Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: December 20, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 361 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
306
Mixed:
34
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TokyochuchuDec 10, 2012
Who would have ever believed that Rocky VI would be good?! Oh how we laughed at Stallone's desperation! Then we saw the movie. Rocky Balboa is the best Rocky movie by FAR and is one of my favorite movies of all time. It makes me cry and feelWho would have ever believed that Rocky VI would be good?! Oh how we laughed at Stallone's desperation! Then we saw the movie. Rocky Balboa is the best Rocky movie by FAR and is one of my favorite movies of all time. It makes me cry and feel unbelievably happy every time I see it. Absolutely perfect! Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
CarlosG.Sep 10, 2007
This movie was good but as good as Rocky 4.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
akeemgJan 21, 2009
This movie was touching. I really love and enjoyed hearing those great little speeches that rocky made through out the movie,those are my favorite parts to watch.This is the best rocky movie in the entire series
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ThatCooperGuyJun 25, 2015
These movies have been very cluttered, but entertaining to a point. After IV, I seriously lost hope in the series. I couldn't even sit through V all the way, even Stallone said he dislikes V.

Luckily, this final Rocky movie is, well,
These movies have been very cluttered, but entertaining to a point. After IV, I seriously lost hope in the series. I couldn't even sit through V all the way, even Stallone said he dislikes V.

Luckily, this final Rocky movie is, well, incredible. Some may argue that it's melodramatic as hell, but it captures the spirit of the original Rocky and gives a satisfying ending to this disjointed franchise.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MarioG.Jan 9, 2007
Just a few words to describe this movie: wonderful, perfect, fantastic. It has been the first film in my life that has made me crying! Thank you, Italian Stallion!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkB.Feb 6, 2007
What is it about Sylvester Stallone that inspires such vehement bouts of schaudenfraude in otherwise rational people? A fellow contestant on a movie-related TV game show I once appeared on launched into a gleefully profanity-laced tirade What is it about Sylvester Stallone that inspires such vehement bouts of schaudenfraude in otherwise rational people? A fellow contestant on a movie-related TV game show I once appeared on launched into a gleefully profanity-laced tirade about what a 'loser' he thought Stallone was in his late career; Razzie award honcho John Wilson seemed a bit disappointed that Stallone's latest installment in the Rocky saga was actually quite good (and therefore ineligible for Razzie award consideration). Perhaps it has something to do with even his supporters' general assumption that since his first big success with the original Rocky back in 1976, the size of his ego has ballooned past that of his famous muscles, and that he tends to assume that we're all as interested in him as he is in himself. (I mean, who wants to hear his recent admission that he gave up sex while filming Rocky Balboa to get the same edge that professional boxers used to similarly abstain in order to give themselves? I don't WANT mental pictures of Stallone pouring ice water down his pants a la Jake La Motta in Raging Bull. TMI, Sly!) Since Stallone has always seen himself as Rocky and vice versa, and the fortunes of both larger-than-life figures have run parallel, it's not surprising that Stallone's many personal and professional disappointments as of late (an eponymous magazine that only ran 3 issues, a boxing-related reality TV series that was irreparably crippled by the suicide of one of the contestants, the failure of Cop Land to regain him Serious Acting Cred, and the fact that his biggest box office hit in the last 10 years was--gulp!--Spy Kids 3-D: Game Over) undoubtedly spill into this chapter. The result is that Stallone admirably humbles himself and his character, scaling down from the overblown tendencies of some of the previous chapters and suffusing Rocky Balboa with more tenderness, humanity and heart--the qualities that made Rocky an iconic figure to begin with--than we've seen since he took on Apollo Creed for the very first time so long ago. In fact, after the sincere but overwrought Rocky II, the entertaining if synthetic III, the fraudulent IV and the completely forgettable V, this is not only the best of the Rocky sequels by far, but the ONLY truly essential one. Stallone, like Balboa, goes back to the original's roots, remembering that it was a character study first, a love story second and a boxing movie third, and that our emotional investment in the first two was what made the third so effective. Talia Shire, as now-deceased wife and love of his life Adrian, may not show up here except in photos and flashbacks, but her presence is so powerful that it compares with Hitchcock's Rebecca in terms of characters who absolutely dominate the proceedings while not actually being around to actively participate in them. (That's why the much-discussed friendship that Rocky develops with a minor character from the first film, played here by Geraldine Hughes, is exactly that: a friendship. No less and no more. Another look at this movie's final scene establishes that.) Stallone also remembers that the best Rocky movies, like the best Disney animated features and the best James Bond films, feature the best antagonists, and here for the first time since Apollo, Rocky's opponent (Antonio Tarver) is not a cardboard cartoon villain but a complex, multidimensional individual with insecurities and vulnerabilities. (And let's have no more carping about how unconvincing and improbable the plot device that gets them together in the ring--a computer-simulated fantasy fight--may be. It's no more so than in Numero Uno, and anyway, when you're enjoying the ride this much, why grouse if the ignition initially sputters a little?) It's just one more indication of how much of a joy Rocky Balboa is to watch that the familiar musical theme by Bill Conti (best known in recent years as "Stickman", the Academy Awards conductor that Julia Roberts chewed out onstage for trying to attenuate her acceptance speech, so clearly this represents a comeback for HIM, too) once again elicits genuine excitement and anticipation rather than being an easy punchline. But then Rocky Balboa is so good at what it's doing that it inspires even those of us who have kept our esthetic distance from Stallone (and with Cobra, Stop or My Mom Will Shoot and Driven on his resume, it's safe to say that this covers nearly all of us at several points) for the first time in easily retrievable memory, to actually want a piece of the Rock. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulL.Jan 3, 2007
Rocky Balboa succeeds because it was a movie that needed to be made. Unlike the previous 3 movies, this isn't a sequel for sequel's sake, it's a conclusion to a story that needed a good conclusion. Stallone and Balboa are both Rocky Balboa succeeds because it was a movie that needed to be made. Unlike the previous 3 movies, this isn't a sequel for sequel's sake, it's a conclusion to a story that needed a good conclusion. Stallone and Balboa are both perenial underdogs that people love to see succeed since we know they can. Neither dissappoint this time around and it makes you feel great for both the filmmaker and the character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FranciscoB.Jan 4, 2007
I think this is a wonderful movie, it is going beyond a boxing exhibition. It is about the challenges an ordinary person can run into his/her life. Characters are well defined, I think this is a two thumbs up movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KurtM.Feb 12, 2007
Great movie. Awe inspiring. No fancy things about. It was convincing especially with age and time. Basically it stuck to the core elements of what made the original great. A hero faced against the odds, to rise above them a win with your heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TianaB.Feb 20, 2007
Awesome movie! Brought me back to when I just turned 16 and saw the first Rocky. It teaches about growing older, grief, loss, kindness, compassion and courage...It Ain't Over Till It's Over! Athough Adrian wasn't in this Awesome movie! Brought me back to when I just turned 16 and saw the first Rocky. It teaches about growing older, grief, loss, kindness, compassion and courage...It Ain't Over Till It's Over! Athough Adrian wasn't in this movie, she was its heart and soul. Yo, Rocky and Adrian, you did it again!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
adieb.Aug 1, 2007
very good..it brings back the glory of the first film.many nostalgic scene and places,the pet shop adrian used to work,the city hall stairs, even the boxing gym where rocky used to train.when i saw rocky's mummbling and his gesture just very good..it brings back the glory of the first film.many nostalgic scene and places,the pet shop adrian used to work,the city hall stairs, even the boxing gym where rocky used to train.when i saw rocky's mummbling and his gesture just like in the first film,man it was an amazing acting,perfect actually, to brought back the character he created almost 30 years ago and he didn't forgot.at first i though its gonna be a crappy low budget sequel like some other movies.but its nowhere near that category..it truly is a great movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lolanAug 3, 2008
Joe is an amazing fighter, has a bright future ahead of him hope to see him in many more pictures.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobHuttDec 21, 2006
There are very few movies that could move me to tears but this one did. The other was Field of Dreams when Kevin Costner said, "Dad, do you want to have a catch?" Rocky Balboa is the fitting ending to a saga that started over 30 years ago. There are very few movies that could move me to tears but this one did. The other was Field of Dreams when Kevin Costner said, "Dad, do you want to have a catch?" Rocky Balboa is the fitting ending to a saga that started over 30 years ago. It turned an unknown actor who share the same philosophy as his character on the screen Rocky into the American symbol of never-give-up the good fight. The message has always been that it's better to try and fail then not to try at all. And Rocky connects again with a knockout blow that will stand the test of time. This movie is truly a holiday gift and we should all thank Sylvester Stallone for allowing us a peek into his alter ego one last time. Go see and enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidDec 21, 2006
The emotion of the movie reaches to the sky.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyDec 20, 2006
Rocky is back and just in time. I just saw it in a packed theater and his human indominable spirit remains as young as ever. Rocky is humble and looking back over the years we realize what a treasure this character truly is. Go see and enjoy!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandyDec 23, 2006
The professional critics are so hardened in their ways that they don't recognize genius when it hits them right between the eyes. Read what WE the people have to say about Rocky Balboa. This is a LOVEFEST for a character that all of us The professional critics are so hardened in their ways that they don't recognize genius when it hits them right between the eyes. Read what WE the people have to say about Rocky Balboa. This is a LOVEFEST for a character that all of us Americans have come to know, respect, and love for the past 30 years. He symbolizes the American Dream in that we should never give up. As for Paulie and Rocky they are true to their characters and play their final role in this series straight up and not over the top. As we watch one can't help but think of our own lives and draw inspiration from Sylvester Stallone on the silver screen. After all when Sly wrote this story Hollywood did not want him as Rocky as he was a nobody. Sly would not take NO for an anwser and persevered in real life and the rest is history. When you see this movie it is almost like a watching a loved one heading off into the final chapter of his life. Thank you Rocky because you will live on with honor for all eterity. This is a must see movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyG.Dec 24, 2006
Cables your are entitled to your opinion but I have to disagree with you. People like you with ice water flowing through your veins are incapable of understanding the raw emotion that Rocky Balboa generates. Do you really think that you can Cables your are entitled to your opinion but I have to disagree with you. People like you with ice water flowing through your veins are incapable of understanding the raw emotion that Rocky Balboa generates. Do you really think that you can be correct and 97% of your fellow reveiwers are wrong. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy the movie but don't insult a fantastic movie because of your own insecurites. This is a work of genius and word of mouth and at the box office will prove this review correct. This is a must see movie for anyone who still has dreams and ambition. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustinD.Dec 20, 2006
Rocky Balboa may not be the greatest movie to ever hit the silver screen, but it does delivers its message with full impact. Stallone gives us a fitting ending to the Rocky series that it has deserved for so long. This is a movie that any Rocky Balboa may not be the greatest movie to ever hit the silver screen, but it does delivers its message with full impact. Stallone gives us a fitting ending to the Rocky series that it has deserved for so long. This is a movie that any genration can enjoy. Its impossible to leave this movie in a bad mood...period. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobinM.Jan 10, 2007
This movie was simply awsome. Stallone was excellent and the story was touching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DelanoP.Jan 1, 2007
this is the first boxing movie I've ever seen that features HBO's PPV boxing. it made it seem almost real. a must see in my book. And yes it is another classic that will be played again and again in my house.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DeniseT.Jan 1, 2007
It was a pretty good movie but it wasn't as good as the original Rocky. It was pretty sad that his wife died I wasn't expecting that at all. I give it to Sylvester Stallone for getting back in the ring though. If I had my pick of It was a pretty good movie but it wasn't as good as the original Rocky. It was pretty sad that his wife died I wasn't expecting that at all. I give it to Sylvester Stallone for getting back in the ring though. If I had my pick of the best it would be Rocky V. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarmineD.Jan 15, 2007
I think this was an excellent MOVIE! The story was great. It was not your typical Rocky, action-packed experience. It was real, it was human. Simply a person trying to get through some of life's curveballs thrown at him, and someone not I think this was an excellent MOVIE! The story was great. It was not your typical Rocky, action-packed experience. It was real, it was human. Simply a person trying to get through some of life's curveballs thrown at him, and someone not wanting to be told how their life should be lived just because they've reached a certain point in it. The movie comes close to the original, and that says a lot for the 6th movie in a saga. GO GET'EM ROCK!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrishM.Jan 15, 2007
I couldn't believe what I was seeing! Sly looked just as good (or better) than he looked 30 years ago! Wonderfully written script! Great acting! Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobbyB.Jan 19, 2007
The Rocky series is one of the best of all time. I didn't like the way that Part 5 ended though and I've been waiting for 6 to come out for like 15 years. Thank you Sly. Thank you for giving one of the best series of movies a The Rocky series is one of the best of all time. I didn't like the way that Part 5 ended though and I've been waiting for 6 to come out for like 15 years. Thank you Sly. Thank you for giving one of the best series of movies a better ending. I grew up on Rocky and his story and this was a perfect ending to a true American Icon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnujV.Jan 2, 2007
the story of the underdog boxer is highly inspiring to ones who want to take the film in the way they are supposed to, the way stallone would have liked each of his film to have been percieved.. critics beat every story down and the story of the underdog boxer is highly inspiring to ones who want to take the film in the way they are supposed to, the way stallone would have liked each of his film to have been percieved.. critics beat every story down and sensationalize minor flaws, where i personally believe they should highlight more on the principles the movie is based on rather than jus browbeat irrelevant stuff.. the world needs optimism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyK.Jan 3, 2007
I was pleased with the way Stallone went about this movie. Its extremely heartfelt and uplifting. I don't think he could have written it any better. I put this one up there in the top 2 Rocky movies. All in all I was very pleased with I was pleased with the way Stallone went about this movie. Its extremely heartfelt and uplifting. I don't think he could have written it any better. I put this one up there in the top 2 Rocky movies. All in all I was very pleased with this movie. I advise everyone to go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimC.Jan 4, 2007
Superb, heartfelt and perfect. This film allows the audience to relate to Rocky at this stage in his life, and the results are truly inspiring. There are not many movies that have been made in recent memory where the director has a true love Superb, heartfelt and perfect. This film allows the audience to relate to Rocky at this stage in his life, and the results are truly inspiring. There are not many movies that have been made in recent memory where the director has a true love of the characters, and this shines through in the movie. More than a movie about fighting and training, this final installment in the Rocky series transcends life, and reaches out to the audience with raw emotion. The music is perfect, and all characters works so well together especially Rocky and Paulie. The perfect final installment to the orginal Rocky and Rocky Two. Thank you to Mr. Stallone for making this movie, and the inspiration you have provided to audience members to take the hits in life and to keep moving forward. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffYJan 4, 2007
After much anticipation, the wait is finally over. Despite heavy scrutiny from everyone around me including most of my friends and my coworkers who deemed my excited behavior childish, I went to watch Rocky Balboa on opening night with the After much anticipation, the wait is finally over. Despite heavy scrutiny from everyone around me including most of my friends and my coworkers who deemed my excited behavior childish, I went to watch Rocky Balboa on opening night with the only two people who were excited as I was - my brother and one of my coworkers. Before I get deeper into my reactions of Sly's latest installation into the beloved Rocky series, let it be known that whatever I am about to write, I do not intend it as a review as I believe the Rocky series have gone beyond that which needs a movie "review". To me, and hopefully many others as well, Rocky has reached an echelon in it's own class. There are sequels, and there are trilogy's, but the Rocky series has impounded and unsurmountable amount of impact and influence into the lives of those who've kept faith in a character whom I feel is the truest hero that represents the meaning of courage, love and moral values. How many Hollywood heroes can you say that about? The Rocky series, at its core, is not about beating up bad guys, swash buckling adventure, or saving the world. It's a story about Rocky Balboa, a man with a big heart who goes through the ups and down of life in its most extreme. Boxing was always just a tool to illustrate the trials of life that he goes through. All throughout the series, Rocky never fights anyone in particular. In actuality, every one of his fights were internal. In the first Rocky, he "goes the distance" with Apollo Creed, but it was never about winning the fight. He was given an opportunity and the fight was about how far he could take himself. In essence, he was fighting himself. This underlying motif manifests itself best in the first Rocky and the latest, "Rocky Balboa". It does seem to get less apparent as the movies evolves from an Oscar winning drama into quintessential hollywood flicks, but it never really disappears. Some may criticize the series as getting lost from its original meaning, detracting to senseless action and formulaic plots. I would agree to a point, but I am not complaining at all! In fact, I applaud it for what it has become. As extensions of the original, the series has brought us the most memorable moments in film history. Who could forget the fight with Mr. T ("dead meat") in Rocky III or the big Russian dude, Drago ("I will break you") in Rocky IV. Nonetheless, beyond the adrenaline filled fight scenes and cool one-liners, these sequels still contained the core value that brought alive the character Rocky and the unforgiving world that is created. Time and time, Rocky is tested and the result is that he has to fight, but it was never ever for himself in the selfish sense. After going the distance, he fights for Adrian in the second (giving her a better life), and then he fights for Micky (but not for vengeance), and in the fourth he fights for Apollo who stood for America (again not for vengeance). Actually, my man Bill Simmons believes Rocky single handedly ended the Cold War! Like Bill Simmons, I don't know how many times I've watched Rocky. You can not deny the characters' influence over our lucky generation. Rocky Balboa is by far a much better role model than the so-called heroes on film these days. [***SPOILER***] It just brings you to tears to see Rocky after all these years and long after Adrian's death, spending time in front of her grave and revisiting places they've been together. That is true love - undying love. "Adrian is dead, but she never is in here". This concept of love, I believe, is dead in the new generation brought up by MTV. Rocky stands for those heroes, famous athletes, or celebrities who are as nice in person as he is in the media (if there are any). A prime example of this kind of moral value that is lacking in not only movie heroes, but professional athletes and celebrities alike, is a scene in Rocky Balboa where Rocky goes and just casually changes the light bulb for a friend he just met. This kind of gesture is subtle but it is nonetheless powerful and reminds us that nice guys do exist. We are living in a generation of people who are more realists than idealists who accept "darker" versions of classic heroes like Batman and James Bond because to them it seems more "believable". It is nice to be reminded that throughout all these years and even though times have changed, Rocky still retains his high moral esteem. Rocky is still Rocky. The strength of his character has been tested, having been pinned against multiple opponents and the quality of his character comes in full breadth in "Rocky Balboa" and for one last time, it reminds us of an old belief that has been long lost. Thank you Mr. Stallone. You have truly created an unforgettable character and an epic story that should be retold with every generation so that his values can be passed throughout time. Just don't be like George Lucas and re-release the series with inserted scenes and computer graphics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DL.Feb 23, 2007
Fantastic. A truly inspiring story and a great end to the series. Stallone at his very best. This movie was more about the character and emotion rather than an action fest...Truly a triumph!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LarryB.Mar 21, 2007
In preparation to see this movie I watched all five of the previous movies over the course of a couple of days, and I'd have to say that aside from the Oscar-nominated original, Rocky Balboa is the best in the series. Stallone gives his In preparation to see this movie I watched all five of the previous movies over the course of a couple of days, and I'd have to say that aside from the Oscar-nominated original, Rocky Balboa is the best in the series. Stallone gives his best and most nuanced performance of the series, going back to some of the more interesting aspects of his character from the first movie. When I first heard the movie was being made, I thought it was a horrible idea but figured I'd see it for laughs. However, it was a legitimately good and inspiring movie that is much lower on cheesiness and implausibility than I had expected. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillK.Apr 2, 2007
I was shocked at how good this was. The best I've seen in a long time. Its like night and day from Rocky V. The acting in this one is great, the story is great and really inspires. It will almost make you irrationally want to see yet I was shocked at how good this was. The best I've seen in a long time. Its like night and day from Rocky V. The acting in this one is great, the story is great and really inspires. It will almost make you irrationally want to see yet another sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeekApr 6, 2007
I remember when I saw the first 'Rocky' I thought it was 'pretty good' but not great. I actually liked Rocky 2 better. I thought the rest of the sequel were ridiculous. I thought 'Rocky Balboa' was absolutely I remember when I saw the first 'Rocky' I thought it was 'pretty good' but not great. I actually liked Rocky 2 better. I thought the rest of the sequel were ridiculous. I thought 'Rocky Balboa' was absolutely outstanding!!! I cried like a child and thought it was BY FAR the best Rocky of all and the others didn't come close. Obviously Rocky I made the last Rocky what it was. Without Rocky I this last fillm would not have worked. Rocky Balboa is literally a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BWilliamsFeb 18, 2008
I was very impressed that they displayed his physical vurnerabilities because it shows a link to reality, it was nice to show the true spirit of Rocky come out and to those who think Stallone is a bad actor, the bloke always moved me as this I was very impressed that they displayed his physical vurnerabilities because it shows a link to reality, it was nice to show the true spirit of Rocky come out and to those who think Stallone is a bad actor, the bloke always moved me as this character and makes you want to believe hes real and makes you get behind him and theres no better credibility for acting than this. It was also good to see he proved his point without winning. If he won it would have given us a predictable less satisfying ending than the way the man won our respects without winning the match. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonP.Apr 7, 2008
Great Movie, I enjoyed how they focused on the man!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MYOWNCRITICDec 15, 2006
I have been a huge Rocky fan for years and although Stallone did not like the way V ended, I loved the film, but it was smart and justified in making another. Everyone thinks it's for the title that I have talked to. WRONG! Stallone I have been a huge Rocky fan for years and although Stallone did not like the way V ended, I loved the film, but it was smart and justified in making another. Everyone thinks it's for the title that I have talked to. WRONG! Stallone needs money. WRONG! It's about heart, getting a second chance, an opportunity, and that you are never to old to climb the highest mountain if that is what you believe. There is no can't. If you think you are to old, then you are. If you act young and stay young, you can accomplish anything. That is what this movie is all about. Go ahead and crack the jokes, but Rocky is a legend, an icon, a historic figure that will give everyone hope that it's never over till' it's over. If anyone gives this lower than a 9, then do what you normally do... sit on the sofa, eat munchies and drink soda and think that the world always owes you everything. Go out and use Rocky as your idol. He will get you far if you believe in him. A perfect ending to a classic saga. I LOVE YOU ROCKO!!!!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BlancoA.Dec 21, 2006
It's a decent movie, but as a boxing fan, the dramatized finale doesn't really do it for me any more. However, the character of "rocky" (which I forgot wasn't just sly in a hat) was fun to see again. And the movitvational It's a decent movie, but as a boxing fan, the dramatized finale doesn't really do it for me any more. However, the character of "rocky" (which I forgot wasn't just sly in a hat) was fun to see again. And the movitvational speech by his trainer, Tony "Duke" Burton was worth the price of admission by itself. It's just a small, nice film. You'll enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GarrisonE.Dec 21, 2006
One of the best Rocky movies!! Great story and and even greater ending. Only a few complaints;1) I wish the training sequence was longer. In past movies it was some of the best. 2)The night before the fight should have been longer, and more One of the best Rocky movies!! Great story and and even greater ending. Only a few complaints;1) I wish the training sequence was longer. In past movies it was some of the best. 2)The night before the fight should have been longer, and more heart felt. Like in Rocky I, the night before the fight is a powerful time, and it seems Rocky is reflecting, but then lil Marie comes in and thats it. Would have liked that part to be longer. Other than that, it was one of the best movies I have seen in a long time!!! Thank you Mr. Stallone!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WernerL.Dec 21, 2006
I watched this movie tonight, and I couldn't believe it, but the theatre was just PACKED. It was truly an experience, the crowd was clapping and was right in to it. it was a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
L.F.Dec 20, 2006
Great flick. It had enough of the previous rocky's to keep the nestalgia and flowed well enough that even if you've never seen a Rocky before, you know what;s going on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricR.Dec 20, 2006
For Fans of the series you will cheer the latest Rocky film. I had heard someone say this is Stallones proper farewell to the character and he pulls it off with only minor complaints from this fan. Don't listen to those who will say the For Fans of the series you will cheer the latest Rocky film. I had heard someone say this is Stallones proper farewell to the character and he pulls it off with only minor complaints from this fan. Don't listen to those who will say the series is tired and worn. Go Rock!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhiladelphiaMuseumofArtDec 20, 2006
Let me say that the fact that this movie was even made is a miracle of "Balbo-ic" proportions. I never thought I would feel Rocky on my steps again but that is the true magic of one of the greatest story's ever told in cinematic Let me say that the fact that this movie was even made is a miracle of "Balbo-ic" proportions. I never thought I would feel Rocky on my steps again but that is the true magic of one of the greatest story's ever told in cinematic history. It is so very American with it's simple "work hard, make something of yourself and you can be successful" message. Sylvester Stallone has earned his place among the world's best actors/directors with just this one story...the story of Rocky. Generations to come will learn of this movie franchise as they did the Godfather and I think they will embrace it even more so. Movies one and six are really the only ones that you need to know this story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlmarH.Dec 20, 2006
[***possible SPOILERS***] So I recently went to see a pre-screening in the UK and... Despite tickets getting mailed out too late the screening was pretty full and it was a large auditorium. I recognized a good few faces
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisH.Dec 25, 2006
Excellent! Well done Stalone for putting things right in the Rocky story! Fingers crossed he does the same with the new Rambo film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HoraceDec 25, 2006
Rocky is just a feel good movie which shows where he's been and where he is today. And he goes out on his own terms in the same manner that all of us can only hope to someday. This is a holiday deligt for all Rocky fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LarryBDec 26, 2006
Great feel good movie..film was more about a man's struggles than the fight.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JenniferDec 26, 2006
I agree with most of the reviews below. Seeing this installment of Rocky was like catching up with an old friend. I think true Rocky fans will love the film. I mean, we have been involved with Rocky for years now. He is part of the family. I I agree with most of the reviews below. Seeing this installment of Rocky was like catching up with an old friend. I think true Rocky fans will love the film. I mean, we have been involved with Rocky for years now. He is part of the family. I will say there is a scene in the movie that is gut wrenching. Absolutely tears at your heart. Overall, well done. The movie blends in well with the previous five while keeping up the the times and boxing as it is today. I believe Rocky fans will come out to see the movie and feel the magic one last time. All Rocky fans should make sure they come out for this one. It will be worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayDeeDec 27, 2006
"Rocky Balboa" ends the series the best way possible: showing just how human we all are~even Rocky! I give Stallone many kudos for his writing. His acting is surprisingly wonderful! And, he was certainly up to the challenge of directing this "Rocky Balboa" ends the series the best way possible: showing just how human we all are~even Rocky! I give Stallone many kudos for his writing. His acting is surprisingly wonderful! And, he was certainly up to the challenge of directing this movie as well. Hats off to ya Rocky/Stallone! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClaudioFJan 15, 2007
Touching story, this movie mixed up all the ingredients that a great movie can have... Stallone was just great! Now I feel real sad that the Rocky Series are over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JRockJan 17, 2007
It was an awesome movie. [***SPOILER***] It was cool when Rocky got punched in the ribs by Mason and he broke his hand (Rocky has abs of steel).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveR.Jan 2, 2007
Since when did Drago have a personality, or did I miss something in Rocky IV? Come on, dude. If you're going to make an argument, at least make an intelligtent one. For my part, I felt that Rocky Balboa was the best Rocky movie since Since when did Drago have a personality, or did I miss something in Rocky IV? Come on, dude. If you're going to make an argument, at least make an intelligtent one. For my part, I felt that Rocky Balboa was the best Rocky movie since Rocky I. This was a classy, well made, well acted film. It wasn't overly sentimental, it wasn't overly preachy. It is an audience movie, more than anything. During Rocky's rousing exchangees with Paulie in the meat plant and his son outside Adrian's restaurant, as well as with the boxing federation, brought passionate reactions from the audience both times I saw the movie. They were incredible moments. The training montage...it was electric when that familiar score came back on, and the fight was realistically done with tension and drama. The movie was excellent. It was heartbreaking, sweet, and electrifying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnA.Jan 21, 2007
Everything from Punchie to a drunk out of work Paulie was perfect in this movie. If Rocky would have disowned his son and adopted Steps this movie would have been the best of the year. And the ending wasn't that great either. Maybe Everything from Punchie to a drunk out of work Paulie was perfect in this movie. If Rocky would have disowned his son and adopted Steps this movie would have been the best of the year. And the ending wasn't that great either. Maybe Rocky 7 will be better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CathyA.Jan 2, 2007
I thought the Rocky movie was great. It touched me just like the first one does. It will have you on your feet shouting for Rocky. Very well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnB.Jan 7, 2007
This movie wasn't to continue. It was to nicely conclude the series. Best movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeanoS.Feb 15, 2007
The fight physical side wasn't as good as previous movies but the emotional side was spot on. It tied all the loose ends up and really works well with the previous rocky's, the training scene was a little cheesy but because the The fight physical side wasn't as good as previous movies but the emotional side was spot on. It tied all the loose ends up and really works well with the previous rocky's, the training scene was a little cheesy but because the film was based around the character instead of the final fight it didnt matter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TetoMar 22, 2007
Since the original in 1977 this is the best Rocky's sequel...emotive and inspiring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewS.Mar 23, 2007
I smiled from beginning to end. Rocky Balboa is the perfect coda to our greatest modern fairytale. This movie channels the best of the previous installments, particularly the original. Two or three awful (but small) supporting performances I smiled from beginning to end. Rocky Balboa is the perfect coda to our greatest modern fairytale. This movie channels the best of the previous installments, particularly the original. Two or three awful (but small) supporting performances and a slow buildup didn't damper my enthusiasm. My favorite movie of 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeffF.Mar 28, 2007
I just wish Stallone had written some real dialogue insted of the nonstop speeches.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RafaelO.Mar 6, 2007
Its surprising, this realistic drama definitely punched a lot of reviewers from the last Rocky
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamB.Apr 8, 2007
When I first heard about a new Rocky movie, I was screaming "No no no! Don't ruin it even further!" As you all know, "Rocky V" was a terrible mess that ended a great saga. Putting another un-needed sequel into the series is a bad idea. When I first heard about a new Rocky movie, I was screaming "No no no! Don't ruin it even further!" As you all know, "Rocky V" was a terrible mess that ended a great saga. Putting another un-needed sequel into the series is a bad idea. But is it? "Rocky Balboa" somehow not only redeemed Stallone for his awful fifth movie, but it is now the best movie of 2006. Rocky is back, only now working as a manager of a small town resteraunt. All he has left are his stories and Pauly. A lot of drama in this film is in the death of Rocky's beloved wife Adrian. It's so well done that your heart breaks. It seems that all movies are mentioned but the fifth one(wonder why.....), so it's not like it's some sort of remake or re-interpretation like everyone mistakingly thought it would be. Now Rocky must take on Mason "The Line" Dixon, currently one of the nastiest boxers active to redeem himself and show the world that he's still got it. No matter what, he does. The final fight is fantastic, and the acting is top notch. Stallone truly taps into the character that is Rocky. By the end, you WANT Rocky to win. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisD.Jun 10, 2007
What an awesome end to the series. Im a huge Stallone fan once again - who would have thought! There's so much drama and real emotion in this film, and the training and fight sequences are both believable and incredible. I was on the What an awesome end to the series. Im a huge Stallone fan once again - who would have thought! There's so much drama and real emotion in this film, and the training and fight sequences are both believable and incredible. I was on the edge of my seat, nearly in tears - I couldnt believe how well done this flick was. Rocky Balboa the character is an American icon that will live on for generations thanks to Sly Stallone's vision - well done!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkH.Jun 15, 2007
It benefits from low expectations and suffers from too much schmalz. But in the end, Stallone's return to the old formula that worked so well is a far more fitting end than Rocky V (and a tribute to steroids). Great touch using real It benefits from low expectations and suffers from too much schmalz. But in the end, Stallone's return to the old formula that worked so well is a far more fitting end than Rocky V (and a tribute to steroids). Great touch using real announcers and fighters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerG.Jan 27, 2008
A great ending to a great series that will live on for generations. Rocky Balboa is an excellent movie with something for everyone. Longtime fans will rejoice just by the fact that the series wasnt finished with Rocky V, and casual A great ending to a great series that will live on for generations. Rocky Balboa is an excellent movie with something for everyone. Longtime fans will rejoice just by the fact that the series wasnt finished with Rocky V, and casual movie-goers will also love this film. Just watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousJoeFeb 23, 2008
Four words: A damn good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nomadJul 15, 2008
The very first scene of Rocky visiting Adrians grave got me 100 percent and i never took my attention off the screen down the line.. Not just a bogus sequel of Indi Jones ilk that came across as a money grab and nothing more but actually a The very first scene of Rocky visiting Adrians grave got me 100 percent and i never took my attention off the screen down the line.. Not just a bogus sequel of Indi Jones ilk that came across as a money grab and nothing more but actually a great capper to a great series.. My hat goes of to Sly! YOu are the MAN Sly!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
scottbJul 20, 2008
This movie was way better then i hoped it to be. This movie had the same feel as the first rocky movie. just the drama which stalone pulls of perfectly. if he made another movie like this i would see it in a heartbeat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ErikF.Dec 16, 2006
This is how the series should end. Stallone's performance as Rocky in this film is more honest and natural than what he attempted in ROCKY V, in which his performance seemed more like an imitation or impersonation. Stallone successfully This is how the series should end. Stallone's performance as Rocky in this film is more honest and natural than what he attempted in ROCKY V, in which his performance seemed more like an imitation or impersonation. Stallone successfully pulls of three emotional monologues about (separately) grief, opportunity, and father-son relationships, reminding us that, when necessary, Stallone can be a talented actor when he needs to be. As an antagonist, Mason "The Line" Dixon is not as charismatic as Apollo Creed or entertaining as Clubber Lang, but he's not cartoonish like Ivan Drago or boorish like Tommy "The Machine" Gunn. In fact, he does not have much of a personality. He serves his purpose - a statement on the current boxing scene which lacks any real, inspiring, or entertaining champions. Burt Young once again steals the film as Paulie. Not having Talia Shire return as Adrian was a wise decision, for it gives Rocky more depth. Thankfully, Stallone cast Milo Ventimiglia to play his on-screen son rather than have his real son Sage Stallone return to the role. ROCKY fans will enjoy seeing minor characters Duke, Lil Marie (the little girl from the first filmwhom Rocky warns about hanging out on street corners and she replies, "Screw you, creepo!") and Spider Rico (who fought Rocky in the opening of the first film) reintroduced into the series. However, Mr. T returning as Clubber Lang (which was rumored on the internet) would have made the film more nostalgic and enjoyable. Overall, the film is entertaining and ROCKY/Stallone fans will enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TrentS.Dec 19, 2006
This movie was worth watching. It was intelligent, inspiring and believeable. Stallone was charismatic. A couple actors were mediocre, but not horrible. Nonetheless, check it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianF.Dec 21, 2006
Anti-"Rocky Balboa" critics, who are just as entitled to their own subjectivity and experience as I or anyone else, baffle me with their criticisms. Are eternal themes such as haunting history, ineffable burns inside, and saying goodbye Anti-"Rocky Balboa" critics, who are just as entitled to their own subjectivity and experience as I or anyone else, baffle me with their criticisms. Are eternal themes such as haunting history, ineffable burns inside, and saying goodbye supposed to be removed from art even though they cannot be removed from the human experience? Or can only King Lear's and pretentious cafe loungers do the talking now? Stallone brings poetry from Rocky, Paulie, and others that is powerful--and matches the characters (most of which were solidly acted). Read interviews, check some reviews, and then go enjoy the million-to-one shot saying goodbye in beautiful fashion. I give it a 9.2. Stallone accomplished what seemed insane and impossible. I plan to see it again. Heart exploration trumps ivory cynicism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronDec 21, 2006
Spectacular ending to a wonderful journey into a comic book champion who became a living breathing symbol for all red blooded Americans. We will miss you Rocky but your legacy will live on forever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClaudiaP.Dec 21, 2006
Ho visto il film.Bellissimo. Una curiosità,Suwww. ibs.it,prendete il libro "la luna di mattina"di Raffaello Zizzo.Assomiglia molto a questo film.Lacrime,cuore,muscoli. L'epilogo finale!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyDec 21, 2006
I loved the movie, brought me back to the first Rocky.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LennyDec 21, 2006
Not only does it suceed at an emotional level, it draws you in and give you that feeling you felt when you first saw the original. Its not only a great movie, but an important one. its on my agenda to see again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianR.Dec 20, 2006
Going into this movie, I thought it would be hard to take it seriously, but surprisingly it wasn't. It doesn't break new ground, and it is not quite like the original, but there is just something that works with this film. None of Going into this movie, I thought it would be hard to take it seriously, but surprisingly it wasn't. It doesn't break new ground, and it is not quite like the original, but there is just something that works with this film. None of the characters are cardboard cutouts (though the son is a nominee for that) and their is an actual depth to the relationships. Stallone does a favorable job at keeping his mumbling character alive, using nostalgia as an advantage but not resting on it. It is nearly impossible to leave this movie without a smile, as it will actually make you feel good. Don't expect an Oscar winner, but have fun with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MannyN.Dec 20, 2006
Way better than I expected. Really captures the small character moments from the first film. Parts of this movie are a guilty pleasure and parts are genuinely good filmmaking. Either way, I enjoyed it the whole way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BronsonC.Dec 21, 2006
I'm not gonna lie...I am a huge fan of the series and the character of Rocky Balboa. This [series] ends on a very high note and is a needed ending to this great story. This film hits all spots and shows us why we love this larger than I'm not gonna lie...I am a huge fan of the series and the character of Rocky Balboa. This [series] ends on a very high note and is a needed ending to this great story. This film hits all spots and shows us why we love this larger than life character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomM.Dec 21, 2006
This was a great movie in my opinion but very emotional for me to see my own life presented before me on ths screen. The entire Rocky series is a parallel of our very own lives aside from the actual boxing which many of us don't do. This was a great movie in my opinion but very emotional for me to see my own life presented before me on ths screen. The entire Rocky series is a parallel of our very own lives aside from the actual boxing which many of us don't do. Life, love, the ups and downs, success and failure, mortality and finally the death issue. It's all there. What a great experience for me and I highly recommend it to everyone. Very sad to see my all time fav actress Talia Shire(Adrian) deceased in the movie. A hard one to swallow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewDec 20, 2006
Wow. This movie is probably the best Rocky since the origional. You must see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyT.Dec 21, 2006
Fresh & inspirational... Balboa Shocks the world....AGAIN
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeyDec 21, 2006
I'm 23 and I've only seen a few of the Rocky movies on cable, so I'm not really a biased Rocky fan. I thought Sly was pretty impressive in Rocky I and Copland, and I think he was just as good in this one. This was a good I'm 23 and I've only seen a few of the Rocky movies on cable, so I'm not really a biased Rocky fan. I thought Sly was pretty impressive in Rocky I and Copland, and I think he was just as good in this one. This was a good movie. Most of it had nothing to do with boxing, it was just a quiet, honest story about a man looking back on his life and figuring out what to do next. The guys I went with went in expecting to make fun of it, but they they quieted down pretty fast. If you like Rocky at all, you will really appreciate this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TinaC.Dec 22, 2006
I love Rocky..all of them! He is all about heart and this latest Rocky has all of that and more! I give Sly so much credit for creating such an insprirational movie with the Rocky series! My husband and I truly love him!!!! We feel like he I love Rocky..all of them! He is all about heart and this latest Rocky has all of that and more! I give Sly so much credit for creating such an insprirational movie with the Rocky series! My husband and I truly love him!!!! We feel like he is a part of our lives! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrentM.Dec 22, 2006
This is a great movie...Rocky IV is still the best one followed by Rocky III...this may be the third best film though and is way better than Rocky V...which is the worst of them all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TIMC.Dec 22, 2006
This is a superb movie. No, We're not comparing it Out of Africa, but for what it is, it could not be much better. The acting is very natural, that's the best word for the movie. No unforced acting, very natural (except the This is a superb movie. No, We're not comparing it Out of Africa, but for what it is, it could not be much better. The acting is very natural, that's the best word for the movie. No unforced acting, very natural (except the father-son dialogue). The best part of the movie is the believable climatic fight, because Dixon is not some one-dimensional bad guy (like Draco or Mr T), because he is not a bad guy. He is a beliveable, true character. How often do you find that? Finally, the music. Oh, so glorious. Along with Ben Hur, Conan, Empire Strikes Back, Conti's Rocky is amonst the best of the past 40 years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomR.Dec 22, 2006
Rocky Balboa does more to teach us about life and hope then any of our political leaders. This movie also shows us how out of touch most critics are with the rest of us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanielK.Dec 20, 2006
Before I go into how much I enjoyed the film, allow me the following disclaimer: I saw this film with my wife and two younger kids. They are not avid film enthusiasts like I am. Also, I have the entire Rocky collection on DVD including the Before I go into how much I enjoyed the film, allow me the following disclaimer: I saw this film with my wife and two younger kids. They are not avid film enthusiasts like I am. Also, I have the entire Rocky collection on DVD including the regrettable Rocky V. My wife said she could have waited for the video. My kids said the film was good, but they weren Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredDec 22, 2006
Wow this was one great conclusion that packs a wallop and wraps up the Rocky saga in one neat package. Rocky and Paulie lay their emotions on the line raw for all the world to see. This movie makes you believe that anything is possible and Wow this was one great conclusion that packs a wallop and wraps up the Rocky saga in one neat package. Rocky and Paulie lay their emotions on the line raw for all the world to see. This movie makes you believe that anything is possible and in the end the entire audience is cheering. What a wonderful Hollywood surprise. For all of us who laughed at Sylvester Stallone when he said he was making this, well, be prepared to eat your words. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulP.Dec 23, 2006
I went in a unbeliever and left loving every second of it ! way to go ROCKY !!!!!! great job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElenaDec 23, 2006
Rocky puts an emotional knockout of on your heartstrings. What a wonderful way to end a beautiful story. Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FabriDec 24, 2006
This was defintely a movie for the Rocky fans. Not so much focused on the training and getting back into the ring, but more on catching up with good old rocky and seeing where his life has brought him. It was sentimental and emotional, a This was defintely a movie for the Rocky fans. Not so much focused on the training and getting back into the ring, but more on catching up with good old rocky and seeing where his life has brought him. It was sentimental and emotional, a proper ending to the Rocky series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
deeDec 26, 2006
Loved this movie. Stallone puts his heart and soul on the screen in this one. His portrayal of Rocky is outstanding. You can feel all of the emotion, the sadness, the emptiness, the lonliness, and the loss of Adrian. He captures it Loved this movie. Stallone puts his heart and soul on the screen in this one. His portrayal of Rocky is outstanding. You can feel all of the emotion, the sadness, the emptiness, the lonliness, and the loss of Adrian. He captures it beautifully. His training and the fight scene not overdone. He shows us a old guy trying to give his best. The best! A perfect ending to the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrookeC.Dec 27, 2006
Quite simply, the shocker of the year. I was expecting hig camp at the most, and what I got was a truly good film. This is what Rocky is all about, and even I, the most hardened movie cynic was on the edge of my seat during the fight. What a Quite simply, the shocker of the year. I was expecting hig camp at the most, and what I got was a truly good film. This is what Rocky is all about, and even I, the most hardened movie cynic was on the edge of my seat during the fight. What a way to go out! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RalphieBoyDec 27, 2006
Don't we all wish we can go out like Rocky did in this movie. Not always the brightest of bulbs as he portrayed in all the Rocky movies, in this one he is an absolute genius. Somehow he gained the wisdom of Solomon as he make his own Don't we all wish we can go out like Rocky did in this movie. Not always the brightest of bulbs as he portrayed in all the Rocky movies, in this one he is an absolute genius. Somehow he gained the wisdom of Solomon as he make his own peace and in the process earns the grateful respect of an entire nation. This is a holiday treasure that will long be remembered as a fitting ending to the never give up spirit of its author Sylvester Stallone. Just fantastic! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoxanneH.Dec 28, 2006
I thought this moving was going to be a disaster, but instead I found myself crying at the end. I didn't want the movie to end! It was a great experience and a great decission to do one more round. Thank you Mr. Stallone!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JJKDec 29, 2006
Best of all the rocky's.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulFratianniDec 31, 2006
The latest and hopefully last in the Rocky series threw every cliché in the book at you and even included the kitchen sink, to mix metaphors, and I still liked it. [***WARNING SPOILERS***] There was the egg drinking, the meat The latest and hopefully last in the Rocky series threw every cliché in the book at you and even included the kitchen sink, to mix metaphors, and I still liked it. [***WARNING SPOILERS***] There was the egg drinking, the meat pounding, the running up the steps, and of course the music we all know and love so well. It was a trip down memory lane with numerous flashbacks which thankfully were not too long, actually they were almost too short. The best parts of the film are not the fight scenes but watching how a simple man can show so much kindness and wisdom to the people that surrounds him. The best scene was when old Sly was with Paulie, talking about what he had in the basement surrounding WARNING [***SPOILER***] his wife's death. Wow, he really shined through on that one. What was disappointing about this movie is that it really could have been so much more. Though the fight scenes were somewhat exciting they were even less believable than the other Rockys. In the end (ANOTHER SPOILER) both fighters barely even look winded. And I did not like the last scene either. It really didn't touch the viewer like it supposed to. Still, overall Rocky Balboa was a worthy end to a series that will forever been an American Icon to us and the rest of the world. I kept hearing the getting stronger song in my head and punching around well after the movie was over. Any movie that can do such upon the consciousness deserves the be seen as a worthy tribute to a lasting legacy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DraculaDec 31, 2006
Ron how old are you ten? You want a realistic boxing movie with a guy approaching 60 years of age. Didn't you hear his trainer say he can't move, has arthitis and can't spar? Ron this movie was about coping with Senior Citizen Ron how old are you ten? You want a realistic boxing movie with a guy approaching 60 years of age. Didn't you hear his trainer say he can't move, has arthitis and can't spar? Ron this movie was about coping with Senior Citizen status and saying good bye on your own terms without fear. It was NOT a boxing movie per se. Even the fight was NOT about a BAD Guy but rather facing FATHER TIME. And the fight was explained in that Antonio Tarver broke his hand in the first round. Ron obviously you had no clue what was going on and therefore missed one great movie. Rocky is and will always be champion of the underdog in that if you can dream it you can do it. Pity you didn't comprehend what you went to see. This is a fitting climax to a great saga. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveJan 15, 2007
Erases the 4th & 5th one in my mind - a great way to to end an american icon!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkW.Jan 17, 2007
I really liked the way it mimicked most of the other Rocky films at some point. Really liked the ending, going back to mimick the first Rocky.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnN.Jan 17, 2007
I was raised on Rocky movies. They are a small piece of cinema tape that binds me to my dad. I'm glad I can share this movie "heart" with my son.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BilboBJul 23, 2007
This film exceeded my expectations...it is occasionally bogged down in sentimentality but overall a worthy swansong for the character and a welcome return to form for Sly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JochraJul 28, 2007
I expected absolutely nothing from this film but had heard one or two positive comments. I thoroughly enjoyed it. After the ridiculous, increasingly over the top the sequels of the 80s and 90s this was a real return to the stripped back I expected absolutely nothing from this film but had heard one or two positive comments. I thoroughly enjoyed it. After the ridiculous, increasingly over the top the sequels of the 80s and 90s this was a real return to the stripped back simplicity of the first film. And a fitting return. The training montage had it all, the sides of beef, the (original?) dodgy grey tracksuit, and of course, the steps. But more than that this film, apart from some schmaltzy stuff, presented a believable development of a character that anyone who enjoyed the first film would welcome. Take one and 6 together and you have some powerful modern cinema that Stallone can be proud to be judged by. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful