Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 184 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: Rise of the Guardians is an epic and magical adventure that tells the story of Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny, the Tooth Fairy, the Sandman, and Jack Frost – legendary characters with previously unknown extraordinary abilities. When an evil spirit known as Pitch lays down the gauntlet to take over the world, the immortal Guardians must join forces to protect the hopes, beliefs and imagination of children everywhere. (Paramount Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Nov 21, 2012
    88
    The shaggy, whimsical characters have a primal familiarity, as though they were developed by a tag team of Maurice Sendak and Walt Disney.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Nov 20, 2012
    75
    Thoughts become things. That's the message of Rise of the Guardians, a charming if slightly dark and cobwebbed animated feature about how believing in something makes it real, or real enough.
  3. Reviewed by: Jody Mitori
    Nov 23, 2012
    75
    The Guardians make a winning team that is a prime candidate for a sequel, just like "The Avengers."
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Nov 20, 2012
    63
    This spirited enough yarn is sincere and heartening in its belief that our devotion to these youthful myths is healthy for our sense of wonderment.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Nov 20, 2012
    60
    It has a great voice cast, a kinda-sorta interesting premise and the 3-D is effective, but somehow it just doesn't add up.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Nov 23, 2012
    50
    The movie lacks a resonant center. The script seems to have been written by committee, with members lobbying for each major character, and the action, set in vast environments all over the map, spreads itself so thin that a surfeit of motion vitiates emotion.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Nov 21, 2012
    12
    I can't remember ever seeing such a spectacular implosion of a squad of all-stars as Rise of the Guardians. Well, not since Yankee Stadium in October.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    i love love love this film. The characters,the story line, everything. Definitely a top film. Although it is aimed at children, this is totally a full age friendly film.
    Pitch Black is a complex character and at some parts you almost feel sorry for him... until he is a complete dooshbag yet again.

    Would definitely recommend.
    Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    One of the most underrated animated films of all time. May not be as visually impressive as I hoped it would be but I fell in love with the characters, They are simply too awesome not to like. It's rare that I enjoy a film as much as I did this one, I actually broke out smiling during the end and didn't stop until it was over, It's a very cute film that I am sure kids and adults will enjoy. The only negative thing I can say about it is that the plot is a little shallow, Dialogue isn't as good as I hoped it would be. However, I enjoyed this film so much that I can overlook that. I would highly recommend due to the incredibly likeable characters and how much originality the film has. Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing film I really enjoyed watching it. It's great how it brings well known and love characters to life and creates the feeling that they all know each other. A good all round fun family film. I could watch it over and over again. This film also gives a very good visual idea of the characters and the places they come from. This movie also encourage team work and belief in yourself. I would give it a 30000/100 Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2012
    8
    this movie makes me wish I was able to believe in magic again. with a cool set of characters (Russian Santa) with colorful character designs and personalities. the story itself is pretty generic but its execution breaths new life into the formula. Jack Frost is a very likable character that you ill feel for. And Pitch is a very likable villain too the way he talks and moves and tries to get jack to join him is fun. This is a movie suitable for children and it'll have parents liking it along with them. If you have siblings or just want to see it out of guilty pleasure i definitely recommend. Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2013
    7
    While not one of the best, Rise of the Guardians will surely entertain the young and the young at heart with its likable characters and its action-packed scenes. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    Visually delicious with an original and very dark story. Both for adults and kids. Stunning animation. Highly recommended. I loved it. I love lamp. Blah blah blah Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2013
    3
    The Movie is so bad in parts that it is funny, HAS SOME AWESOME ACTION IN IT THOUGH AND HAS A DECENT STORY LINE, not worth paying money for just wait till its on TV or download it, Average at best and the film has one of the best quotes of all time, "If u hear the moon talking to u, Listing to it", So bad that it is good. Collapse

See all 47 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Holiday Movie Preview: 007! Gandalf! Django! (And A Few Oscar Contenders, Too)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 007! Gandalf! Django! (And A Few Oscar Contenders, Too) Image
    Published: November 7, 2012
    The holiday movie season kicks off this weekend with what could be the best James Bond film yet, but there are plenty more treats in store over the coming weeks, including new films from Quentin Tarantino, Kathryn Bigelow, Michael Haneke, David O. Russell, and Judd Apatow and the first of three Hobbit films.