Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 1, 1996
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 102 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
59
Mixed:
21
Negative:
22
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
MaeWardNov 23, 2016
This was a beautiful movie, Baz Lurmann's stunning and hyperdelic adaptation of this classic Shakespeare play made even better by the beautiful Leonardo Dicaprio, he was the perfect Romeo. His face alone means even if your understanding ofThis was a beautiful movie, Baz Lurmann's stunning and hyperdelic adaptation of this classic Shakespeare play made even better by the beautiful Leonardo Dicaprio, he was the perfect Romeo. His face alone means even if your understanding of the play is limited you will thoroughly enjoy this movie. Only complaint, I should have been cast as Juliet. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SophieWNov 23, 2016
I enjoyed Leonardo DiCaprio's Beautiful face, It made the movie a delight with pleasing backgrounds especially shots of the irresistible "Romeo".It definitely would make even the most hateful of Shakespeare enjoy the romantic classic and beI enjoyed Leonardo DiCaprio's Beautiful face, It made the movie a delight with pleasing backgrounds especially shots of the irresistible "Romeo".It definitely would make even the most hateful of Shakespeare enjoy the romantic classic and be mesmerized to watch it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
AlexJul 19, 2008
Brilliant adaptation of Shakespeare's tale. In his time, Romeo and Juliet was the equivalent of a soap opera for the masses and frowned upon by the higher classes. This is essentially a retelling for the same audience yet many Brilliant adaptation of Shakespeare's tale. In his time, Romeo and Juliet was the equivalent of a soap opera for the masses and frowned upon by the higher classes. This is essentially a retelling for the same audience yet many generations later, and it is a charming, dramatic piece that will keep you wishing for a different ending, though it is one of the most infamous endings of all-time. Fantastic. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MichelleT.Jul 20, 2008
Quite good compared to the horrible musical 'west side story.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StefanS.Mar 5, 2009
Baz Luhrmann's take on Romeo + Juliet is - highly emotional - lush and wild - innovative - unforgettable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jessMay 21, 2009
I think this beautiful adaptation gets no justice, the melodic storytelling and dramatic performances don't seem out of place in this tragic film, it keeps to the Shakespearean roots by maintaining the language which in its form sounds I think this beautiful adaptation gets no justice, the melodic storytelling and dramatic performances don't seem out of place in this tragic film, it keeps to the Shakespearean roots by maintaining the language which in its form sounds poetic, the story has however been updated to suit today's audience. Leonardo DiCaprio and Claire Danes do a excellent job in the lead roles. A must watch for people who like love stories. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ryannMay 30, 2009
A great adaption of the original. It's like listening to the Ramones version of Louis Armstrong's Wonderful World. Some could argue it's an embarrassment but my opinion is that it is genius. Baz Luhrmann totally made this A great adaption of the original. It's like listening to the Ramones version of Louis Armstrong's Wonderful World. Some could argue it's an embarrassment but my opinion is that it is genius. Baz Luhrmann totally made this movie his own. Great acting as well by everyone in it. The only problem with this movie is how hard it is to follow the dialogue but that is to be expected with Shakespeare. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
Bom
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JoesatmoesFeb 11, 2014
This movie is hiLARIOUS! If you think of it as a serious modern adaption of William Shakespeare's play, then you will be pissed off. But from the start, I knew this was a parody of the original play, and I had a lot of fun watching it.This movie is hiLARIOUS! If you think of it as a serious modern adaption of William Shakespeare's play, then you will be pissed off. But from the start, I knew this was a parody of the original play, and I had a lot of fun watching it.

This is the classic Romeo and Juliet story, but more modernized- with guns replacing swords, and rather than the dispute between the families being their religious beliefs, it is a business rivalry. However, the script is the exact same script as the original play, with the same ancient-English lines. Right from there, you should know that this is meant to just be so ridiculously, stupidly over-the-top weird movie, which I find entertaining. It is, in my opinion, utter f*ckng genius.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews