Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Princeton grad student Richie, believing he's been swindled, travels to Costa Rica to confront online gambling tycoon Ivan Block. Richie is seduced by Block's promise of immense wealth, until he learns the disturbing truth about his benefactor. When the FBI tries to coerce Richie to helpPrinceton grad student Richie, believing he's been swindled, travels to Costa Rica to confront online gambling tycoon Ivan Block. Richie is seduced by Block's promise of immense wealth, until he learns the disturbing truth about his benefactor. When the FBI tries to coerce Richie to help bring down Block, Richie faces his biggest gamble ever: attempting to outmaneuver the two forces closing in on him. Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 31
  2. Negative: 11 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Sep 28, 2013
    60
    Runner Runner starts off with a solid draw, then folds on the flop.
  2. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Oct 4, 2013
    50
    The ultimately forgettable Runner Runner is, for a gambling film, markedly risk-averse.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 4, 2013
    50
    Various subplots are given short shrift and the whole thing feels more like a Cliff's Notes version of a longer piece than an actual finished motion picture.
  4. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Sep 26, 2013
    40
    This is a lazy, trashy film that barely goes through the motions.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Oct 3, 2013
    40
    This is the kind of movie that, in order to puff itself up, quotes Meyer Lansky, Napoleon and Native American sayings. But according to Hoyle — as poker players would say — the film really just does boilerplate Hollywood drama.
  6. 38
    Affleck? You never believe a word he says, not a gesture. This is the sort of acting he did in the sort of movies he made before he started writing and directing his own movies — bad.
  7. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Oct 3, 2013
    25
    In its early moments, the movie evokes everything from "The Social Network" to "Casino." By the end, the film has become as exciting as a game of Old Maid. R-rated thrillers are hardly ever this dull and listless, but this movie manages to eradicate all of Timberlake’s charisma and makes you flash back to Affleck’s "Paycheck"/"Gigli" era. How does this even happen?

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20
  1. Jun 15, 2015
    10
    Foxes é maravilhosa. Eu amo tudo o que ela faz, tudo bem feito, impecável. Coisa de artista de verdade, é uma pena ver que não tem oFoxes é maravilhosa. Eu amo tudo o que ela faz, tudo bem feito, impecável. Coisa de artista de verdade, é uma pena ver que não tem o reconhecimento merecido. Expand
  2. May 4, 2015
    10
    irst to the dusky bars of 1960s West Village and, more important, to the jungle of discouragement and confusion he's living in. It's airst to the dusky bars of 1960s West Village and, more important, to the jungle of discouragement and confusion he's living in. It's a powerful performance. Supporting him is a great ensemble, some new to the Coen Brothers family (Timberlake, thankfully subdued and nearly holding his own against the others) and some beloved veterans (Goodman). It's not just Isaac and the cast, though, that makes Inside Llewyn Davis Expand
  3. Jan 6, 2014
    7
    Occasionally bad or more appropriately named "convenient writing" aside, Runner Runner is simplistic hollywood entertainment. It never aspiresOccasionally bad or more appropriately named "convenient writing" aside, Runner Runner is simplistic hollywood entertainment. It never aspires to be anything super exceptional and it certainly doesn't dissappoint. It's weaker than 21, a somewhat similar movie but it offers up enough enjoyment to make it worth seeing. The trailers spoiled some of the plot and i think this is the kind of movie that would be more enjoyable if you went in knowing nothing about it. A lot of the f-bomb dropping seems unnecessary. The acting is passable all around. It was interesting to see the soon to be Batman in a villain sort of role. I wouldn't say he did a great job as Ivan Block but I also wouldn't say he did a terrible job either. The romance side plot between Gemma and Justin is laughable at best. Gemma's character in general seems very token, much like every other side character. Justin Timberlake did fine. I've never felt like he was a bad actor so maybe that's why I'm ok with his performance. Some of the twists near the end were good, but there were also some things that happened that were kinda iffy near the end as well. Really it's as I said before, it's good entertaining movie, and absolutely nothing more. Not one single aspect about it is exceptional and only a couple things are bad about it. Ultimately, it's a movie that knows it needs to entertain, something many much higher profile movies tend to forget. Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2014
    5
    "Runner Runner" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: Despite the critics, Affleck wasn't bad in this. He actually had some great
    "Runner Runner" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: Despite the critics, Affleck wasn't bad in this. He actually had some great dialogue and delivered it well. The premise itself is a solid one and I was intrigued.

    The Bad: You've seen it all before ... but way better. The plot itself unravels and stops making sense 3/4 of the way through the film. The end was lacking and seemed too neat and tidy ... almost rushed. Timberlake was hit and miss and Arterton (sadly) was mere eye candy.
    Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2013
    5
    Ben Affleck as some good appeal here, and JT is pretty decent as well, but the acting can't save this movie. It comes out strong at theBen Affleck as some good appeal here, and JT is pretty decent as well, but the acting can't save this movie. It comes out strong at the beginning, but the plot becomes weak and muddled as the movie drags on. Both actors are just stranded in weak material here. Collapse
  6. Jan 17, 2014
    3
    Terrible movie, I went to the theater when it was out did not know what this was seen it afterwards I felt like my life was wasted watchingTerrible movie, I went to the theater when it was out did not know what this was seen it afterwards I felt like my life was wasted watching this. The story is very Terrible and Justin Timberlake acting is the worst I seen and I watched the love guru and in time(both staring him and where terrible). Ben Affleck acted great although that did not help the movie it self. Overall this movie is about a college student who got scammed on internet gambling and tracks down the guy who owns the site (Affeck) then he hires him to work online for him then the rest of the movie gets very stupid and terrible the end. Expand
  7. Nov 26, 2013
    0
    one smelly crack word.................................................................................................................... Ben Affleck.

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers