User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 711 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 711

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 7, 2011
    2
    Nonsense.
    Just that simple.
    Scene 1: Cesar, a new born chimpanzee needs 8 YEARS to become fully intelligent. Scene 2: The rest of the other apes takes 4 HOURS to become as smart. Scene 1: In the ape`s shelter the cages are hidden and the playground looks innocent and nice. Scene 2: The cages now surrounds the playground so Cesar can be encouraged by his similars. Scene 1:About 20 apes
    Nonsense.
    Just that simple.
    Scene 1: Cesar, a new born chimpanzee needs 8 YEARS to become fully intelligent.
    Scene 2: The rest of the other apes takes 4 HOURS to become as smart.

    Scene 1: In the ape`s shelter the cages are hidden and the playground looks innocent and nice.
    Scene 2: The cages now surrounds the playground so Cesar can be encouraged by his similars.

    Scene 1:About 20 apes escapes from the shelter.
    Scene 2: More than 200 apes appears in the hill only few hour latter. (¿mitosis?)

    Scene 1: Tormented scientific resign and claims for the end of ALZ113 development.
    Scene 2: Same scientific has the lethal formula on his fridge.

    An so on...the speaking ape, the stupid police, the gorillas climbing threes...etc.
    NONSENSE.Just that simple.
    Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2011
    4
    While "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" is definitely entertaining for its hour and a half, it is far from a good film. The idea of the film is good - to give us a prelude to the story we all know rather well for over 3 decades now. In films like this one expects a lot of visual effects, dumb plot and paper-thin dialogue. For a change, this is different. The dialogue is not as bad as itWhile "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" is definitely entertaining for its hour and a half, it is far from a good film. The idea of the film is good - to give us a prelude to the story we all know rather well for over 3 decades now. In films like this one expects a lot of visual effects, dumb plot and paper-thin dialogue. For a change, this is different. The dialogue is not as bad as it could have been, which goes to the credit of the writers. That being said, it is not good either. The direction of the film is absolutely horrible, and Wyatt is obviously a rookie who should not have been given the lead with this. My biggest issue in the film was the straight-out ridiculous portrayal of the monkeys, especially Caesar. While he is supposed to be highly intelligent and human-like, the director has taken it a bit too far, that it becomes almost a mockery and, in a strange way, insulting to monkeys. Yes, I cannot believe I am writing this either, but I felt as if it was not a positive portrayal - not that it was meant to be anyway. Nonetheless, it made me rather uncomfortable and it's not because of the prospect of a monkey-led apocalypse. The acting is mediocre, despite the rather decent cast. The visual effects are good enough, and the monkeys are extremely credible. I am excited to see what will happen with the franchise, but I do hope that the director will change. It has set a decent standard for the next film, which can only help the sequel, since this film wasn't too bad, but it shouldn't be too hard to make a better follow up one. Let's see what happens! Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2013
    0
    Rise of the planet of the apes is a poor excuse for a film.
    As far as trying to give us an origin story to the planet of the apes franchise it does achieve this though it is completely unrealistic and even comical.
    The first half of the film has storyline and attempts to make the film seem acceptable, the second half is just a pure failure that only achieves to show off the CGI which is
    Rise of the planet of the apes is a poor excuse for a film.
    As far as trying to give us an origin story to the planet of the apes franchise it does achieve this though it is completely unrealistic and even comical.
    The first half of the film has storyline and attempts to make the film seem acceptable, the second half is just a pure failure that only achieves to show off the CGI which is of a below average quality anyway.
    Expand
  4. Aug 13, 2011
    4
    This origin story is bereft of character, soul and reasoning. Full of trite, fake and all too perfect moments. Years pass in seconds presumably because they couldn't figure out what to write. There is no substance to the characters while others are cliches or complete waste of acting skill. Perhaps slightly better than Marky Mark's Ape escapade, but that is not saying much.
  5. Sep 17, 2011
    4
    It's not a car wreck but then again its not good. Rise of the Planet of the Apes suffers from the fact it feels, acts and comes across as a fill in the gaps exercise. From the original Planet of the Apes you knew that man somehow changed and this film answered the how. However that is almost all it does. because it is a bridge it doesn't try very hard and almost everyone involved looksIt's not a car wreck but then again its not good. Rise of the Planet of the Apes suffers from the fact it feels, acts and comes across as a fill in the gaps exercise. From the original Planet of the Apes you knew that man somehow changed and this film answered the how. However that is almost all it does. because it is a bridge it doesn't try very hard and almost everyone involved looks bored as if someone forgot to tell them they needed to show some kind of emotion. If this is anything, its a way of spending a few hours relaxing your brain before you watch a film that gets you invested and thinking like say The Planet of the Apes......not the Tim Burton one. Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2013
    4
    Good picture but poor acting, cliché story, very predictable and not moving or eventful at all. There didn't seem to be any underlying story or character development. I didn't quite get what the film was trying to do; what was its message, its purpose, the bottom line etc. It's passable if you just want to watch casually as a time-killer, but it's not something exciting.
  7. Feb 23, 2013
    4
    Two stars is generous for this film! I didn't really want to see this overhyped prequel, but my friends felt otherwise, and we went. For the first 40 minutes, the movie actually has a plot, is on genre, and was surprisingly good! Unfortunately, it goes way downhill from there. As the apes get smarter, the reality of the film decreases, and gets to the point where it becomes laughable. ITwo stars is generous for this film! I didn't really want to see this overhyped prequel, but my friends felt otherwise, and we went. For the first 40 minutes, the movie actually has a plot, is on genre, and was surprisingly good! Unfortunately, it goes way downhill from there. As the apes get smarter, the reality of the film decreases, and gets to the point where it becomes laughable. I loved the first half, but by the end of the film, I couldn't wait for it to end. First time director, Rupert Wyatt, really doesn't know when enough is enough! Some of the scenes just went on and on, and of course, they were the more ridiculous ones. Andy Serkis, who played the main ape, did a nice job with what must have been a difficult role. I give him props for that, but it's a good performance wasted in a ridiculous film, that was much too long, one that eventually becomes a farce of itself. Seriously, ignore the hype and save your money, this film is a waste of time. Expand
  8. May 20, 2013
    0
    I liked Tim Burton's Planet of the Apes, but this, I didn't enjoyed at all. Tons of apes destroying cars, attacking people, not good.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Aug 29, 2011
    80
    By far the best spectacle movie of the season, and one of the few films to use digital technology for nuanced dramatic effect.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Aug 11, 2011
    40
    Hell, even Heston's performance elicited cheers back in the day. Franco, in a totally, tonally different role, but still the prime human here, is a pale shadow of the ruined future to come.
  3. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Aug 8, 2011
    80
    A worthy, exciting, emotional addition to the venerable monkey movie marathon. Apes will rise. Sequels are likely.