Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: When an unusual classified ad inspires three cynical Seattle magazine employees to look for the story behind it, they discover a mysterious eccentric named Kenneth, a likable but paranoid supermarket clerk, who believes he¹s solved the riddle of time travel and intends to depart again soon. Together, they embark on a hilarious, smart, and unexpectedly heartfelt journey that reveals how far believing can take you. (FilmDistrict) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 14, 2012
    100
    It's equally endearing as a sweetly funny romance between two likable oddballs and as a low-tech time-travel thriller, and has something profound to say about making the most of the present.
  2. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Jun 4, 2012
    80
    Aubrey Plaza proves she can carry a film with this multiplex-friendly comedy about time travel.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 14, 2012
    80
    This is the rare movie with no one to root against, a film filled with good guys and weird guys (and gals), all of whom you hope find what they're looking for, even if you know that's not possible.
  4. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jun 6, 2012
    75
    Safety Not Guaranteed is a fable of ''redemption,'' and it's too tidy by half, but it is also very sweetly told.
  5. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jun 7, 2012
    75
    The main flaw is that, as an actor, Duplass isn't able to make the audience love him. Picture "Bottle Rocket"-era Owen Wilson in the role, and you've got something special.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Jun 7, 2012
    70
    That time machine - a wonderful-looking gizmo with some lasers stolen from a medical laboratory - really exists. Whether it works or not, you'll have to see for yourself. It's worth the wait.
  7. Reviewed by: Vadim Rizov
    Jun 5, 2012
    50
    Not sure if you'll enjoy Safety Not Guaranteed? Here's a quick litmus test: how do you feel about watching Mark Duplass, accompanying himself on zither (!), singing a heartfelt song about how "everyone in the big machine tries to break your heart?"

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    Retro cinematic joy. I doubt that there is anyone who will not like this movie. Its witty, funny, well acted, well shot, imaginative, well thought out, well written, beautifully executed and the list just goes on. Its an extremely amazing dramedy which has way too many perks and NO cons. I recommend this movie to all movie goers. Expand
  2. Aug 11, 2013
    9
    I don't know why but I really liked Safety not guaranteed. It has great story and plot and it's really smart. It shows how important friendship is. It had some extremely funny moments and it was humouristic but it also had some sad moments. It had also sci-fi moments and the combination of those three is really good and the result of that film was excellent. The actors were ok and the film had many things going on which made it really interesting. I liked it I didn't know the film but when I read about it I knew that I would like. An indie-low budget-must-watch. I guarantee you that you will like this film! Expand
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    8
    I wouldn't understand how anyone could really dislike this movie. Maybe for the fact that Mark Duplass is way older than Aubrey Plaza, but then this movie illustrates that there are no bounds on love. With three people, out to investigate a story about a classified ad in the paper, each finds a separate story that they go out to take part of. Darius goes out to earn the trust of Kenneth to earn a place to go back in time and investigate the story. Jeff goes back to Ocean View to meet up with a lost love. And Arnau doesn't do much until he gets some inspiration on the trip. A very heartfelt kind of story that plays mostly on the acting and great script, "Safety Not Guranteed" is surely a winner and an admiration piece of work in the indie film business. Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    Once in a while you have very little expectations before you start watching a movie and as you watch and the story develops you begin to be more and more interested, you giggle and smile and suddenly you get it, and you must see the conclusion! Safety Not Guaranteed is one of those movies. Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    While it does have science fiction elements, Safety Not Guaranteed is much more quirky comedy than anything else. It has the warmth, humor and intelligence that make for a good date movie, appealing to both men and women, but without the gushing sentimentality that is typical of mainstream rom-coms. As a guy, this is the kind of date movie I actually like seeing. Full review on my blog. Collapse
  6. Jun 17, 2012
    6
    There is not really much to like or dislike in this film as it is not a complete film. Like many in of its type, its lacks any real depth and tries to get by on some teenage or SNL type charm. The result is a movie that has no real story, no resolution, no real characters that you give a damn, and you just leave the theater shaking your head. Why this was a crowd pleaser at Sundance may be because everything else was so lame? I don't know but this is a paper thin attempt at novelty that doesn't work. Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2013
    4
    Safety Not Gauranteed starts out as a humoristic road-trip-esque adventure with the promise of some deep science-fiction but it ends up as some kind of modern romance movie with horrible music and around the 55 minute mark it really starts to drag as the movie slowly works towards tying up loose ends. Then when it finally ends, it ends with such an anti-climax that it seems like the writers just stopped caring and never finished the story. Science-fiction? Time travel? In the very last minute, just before the credits role. Leaving too many questions unanswered and generally undoing the good feeling you get from it in the first 50 or so minutes makes me wish I could go back in time to stop myself from watching this movie. Aubrey Plaza (Darius) looks great and if it wasn't for her good looks, I wouldn't have rated the movie as high as I did. Karan Soni (Darau) plays a very convincing timid intern and should have gotten more screen-time. The rest of the actors were so-so. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.
  2. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.