Universal Pictures | Release Date: February 4, 2011
4.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 100 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
29
Mixed:
41
Negative:
30
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
TVJerryFeb 11, 2011
This is a variation on the people-in-peril plot. These people are deep inside the earth in an amazing maze of caves and subterranean lakes, when a flood forces their hike out. Tight squeezes and narrow escapes are tense enough, but it's theThis is a variation on the people-in-peril plot. These people are deep inside the earth in an amazing maze of caves and subterranean lakes, when a flood forces their hike out. Tight squeezes and narrow escapes are tense enough, but it's the spectacular scenery and stunning cinematography that make this a standout (the non-optional 3D doesn't really add much). The only downside is the dreadful drama that clogs the pacing. Otherwise, the visuals and effects are remarkable. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
410MaXiMuSApr 16, 2012
This movie isn't a 10 - I'm only giving it that to balance the score because people are hating on this movie for no reason. The acting is kinda cheesy at the beginning but it gets better once the action startes. The 3D is veryy well done andThis movie isn't a 10 - I'm only giving it that to balance the score because people are hating on this movie for no reason. The acting is kinda cheesy at the beginning but it gets better once the action startes. The 3D is veryy well done and there are some very tense sequences. It's a 7 / 10 for me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Mewtwo465Jul 2, 2011
Note: This is identical to my review of this movie on Rotten Tomatoes. So here it is: This movie was a surprisingly good one. Now I have to say around the first half hour of the film the dialogue is pretty bad. There is a hell lot of swearingNote: This is identical to my review of this movie on Rotten Tomatoes. So here it is: This movie was a surprisingly good one. Now I have to say around the first half hour of the film the dialogue is pretty bad. There is a hell lot of swearing and in reality nobody would really curse that much. But after the cheesy half hour ends and the real movie kicks in it's actually pretty decent. The 3D in the film is better than most I should say. Since it's by James Cameron. Now to state my opinion I have to say this movie was better than Avatar for me. The story of Avatar was bad even though I liked the film. But if the dialogue wasn't so cheesy in this film then the story would get perfect marks. Now the characters are sort of one dimensional but as the movie swiftly improves they become more realistic. And that's what makes this film so good. I went to see this last night on my birthday party with three of my mates and they said they really liked the film. Now I liked it a lot too. The reason being is that the start of the film you're probably thinking, "Oh hurry up already I want to see the action!", or something like that. And by the end of the film you would be completely satisfied. Because that's exactly what you get. Now I'm not going to spoil anything here but all I'm saying now is that there is one survivor. And I don't know why but I sort of knew that there would a sole survivor so during the film I was thinking, "Who's going to escape safely?", and you're probably going to be thinking that as well. So in other words this film is somewhat suspenseful. Now I'm running out of things to say here so here's the rest. Since the movie is in 3D, and the 3D is the best 3D I've seen in ages, the film sort of drags you in with the divers. You feel so claustrophobic during the underwater escape scenes and by the time the movie ends not only the survivor gets a huge breath of fresh air but so do you. You feel so relived and happy for the character by the end of the film so by the end you'll probably be thinking, "That was worth it!", and you'll probably never forget it. Another thing I should note that the film actually seems much longer than it actually is. Instead of being one hour and forty five minutes to me it actually seemed like two hours and forty five minutes. So time doesn't actually fly when you're having fun. It slows down a bit. And well that's the reason I had a hell lot of fun with this movie! So to say what's left I have to say the film is beautifully photographed and filmed. The film looks brilliant. It's graphics and effects are just amazing. But that's not really surprising since this is made from the guy who made Avatar right? So to end this review I'm giving this movie an 8/10 for it's brilliant scenery, effects and tension but also for it's cheesy dialogue and slightly cardboard characters. So that's my review for Sanctum 3D and this is Mewtwo465 saying goodbye! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RezzaDeeJun 19, 2011
I don't understand the low scores, it seams like the user score people were blind and thought this was avatar 2 and given that loads of people found the hurt locker better then avatar well....clearly I'm blind. Good film, waited for theI don't understand the low scores, it seams like the user score people were blind and thought this was avatar 2 and given that loads of people found the hurt locker better then avatar well....clearly I'm blind. Good film, waited for the blu-ray so I didn't know what to expect, thought it was going to contain more about the earths crust but then disaster happens. But yeah not a bad film. Not amazing but pleased I bought it as it's a film I will watch again. People say dodgy camera movements but I think they were watching a different film. The reason I gave it a 7 is because it strayed off from the opening story however it kept me entertained so my review score is still ok. Good film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AnotherDeadHeroFeb 11, 2011
Awesome show... If you like outdoors or rock climbing you will love it. Thought the movie was way intense. Only problem is that the "true story" part is pretty far fetched.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Peter_Labose_LAFeb 17, 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed this show. Being an avid outdoors person, I could relate to the happenings that took place in the movie. I haven't lost any friends, but have been trained in avalanche awareness and have been in areas where the alertI thoroughly enjoyed this show. Being an avid outdoors person, I could relate to the happenings that took place in the movie. I haven't lost any friends, but have been trained in avalanche awareness and have been in areas where the alert level has been high. I have seen them from a distance on multiple occasions and can understand the emotion that was portrayed rather vividly in the world below the surface in Sanctum. If you like wilderness camping and survival you will enjoy and relate to this movie. Although unlikely in most situations, there is a risk involved with any extreme activity and caving definitely fits the potential for extreme activities. Great movie. Definitely worth watching in 3D. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Khunter4382Sep 13, 2011
A very entertaining and beautifully filmed adventure that takes the audience to the inner depths of the earth and primal human fear. Roxburgh gives a strong performance with the newcomer Wakefield by his side. Gruffud gives anotherA very entertaining and beautifully filmed adventure that takes the audience to the inner depths of the earth and primal human fear. Roxburgh gives a strong performance with the newcomer Wakefield by his side. Gruffud gives another over-the-top, campy, downright amateur performance......what else is new? The underwater footage is, as you can imagine, breathtaking (no pun intended). The image quality of the above-water scenes is weak however, but perhaps that is the point? Regardless, this is a fine film that took some undue criticism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alonzoOct 28, 2011
Leí algunas críticas destructivas antes de ver la película, sin embargo considero que están bastante erradas. La historia no está tan bien tejida y suele ser exagerada, sinembargo a nivel de aventura es muyLeí algunas críticas destructivas antes de ver la película, sin embargo considero que están bastante erradas. La historia no está tan bien tejida y suele ser exagerada, sinembargo a nivel de aventura es muy entretenida, te produce mucha tensión y creo que desenmascara muchos instintos que tenemos de supervivencia y el egoísmo en el Ser Humano. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeNov 20, 2014
The acting was not so great and the special effects were definitely cheesy.But the visuals were beautiful at the beginning.Most of the movie nothing interesting happens but when one person dies everybody dies.But i still enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews