare this to Ronin and to Heat and this trite movie becomes embarrassing. Oh well I guess Bob and Al have some spare time and the extra cash never hurts. Hey Mr. Deniro would you show this at your Film festival ? I don't think so . As a very big fan of both of these superstars, I am extremely disappointed at the mediocrity present here. Story is very weak and filled with Cliches. Compare this to Ronin and to Heat and this trite movie becomes embarrassing. Oh well I guess Bob and Al have some spare time and the extra cash never hurts. Hey Mr. Deniro would you show this at your Film festival ? I don't think so . I went to the opening screening last night here in Chicago. Expand
  14. DanielS.
    Sep 13, 2008
    1
    this is how i imagine the dialogue in the film: DeNiro " i thought it was you!" Pacino " no I thought it was you!" repeat for however many hours..there's you're movie.
  15. BillyS.
    Sep 13, 2008
    5
    Pacino. DeNiro. Acting Legends. Unfortunately, they will be remembered for their 10 minute scene together in Heat because nobody's going to remember them in Righteous Kill, a made-for-TV movie with take the money and run written right in the script!!
  16. ChadS.
    Sep 14, 2008
    5
    All aging actors reach a critical point of diminishing vim and collapsing vigor; to pretend otherwise, that the whatever-genarian isn't within shouting distance with his own mortality, would put a strain on the audience's suspension of disbelief. From John Wayne in "The Shootist" to Clint Eastwood in "Blood Work", the savvy actor knows its audience have a long memory; All aging actors reach a critical point of diminishing vim and collapsing vigor; to pretend otherwise, that the whatever-genarian isn't within shouting distance with his own mortality, would put a strain on the audience's suspension of disbelief. From John Wayne in "The Shootist" to Clint Eastwood in "Blood Work", the savvy actor knows its audience have a long memory; they'll remember the younger version of themselves with fondness, so he uses his weathered face like a Dorian Gray canvas to comment on his own body of work. But not seventies icons Al Pacino and Robert DeNiro, who both act like they have appointments in Samarra. Since rappers are noted to adore Brian DePalma's "Scarface", the hip-hop setting in "Righteous Kill" is a clever acknowledgment of the black music community's love affair with Pacino's Tony Montana. (SPOILER ALERT!) When Rooster shoots Spider(50 Cent), it's like a kiss on the cheek, a note of thanks to the rap industry. Too bad it's not Pacino who does it doggy-style with Carla Gugino, then he could yell, "Say hello to my little friend," over Gugino's cries of "Harder! Harder!" DeNiro, by the way, is sixty-five-years-old; Gugino, thirty-seven. "Righteous Kill" is a routine police procedural with a denouement that insults the audience by cheating. Parceled throughout the film, Turk(Robert DeNiro) imparts a confession of sorts, in great length, on grainy black-and-white video, but when the moment of its recording is revealed, moviegoers will notice that the running time of his monologue doesn't match what they previously heard in its totality. Turk uses a notebook for reference, but in the video, he's always looking straight into the camera. "Righteous Kill" doesn't cheat to the extent of Frank Oz's "The Stepford Wives", or Alexandre Aja's "Haute Tension", but the filmmaker owes his audience a plausible twist ending that checks out. Expand
  17. MichaelM.
    Sep 15, 2008
    8
    Occasionally the critics are too smart for their own good. This move is very well done and the crowd at the theater on Sunday afternoon seemed to agree with me. Lots of positive vocals going on and laughs in the right places. The two stars looked great and did an excellent job. Secondary players were equally good. Do yourself a favor and go take a look. My bet is you will like the film if Occasionally the critics are too smart for their own good. This move is very well done and the crowd at the theater on Sunday afternoon seemed to agree with me. Lots of positive vocals going on and laughs in the right places. The two stars looked great and did an excellent job. Secondary players were equally good. Do yourself a favor and go take a look. My bet is you will like the film if you like De Niro and Pacino. Expand
  18. AdamM.
    Sep 21, 2008
    9
    I read all the bad reviews for this movie beforehand and do not agree with them at all. I thought the screenplay was brilliant, great twist at the end, and the acting was pretty superb as well. Don't believe the hype, judge for yourself!
  19. JoshF.
    Sep 28, 2008
    2
    I feel ashamed to have sat through this all when everyone I started it with walked out, save for my brother. Deniro is a shadow of his former self and essentially an embarrassing contradiction, much like McCain. Why would either of the two leads' agents recommend this tripe to them? WOW! I still think Pacino can act, but this movie is no example I would submit to the jury whatsoever. I feel ashamed to have sat through this all when everyone I started it with walked out, save for my brother. Deniro is a shadow of his former self and essentially an embarrassing contradiction, much like McCain. Why would either of the two leads' agents recommend this tripe to them? WOW! I still think Pacino can act, but this movie is no example I would submit to the jury whatsoever. After all these words, one more: WHY?!? Expand
  20. LevS.
    Sep 30, 2008
    0
    Absolute DOG of a movie. Made with utter contempt and disrespect for the audience. Goes to show, just because you work in Hollywood and you've made a movie with de Niro and Pacino, you can still be a f***ing hack.
  21. RichardW.
    Oct 1, 2008
    2
    Movies like this one will destroy the well-earned reputations of the co-stars sooner rather than later. A horrible mess, with a ridiculous twist.
  22. KyleS.
    Oct 3, 2008
    2
    I can't understand how anyone could find the ending surprising. It was literally one of the most obvious "twists" I've ever seen. Whatever happened to just telling a good story? Pacino and DeNiro were, really, the best thing about the film. But that's not saying much. Terrible movie.
  23. HenryO
    Jan 6, 2009
    1
    Wow... didnt expect this one to be as c**p as it turned out to be, it was the first time I actually walked out of a cinema in disgust. Bad story, very poor performance from De Niro and Pacino!
  24. JoeB.
    Jan 6, 2009
    5
    There's been a lot of talk about this movie, mostly bad. I watched it last night and was quite interested to see where it would go wrong. It never really does though, I think the main issue here is how pedestrian the actual movie looks. It's generic quality does little to distinguish it from countless other films made in this style. The lead performances are not horrible, There's been a lot of talk about this movie, mostly bad. I watched it last night and was quite interested to see where it would go wrong. It never really does though, I think the main issue here is how pedestrian the actual movie looks. It's generic quality does little to distinguish it from countless other films made in this style. The lead performances are not horrible, they're just uninspired. Any two actors could have played the De Niro and Pacino roles. People expect these guys to be able to direct themselves when we've clearly learned from historical accounts that even the greatest actors need solid direction. Jon Avnet is really the perp here, guiding both men through a series of re-hashes from other films hoping to score points as an homage. The baseball scene at the beginning is clearly aping "The Fan", while the ending is a shameless replay of the ending from "Heat". De Niro should not have been allowed to rest on his laurels (mugging and turning down the corners of his mouth at every opportunity), while Pacino was never really given a whole lot to do other than react. I understand that the idea of making a film in their home town and to be able to "buddy it up" for a few weeks was alluring in itself, but seriously, don't these guys have some people around them to bounce these scripts off of? I mean, what would it take for De Niro to send a copy of the script to his good friend Marty and say, "whatdya think?" In the end, I suppose the decision to make this film made was made for myriad reasons, none of which however, seem to stem from anything sincere. Expand
  25. MarkB.
    Jan 8, 2009
    3
    After making (and getting torpedoed for) Sabrina and Random Hearts for director Sydney Pollack, Harrison Ford reportedly vowed never to work with him again. Recent sad and untimely events have rendered this a permanent nonissue, but perhaps Al Pacino should similarly just say no to a third collaboration with Jon the Fried Green Tomatoes guy (not to be confused with Jon the Singing After making (and getting torpedoed for) Sabrina and Random Hearts for director Sydney Pollack, Harrison Ford reportedly vowed never to work with him again. Recent sad and untimely events have rendered this a permanent nonissue, but perhaps Al Pacino should similarly just say no to a third collaboration with Jon the Fried Green Tomatoes guy (not to be confused with Jon the Singing Detective guy or Jon the National Treasure 1 & 2 guy). Pacino's first film for Jon Avnet, 88 Minutes, wasn't all THAT bad--it was the equivalent of a mystery paperback that provides an acceptable beach read but that you'd be hard pressed to recall any details of two hours after finishing it. But his second film with Avnet (and third with Robert DeNiro), Righteous Kill, is a disaster, a thoroughly artificial and fraudulent police thriller that's about as street-smart as a blind man crossing a busy intersection without benefit of dog. Vigilante movies almost by nature range from morally questionable to ethically nonexistent, but I'd trade Michael Winner's and J. Lee Thompson's entire seamy Charles Bronson Cannon Pictures output (which at least wasn't BORING) for this (which IS). And if there's one thing I want less to witness on screen than either or both acting legends having a discussion about The Brady Bunch (proving once and for all to anyone who's still unconvinced that Hollywood screenwriters' Tarantinoesque fascination with ephemeral pop culture psuedo-landmarks has now officially Gone Too Far), it's a mystery whose audience-cheating resolution recalls, of all things, the Which-Cyclist-Has-The-Fatal-Disease climax of Steve Tesich's and John Badham's horrible, instantly forgettable 1980s sports flick American Flyers. Many viewers who felt cheated by the fact that DeNiro and Pacino shared only one big scene together in Michael Mann's gargantuan meditation on law and order, Heat, could at least take comfort in the realization that said sequence at least showed off both greats at the near-peak of their powers. Righteous Kill's most egregious crime is that it renders the two guys almost completely irrelevant, which in some ways may not totally be a bad thing: now that Leonardo DiCaprio has replaced DeNiro as Martin Scorsese's BFF, perhaps DeNiro can now focus full-time on his own superb, 2-for-2 directorial career (A Bronx Tale, The Good Shepherd). As for Pacino, perhaps he can take a hint from 1930s and 40s Universal horror flicks and go for Scarface 2: The Return, wherein Tony Montana, whose Olympic-sized white-powder consumption helped him survive the machine gun attack, reemerges to assume a shadowy but significant role in the hip-hop recording industry. Expand
  26. PatrickM.
    Jan 12, 2009
    0
    I just pretend that this movie doesn't exist and that these two actors are dead. This was the worst film of the year. Everything about it was sh*t.
  27. ZackS.
    Jan 20, 2009
    8
    I highly enjoyed this movie. Ya it was a little slow but it kept me guessing and i really did not expect the ending. I really recommend this movie it was just a good movie
  28. mig
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    U people r just hating. This movie was awesome. 88 minutes was the worst movie in history. This one was awesome.
  29. Aug 23, 2010
    5
    Criminals get off lightly, die soon after with a "Righteous Kill", veteran detectives on the case.
    They're too old!!! Pacino & De Niro were great actors but this doesn't really work. Pacino looks like a cross between Paul McCartney & Richard Lewis from Curb your Enthusiasm & De Niro just grimaces his way through it.
    It is quite predictable but still not the worst thing I've seen all year.
  30. Apr 13, 2011
    0
    You know you're in trouble when you look forward to the scenes that 50 Cent is in. Marvel as two hacks who should be ashamed of themselves collect their paycheques for making little or no effort throughout until Pacino phones in some trademark hysteria and eye-rolling at the end. Gasp as the plot twist which was obvious from the start is revealed to an audience who by this time surelyYou know you're in trouble when you look forward to the scenes that 50 Cent is in. Marvel as two hacks who should be ashamed of themselves collect their paycheques for making little or no effort throughout until Pacino phones in some trademark hysteria and eye-rolling at the end. Gasp as the plot twist which was obvious from the start is revealed to an audience who by this time surely couldn't care less. Cringe as the dodgy sub-plot (she likes it rough) leads to nasty payback. She deserved it, innit. But the audience didn't. Expand
  31. Mar 27, 2012
    4
    Spoiler alert - pairing De Niro and Pacino together does not result in a great film alone. Given the chance to star alongside each other for what, on this outcome, may well be the final time, De Niro and Pacino play a pair of veteran detectives struggling to keep up with a serial killer on the loose. Thinking back I struggle to recall either of their characters actually doing any policeSpoiler alert - pairing De Niro and Pacino together does not result in a great film alone. Given the chance to star alongside each other for what, on this outcome, may well be the final time, De Niro and Pacino play a pair of veteran detectives struggling to keep up with a serial killer on the loose. Thinking back I struggle to recall either of their characters actually doing any police work in the slightest, this falls to Donnie Wahlberg and John Leguizamo. Both actors play their characters as nonchalant, wise-cracking smart asses. This is a natural character for Pacino but why both need to appear so is unnecessary and just adds to the feeling that their hearts were not in this fully. That said, the story plods along until the dreadful twist at the end that left me more confused initially than anything else until I recognised how the writer had got away with it. A cheap trick, not in league with the writers previous work (Inside Man), that leaves the viewer feeling disappointed with the previous hour and half serving no purpose but lead up to this charade. Ardent Pacino and De Niro fans may be interested but otherwise steer clear. Expand
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    40
    Unable or unwilling to match the visceral chops and moral provocations of superior serial-killer chillers, Righteous Kill is content to be a twisty genre exercise; it's like "Seven" as reimagined by M. Night Shyamalan.
  2. 25
    Righteous Kill, a.k.a. The Al and Bob Show, is a cop flick with all the drama of "Law and Order: AARP." This movie defines drag-ass.
  3. An ordinary cop picture boosted by two charismatic superstars but hindered by its dearth of surprises.