User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 72
  2. Negative: 18 out of 72
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Steve
    Nov 3, 2008
    2
    I think the action scenes were ok but the ancient language completely ruined the play.
  2. GaryDF
    Nov 17, 2008
    0
    A play which should be worshiped no mocked!! And the moder day adaption is all it does in its pathetic attempts to impress!
  3. Patrick
    Apr 3, 2007
    3
    Romeo and Juliet in a modern-day setting. Does any more need to be said?
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    1
    Very poor at giving one who has not read the books before an accurate impression of the story. The difficult to understand dialogue made any attempt to comprehend the story extremely difficult, and the setting of a fictional Florida city did not help, nor did the African-American cross dressing dancer with a moustache. The party scenes that attempted to show what a party in Renaissance eraVery poor at giving one who has not read the books before an accurate impression of the story. The difficult to understand dialogue made any attempt to comprehend the story extremely difficult, and the setting of a fictional Florida city did not help, nor did the African-American cross dressing dancer with a moustache. The party scenes that attempted to show what a party in Renaissance era may have looked come off as very overdone and look very poor in contrast with the somewhat serious scenes the movie contains. Collapse
  5. LouisH.
    Nov 18, 2007
    5
    this is a weird movie. The drama loses all of its touch. Just the modern stuff with the past dialouge makes everbody seem like they all escaped from the nut house. Still, they had the cool modern police gun fights and all that. Final rating=5.
  6. Alex
    Jul 19, 2008
    9
    Brilliant adaptation of Shakespeare's tale. In his time, Romeo and Juliet was the equivalent of a soap opera for the masses and frowned upon by the higher classes. This is essentially a retelling for the same audience yet many generations later, and it is a charming, dramatic piece that will keep you wishing for a different ending, though it is one of the most infamous endings of Brilliant adaptation of Shakespeare's tale. In his time, Romeo and Juliet was the equivalent of a soap opera for the masses and frowned upon by the higher classes. This is essentially a retelling for the same audience yet many generations later, and it is a charming, dramatic piece that will keep you wishing for a different ending, though it is one of the most infamous endings of all-time. Fantastic. Expand
  7. MichelleT.
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    Quite good compared to the horrible musical 'west side story.
  8. [Anonymous]
    Feb 15, 2009
    4
    Alright, Baz Lurhmann, with all due respect, what the fuck have you done? Modern day Miami with verona dialog? "get me my longsword"=big gun? Mercution a crossdresser? God, this movie sucked. The only thing that keeps it from being a complete dud was Leo DiCaprio's performance and the scene where Romeo kills Tybalt.
  9. StefanS.
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    Baz Luhrmann's take on Romeo + Juliet is - highly emotional - lush and wild - innovative - unforgettable.
  10. jess
    May 21, 2009
    10
    I think this beautiful adaptation gets no justice, the melodic storytelling and dramatic performances don't seem out of place in this tragic film, it keeps to the Shakespearean roots by maintaining the language which in its form sounds poetic, the story has however been updated to suit today's audience. Leonardo DiCaprio and Claire Danes do a excellent job in the lead roles. A I think this beautiful adaptation gets no justice, the melodic storytelling and dramatic performances don't seem out of place in this tragic film, it keeps to the Shakespearean roots by maintaining the language which in its form sounds poetic, the story has however been updated to suit today's audience. Leonardo DiCaprio and Claire Danes do a excellent job in the lead roles. A must watch for people who like love stories. Expand
  11. ryann
    May 30, 2009
    9
    A great adaption of the original. It's like listening to the Ramones version of Louis Armstrong's Wonderful World. Some could argue it's an embarrassment but my opinion is that it is genius. Baz Luhrmann totally made this movie his own. Great acting as well by everyone in it. The only problem with this movie is how hard it is to follow the dialogue but that is to be A great adaption of the original. It's like listening to the Ramones version of Louis Armstrong's Wonderful World. Some could argue it's an embarrassment but my opinion is that it is genius. Baz Luhrmann totally made this movie his own. Great acting as well by everyone in it. The only problem with this movie is how hard it is to follow the dialogue but that is to be expected with Shakespeare. Expand
  12. Jun 4, 2013
    2
    Embarrassing lazy piece of crap ever made. The Shakespeare language made it insulting to America. Acting was terrible and the directing was horrendous. Don't watch it
  13. Jun 15, 2014
    0
    Quite possibly one of the only few movies I could not physically tolerate to hear or watch. Modernizing the Shakespeare play, which I think is hyped up exceedingly too much as it is, is made worse by, a surprise, the faithfulness of the dialogue from the play. DiCaprio acted exactly like Romeo, which I think is the worst that he could ever achieve. Shakespeare should be left to the British actors.
  14. Feb 11, 2014
    8
    This movie is hiLARIOUS! If you think of it as a serious modern adaption of William Shakespeare's play, then you will be pissed off. But from the start, I knew this was a parody of the original play, and I had a lot of fun watching it.

    This is the classic Romeo and Juliet story, but more modernized- with guns replacing swords, and rather than the dispute between the families being their
    This movie is hiLARIOUS! If you think of it as a serious modern adaption of William Shakespeare's play, then you will be pissed off. But from the start, I knew this was a parody of the original play, and I had a lot of fun watching it.

    This is the classic Romeo and Juliet story, but more modernized- with guns replacing swords, and rather than the dispute between the families being their religious beliefs, it is a business rivalry. However, the script is the exact same script as the original play, with the same ancient-English lines. Right from there, you should know that this is meant to just be so ridiculously, stupidly over-the-top weird movie, which I find entertaining. It is, in my opinion, utter f*ckng genius.
    Expand
  15. Dec 22, 2014
    5
    Ultimately, Baz Luhrmann's Romeo + Juliet is a mixed bag. On the positive, the second half is great and just as effecting as it should and needs to be. While I obviously know what happens, this story never fails to touch my heart in some ways and move me in others and Baz Luhrmann's interpretation keeps this alive and does well communicating it. For this, I cannot hate this film. However,Ultimately, Baz Luhrmann's Romeo + Juliet is a mixed bag. On the positive, the second half is great and just as effecting as it should and needs to be. While I obviously know what happens, this story never fails to touch my heart in some ways and move me in others and Baz Luhrmann's interpretation keeps this alive and does well communicating it. For this, I cannot hate this film. However, there are some negatives. Leonardo DiCaprio and Claire Danes are not awesome. They are not bad, to be sure, but there are some moments that made me cringe. On top of that, the first half is comically bad. I could not help but laugh throughout as the modern interpretation of this one was beyond terrible in this portion. It improves in the second half, but damn is the first half embarassingly stupid and over the top. As a whole, Romeo + Juliet is not a bad film, but it is certainly not a good film. It is an interesting update to the classic tale, but has too many negatives to become anything more than that. Expand
  16. Apr 10, 2015
    2
    This has to be the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life. I'd have to take the drugs Romeo took at the party to even remotely enjoy this horrible piece of s*** that has been taken upon the chest of Shakespeare himself.
  17. May 22, 2015
    1
    Well first of all... the first action scene is poorly put together and all other action scenes follow suit. Also the dialogue doesn't fit into the modern day setting, also shaky cam and lots of it this is Leonardo Dicaprio's worst film and will continue to hold this title forever more!
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. 50
    I have never seen anything remotely approaching the mess that the new punk version of "Romeo & Juliet" makes of Shakespeare's tragedy.
  2. 75
    While such a loud, brash interpretation may not go down in cinematic history as the definitive version of the play, hopefully it will open a few eyes and widen the audience willing to venture into any movie bearing the credit "based on the play by William Shakespeare."
  3. 30
    It would be destined for the trash heap of Shakespeare adaptations, if not for its female lead, and its heart, 17-year-old Claire Danes.