Paramount Pictures | Release Date: April 8, 2005
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 122 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
92
Mixed:
22
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
AragondApr 29, 2011
I *will not* see this film trashed! This was a ripper of an adventure that should have been much more successful than it was. Indiana Jones with a wry smile. James Bond with tongue very firmly-in-cheek. Dashing and goofy rolled into one.I *will not* see this film trashed! This was a ripper of an adventure that should have been much more successful than it was. Indiana Jones with a wry smile. James Bond with tongue very firmly-in-cheek. Dashing and goofy rolled into one. Perhaps audiences didn't quite know what to do with this film?? It just hit the balance perfectly, imho, between being a couple of adventurers who happen upon a dastardly plot and a pinch of a slightly daffy comedy. This was undeniably a cut-above most films of its ilk -- and how few there are. I consider it a real tragedy that it wasn't more successful and that Sahara 2 will never be made. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
D.A.Jan 31, 2009
When "It's a Wonderful Life" came out, it was considered a grand flop, as well! It took 30+ years - by sheer fluke of luck - for that beautiful film to be recognized as the incredible gem we all now know and love... and I do LOVE this When "It's a Wonderful Life" came out, it was considered a grand flop, as well! It took 30+ years - by sheer fluke of luck - for that beautiful film to be recognized as the incredible gem we all now know and love... and I do LOVE this movie!! Sahara has great humor and chemistry and it just works. Still, timing is everything, and it simply wasn't this movie's time, unfortunately, because I would have loved to have seen McConaughey, Zahn, Macy, and Rainn Wilson work together again on this fantastic franchise. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TokyochuchuDec 23, 2012
Sahara is one of the best adventure movies of the 2000's. The plot is utter popcorn nonsense but the film is fun and the action is exciting. Sahara is a good modern-day competitor to Indiana Jones and Romancing the Stone.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
GrothosFeb 4, 2011
This movie is AWESOME! Here are 3 reasons why.
1-A fun, creative, entertaining storyline that while not believable gave off an Indiana Jones aura that complimented it.
2- Its FUNNY! This movie will have you laughing all the way through. All
This movie is AWESOME! Here are 3 reasons why.
1-A fun, creative, entertaining storyline that while not believable gave off an Indiana Jones aura that complimented it.
2- Its FUNNY! This movie will have you laughing all the way through. All the main characters are quit lovable in their own individual way.
3- Originality, I don't think I had ever seen a movie quite like this one. The story is quite its own thing. My only issue was the lack of theme, I do not remember any sort of theme underlying the story, and thus a lack of reason to watch this movie for more than pure entertainment.

Overall this movie is AMAZING. Its no work of Shakespeare, but if you like a quality adventure you will love it.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
JimB.Sep 7, 2005
Fluffy but fun, it was great to finally see a Cussler/Dirk Pittnovel on the Silver Screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisK.Oct 11, 2005
Action, humor, great locations and wonderful visuals. Just a good movie for a weekend inside. Anyone who says that it is bad, is an independent film snob who didn't like Raiders of the Lost Ark.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FredBobOct 18, 2006
It's pretty good, but has a couple of dragging spots.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveP.Feb 10, 2006
every once in a wile, we need to get away from all the political rederick, deep meaning, and hidden mediphors of the film industry. some times movie viewers just want a ride, a action packed, joke filled, little adventure. Films like indana every once in a wile, we need to get away from all the political rederick, deep meaning, and hidden mediphors of the film industry. some times movie viewers just want a ride, a action packed, joke filled, little adventure. Films like indana jones, leathle wepons, and Sahara. it's not award winner, but it is fun to watch. i'm gald that not EVERYONE in hollywood a critic pleasing, award winning MOVIE SNOBBS. and still have the capibility to make a good holsome adventure film for the family. see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesseS.Jun 24, 2008
This movie was awesome! and I don't a crap about what you other scumsuckers say about this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Nov 12, 2005
A fun adventure that's worth a ride, but it OD's on improbability every now and then.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
tethysdustOct 10, 2016
Sahara is an adventure comedy film, one with a ridiculous premise and an enthusiastic cast. Not exactly intellectual, but fun and undemanding entertainment for a pleasant evening.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews