Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 42
  2. Negative: 12 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Jun 12, 2012
    30
    A cinematic event. It's not every day, after all, that you get to see two great American traditions - guitar/bass/drums rock music and Tin Pan Alley musical theater - so thoroughly, mutually degraded.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jun 10, 2012
    50
    Absent the infectious live-audience energy of Chris D'Arienzo's legit hit, this affectionate glam-rock-a-thon reps a visually bland staging of frankly insipid material, never tapping into the raucous, go-for-broke energy that would spin the show's cliches into gold, let alone platinum.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jun 12, 2012
    60
    Fans of Moulin Rouge–esque repurposing will be in hog heaven. Everyone else will want to hop that midnight train going anywhere pronto.
  4. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Jun 10, 2012
    40
    He (Shankman) succeeds in draining most of the fun from a vehicle that was all about the winking humor of its flagrant cheesiness.
  5. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jun 13, 2012
    0
    I haven't seen a movie this bad since "Battlefield Earth" and "Howard the Duck."
  6. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 13, 2012
    67
    Rock of Ages is nothing but a good time and sometimes less, slogging through the knee-deep hoopla of 1980s nostalgia at a jukebox pace.
  7. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 13, 2012
    50
    Shankman gets enormously entertaining performances from Tom Cruise and Alec Baldwin, so much so that it's a problem: The movie's not about them.
  8. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jun 22, 2012
    50
    Why, as a patron of Rock of Ages, do I wish I had taken the precaution of entering the theater drunk? [25 June 2012, p.84]
  9. 30
    Rock of Ages withholds nothing and makes miracles seem cheap.
  10. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 15, 2012
    40
    Unfortunately, like the Poison song says -- and, in many ways, like the decade itself -- it ain't nothin' but a good time.
  11. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 15, 2012
    38
    Shankman's staging of the numbers - especially the leaden choreography and hackneyed locations such as the Hollywood sign - was far sloppier and less creative than for his last musical, the vastly superior "Hairspray."
  12. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Jun 14, 2012
    50
    Where this PG-rated adaptation of a hit Broadway show, adapted by Adam Shankman falls down is by being far too mild for its supposedly outrageous subject.
  13. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 14, 2012
    38
    Don't stop believing. Just avoid clichéd musicals that try to capture the anarchic spirit of rock with trite commercial re-treads.
  14. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Jun 14, 2012
    75
    Doesn't require anyone to love metal, or even like it. It only requires us to laugh at it - and other exemplars of bloated '80s pop, from Starship to Journey - and it does so with a campy and attitudinous spirit that's hard to resist.
  15. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Jun 14, 2012
    70
    Blessed with unstoppable energy, an undeniably bawdy sense of fun and Tom Cruise in backless leather pants, it takes songs you may never have loved and turns them into a musical that's easy to enjoy.
  16. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 14, 2012
    40
    What's not fine is the dead zone occupied by the monster of the piece, Tom Cruise's veteran rocker, Stacee Jaxx.
  17. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Jun 14, 2012
    25
    Oddly tone deaf.
  18. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 14, 2012
    20
    Doubtless, like The Producers, it will be adapted back into the theatre, some time in 2017, at which time it will be even more bland and tiring.
  19. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jun 14, 2012
    50
    It looks like Disneyland and sounds, well, like a bad Broadway musical, with all the power belting and jazz-hand choreography that implies.
  20. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 14, 2012
    38
    Rock of Ages gets too mired in plotty cul de sacs, manufactured setbacks and numbers that are all staged as show-stoppers. In the words of the Journey song that serves as a climactic singalong, it goes on and on and on and on.
  21. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 14, 2012
    70
    Seeing Tom Cruise swathed in leather pants and fake tattoos, as Axl Rose-style metal god Stacee Jaxx, is supposedly Rock of Ages' big draw. But the movie is much more fun when he's not around.
  22. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jun 14, 2012
    63
    A jukebox musical that's astonishingly cornball one minute, winkingly sardonic the next.
  23. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 14, 2012
    50
    The only edge in the movie is represented by Russell Brand, who actually lived the lifestyle, but he's muzzled by a bad Liverpool accent and a gay subplot that's as insincere as the swaggering anthems by fatuous hacks like Foreigner, Starship and Journey.
  24. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 14, 2012
    60
    Once you accept the utter and profound inconsequentiality of Rock of Ages, there's much to enjoy in it, from Zeta-Jones' capable hoofing (as a dramatic actress I find her deadeningly dull, but the woman can dance) to Giamatti's sly performance as a calculating, gray-ponytailed rock impresario.
  25. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 14, 2012
    75
    As a means of non-participatory time travel and non-intellectual stimulation, it's successful. Toe-tapping and eye-rolling are equally forgivable. Rock on.
  26. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 14, 2012
    50
    Warning: If you have an allergic reaction to songs like "Take Me Home Tonight" and "I Want to Know What Love Is," do not venture within 10 miles of this movie.
  27. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 14, 2012
    75
    The hugely enjoyable Rock of Ages is saved by its music, a tasty brew drawn from Def Leppard, Journey, Foreigner, Bon Jovi, REO Speedwagon, Pat Benatar, Twisted Sister, Poison and Whitesnake. It's near impossible not to rock along.
  28. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jun 14, 2012
    30
    Though it has moments where it rises to fun-awful status, with a hideous giddiness that turns moviegoers into rubbernecking motorists at a crash site, it's mostly just awful.
  29. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 14, 2012
    60
    Rock of Ages is an experience that will alternately leave you embarrassed and amused.
  30. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jun 14, 2012
    63
    When Rock of Ages remembers it's supposed to be a cartoon, it's a noisy, sweaty, giddy ball of fun. When it suddenly develops a conscience or tries to process a thought deeper than "I love rock 'n' roll," it trips over its own feet.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 53
  2. Negative: 12 out of 53
  1. Jun 15, 2012
    8
    First off, this movie can not be fairly rated. Let me explain why. If the critics were a group of people over 55 years old and under 30, theyFirst off, this movie can not be fairly rated. Let me explain why. If the critics were a group of people over 55 years old and under 30, they wont even get it. If you are viewers and over 55 and under 30, you wont get it either. You had to live the era. I'm 47 give or take a year. I lived it and give it a strong 8. If it would have been all original bands and singers it would be an 11, off the chart. I will admit you feel like a goof ball almost halfway through the movie for even still being there then, BAMB, it hit key points of my life and what that time period meant to me. There were only about 17 people at the midnite showing. 5 of them were dancing in the isles and happy even when the movie was over. Most all 17 people stayed even through the credits just to listen to the songs as the played out. As everyone left I found my self sitting there with a tear in my eye for my own personal reasons. Yeah it was made cheesy, that is how it was meant to be you bu** hole critics. You will love it or hate it. Depends on your life experiences. I guarantee your jaw will drop a few times and you will just have to see it to believe me. Viewers even clapped at the end of the movie which I haven't heard in awhile. If you are in your teens I even think you will like it. 55 and over dont vote so this movie can at least get a fair review. Your vote shouldn't count. To the rest of us, ROCK ON ! ! IT WILL NEVER DIE FOR US JUST LIKE OUR PARENTS MUSIC THEY LISTENED TO WILL NEVER DIE. Don't prejudge this movie Full Review »
  2. Jun 18, 2012
    2
    If I ever get diagnosed with a life threatening disease, I plan to watch this again because it felt like a lifetime had passed from beginningIf I ever get diagnosed with a life threatening disease, I plan to watch this again because it felt like a lifetime had passed from beginning to end. I was well into this era and scene when it happened. And I do love a good musical. That being said, other than some good moments from Cruise who usually bores me, this movie is a snooze fest. My kids took me for fathers day. I was looking forward to it. By about half way through I though the entire year of 1987 had taken place and we were all a little bit older. This movie is just flat out awful. A bore. And I know it's supposed to be cheesy. That was the ere and i get that. But this was crap. And my kids hated it too. So you have 2 separate generations of viewers that had 2 LOOOOOOONG hours stolen from them. Save yourself. Full Review »
  3. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    Wow, a new sorprise this year. I remember that when I watch the trailers of Rock of Ages I say: "I wanna watch this movie", but when theWow, a new sorprise this year. I remember that when I watch the trailers of Rock of Ages I say: "I wanna watch this movie", but when the critics appear I say: "oh no", after I decide watch the movie, and the ressult: Other great musical, have much incredible songs, the performances are cool, the character amazing. I think that Rock of Ages is the Footloose of this year. Full Review »