Rocky Balboa

Rocky Balboa Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 346 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Former heavyweight champion Rocky Balboa steps out of retirement and back into the ring, pitting himself against a new rival in a dramatically different era. After a virtual boxing match declares Rocky Balboa the victor over current champion Mason "The Line" Dixon, the legendary fighter'sFormer heavyweight champion Rocky Balboa steps out of retirement and back into the ring, pitting himself against a new rival in a dramatically different era. After a virtual boxing match declares Rocky Balboa the victor over current champion Mason "The Line" Dixon, the legendary fighter's passion and spirit are reignited. [MGM] Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Bell
    90
    The acting in the film is grade-A, with Stallone bringing the more mumbled Rocky from the first film spliced with some rousing inspirational monologues when the moment is right (not forced, not preachy… just perfect).
  2. The movie itself, defying all odds, comes close to a knockout.
  3. There is much to poke at in Rocky Balboa, yet the movie, with its amusingly updated ''Gonna Fly Now'' montage and its very niftily staged climactic bout, summons just enough incredulous wit about just how often Rocky has been around this particular block to let Sylvester Stallone earn his nostalgia.
  4. Rocky Balboa scores a split decision: A familiar start, some flat-footed middle rounds and a solid, flailing finish. And since Stallone has promised to throw in the towel on the franchise, we'll add an extra half star in honour of his diligence in the gym.
  5. 63
    Rocky Balboa is far from essential, and there are moments in it bad enough to make you wince. But I dare you not to feel at least a tiny little rush when that opening bell rings, and Rocky starts swinging one final time.
  6. 60
    As usual with Stallone's Rocky sequels, the schmaltz is unbearable, but the fight is plausibly handled, and Stallone's sincere sadness at growing older makes this an unexpectedly satisfying conclusion to the series.
  7. Anyone who appreciates Sylvester Stallone or enjoys the "Rocky" movies will find moments to enjoy in Rocky Balboa and will leave the theater reasonably satisfied. It's just good to see the guy, and it's good to revisit the character. And that's everything good to be said for the experience.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 145
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Who would have ever believed that Rocky VI would be good?! Oh how we laughed at Stallone's desperation! Then we saw the movie. Rocky Balboa isWho would have ever believed that Rocky VI would be good?! Oh how we laughed at Stallone's desperation! Then we saw the movie. Rocky Balboa is the best Rocky movie by FAR and is one of my favorite movies of all time. It makes me cry and feel unbelievably happy every time I see it. Absolutely perfect! Expand
  2. JJK
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    Best of all the rocky's.
  3. DL.
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    Fantastic. A truly inspiring story and a great end to the series. Stallone at his very best. This movie was more about the character and Fantastic. A truly inspiring story and a great end to the series. Stallone at his very best. This movie was more about the character and emotion rather than an action fest...Truly a triumph! Expand
  4. ClaudiaP.
    Dec 21, 2006
    9
    Ho visto il film.Bellissimo. Una curiosità,Suwww. ibs.it,prendete il libro "la luna di mattina"di Raffaello Zizzo.Assomiglia molto a Ho visto il film.Bellissimo. Una curiosità,Suwww. ibs.it,prendete il libro "la luna di mattina"di Raffaello Zizzo.Assomiglia molto a questo film.Lacrime,cuore,muscoli. L'epilogo finale!!! Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    I got the feeling this movie was meant to be more like the first one. We have some action here, but it is almost fully in the background ofI got the feeling this movie was meant to be more like the first one. We have some action here, but it is almost fully in the background of the main story. This is about ending a great series of movies telling a story about a guy from the slums who fought his way to glory but still remained a human being with all his faults and tragic events. I have never thought Silvester Stallone for a bad actor, average maybe, but still making excellent movies. In this one he plays it really well. We see a broken down boxer struggling to live his life without his wife Adrien, trying to recreate the connection with his son lost somewhere along the way of him growing up. Throught the film he visits the old spots from the previous movies, recalling his biggest moments in life and how it could all have gone a whole different way. He tries to return to the ring one last time to show that the great Rocky Balboa is still here, living amongst us. The champion he challenges is also a likeable characterm not over the top. A guy who respects Rocky deep inside, but he also must maintain his own glory as the best in current times. Also Rocky does it kind of funny, as he is perfectly aware of his age and limitations. This film does not feature the typical villain - hero duel from previous Rocky movies. More like both boxers are level headed persons with their own problems. The music is top class, acting is good. Directing is spot on. The story is well thought and executed. When watching the intro I felt as if I was to be dissapointed. Couple of hours later I was both happy and sad for Rocky, as the story has really ended. Expand
  6. JohnA.
    Jan 21, 2007
    8
    Everything from Punchie to a drunk out of work Paulie was perfect in this movie. If Rocky would have disowned his son and adopted Steps this Everything from Punchie to a drunk out of work Paulie was perfect in this movie. If Rocky would have disowned his son and adopted Steps this movie would have been the best of the year. And the ending wasn't that great either. Maybe Rocky 7 will be better. Expand
  7. BuckD.
    Apr 12, 2007
    0
    OMG, this movie isn't bad, it is probably the most pathetic display ive ever seen...its not that I don't understand Sly's need OMG, this movie isn't bad, it is probably the most pathetic display ive ever seen...its not that I don't understand Sly's need to be a hero again, its more difficult to get how people actually like it...pityful. Collapse

See all 145 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Sylvester Stallone: All Films Considered

    Sylvester Stallone: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 9, 2010
    One of Hollywood's most iconic action heroes, Sylvester Stallone has a new movie ("The Expendables") out this week. It seems like as good a time as any to look back upon the actor's career and pick out a few highlights and lowlights.