User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 5, 2011
    9
    A magnificent film,which will keep you completely engaged from the opening scene right through the credits. Totally absorbing and the crowd (mostly grey-haired) were respectfully silent for the entire 2 hours. The movie beautiful weaves the past and the present into a compelling tapestry which has a searing, if not entirely surprising, conclusion. Tears filled my eyes at the conclusion, tears shed for so many reasons. I must admit to a particular affinity for themes of this nature. Nevertheless, I was terribly impressed. Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2011
    6
    I found this film to be more like a made for tv film but I did enjoy it and I learned something. As with all of these type films, I always wonder what took the French 50 years to admit their actions. Is it shame or paying compensation? I'm glad Iam not religious as I would feel so guilty for the treatment of the Jews. The more I learn, the more I am stunned. The dual plots worked out ok but I thought Adrian Quinn's role was too short. The film is worth seeing. Expand
  3. Aug 22, 2011
    6
    Kristin Scott Thomas plays a journalist in Paris, who makes personal discoveries as she researches an article on a shameful event: During the Nazi occupation, the French authorities rounded up more than 13K Jews for the death camps. This bi-lingual film alternates between Thomas' quest for truth and the wartime plight of one family. The plot (although somewhat predictable and deliberate) is the main reason to watch. The recreations, while horrific in description, are never horrendous in execution. The emotions stay primarily on the surface and this keeps the film from being emotionally involving. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    Fascinating.! Sarah's story was amazing, gave me one of the most shocking moments in a long time, the ending a bit weak but that does not diminish the merit of a movie that left you wanting to see more.! Kristin Scott Thomas of course fantastic and excellent Mayance Mélusine; favorite phrase "No one decides when I die"
  5. Aug 24, 2011
    6
    On 16 & 17 July 1942, French police in occupied Paris rounded up over 13,000 Jews in what has become known as the Velâ
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    7
    An unusual film that combines two stories and the journey of two women dealing with issues that impact their life. Sarah a young jewish girl who survives the French Roundup in 1942 and Julia who late in life becomes pregnant during her investigation into Sarah's life and has to deal with her husbands not wanting the child. It's a quiet film for it's subject matter. The director was careful not too weigh on story more than the other and in the process lost the dramatic impact of both life altering decisions. Kirstin Scott Thomas portrays Julia with a great deal of restraint and reserve. Melyanne portrays Sarah with mostly expression in after she's matured. The young Sarah is excellent but is decidedly held back to let the finding of her brother have a great deal of impact. It really doesn't have the impact that the director intended. The supporting actors are much more interesting in some aspects than the two central figures. The farmer Dufare stands out immediately. Visually it's as quiet as the pace of the entire film. The stories conflict one another without a great deal of explanation for why Julia is so driven to find Sarah and how Sarah who survives the Holocaust can't seem to find that her survival is miraculous enough to build a new life. It's a rather quietly intense film without a great deal of hystrionics. Expand
  7. Aug 21, 2011
    8
    Moving, tragic, and very human. This is storytelling at it's best, switching between a untold event in French history, and the modern day. This film literally left me glued to the screen, sort of like a tv soap opera on a much larger scale. I would greatly recommend it if you happen to be curious about history, or are looking for a movie that portrays reaslitic characters. Sure, the acting is better in some places than others, but this is a rare movie that made me feel for characters as much as it did. Expand
  8. Aug 29, 2014
    4
    A film is not necessarily successful for featuring a moving depiction of difficulties revolving around the Holocaust. Sarah's Key misses the mark, especially with Kristin Scott-Thomas.
  9. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    Interesting and heartbreaking movie in many respects. However....I watched this movie with English sub-titles and these were the worst sub-titles that I have seen in 40 years of watching foreign films. The company who did the subtitles obviously did not either speak French or English - one or the other. The subtitles looked as if they had been done by a computer generated program like Babel Fish or Google Translate with all of the faux pas and oddities that come with using those programs. To me, the screwed up subtitles were off-putting and detracted from the movie. Besides the screwed up translations, there were spelling errors such as words with a Quote Mark at one end of the sentence and no closing quote. One line said something like "I will meet u". instead of "you". These are mistakes that should not have happened in the international release of a movie. Expand
  10. Jul 26, 2014
    7
    An intelligent movie: good plot, original idea, talks about a fact that only few people know (Vel D'Hiv). Maybe the ending is a bit long and there are quite a lot of characters: sometimes it is difficult to follow them. In the complex me and my gf appreciated the movie.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Aug 28, 2011
    88
    That makes Sarah's Key that rare Holocaust tale that punches through the cobwebs of history and its dry, inhuman statistics, and brings that terrible past to life.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Aug 4, 2011
    75
    It does provide audiences with the satisfaction of seeing and hearing an important truth expressed, and that's better than making you feel good. That's making you feel something.
  3. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Aug 4, 2011
    67
    Although Sarah's Key sometimes seems as though it's about to create a moral equivalency between the two tales, it never crosses that delicate line.