Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A second-rate cage fighter on the mixed martial arts circuit, Luke Wright lives a numbing life of routine beatings and chump change... until the day he blows a rigged fight. Wanting to make an example of him, the Russian Mafia murders his family and banishes him from his life forever, leaving Luke to wander the streets of New York destitute, haunted by guilt, and tormented by the knowledge that he will always be watched, and anyone he develops a relationship with will also be killed. But when he witnesses a frightened twelve-year-old Chinese girl, Mei, being pursued by the same gangsters who killed his wife, Luke impulsively jumps to action... and straight into the heart of a deadly high-stakes war. (Lionsgate) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Apr 26, 2012
    90
    Safe is both a slavish imitation of cinema gone by and a movie for our time. I found it wickedly entertaining and perversely refreshing in its total lack of contemporary piety.
  2. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Apr 27, 2012
    75
    There are zero surprises, but it looks good, moves well through a trim running time and wields its clich├ęs with defiant aplomb.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Apr 26, 2012
    70
    There's nothing terribly original about Safe, but it's a suitably grimy playground for action cinema's reigning pit bull.
  4. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    Apr 26, 2012
    58
    The character-building is proffered in bad faith, like every scene in Safe that doesn't involve bloodshed. Statham can sell a punch, but not his own vulnerability.
  5. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Apr 27, 2012
    50
    Safe bangs along respectably enough, all thrown fists and cheeky comments, but it never feels like more than a second-tier video game brought to life.
  6. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Apr 26, 2012
    50
    Now, if only someone would offer this actor a project worthy of the full range of his talent.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 26, 2012
    20
    Safe arrives filled with bombast and sneers but barely any thrills.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    mercury rising 2....with a vengeance! seriously this has been done. directors aren't even trying anymore with this bs. EXPLOSION! PEW PEW PEW!!!! and of coarse the gifted child that can memorize anything is an asian girl! i feel a 1st grader could have written the story line for this movie and done an as good if not better job. Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    Safe is safe for the most part, not much blood, and no sex scenes.I thought it was a good movie. Did it have allot of action? YES! And what is wrong with that? It had a good enough story to fill in between the drama. I don`t understand how people go into a movie like this expecting some kind of deep story. Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2012
    7
    Really enjoyed this movie. Cool plot with awesome action. Don't expect much more. But I say it is definitely worth the money to see as it is a great ride and is better than most every other movie out for the last and next few weeks. Personally not sure why it is rated R. There's no nudity and no blood and hardly any swearing. I say it's a PG-13 level IMO. So if you're comfortable with with taking kids to a pg13 show this movie should be fine. Expand
  4. May 19, 2013
    6
    Good action and fighting scenes but the ending really sucks even though the story is nothing special.
  5. Sep 30, 2012
    6
    Jason needs to stop doing the B rated movies. He is much to good for that. This is another one that is just not up to the standard he should set for himself. Expand
  6. May 31, 2012
    5
    Safe is a Jason Statham film and for that reason there is a certain lowering of expectations that comes with it. For instance when I watched Killer Elite I went into it hoping for some competent action and Robert De Niro hamming it up as he likes to do from time to time. Because I went in expecting exactly what I got out of it, I was in the end, thoroughly entertained. However despite my expectations being incredibly low I just couldn't shake the feeling that Safe was missing something. Safe as a movie is all about chaos. the chaotic nature of the New York underground, where the film starts is compared with the underground crime families the film is based around. As people start killing and losing money in equal measure everything turns into chaos. That being said the chaos feels really scripted, as if someone is pulling the strings on one of the fasted puppet shows ever made. A fight emerges when expected, a tense conversation ends in bullets firing in the most predictable of ways. It's all designed to be exciting but if anything it just feels safe. It's a heavily mapped out action film with no room for original thought or a detour from whats expected. It ends neatly, the action is relatively well handled in a seen that before kind of way, and lots of people die. It's everything an action fan could want but somehow I just wanted more. Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2012
    2
    Safe is no thriller. It is, however, convoluted, preposterous, and predictable. There are chase scenes, a couple of gun fights, and occasional fisticuffs--none of which are at all exciting. The fights in Safe are uninspired, messy brawls, done in the modern shaky-cam quick-cut style, which obscures Statham's martial arts prowess. Safe spends 30 minutes setting up a premise that makes no sense, and then does nothing with it. The story of Safe is too complicated, and the characters are too simple. There is no reason to care about what happens to Luke and Mei against two gangs or twenty. Statham delivers one-liners that suggests fun 80's action camp. Safe, however, is not fun. It is dull and tedious. We are told much too early what the code is for; there are no surprises. From then on, Safe is a mechanical exercise, void of any suspense or purpose. Full review on my blog. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews

Trailers