User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 775 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 775

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. BKM
    Feb 4, 2012
    5
    The visual effects are superb and Serkis' performance as Caesar is terrific, but the film is too one dimensional and simple minded to be truly engaging. None of the humans in the film are particularly interesting or complex so you find yourself rooting for the apes to do their thing which doesn't take place until the final act. Most perplexing is why Franco chose this film as a follow upThe visual effects are superb and Serkis' performance as Caesar is terrific, but the film is too one dimensional and simple minded to be truly engaging. None of the humans in the film are particularly interesting or complex so you find yourself rooting for the apes to do their thing which doesn't take place until the final act. Most perplexing is why Franco chose this film as a follow up to 127 hours. He basically serves as a piece of human scenery. Expand
  2. Aug 7, 2011
    6
    This prequel explains how the apes took over the earth, setting the stage for the original 1968 film. James Franco stars as a scientist testing a miracle cure on chimps until bad luck and mean humans upset everything. The plot is interesting and well told until the less-than-spectacular revolt. Disappointingly, the CGI apes are never convincing and that prevents full enjoyment.
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    6
    "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" is a good movie; it delivers the ending that creates a bridge to the 1970's "Planet of the Apes" using great CGI and Andy Serkis' powerful performance. However, like "X men: First Class", the movie precedes with a linear story that concentrates on heavy action clashed by two seperate sides (In this case, human v.s apes).
  4. Aug 5, 2011
    6
    Let me start out my ranting by saying I went into this movie expecting content overall content similar to that in the admittedly awesome trailer, and yes it does contain a few cool action scenes as most summer blockbusters do. HOWEVER THIS IS NOT THE MAJORITY OF THE MOVIE!!! out of close to two hours of screen time around eighty-five percent is dedicated to nothing more than some VERY SLOWLet me start out my ranting by saying I went into this movie expecting content overall content similar to that in the admittedly awesome trailer, and yes it does contain a few cool action scenes as most summer blockbusters do. HOWEVER THIS IS NOT THE MAJORITY OF THE MOVIE!!! out of close to two hours of screen time around eighty-five percent is dedicated to nothing more than some VERY SLOW moving drama. Not that I have anything against slow moving drama movies, as I enjoyed Pulp Fiction and The Tree Of Life, but if you are going to tackle drama you had at least better make it interesting. Save for a few key scenes, most of the movie feels predictable and uninspired, as in nothing really catches your interest until a certain series trademark line is dropped to briefly pull you back in and lose interest within a few seconds. As with the movie, the ending is shockingly lame and baits you toward a inevitable sequel that you would rather spend your money on. To me, the movie felt rushed and unpolished, falling into that yet-another-unremarkable-series-installment-that-began-with-a-classic movie cliche. The trailer and potential for this movie raise expectations that it doesn't quite live up to. In short: Has a couple cool action scenes, lots of references to past movies fans will enjoy, and remarkable CGI apes done by the same actor who did Gollum in LOTR. Unfortunately most of the movie consists of slow moving, predictable drama, and the ending leaves you feeling unsatisfied. It seems as even the combined forces of James Franco and Draco can't save this movie from feeling like a downer. However, series veterans and people viewing with the right expectations still might get a kick out of it. As for me, I just hope the next installment lives up to the trailer. Expand
  5. Aug 8, 2011
    5
    In the end, this film was too predictable and preposterous. There are a lot of eye rolling moments, such as the humans are all stupid, the corporation greedy at all costs, the animal shelter that abuses animals, shooting lots of apes with machine guns at close range never hitting any, an army of apes that appear apparently from nowhere, etc. etc. The film has nothing original to offer atIn the end, this film was too predictable and preposterous. There are a lot of eye rolling moments, such as the humans are all stupid, the corporation greedy at all costs, the animal shelter that abuses animals, shooting lots of apes with machine guns at close range never hitting any, an army of apes that appear apparently from nowhere, etc. etc. The film has nothing original to offer at all and is a conglomeration of many other films. If you're young and haven't seen as many movies as I have you will enjoy it a lot more than I did. The CGI and special effects are very good and there is no slow parts so it did hold my attention. Not a bad movie but made more for the action than the plausibility. Expand
  6. Aug 7, 2011
    6
    Actually not bad. Doesn't pretend to be anything more than it is - a sci-fi thriller with little resemblance to the real world. On that count it succeeds. I genuinely felt for Caesar, the head-ape, and that's testament to the motion capture acting and CGI . I was rooting for the apes the whole way through and in that sense its a little like watching a football match. Apes Vs Humans. YouActually not bad. Doesn't pretend to be anything more than it is - a sci-fi thriller with little resemblance to the real world. On that count it succeeds. I genuinely felt for Caesar, the head-ape, and that's testament to the motion capture acting and CGI . I was rooting for the apes the whole way through and in that sense its a little like watching a football match. Apes Vs Humans. You want to see your side fight with some heart, play to the whistle and come out on top, knowing that victory will be so sweet. But the thrill of the competition fades soon enough, at which point your attention turns to more important matters. Enjoyable enough, despite the cardboard acting of James Franco. Only downside is now I want a chimpanzee. Expand
  7. Aug 13, 2011
    5
    Another summer film that despite (or more likely, because of) massive CGI inspires shrugged shoulders. As it was, the CGI in this one was not quite good enough to allow one to forget it was there. I don't mind suspending disbelief if a film gives me a reason to, but this one doesn't. There are some gripping sequences, I admit, but they aren't in the service of anything larger. AndAnother summer film that despite (or more likely, because of) massive CGI inspires shrugged shoulders. As it was, the CGI in this one was not quite good enough to allow one to forget it was there. I don't mind suspending disbelief if a film gives me a reason to, but this one doesn't. There are some gripping sequences, I admit, but they aren't in the service of anything larger. And frankly, I don't think PotA is a great series to mine for remakes. The originals weren't that good, and they only became iconic because Charleton Heston was the worlds biggest canned ham. We were laughing at those films, not loving them. Expand
  8. Aug 11, 2011
    5
    Really? Rise of the Planet of the Apes. It is "Rise of the Planet of special effects". This movie is nothing more than an acceptable form of a fantasy movie. The official trailer was emotional and attention-grabbing, but the movie is not just good enough.
  9. Dec 1, 2011
    4
    While "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" is definitely entertaining for its hour and a half, it is far from a good film. The idea of the film is good - to give us a prelude to the story we all know rather well for over 3 decades now. In films like this one expects a lot of visual effects, dumb plot and paper-thin dialogue. For a change, this is different. The dialogue is not as bad as itWhile "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" is definitely entertaining for its hour and a half, it is far from a good film. The idea of the film is good - to give us a prelude to the story we all know rather well for over 3 decades now. In films like this one expects a lot of visual effects, dumb plot and paper-thin dialogue. For a change, this is different. The dialogue is not as bad as it could have been, which goes to the credit of the writers. That being said, it is not good either. The direction of the film is absolutely horrible, and Wyatt is obviously a rookie who should not have been given the lead with this. My biggest issue in the film was the straight-out ridiculous portrayal of the monkeys, especially Caesar. While he is supposed to be highly intelligent and human-like, the director has taken it a bit too far, that it becomes almost a mockery and, in a strange way, insulting to monkeys. Yes, I cannot believe I am writing this either, but I felt as if it was not a positive portrayal - not that it was meant to be anyway. Nonetheless, it made me rather uncomfortable and it's not because of the prospect of a monkey-led apocalypse. The acting is mediocre, despite the rather decent cast. The visual effects are good enough, and the monkeys are extremely credible. I am excited to see what will happen with the franchise, but I do hope that the director will change. It has set a decent standard for the next film, which can only help the sequel, since this film wasn't too bad, but it shouldn't be too hard to make a better follow up one. Let's see what happens! Expand
  10. Aug 7, 2011
    6
    An ultimately entertaining, if ludicrous, movie. It improves as the apes get smarter, because the humans seem like such dimwits. Much has been made of the CGI ape(s) and Sertis' role is immeasurable to making this work, but there is a major if unavoidable flaw and that is that the CGI ape is a human acting like an ape, which means we see human expressions and mannerisms. Just because anAn ultimately entertaining, if ludicrous, movie. It improves as the apes get smarter, because the humans seem like such dimwits. Much has been made of the CGI ape(s) and Sertis' role is immeasurable to making this work, but there is a major if unavoidable flaw and that is that the CGI ape is a human acting like an ape, which means we see human expressions and mannerisms. Just because an ape gets smarter does not mean it automatically takes on human gestures. That would take a huge evolutionary span. As great as the CGI is it's presence too often means that the intelligence of the movie suffers, and in the end we get a CGI spectacle but poor writing, plotting, and illogical presentation. Expand
  11. Aug 13, 2011
    4
    This origin story is bereft of character, soul and reasoning. Full of trite, fake and all too perfect moments. Years pass in seconds presumably because they couldn't figure out what to write. There is no substance to the characters while others are cliches or complete waste of acting skill. Perhaps slightly better than Marky Mark's Ape escapade, but that is not saying much.
  12. Aug 13, 2011
    6
    After a ridiculously slow start (with an out of place moral lesson about not changing nature) the film finally get rolling when Caesar ends up in lock down. And the rest is great. James Franco needs to be edited out and left on the cutting room floor with Jar-Jar Binks. Andy Serkis (as Caesar) is truly amazing. The apes deserve the planet.
  13. Sep 17, 2011
    4
    It's not a car wreck but then again its not good. Rise of the Planet of the Apes suffers from the fact it feels, acts and comes across as a fill in the gaps exercise. From the original Planet of the Apes you knew that man somehow changed and this film answered the how. However that is almost all it does. because it is a bridge it doesn't try very hard and almost everyone involved looksIt's not a car wreck but then again its not good. Rise of the Planet of the Apes suffers from the fact it feels, acts and comes across as a fill in the gaps exercise. From the original Planet of the Apes you knew that man somehow changed and this film answered the how. However that is almost all it does. because it is a bridge it doesn't try very hard and almost everyone involved looks bored as if someone forgot to tell them they needed to show some kind of emotion. If this is anything, its a way of spending a few hours relaxing your brain before you watch a film that gets you invested and thinking like say The Planet of the Apes......not the Tim Burton one. Expand
  14. Aug 14, 2011
    6
    An average film with a beautiful technical team to showcase a seamless interaction between humans and fake apes. While it wasn't a bad movie, it certainly doesn't deserve the accolades it is receiving.
  15. Aug 17, 2011
    6
    At various times through the movie, my 23 year old dauther, my wife and I in our 40's, and my 69 year old father yawned more frequently than I'd expect. The graphic effects are cool, very well done. It's an average summer big budget movie. Had nothing to do with the Planet of the Apes series, for those of you expecting that.
  16. Dec 29, 2011
    6
    There is nothing terribly good or bad about Rise of the Planet of the Apes. Nothing is really gained from it, but it isn't a total flop like most prequels are. The whole movie is just pretty... safe. Nothing new to see here. James Franco doesn't really shine here, though Andy Serkis impresses, like usual There are a lot of goofs and plotline holes throughout the movie, but it really justThere is nothing terribly good or bad about Rise of the Planet of the Apes. Nothing is really gained from it, but it isn't a total flop like most prequels are. The whole movie is just pretty... safe. Nothing new to see here. James Franco doesn't really shine here, though Andy Serkis impresses, like usual There are a lot of goofs and plotline holes throughout the movie, but it really just does its job as an escapist Hollywood blockbuster. Expand
  17. Sep 4, 2011
    6
    In 2009 it was Star Trek, in 2010 it was Inception and now in 2011 Rise of The Planet of the Apes conquers as the smartest, most thrilling blockbusters of the Summer (hands down). Though initially skeptical of the story, everything was well executed; particularly the means and reasons behind the apes' uprising; With a semblance of time and high shock value to boot. Through stylishIn 2009 it was Star Trek, in 2010 it was Inception and now in 2011 Rise of The Planet of the Apes conquers as the smartest, most thrilling blockbusters of the Summer (hands down). Though initially skeptical of the story, everything was well executed; particularly the means and reasons behind the apes' uprising; With a semblance of time and high shock value to boot. Through stylish direction and astonishing visual effects (which needs to win the VFX Oscar next year) Serkis' performance is excellently captured adding humanity and depth to our lead ape. The 2001 remake pales in comparison to this and the original films will always remain classics. This goes down as a satisfying reboot to a long running franchise and I'm eager to see what awaits in its future. Expand
  18. May 15, 2015
    5
    Highly mediocore cookie-cutter Hollywood movie; predictable scenes, cliche characters, CGI that is so smooth it looks unrealistic and to top it off: a justification of animal suffering. Watches like a Disney movie, just without the humour.

    The music was very, very annoying. I think they may have copied it from an Indiana Jones movie. All through-out I kept thinking: This movie would
    Highly mediocore cookie-cutter Hollywood movie; predictable scenes, cliche characters, CGI that is so smooth it looks unrealistic and to top it off: a justification of animal suffering. Watches like a Disney movie, just without the humour.

    The music was very, very annoying. I think they may have copied it from an Indiana Jones movie.

    All through-out I kept thinking: This movie would be better if it had a bunch of guys in ape suits running around.

    Beware: this movie assumes that you are below or at average intelligence.
    Expand
  19. Aug 15, 2011
    6
    It wasn't amazing, but it wasn't bad. Rise of the Planet of the Apes was still a good movie though. The plot was awesome, music was lifting, the effects were great but simple, the acting wasn't exactly amazing, I'd blame the director though. However, It still ended out to be entertaining enough to stay in your seats.
  20. Aug 28, 2011
    6
    The plot is good but the FXs are horrible. I cant understand why producers still working with WETA. They really sucks and destroy every movie they make (except Avatar, of course).
  21. Dec 20, 2013
    4
    Good picture but poor acting, cliché story, very predictable and not moving or eventful at all. There didn't seem to be any underlying story or character development. I didn't quite get what the film was trying to do; what was its message, its purpose, the bottom line etc. It's passable if you just want to watch casually as a time-killer, but it's not something exciting.
  22. Feb 23, 2013
    4
    Two stars is generous for this film! I didn't really want to see this overhyped prequel, but my friends felt otherwise, and we went. For the first 40 minutes, the movie actually has a plot, is on genre, and was surprisingly good! Unfortunately, it goes way downhill from there. As the apes get smarter, the reality of the film decreases, and gets to the point where it becomes laughable. ITwo stars is generous for this film! I didn't really want to see this overhyped prequel, but my friends felt otherwise, and we went. For the first 40 minutes, the movie actually has a plot, is on genre, and was surprisingly good! Unfortunately, it goes way downhill from there. As the apes get smarter, the reality of the film decreases, and gets to the point where it becomes laughable. I loved the first half, but by the end of the film, I couldn't wait for it to end. First time director, Rupert Wyatt, really doesn't know when enough is enough! Some of the scenes just went on and on, and of course, they were the more ridiculous ones. Andy Serkis, who played the main ape, did a nice job with what must have been a difficult role. I give him props for that, but it's a good performance wasted in a ridiculous film, that was much too long, one that eventually becomes a farce of itself. Seriously, ignore the hype and save your money, this film is a waste of time. Expand
  23. Jan 19, 2012
    6
    Not bad at all but not great either. Waaaay better than the 2001 attempted re-make! I also had a lot of "eye rolling" but, for me, it was the many references to the original by re-using character names, re-using memorable lines, etc. It looked like it was going to be SO good and the concept was great but, in the end, I was left a little disappointed.
  24. Mar 26, 2012
    6
    Planet of the apes is a pretty good with excellent visuals but i was watching the movie hoping the movie would evolve into something bigger but it never happnened and that was a little disappointing.
  25. Apr 7, 2014
    5
    I don't think any of these remakes will ever hold a candle to the originals or sit with modern audiences like they did in the 70s, but this was ok....not horrible, not great. I can't stand James Franco though. I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to watch this though. I was kinda forced to. Typical modern action/violence ensues...yawn.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Aug 29, 2011
    80
    By far the best spectacle movie of the season, and one of the few films to use digital technology for nuanced dramatic effect.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Aug 11, 2011
    40
    Hell, even Heston's performance elicited cheers back in the day. Franco, in a totally, tonally different role, but still the prime human here, is a pale shadow of the ruined future to come.
  3. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Aug 8, 2011
    80
    A worthy, exciting, emotional addition to the venerable monkey movie marathon. Apes will rise. Sequels are likely.