Rise of the Planet of the Apes Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 788 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Rise of the Apes is an origin story in the truest sense of the term. Set in present day San Francisco, the film is a reality-based cautionary tale, a science fiction/science fact blend, where man's own experiments with genetic engineering lead to the development of intelligence in apes andRise of the Apes is an origin story in the truest sense of the term. Set in present day San Francisco, the film is a reality-based cautionary tale, a science fiction/science fact blend, where man's own experiments with genetic engineering lead to the development of intelligence in apes and the onset of a war for supremacy. (20th Century Fox)
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Aug 4, 2011
    100
    As both a simian simile and a wonder of technology, Rise of the Planet of the Apes deserves to be in the company of the great original "Kong." This year's sixth "origins" story of a fantasy franchise (after The Green Hornet, Thor, X-Men: First Class, Green Lantern and Captain America: The First Avenger) is also the year's finest action movie.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Aug 3, 2011
    88
    Audacious, violent and disquieting, Rise of the Planet of the Apes is a summer sequel that's better than it has any right to be.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Aug 4, 2011
    80
    As tight as the parallel homo sapiens storylines are lax, Caesar's prison conversion to charismatic pan-ape revolutionist is near-silent filmmaking, with simple and precise images illustrating Caesar's General-like divining of personalities and his organization of a group from chaos to order. All of this is shown in absorbing, propulsive style, as Caesar broodingly bides his time like a king in disguise awaiting restoration.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Aug 3, 2011
    75
    The movie has its pleasures, although human intelligence is not one of them. Caesar, to begin with, is a wonderfully executed character, a product of special effects and a motion-capture performance by Andy Serkis, who earlier gave us Gollum in "Lord of the Rings."
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Aug 3, 2011
    70
    Thanks to stunning advances in performance capture technology, director Rupert Wyatt successfully ditches the cumbersome makeup appliances of past chapters, building the story around a cast of photoreal CG simians convincing enough to identify with as characters, rather than just special effects.
  6. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    Aug 6, 2011
    60
    To showcase the special effects, the filmmakers reportedly trimmed many of the dialogue-based scenes, thereby dulling the dramatic impact of a strong genre premise.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Aug 11, 2011
    40
    Hell, even Heston's performance elicited cheers back in the day. Franco, in a totally, tonally different role, but still the prime human here, is a pale shadow of the ruined future to come.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 220
  1. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    One of the best movies you'll see this year that isn't about comics!!! 10/10
    the movie is nice, it has some emotional parts, some funny parts,
    One of the best movies you'll see this year that isn't about comics!!! 10/10
    the movie is nice, it has some emotional parts, some funny parts, not boring at all, the action at the end is spot on. The movie is really great, the dialogue was nice, the characters were likeable except Draco Maulfoy. GO SEE IT NOW!
    Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    One word. Fantasticamazingingeniousexceptional. just frickan awesome. I definitely recommend everyone to see this prequel to the mark wahlbergOne word. Fantasticamazingingeniousexceptional. just frickan awesome. I definitely recommend everyone to see this prequel to the mark wahlberg blockbuster. Expand
  3. Jul 8, 2014
    9
    סרט ממש טוב שכדאי לראות, סרט מעניין מהדקה הראשונה ועד האחרונה. מספר בצורה ממש יפה את הסיפור של סיזר. מהרגע שהוא נולדסרט ממש טוב שכדאי לראות, סרט מעניין מהדקה הראשונה ועד האחרונה. מספר בצורה ממש יפה את הסיפור של סיזר. מהרגע שהוא נולד עד שהקין מרד Expand
  4. Aug 15, 2011
    8
    This movie was ok in my opinion but although I've never seen any of the Planet of the Apes films (besides this one of course), but I'm justThis movie was ok in my opinion but although I've never seen any of the Planet of the Apes films (besides this one of course), but I'm just wondering about the apes intentions. I mean are the apes really wanting to take over the earth or did they just want to be free because in the movie they weren't really trying to kill the humans or anything. Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    I found it interesting, It was fun watching him develop. I have watched the other part of the series, but you don`t need to, you can stillI found it interesting, It was fun watching him develop. I have watched the other part of the series, but you don`t need to, you can still enjoy this without watching any of others.It will probably make you interested in watching the others. I just wanted more from the ending, but I hope they make another! Expand
  6. Jan 14, 2013
    7
    Rise of the Planet of the Apes is a good movie. The build up of the primate explosion is great to watch and full of tension. The only realRise of the Planet of the Apes is a good movie. The build up of the primate explosion is great to watch and full of tension. The only real weak link here is James Franco, who I feel is pretty bad in everything he appears in. That casting annoyance aside, I had a lot of fun with this Planet of the Apes reboot. Expand
  7. May 20, 2013
    0
    I liked Tim Burton's Planet of the Apes, but this, I didn't enjoyed at all. Tons of apes destroying cars, attacking people, not good.

See all 220 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.
  2. DVD Release Calendar: December 2011

    DVD Release Calendar: December 2011 Image
    Published: November 29, 2011
    Get a full listing of every movie and TV show coming to DVD and Blu-ray in the next month. December's top releases include "The Hangover Part II," "Rise of the Planet of the Apes," and "Midnight in Paris," plus the first season of "Portlandia" and the second of "Archer."
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: June 24, 2011
    This week, catch the latest trailers for "Captain America," "Rise of the Planet of the Apes," "The Muppets," "Footloose," "Conan the Barbarian," and more. Plus find out about new films from Warren Beatty and Woody Allen, as well as all of the week's casting developments, project announcements, and release date changes.
  4. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: April 15, 2011
    Take a second look at this summer's "Cowboys and Aliens," watch brand-new trailers for "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" and Will Ferrell's telenovela spoof, get updates on "Man of Steel" and a remake of "They Live," and find out what films will be screening at Cannes.