Sahara

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 145

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 15, 2012
    5
    Action. Boo, whatever. I need depth. Sahara has NONE.
  2. Jun 7, 2013
    5
    Sahara is a rare film that manages to win you over despite its complete ridiculousness. The plot is insanely over-the-top, but I guarantee that you'll enjoy the hell out of it. There's so much fun to be had with this film!
  3. JudyT.
    Apr 10, 2005
    4
    Lousiest movie music I have ever heard. The worse shooting by the villians in this movie. With mediocre dialog and ridiculous action and escapes. I was glad when it was over.
  4. SPYBREAK
    Apr 7, 2005
    6
    Could
  5. JuniorB.
    Mar 7, 2007
    6
    This movie is ok if there is nothing else on tv i guess. McConaughey once again shows that he can only play one character - good ol southern boy, cocky, too cool for school(i'm guessing that's must be his real personality).The HD-DVD version has amazing picture quality which is the main reason i gave it a 6. Also Penelope Cruz was very nice to look at. BTW who picked the songs This movie is ok if there is nothing else on tv i guess. McConaughey once again shows that he can only play one character - good ol southern boy, cocky, too cool for school(i'm guessing that's must be his real personality).The HD-DVD version has amazing picture quality which is the main reason i gave it a 6. Also Penelope Cruz was very nice to look at. BTW who picked the songs for this movie? Matthew McConaughey himself using his dazed and confused leftovers tracks. Expand
  6. TonyB.
    May 9, 2007
    6
    Just because you probably will not believe a minute of it does not mean you will not have a pretty good time.
  7. PatC.
    Nov 10, 2005
    4
    An action movie that flaunts its refusal to do reality checks.
  8. ChadS.
    Jun 14, 2005
    6
    "Sahara" is a B-movie and knows it. Why else would it quote David Twohy's "The Arrival"? In a over-the-top action film like this, the only thing that can save it, is if the actors are having fun. When Penelope Cruz smiles after boarding a train from her camel, we get a sense that they are. "Sahara", thankfully, bypasses the cliche that Dirk develops a conscience about the bigger "Sahara" is a B-movie and knows it. Why else would it quote David Twohy's "The Arrival"? In a over-the-top action film like this, the only thing that can save it, is if the actors are having fun. When Penelope Cruz smiles after boarding a train from her camel, we get a sense that they are. "Sahara", thankfully, bypasses the cliche that Dirk develops a conscience about the bigger picture after being in it only for the treasure at the outset. He's not even looking for the coins. Like Brad Pitt, Dirk Pitt is hypnotized by a beautiful woman and learns the valuable life lesson that happiness is a healthy African(replace the end of world hunger with clean drinking water). In an effort to condense time, the enviromental crusaders somehow know just where to place those explosions. When Zahn's eyes grow wide, I thought, "Oh, no. Don't tell me." It's a moment that's funnier than anything in "The Longest Yard". And what about that dictator making like Howard Hughes in the final action set-piece? "Sahara" is fun. You have to know your dreck. Expand
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 33
  2. Negative: 6 out of 33
  1. Action films can't be this consistently absurd, can't paint their heroes into such dangerous corners, from which only cocktails of luck and divine intervention can save them, over and over. It's a bad-faith bargain with the audience and bad storytelling.
  2. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    60
    About as good as a big, stupid American action movie can be without ever being anything better than a big, stupid American action movie.
  3. Any movie starring Penelope Cruz or William H. Macy can't be all bad. And Sahara, which stars both Penelope Cruz and William H. Macy, proves the point: It isn't all bad.