Paramount Pictures | Release Date: November 21, 2012
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 261 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
200
Mixed:
45
Negative:
16
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 21, 2016
Rise of the Guardians is holiday treatment. If I want to watch this again for the holidays, I would want to any moment from now so I can feel good for watching such a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerAug 18, 2013
DreamWorks once again proves it knows how to make an excellent looking animated movie while still maintaining the clever writing that brings the laughs. Surprisingly enough this is not only a movie that your kids will enjoy, but you will asDreamWorks once again proves it knows how to make an excellent looking animated movie while still maintaining the clever writing that brings the laughs. Surprisingly enough this is not only a movie that your kids will enjoy, but you will as well. Once again DreamWorks assembles some big names to create another astounding voice cast. The writing is excellent providing an great plot and tons of humor. It manages to harness that childish energy that reminds us why these fictional characters are so loved, and how much fun and joy it brought to believe in them. Animated kid movies rarely get much better than this outside of Pixar, but DreamWorks proves that it has what it takes to stand along side them. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
imthenoobApr 14, 2013
One of the most underrated animated films of all time. May not be as visually impressive as I hoped it would be but I fell in love with the characters, They are simply too awesome not to like. It's rare that I enjoy a film as much as I didOne of the most underrated animated films of all time. May not be as visually impressive as I hoped it would be but I fell in love with the characters, They are simply too awesome not to like. It's rare that I enjoy a film as much as I did this one, I actually broke out smiling during the end and didn't stop until it was over, It's a very cute film that I am sure kids and adults will enjoy. The only negative thing I can say about it is that the plot is a little shallow, Dialogue isn't as good as I hoped it would be. However, I enjoyed this film so much that I can overlook that. I would highly recommend due to the incredibly likeable characters and how much originality the film has. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksJan 13, 2014
A fun and exciting kids flick with a lot of heart and soul. The only thing that surprised me was the portrayal of children as quite flippant in their belief system.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellNov 25, 2012
I expected this movie to get the same lazy story treatment that Gnomeo and Juliet had, but it turns out to be much more. Its sorta the kids version of The Avengers. It has the heart of "The Polar Express" but with action like "TheI expected this movie to get the same lazy story treatment that Gnomeo and Juliet had, but it turns out to be much more. Its sorta the kids version of The Avengers. It has the heart of "The Polar Express" but with action like "The Incredibles". Theres even a deeper meaning behind the movie. Its about dreaming and believing as a kid so that you can succeed as an adult as well. If you liked holiday classics such as "The Polar Express" or "Arthur", then I think you'll enjoy "Rise of the Guardians". Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
JacobAug 22, 2013
While there are certain things in the film could have been handled better the stuff that is good in this movie is unbeliavblely good. The world of the guardians and their powers make this film enjoyable to watch. This is a great movie forWhile there are certain things in the film could have been handled better the stuff that is good in this movie is unbeliavblely good. The world of the guardians and their powers make this film enjoyable to watch. This is a great movie for kids and even adults to a certain extent and make sure you watch it in 3D because it only adds to the experience. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
BikerjamesNov 26, 2012
Visually, the animation is outstanding. Dreamworks already proved they were among the best animators with "How to Train Your Dragon". The 3D is also excellent. Unfortunately, the story fell a little flat and predictable for me. The moralVisually, the animation is outstanding. Dreamworks already proved they were among the best animators with "How to Train Your Dragon". The 3D is also excellent. Unfortunately, the story fell a little flat and predictable for me. The moral of the movie, "It's real if you only believe", has been done many times in movies, and as recently as "Polar Express" a few years ago. Polar Express was a better movie for me than this one. Still, the outstanding visuals kept my interest the entire movie and I recommend it on that basis alone. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22Apr 24, 2013
A decent holiday movie. Interesting and unique story and view on classic characters. Just a shame the story felt a little too underwhelming. Animation is superb, voice acting great. Chris Pine is perhaps a bit too average sounding for theA decent holiday movie. Interesting and unique story and view on classic characters. Just a shame the story felt a little too underwhelming. Animation is superb, voice acting great. Chris Pine is perhaps a bit too average sounding for the role. I never in a million years would have spotted Alec Baldwin, he is funny and more or less steals the show as far as the voice talent is concerned. Pitch Black is an interesting take on the boogyman character, but also a bit too non-threatening. Comes accross a more like a creepy accountant than a main villain.

Overall:
A nice fun film form the holidays that had me smiling most of the way through. It could have been better, but for what it is, it is great!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Forrestgump1Jun 4, 2013
"While its not going to earn "classic" status, it still on more than one occasion gets the job done. Its the Avengers for kids, it has action, laughs and a great story. It reminds us all the fun it was to be a kid again & to never forget"While its not going to earn "classic" status, it still on more than one occasion gets the job done. Its the Avengers for kids, it has action, laughs and a great story. It reminds us all the fun it was to be a kid again & to never forget what's important" B+ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
asthobaskoroDec 8, 2012
Rise of the Guardians has really great action scenes. Visually striking, very entertaining but it's not so good in storytelling. A sort of Avengers set in school set, intriguing.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
jeff_reviewsJul 4, 2013
"Rise of the Guardians" may have some issues with pacing, but it's a visual wonder, and will delight a child's eye. The art displayed in the film is beautiful, and you sometimes cannot help to feel magical with your favorite childhood heroes"Rise of the Guardians" may have some issues with pacing, but it's a visual wonder, and will delight a child's eye. The art displayed in the film is beautiful, and you sometimes cannot help to feel magical with your favorite childhood heroes on the big screen once again. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
AwesomeReviewerDec 21, 2012
The best thing in
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
Apemonkey666Mar 31, 2013
A Christmas movie where the Easter Bunny, Santa, Sandman, the Tooth fairy and Jack Frost form a souped-up action team who protect the children from Pitch Black (the Boogeyman). It's better than it sounds on paper with great animation andA Christmas movie where the Easter Bunny, Santa, Sandman, the Tooth fairy and Jack Frost form a souped-up action team who protect the children from Pitch Black (the Boogeyman). It's better than it sounds on paper with great animation and voice acting but the story is very predictable with the obligatory happy end. The target adience is kids between 7 to 15 so I guess we can forgive them Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91Dec 2, 2012
Rise of the Guardians is an animated film of 2012 directed by Peter Ramsey.
When Pitch, the black man, threatens to destroy the imagination of children, guardians, Santa Claus, The Tooth Fairy, the Easter Bunny and Sandman come together to
Rise of the Guardians is an animated film of 2012 directed by Peter Ramsey.
When Pitch, the black man, threatens to destroy the imagination of children, guardians, Santa Claus, The Tooth Fairy, the Easter Bunny and Sandman come together to defeat him. The man in the moon, however, reveals that they will join a new guardian and that is Jack Frost, the spirit of the snow that as opposed to other guardians can not be seen by people.
The film has a simple plot but full of found really original, dramatic moments, fun and exciting. The thing that you notice about this movie is, above all, the characterization of the characters. No one is left in the background and you end up adoring all. Pitch is very well characterized and is a great evil, intelligent and duplicitous. The technical department is done really well and also the music.
Collapse
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
dante_finnDec 6, 2012
Rise Of The Guardians is a fractured 3-D fairy tale
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisJan 7, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Rise of the Guardians is an animated film of 2012 directed by Peter Ramsey.
When Pitch, the black man, threatens to destroy the imagination of children, guardians, Santa Claus, The Tooth Fairy, the Easter Bunny and Sandman come together to defeat him. The man in the moon, however, reveals that they will join a new guardian and that is Jack Frost, the spirit of the snow that as opposed to other guardians can not be seen by people.
The film has a simple plot but full of found really original, dramatic moments, fun and exciting. The thing that you notice about this movie is, above all, the characterization of the characters. No one is left in the background and you end up adoring all. Pitch is very well characterized and is a great evil, intelligent and duplicitous. The technical department is done really well and also the music.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JrAgujaIsAGleekDec 16, 2013
While not one of the best, Rise of the Guardians will surely entertain the young and the young at heart with its likable characters and its action-packed scenes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Delaforce828Oct 14, 2014
With the art style of William Joyce, DreamWorks Animation, it reminds me of Disney's Meet the Robinsons, and Blue Sky's Robots for its unique designs. The story is okay not great, but it works I guess.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
VirgonoShakaJun 19, 2017
The first thing about Rise of the Guardians is the concept that I have to admit, while a little too used with the superhero style and action, was kind of novel, the idea of using popular myth characters like that was interesting andThe first thing about Rise of the Guardians is the concept that I have to admit, while a little too used with the superhero style and action, was kind of novel, the idea of using popular myth characters like that was interesting and surprisingly fresh. Other good points I can add, a very well put together animation, style, voice acting, and even funny and some memorable lines, and while a very cliched and obvious story, I can definitely say that it is well presented and entertaining. On the other hand, not everybody will like the obvious plot or very tired concepts of "you have to believe it" and stuff, the action can be a bit too on the nose, and the pacing is very brisked in some parts. Nevertheless, I think this movie accomplishes its goal, which is to present a fresh take on some characters, and provide a fun action-adventure story, and on a personal level, it more than did that, and after all, that was the center, right. All in all, I can't give it a recommendation for every public because there are going to be both kids and adults that will find it repetitive or tired, but if you like superhero style shows, cartoons or movies, and like a well-crafted animation, give it a watch, it may surprise you, like it did me. Final Verdict: 7.5 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BreakingBradJan 24, 2013
Rise of the Guardians is a fun and exciting animated movie that both kids and adults will love, but it also feels like it has a story that has been done many times before. We all believed in these holiday figures when we were kids, I lovedRise of the Guardians is a fun and exciting animated movie that both kids and adults will love, but it also feels like it has a story that has been done many times before. We all believed in these holiday figures when we were kids, I loved thinking about Santa Clause or the Easter Bunny coming into my home and leaving me presents and eggs, and that is part of the charm of this movie. The writers know that kids and adults all loved these figures at one point in their life, and so making a movie where they all team up to protect us actually sounds like a lot of fun. The movie has a lot of likable characters and has a lot of heart, so you can believe me when I say that this is a very good film. But I also felt like this kind of story has been done many times before and that I could predict how this movie was going to play out. I saw "Wreck-It Ralph" a few weeks ago and it was one of the most original animated movies I have seen in several years, and that is what made it a terrific film. This story is a lot of fun, but I just wish that they had tried harder to make it more original for the adults. But I must also remember that this is a children's movie, and the children are going to have a lot of fun here. This is pretty much an animated version of "The Avengers" since both films involve heroes all teaming up to save the world. I really enjoyed this movie and I had a really fun time, and despite my small problem with the story, this is still a good movie that people of all ages will enjoy and have a fun time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
nightblade00Nov 29, 2012
While unlikely to win any awards its a good kids movie with a good message. The voice acting was actually pretty well done especially by Chris Pine and Jude Law. If your looking to take your kids to the movies you could do a lot worse.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
TiberCromwell50Nov 23, 2016
blondie_mcgeeMar 19, 2013
i love love love this film. The characters,the story line, everything. Definitely a top film. Although it is aimed at children, this is totally a full age friendly film. Pitch Black is a complex character and at some
blondie_mcgeeMar 19, 2013
i love love love this film. The characters,the story line, everything. Definitely a top film. Although it is aimed at children, this is totally a full age friendly film. Pitch Black is a complex character and at some parts you almost feel sorry for him... until he is a complete dooshbag yet again. Would definitely recommend.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheCritic1Mar 26, 2013
First off, I love animated films. I thought this movie was really good as it gave us an insight how the Guardians work, even if it was a bit cheesy at times! And I'm fourteen and I loved this film so that just goes to show it doesn't matterFirst off, I love animated films. I thought this movie was really good as it gave us an insight how the Guardians work, even if it was a bit cheesy at times! And I'm fourteen and I loved this film so that just goes to show it doesn't matter what age you are, animation is always good! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
JLLorenJan 2, 2013
Visually delicious with an original and very dark story. Both for adults and kids. Stunning animation. Highly recommended. I loved it. I love lamp. Blah blah blah
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RobyLula555Mar 14, 2013
It wars really fun to watch and this is the holiday movies that children need. I really like this animated movie. It was visually great and if you have time to watch it, then watch it.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
SaturnPhoenixNov 25, 2012
For sure one of the most original, most interesting & best holiday movies I've seen. The animation is very detailed & the use of 3D effect is completely worth the extra couple bucks to see it in 3D. The story itself is rather interesting, butFor sure one of the most original, most interesting & best holiday movies I've seen. The animation is very detailed & the use of 3D effect is completely worth the extra couple bucks to see it in 3D. The story itself is rather interesting, but well written & well told. This movie may be one your kids want you to see, and while it does look kinda childish, some adults will appreciate the originality & story for sure. This movie is one of those movies that also builds up a great storyline that keeps you interested & the ending while not really that expected, does perfectly fit with the rest of the story. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
knorbiNov 27, 2012
Rise of the Guardians brings together all the characters that made our childhood wonderful and they are not at all as we were imagining them. But behind the funny personalities lies the responsibility of protecting the children and thisRise of the Guardians brings together all the characters that made our childhood wonderful and they are not at all as we were imagining them. But behind the funny personalities lies the responsibility of protecting the children and this combination makes the movie a must-see. The only bad part I could see was the story. It is too simple considering the potential of the characters. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
cayomagnetkingNov 26, 2012
I thought that this was the best animated film of the year...and I've seen ALL of the others. It had some of the most spectacularly beautiful design I've seen in ages and it also one of the few movies that really should be seen in 3D. TheI thought that this was the best animated film of the year...and I've seen ALL of the others. It had some of the most spectacularly beautiful design I've seen in ages and it also one of the few movies that really should be seen in 3D. The voices and characterizations are both fun and intriguing. The plot is poignant and can be thoroughly enjoyed by both children and adults of all ages. I think it didn't do as well at the box office because so many people were distracted by all the shopping, but I think it will have legs and will do better in the coming weeks! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
MultiverseJumpeNov 27, 2012
this movie makes me wish I was able to believe in magic again. with a cool set of characters (Russian Santa) with colorful character designs and personalities. the story itself is pretty generic but its execution breaths new life into thethis movie makes me wish I was able to believe in magic again. with a cool set of characters (Russian Santa) with colorful character designs and personalities. the story itself is pretty generic but its execution breaths new life into the formula. Jack Frost is a very likable character that you ill feel for. And Pitch is a very likable villain too the way he talks and moves and tries to get jack to join him is fun. This is a movie suitable for children and it'll have parents liking it along with them. If you have siblings or just want to see it out of guilty pleasure i definitely recommend. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Big_MooseDec 2, 2012
It's certainly no "How To Train Your Dragon" but it's undoubtedly one of DreamWorks strongest animated films. With fun characters, a reasonably good plot and some great visuals that make perfect use of 3D. It's definitely worth checking out.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews