Role Models

Role Models Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 216 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Danny and Wheeler are two salesmen who trash a company truck on an energy drink-fueled bender. Upon their arrest, the court gives them a choice: do hard time or spend 150 service hours with a mentorship program. After one day with the kids, however, jail doesn't look half bad. [Universal Pictures]

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. The fun of Role Models is that it's a high-concept movie executed with speed and finesse and the kind of brusquely tossed-off obscene banter that can get you laughing before you know what hit you.
  2. 75
    Sometimes a shamelessly stoopid, proudly profane R-rated comedy is all you want out of life. Role Models more than fills the bill. It's killer funny.
  3. 75
    The kind of comedy where funny people say funny things in funny situations, not the kind of comedy that whacks you with manic shocks to force an audible Pavlovian response.
  4. 70
    The general tone is one of crusty, unapologetic misanthropy, driven home by the formidable Rudd (who also kicked in on the script).
  5. Rudd and Scott hail from different universes of movie comedy, but manage together here just fine, particularly since each takes a different path.
  6. 63
    Role Models has a tart surface and a heart of goo. The movie grows more obvious as it goes along.
  7. 20
    If "Models'" comedy is a bore, the characters' redemption is sheer agony – not to mention the shameless pop-cultural referencing that repeats like a bad taco.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 52
  2. Negative: 2 out of 52
  1. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    I was ROFL for the entire length of the movie ! And I am 45 years old...not really sure what that says about me. Great cast, greatI was ROFL for the entire length of the movie ! And I am 45 years old...not really sure what that says about me. Great cast, great script...bulls's eye ! Expand
  2. RichardO.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    Really good movie. Better than expected. This is Christopher Mintz Plasse's coming out party.
  3. SimonB.
    May 17, 2009
    9
    Ridiculously funny! Casting is perfect and the banter between the main characters is classic.
  4. ChazHay
    Jan 12, 2009
    8
    Loved it. It's a hell of a lot of fun and the characters are great.
  5. j30
    Nov 8, 2011
    8
    This movie is an hilarious raunchy comedy. Sure it has a cliche story line, but like I Love You Man, if you have the right actors/actressesThis movie is an hilarious raunchy comedy. Sure it has a cliche story line, but like I Love You Man, if you have the right actors/actresses you can strike comedic gold. Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    An overall entertaining comedy, with a cast of colorfully written characters.
  7. GregA.
    Nov 10, 2008
    0
    Quirky, funny, good looking actors, and the theater I was in was completely sold out with ages 17 - 25 or so (movie is rated R), all very Quirky, funny, good looking actors, and the theater I was in was completely sold out with ages 17 - 25 or so (movie is rated R), all very young. The movie sends a great message to kids that says, even if others don't like it or don't appreciate it, you should just "be who you are." Unless your gay, that is. This movie sends a powerful and consistent "sub-message" as a major component of its humor that everyone should be wary and vigilant of anything that smacks of homosexuality. The movie includes full-volume use of the word "faggot" in its most pejorative sense (equivalent to the "N" word amongst gay and lesbian people, by the way). Several of its characters offer repeated expressions of concern that one or another of the kids in the movie might be gay, along with a showing of great relief that this concern is eventually resolved as unfounded. This movie's homophobic foundation sends a pretty awful message to the clearly sought-after young people, both straight and gay, that make up this movie's prime market. The writers and producers of this movie need a lot of enlightenment here, as do its hip adult and kid actors who are complicit in sending that message. The unabashed homophobia thoroughly woven into its plot structure is a disgraceful mark against this movie. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  3. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  4. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.