User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 636 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 636
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    One of the most realistic WW2 movies, "Saving Private Ryan" has everything; a powerhouse cast, smart action, deep character depth, and a poignant sacrifice.
  2. ConradR.
    Jul 9, 2001
    10
    The one film that puts you off joining the army - truly horrific - perfect.
  3. PIRANHAG.
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    Best war movie ever.
  4. millerc.
    May 10, 2005
    10
    Best moive ever.
  5. Android
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    One of Spielberg's greatest movies! The script is amazing and the the acting is great, also one of Tom Hanks' greatest movies. The violence, action and tragedy in the movie really bring out the realism of the war. I would certainly recommend this movie to anyone that can handle some graphic, painful, bloody action.
  6. GustavoH.R.
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    Perfection. Heart-wrenching drama, stunning battle scenes and also a tear-jerker - in the best sense of the word. One of the greatest war films ever made.
  7. DanielD
    Apr 22, 2009
    9
    A true work of art and masterpiece in every sense of the word. Maybe it's just because I'm a fan but I don't think I'm being biased when I say that this is one of the greatest motion pictures in the history of the cinema. The only thing that prevents me from giving it a perfect rating is because I feel the graphic detail of violence, however realistic and brutal A true work of art and masterpiece in every sense of the word. Maybe it's just because I'm a fan but I don't think I'm being biased when I say that this is one of the greatest motion pictures in the history of the cinema. The only thing that prevents me from giving it a perfect rating is because I feel the graphic detail of violence, however realistic and brutal reminder of how horrific war can be, leaves no room for imagination. But other than that this is an exceptional film. Expand
  8. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    A very high quality, which blends extreme action, with a underlying sadness for the disaster that was world war 2. All put together with superb casting.
  9. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    Greatest war movie I have ever seen. It is powerful, moving and keeps you wanting to watch more. Tom Hanks' and Matt Damon's acting is very good and every one of the characters are deep and you feel like you emphasize with them and understand them. Some scenes bend the laws of physics, but it doesn't make any difference. This movie is not for the faint-hearted as it contains someGreatest war movie I have ever seen. It is powerful, moving and keeps you wanting to watch more. Tom Hanks' and Matt Damon's acting is very good and every one of the characters are deep and you feel like you emphasize with them and understand them. Some scenes bend the laws of physics, but it doesn't make any difference. This movie is not for the faint-hearted as it contains some incredibly gory scenes reminiscent on Saw. Awesome film and should stay on every shelf in every house. Expand
  10. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    Saving Private Ryan was one of the most powerful, intense movie experiences I have had in the cinema. I originally watched this movie in the cinema while sitting next to a WW2 veteran - his reactions were very interesting. Its a great movie with great acting, setting and props and characters to care about. Perhaps its only downside is some of the over done action in the second half. MustSaving Private Ryan was one of the most powerful, intense movie experiences I have had in the cinema. I originally watched this movie in the cinema while sitting next to a WW2 veteran - his reactions were very interesting. Its a great movie with great acting, setting and props and characters to care about. Perhaps its only downside is some of the over done action in the second half. Must See Movie. Expand
  11. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    Although I'm a history buff and love good war movies, there have been very few decent ones during the last 15 years. Saving Private Ryan is not only a masterpiece in every regard, it's arguably the best war film of all time.
  12. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    Watching this movie drew me in and shook me to the very core with a gritty, realistic and bloody vision of WWII that makes you think "was it justified?". I usually think that Spielberg's earlier Schindlers List was superior, but seeing this for the first time has changed my outlook completely. One minor complaint is that too many parts of it feel like a full on action movie that could beWatching this movie drew me in and shook me to the very core with a gritty, realistic and bloody vision of WWII that makes you think "was it justified?". I usually think that Spielberg's earlier Schindlers List was superior, but seeing this for the first time has changed my outlook completely. One minor complaint is that too many parts of it feel like a full on action movie that could be viewed as disrespectful to the veterans. All in all, a cinematic experience that isn't afraid to shock. Expand
  13. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    Saving Private Ryan is an amazing movie, it is also the best war movie I have ever seen. The plot is gripping and keeps you enthralled while the characters all work together to deliver a star-studded performance that amazes. Saving Private Ryan defty blens the action and emotion into a package that is thrilling, a place where other movies tend to fail. There are virtually zero faults inSaving Private Ryan is an amazing movie, it is also the best war movie I have ever seen. The plot is gripping and keeps you enthralled while the characters all work together to deliver a star-studded performance that amazes. Saving Private Ryan defty blens the action and emotion into a package that is thrilling, a place where other movies tend to fail. There are virtually zero faults in this movie maybe except for very obscure missteps but so obscure that you must pay attention to see them. Overall Saving Private Ryan is a great movie that I recommend everyone watch, even if you are not into war movies you will still love this movie for it's characterization for it will also change your expectations for war movies forever. Breakdown for Saving Private Ryan: Presentation: 9.5, Plot: 9.7, Acting: 10, Script: 10, Lasting Appeal: 9.6. Overall Score: 9.6 out of 10 "Amazing". Expand
  14. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    The film opens with an old man collapsing to his knees under the weight of the guilt of having survived all those years ago. We see it in his tear-filled eyes and hear it in his trembling voice... This scene has the power to move me like virtually no scene in cinema history. The rest of the film is both terrifying and beautiful but it's those quiet moments of raw human emotion thatThe film opens with an old man collapsing to his knees under the weight of the guilt of having survived all those years ago. We see it in his tear-filled eyes and hear it in his trembling voice... This scene has the power to move me like virtually no scene in cinema history. The rest of the film is both terrifying and beautiful but it's those quiet moments of raw human emotion that Spielberg captures perfectly and makes Saving Private Ryan one of my top ten all-time favorites. A truly unforgettable experience. Expand
  15. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    In middle school some friends and I would have movie night every week. As we watched this particular film I began to cry. I was overwhelmed by the sacrifice these characters were making in an attempt to rescue a solitary soldier. I felt strange crying in front of my friends, but I realized in that moment that great cinema evokes great emotion. Our favorite movies make us feel poignantly.In middle school some friends and I would have movie night every week. As we watched this particular film I began to cry. I was overwhelmed by the sacrifice these characters were making in an attempt to rescue a solitary soldier. I felt strange crying in front of my friends, but I realized in that moment that great cinema evokes great emotion. Our favorite movies make us feel poignantly. This was the first film to make me feel something so powerful that it caused me to shed tears. Expand
  16. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Probably one of my favourite movies of all time. As you can see by my username, I'm a huge Tom Hanks fan, and this is probably one of his best performances, besides Forrest Gump. He plays an amazing role as a Captain John H. Miller, who gathers seven men to look for Private James Francis Ryan and to bring him home. Great story, nice effects, way ahead of its time, great acting too. On top of that, Tom Hanks is the greatest actor known to man. All of his movies are good, Forrest Gump, Saving Private Ryan, The Green Mile, Cast Away, The Terminal, The Polar Express, Toy Story, Apollo 13, the list just goes on Expand
  17. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    Saving Private Ryan has to be an all time favourite for everyone who likes war films. I personally enjoyed the movie because of its gripping action scenes and the very moving storyline which shows the bond between soldiers who have been tasked with a near-suicidal mission. Just simply amazing.
  18. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    a great war movie set in WWII . although not based on a true story outside the fact of its WWII and the showing of D Day which was brilliantly shot. a very intresting plot of a group of soldiers trying to find private ryan to inform him all his brothers died in the war. the acting is great and the visauls are fantastic . my hats off to speilberg for making this great war film .
  19. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    This movie blew my mind, I watched it in 2003 when I was 13, because I was being rebellious and went against what my mom told me to do. I was so mesmerized by how well it was made, that I became what people eould call these days, an "overly obsessive teen". I focused my teenage life on this movie, and at my grad I quoted it when I was chosen for Valedictorian. This movie was amazing.This movie blew my mind, I watched it in 2003 when I was 13, because I was being rebellious and went against what my mom told me to do. I was so mesmerized by how well it was made, that I became what people eould call these days, an "overly obsessive teen". I focused my teenage life on this movie, and at my grad I quoted it when I was chosen for Valedictorian. This movie was amazing. That's all I have to say. Expand
  20. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Everything a war-flick fan needs. Guns, tanks, blood, lots of history, excellent battle scenes and some drama. There is hardly any movie that can resemble Saving Private Ryan in its character. The Omaha Beach scene at the beginning is going to be ever famous in movie history. The story here is said with no playing with reality. People die in the most gruesome ways, sometimes because of their stupidity or just plainly because they are unlucky. Both American and German soldiers aren`t portraid as black and white. None is all good or all bad. We know that they are men struggling to survive a time when there are no rules other than to kill or be killed. Some are blind with hatred, others psyche goes to ashes, just a few are able to sustain their sanity. The story is fine and very touching, mostly because Tom Hanks gave his character a complicated and likeable personality. Other actors play their roles well, so the movie can`t be said as a one man show. The second best actor I`d say was the American medic. The ending of the movie might be seen as positive or negative - everyone can see it differently. I sticked to the characters so it was very sad for me. Other than that this movie is a wonderful showing of cinematography`s evolution and the hardware that was used in WWII. The armored vehicles are exceptionally well made. Fake, but still only an advanced history buff can see the difference (the wrong wheels on the Tiger I for example). I watched this film many times until I could memorise it 100%. Took me like 30 viewings but it`s worth it. Ofcourse I come back to it from time to time. Expand
  21. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    Amazing movie, besides a few innaccuracies with explosions and what not, it all culminates into a completely engrossing experiance where each soldier has their own personnality and can be distinguished from the next not only because of the superb acting, but also because the characters fit their roles to a T. The action is intense and fast paced, the drama is tragic, and truly shows whatAmazing movie, besides a few innaccuracies with explosions and what not, it all culminates into a completely engrossing experiance where each soldier has their own personnality and can be distinguished from the next not only because of the superb acting, but also because the characters fit their roles to a T. The action is intense and fast paced, the drama is tragic, and truly shows what war was like back in the 1940's. Expand
  22. May 20, 2011
    10
    High quality in every aspect. I don not see where complaints could possibly arise from, unless the ones voicing them accidentally saw the wrong film.
  23. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Saving Private Ryan is one of the most fulfilling experiences you can have watching a film. It's utterly absorbing, often heartbreaking and always thoughtful. This isn't just another American war film filled with square-jawed jingoistic action men belting out cliched soundbites. Saving Private Ryan honours the fallen, and acknowledges the unimaginable sacrifice they made. The charactersSaving Private Ryan is one of the most fulfilling experiences you can have watching a film. It's utterly absorbing, often heartbreaking and always thoughtful. This isn't just another American war film filled with square-jawed jingoistic action men belting out cliched soundbites. Saving Private Ryan honours the fallen, and acknowledges the unimaginable sacrifice they made. The characters Spielberg and writer Robert Rodat have developed don't feel like works of fiction, they are believably ordinary Americans who have chosen to fight for their country. Whilst the uncompromisingly brutal, horrifically intense and realistic battle scenes are what tend to get the film the most attention (particularly the now infamous, nearly half-hour long Omaha Beach battle) it is the quieter, more reserved moments of the film that truly stand out. Of particular note are the scene taking place in an abandoned church, where, taking shelter for the night, each of the soldiers debate the inhumanity of war, and the light-hearted chat that Miller and Ryan have prior to the final battle. The former is an exceedingly dark and psychoanalytical study, the latter a welcome moment of light-heartedness in an exceedingly depressing film, both are exceptional moments for character. Technically, the film is nigh-on flawless. The entire cast's performances, again are hard to fault. With a quite-rightly Oscar-nominated script and a heart-wrenchingly emotional score by John Williams, Saving Private Ryan approaches cinematic perfection. But even considering all these factors, the film's real achievement is the way in which it handles war, not as a spectacle or an excuse for a string of set-pieces as would be the case in a lesser movie, but as the horrific and pointless act it really is. The characters may be fictional, but they represent real men who really lost their lives during World War II, and the film acknowledges that fact. Saving Private Ryan is not only Spielberg's masterpiece, but quite possibly the greatest war film of all time. Expand
  24. Jun 14, 2012
    9
    I believe that Saving Private Ryan is one of the more accurate portrayal of WWII in film history. It has a stellar cast, incredibly deep character depth (you know, characters that you'll actually care about), and a surprisingly poignant story.
  25. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Would you risk 8 soldiers for 1? Or vice versa? It's a sad question, but one we can't avoid. This movie show that a death is a death. Unfortunately, it shows that we must pick one or the other, but someone still dies. This is my second time watching the movie and it was worth it.
  26. Jul 25, 2011
    10
    What a great move the acting was amazing the action couldn't be better the drama and suspence was just the best ive seen in a while i loved this movie no problems at all just great.
  27. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    There are few films that are literally unforgettable and Saving Private Ryan with its shocking imagery, pitch perfect acting and moving score manages to permanently burn itself into your brain.
    Despite what everyone remembers of Saving Private Ryan (The Omaha Beach section being the obvious one) its lasting moments are the quiet ones, the ones that show that even through the horrors of
    There are few films that are literally unforgettable and Saving Private Ryan with its shocking imagery, pitch perfect acting and moving score manages to permanently burn itself into your brain.
    Despite what everyone remembers of Saving Private Ryan (The Omaha Beach section being the obvious one) its lasting moments are the quiet ones, the ones that show that even through the horrors of war there is still a sense of humanity. Such moments not only provide some much needed levity (Miller and Horvath's discussion in the church being one of the best) as well as allowing the viewer to understand why these characters are worth caring for (Miller and Ryan discuss their families just before the war began). There isn't a moment of Saving Private Ryan where you aren't completely immersed. Both the direction (by Steven Spielberg) and the writing (by Robert Rodat) are brilliant with the latter allowing for a shift between pure darkness and shock to levity and joy in mere moments. In conclusion its Spielberg at the top of his game as he engages with the real emotion behind warfare, both the loss of humanity and the strive to regain it. It engages the viewer by letting him/her decide how to feel about shocking events while sometimes surprising you at the way you might react. Its a masterpiece that will never fail to get to me or as I imagine, almost anyone who watches it.
    Expand
  28. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    This movie just managed a 10. This epic directed by Steven Spielberg is a classic. The effects, acting, set, music and everything else was amazing. The story was great and there was a strong connection with the characters. The CGI was brilliant for 90's, and this movie is one you have to have on your shelf. It tell's the tale of soldiers as they embark on a mission to find Private Ryan,This movie just managed a 10. This epic directed by Steven Spielberg is a classic. The effects, acting, set, music and everything else was amazing. The story was great and there was a strong connection with the characters. The CGI was brilliant for 90's, and this movie is one you have to have on your shelf. It tell's the tale of soldiers as they embark on a mission to find Private Ryan, who has to come back home. Amazing action scenes, great music and an absolute masterpiece. Expand
  29. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    Saving Private Ryan is an awesome action and realistic movie with heart-pacing plot. It had captured the realism of the WWII and turn it into a movie with exciting plot. It catches your attention and have a ending that will make you remember forever.
  30. Jun 6, 2012
    9
    One of the most realistic war movies I've ever seen. There is not a single bad performance from the cast, all of them give solid, sterling performances in their roles, most notably Tom Hanks, Edward Burns, Matt Damon and Jeremy Davies. The battle scenes are frighteningly real, the opening half hour scene of the vicious Omaha Beach landings are well deserved to be called one of the bestOne of the most realistic war movies I've ever seen. There is not a single bad performance from the cast, all of them give solid, sterling performances in their roles, most notably Tom Hanks, Edward Burns, Matt Damon and Jeremy Davies. The battle scenes are frighteningly real, the opening half hour scene of the vicious Omaha Beach landings are well deserved to be called one of the best movie battle scenes of all time. Expand
  31. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    First of all, its a perfect example of the Sole Survivor Policy in the US Military, there are strong performances and actors to behold, and its a spectacularly watchable depiction of World War II battlegrounds. Steven Spielberg's work on Saving Private Ryan is one of his most impressive works I've seen in a long time.
  32. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    Surprisingly, I enjoyed this movie, because normally I see a war movie and I don't like it e.g. War horse, platoon etc. I thought the camera angles were good, the acting, the story and best of all the action. This movie is my top ten movies of all time.
  33. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Saving Private Ryan is the best war movie ever made. The performances are oustanding right from the lead all the way down to the supporting cast. never has a war movie been made so realistly. It was breathtaking from the war scenes to the cinematography. Saving Private Ryan is a true accomplishment like no other.
  34. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    This is a 10 out of 10 movie. It's so great. War scenes are stunning. Acting is real performed. Especially by Tom hanks. Score is also pretty good, and the story is pretty remarkable. Probably the best war movie ever. You really should watch this movie. This should've got best picture.
  35. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    The best war movie ever made. Spielberg captures the brutality of war but also the bond of friendship between characters fighting together for their lives. Tom Hanks turns in a brilliant performance as usual, and the film benefits from strong supporting work from Matt Damon and Barry Pepper.
  36. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    I can't tell you how refreshing it is to see a war movie that isn't packed with a butt-load of nationalism and military propaganda. I mean Saving Private Ryan does have some of that, but not a butt-load. In other words, the script, the acting and the directing contain so much drawing power that I can overlook any of the very minor flaws which might be hidden throughout this marvelousI can't tell you how refreshing it is to see a war movie that isn't packed with a butt-load of nationalism and military propaganda. I mean Saving Private Ryan does have some of that, but not a butt-load. In other words, the script, the acting and the directing contain so much drawing power that I can overlook any of the very minor flaws which might be hidden throughout this marvelous story. Not many movies have left me more engaged than this one. It's intense, it's compelling, it's slow and it punches a hole in your chest and grips your heart for three hours while a group of soldiers walk on eggshells. And the first scene may be the most horrifically enchanting moment in cinema history. Expand
  37. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    All ho love war movies gonna love this movie. One of the best movies ever made. Amazing movie
  38. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    Saving Private Ryan is arguably the greatest war flick of all time.

    The movie begins at D-Day. This opening scene was one of the craziest I have ever seen and features intense action sequences, along with a bit of blood and gore. This scene was just spectacular. Eventually, the main plot begins and Tom Hanks and a squad of soldiers begin a journey to find a missing private whose three
    Saving Private Ryan is arguably the greatest war flick of all time.

    The movie begins at D-Day. This opening scene was one of the craziest I have ever seen and features intense action sequences, along with a bit of blood and gore. This scene was just spectacular. Eventually, the main plot begins and Tom Hanks and a squad of soldiers begin a journey to find a missing private whose three brothers were killed in action.

    The interaction between the squad members is great and the journey they go on is exciting. The battle that culminates near the end of the movie is one of the greatest war scenes in history. The fighting is intense and it defines amazing effects and incredible acting.

    I highly recommend that you see this above-stellar movie, as it has incredible acting and effects.
    Expand
  39. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    I've been a fan of Steven Spielberg for a long time, but out of all of his movies, this one was the most exciting and intense. This is a true classic war film, truly the best war film ever made. Spielberg reels in some tremendous actors such as Tom Hanks, Edward Burns, Matt Damon, even Paul Giamatti and Nathan Fillion. The war scenes are beyond belief. I've never seen anything so realI've been a fan of Steven Spielberg for a long time, but out of all of his movies, this one was the most exciting and intense. This is a true classic war film, truly the best war film ever made. Spielberg reels in some tremendous actors such as Tom Hanks, Edward Burns, Matt Damon, even Paul Giamatti and Nathan Fillion. The war scenes are beyond belief. I've never seen anything so real before. I mean, the scenes are just so graphic and brutally intense. Spielberg really takes you into World War II. Even though it's almost 15 years old, it still amazes me in every way. This is my #1 of all time! Expand
  40. May 19, 2013
    9
    His synopsis may sound stupid and pointless, but its execution makes the movie almost the best of Spielberg, bringing the realistic side of war and hard, and with the performance of Tom Hanks and his platoon the movie becomes an epic of stories drama action and sacrifice.
  41. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    This is just such a great movie. It deserves every single award. Tom Hanks gives his most brilliant performance ever. All of his supporting cast is outstanding. I was just blown away by this film. Arguably, the greatest war film of all time.
  42. YoonC.
    Sep 15, 2003
    9
    Spielberg ups the ante on the greatest action scene ever, finally surpassing Peckinpah's master scenes in the Wild Bunch. Spielberg's attention to both the physicality and psychology of physical combat is unnerving as well as thrilling. Overall overwhelming. Fine performances and excellent script for what is essentially a conventional narrative.
  43. JamesJ.
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    My father, who died last year ( 2006 ), landed at Utah Beach on D-Day plus 3. He never really talked about the W W 2. One day I asked him why he did not talk about it and he said, "You wouldn't understand." After seeing "Saving Private Ryan", now I understand why he said I wouldn't understand. I also have a lot more admiration to the fighting men of our country.
  44. MickG.
    Aug 1, 2006
    10
    The best effects and plot for a war movie.
  45. BobK
    Apr 19, 2009
    10
    I love how all the people that don't like this movie say "This movie is disgusting and sucks". That's all they can say, and Germans do not look like the bad guys all that much. In the beginning American Soldiers kill two Germans for no reason and the sniper shows mercy by not taking off Carpazo's head. They were about to kill the German guy who had no weapons or anything.
  46. MattS.
    Mar 19, 2003
    10
    I love this movie. that is the only way to describe it.
  47. MattJ.
    Jun 28, 2003
    10
    This is the best film ever.
  48. AkhilK.
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    As long as your a young-adult and thereafter, there is abosultely no reason that you can label this movie as "gruesome" or "graphic". With the right amount of maturity this movie can be so powerful to actually change your life and appreciate to all those lost in that war and others.
  49. JohnD.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Shocking, true, violent - bloody awesome.
  50. ChrisR.
    Sep 3, 2004
    9
    As of three years ago, I have made a point of watching this film on June 6th every year, so that the true meaning of this historic date will never be lost. I know it sounds trite, but with holidays such as Memorial Day quickly becoming an excuse for cookouts, I feel the need to reinforce the terrible and awesome sacrifices that have shaped the course of history. This movie does just that. As of three years ago, I have made a point of watching this film on June 6th every year, so that the true meaning of this historic date will never be lost. I know it sounds trite, but with holidays such as Memorial Day quickly becoming an excuse for cookouts, I feel the need to reinforce the terrible and awesome sacrifices that have shaped the course of history. This movie does just that. For all of it's character development shortcomings, it still ranks as simply the most powerful cinematic depiction of war I have ever seen. And as a side note, the whole character development issue almost seems moot, considering the context in which most of these men knew each other. Ready to die for their brothers, many ironically knew very little of each other's personal lives, except for snippets learned during the calm interludes, when the soldier would share stories or letters from a world far away. That is why the betting on what Hank's character does as a civilian makes so much sense. To many, life at home was a carefully guarded treasure that served as a very personal and private link to sanity and hope. If you haven't seen this film, make it a point to do so. You will find a whole new appreciation for the ability of the common man who, faced with impossible odds and true terror, is somehow able to accomplish the extroardinary. It will renew your faith in mankind, while simultaneously horrifying you at man's folly. Expand
  51. TomL.
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    It ROCKS!!!!!!!
  52. Pagz
    Mar 9, 2005
    9
    Good- Realistic- Graphic, sets the mood.
  53. Henry
    May 2, 2005
    10
    Devastating.
  54. AlexanderC.
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    I think this movie is just incredible, Mr Spielberg and Mr Hanks are just masters fo the film business.
  55. LanceB.
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    I thought Spielberg did an awesome job at portraying the harsh realities that men face during war. And I am tired of hearing all of these people bashing the movie for being to graphic. Well you know what, thats what war is really like, believe it or not. If you dont like it then dont watch the movie.
  56. RodG.
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    Definitely in my top 5 all time favorite movies. Action, drama, comedy and everything in between.
  57. K.E.
    Jul 11, 2008
    10
    Anyone who gives this a 0 and is a fuckin hypocrite. Go fuck yourselves in the ass. No offense
  58. Harry
    Sep 20, 2008
    10
    Looking at the top rated list because im broed and scroll down a little and what do i see, Saving Private Ryan. I love this movie and have seen it few times, the epic fight scenes in quest to get a man back home to his Mother after the loss of his brothers. The most epic of any scenes in any movie in my opinion is when the sniper in the tower gets his eye shot out through the scope, that Looking at the top rated list because im broed and scroll down a little and what do i see, Saving Private Ryan. I love this movie and have seen it few times, the epic fight scenes in quest to get a man back home to his Mother after the loss of his brothers. The most epic of any scenes in any movie in my opinion is when the sniper in the tower gets his eye shot out through the scope, that seen in entirety was intense. Expand
  59. TomH
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    This is one of the very few films that I would rate 10. No, it's not about limbs flying off, and no, it's not all about death. This movie mixes a high-tide of powerful anti-war emotions, and sadness that still keeps you excited and has you gripped.
  60. MichaelF.
    Aug 26, 2001
    10
    This is my favorite war film! Heart-pounding and intense!
  61. SantinoS.
    Oct 25, 2002
    9
    The first 30 minutes of this movie r the most violent, brutal, graphic ever seen in movie history. it shows us how wars are really fought and what actually happens to soldiers on battlefields, in sharp contrast to earlier war films where one didn't even feel a soldier being killed. But i think spielberg didn't concentrate enough on the characters, of whom we don't know much,The first 30 minutes of this movie r the most violent, brutal, graphic ever seen in movie history. it shows us how wars are really fought and what actually happens to soldiers on battlefields, in sharp contrast to earlier war films where one didn't even feel a soldier being killed. But i think spielberg didn't concentrate enough on the characters, of whom we don't know much, as a result of which the movie is not as moving or touching as it could have been. Still this is a powerful film, with a superb cast and Hanks is excellent as ever. Expand
  62. MattM
    Sep 15, 2003
    9
    This is a great movie. I don't know how Spielberg makes these things. I love the camera work and action sequences. I think the movie should have had more 'behind the scenes' and more extras, but it does just fine for what it has. Plus the movie is more then enough.
  63. AlexC.
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    An absolutely brilliant war movie and without a doubt the best ever made. It has so many memorable and shocking moments in it, such as the Omaha beach scene, where there are limbs everywhere and that guy with his intestines hanging out. And as for you Frank R. in case you hadnt noticed this film is about and AMERICAN squad, and I think the flags at the start and end are great.
  64. BillH.
    Jun 6, 2004
    10
    Sobering. Magnificent.
  65. RaphaelR.
    Sep 26, 2004
    9
    This movei is good its not the best its not one of the worst its just good not great or excellent but good yaddamean?.... haha uhhm lets see i think for me there was only one bad part in this movie i think they focused on the action than they did in the story and yea.. but it still good.
  66. LucyL.
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    I loved it, and my great uncle (who was in wwII) says that it is one of The Best films about wwII. He says that what is shown on film is probably as close to the truth you can get.
  67. DJChoon
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    A masterpiece in every which way possible. The film is action pact, drama, pact and thriller pact. It took me on an emotional rollercoaster and left me gasping for breath in between vicious battle scenes.
  68. viktorh.
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    This so great, and i'm GERMAN!!! for cryling out lowd, cant thos idiats who say this is a bad move are so stupid!!! my grandpa was killed in the Dday inasssino, and he wasa a Nazi.
  69. KJohnson
    Jun 23, 2005
    10
    I couldn't imagine a better war movie that reaches this many people.
  70. [Anonymous]
    Jul 22, 2005
    10
    A spielburg masterpiece just one thing shy of perfection. That ammo carrier in the last battle was irritating to watch as his friends suffered, weeping in wimpiness. Otherwise, a great film, with unique cinematography that's more raw that other war blockbusters. Better paced than the dramatically accurate but lethargic "The Thin Red Line", and more realistic than "Windtalkers". If it A spielburg masterpiece just one thing shy of perfection. That ammo carrier in the last battle was irritating to watch as his friends suffered, weeping in wimpiness. Otherwise, a great film, with unique cinematography that's more raw that other war blockbusters. Better paced than the dramatically accurate but lethargic "The Thin Red Line", and more realistic than "Windtalkers". If it were up to me, I'd add some tank to tank battles, aerial dogfights and battleship artillery, but there's already enough action. Spielburg's got it all under control. Expand
  71. BlakeP.
    May 29, 2006
    10
    One of spielbergs best works. An amazing re-inactment of WWII. D-Day is portrayed magnificently. Don't be disgusted that the blood and gore is so realistic. That's war. It happened get over it. Over all this is an amazing movie. And I reccomend it to any World War II fanatics.
  72. AndrewH.
    Jun 23, 2006
    10
    Spielberg's best film in my opinion. One of my top ten favorite movies of all time.
  73. fg
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    It is good sad and horrible.
  74. JaredC.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    It takes courage and a well crafted script to pass a movie. But this is something that takes war movies to another level. And I hope to see an amount of continuess war film's exeptionally after this.
  75. JackS.
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    What can I say? This has been one of the BEST war movies ever! The fighting is realistic, peoples limbs were really blown off like that. It had some great and epic battle scenes.
  76. DuaneF.
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    This is an awesome movie and again if anyone rates this movie with a 0 or less is a complete f*cking idiot. For anyone who doesn't get why this movie is great (especially Americans) I just have to say you have never been to war and you probably don't deserve the freedoms that your country allows you. I just returned from a 3 year tour in Iraq. It's too bad the government This is an awesome movie and again if anyone rates this movie with a 0 or less is a complete f*cking idiot. For anyone who doesn't get why this movie is great (especially Americans) I just have to say you have never been to war and you probably don't deserve the freedoms that your country allows you. I just returned from a 3 year tour in Iraq. It's too bad the government doesn't allow the army to scout out ungrateful bastards that use their freedom to demean our country and spit on our flag and blow these useless f*ckers away. Expand
  77. Jag
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    Rarely do I give anything a ten but this movie was simply outstanding. the character development was perfect for everyone. I hate it when people dog this movie because they didn't pay attention to what was important. I also hate it when people put this movie down because they think it is to Hollywood like.This movie is not like the others they didn't make it silly they got it Rarely do I give anything a ten but this movie was simply outstanding. the character development was perfect for everyone. I hate it when people dog this movie because they didn't pay attention to what was important. I also hate it when people put this movie down because they think it is to Hollywood like.This movie is not like the others they didn't make it silly they got it right. This shows you how terrible war can be and you forget those men that sacrificed everything for us and their buddies any time soon after seeing this movie. A lot of good men die and tell it how it was. I do admit that there was some stuff thrown in there that I wish that they wouldn't have but that probably won't bug many others. This movie can be watched over and over and you'll always find something new to think about. This movie is good even if you don't like war movies. This movie is one that every American should see. Expand
  78. TomP.
    Apr 24, 2008
    10
    I don't know whether Tim S. and the Anonymouse reviewer have watched the same movie as I have. I love how they say it is inaccurate, but give no examples of this outside of the fact that Americans look like good guys and Germans look evil and lose. I don't know if you realize that by the time Normady was invaded, the Allies were winning the war, and that Germany had (thanks to I don't know whether Tim S. and the Anonymouse reviewer have watched the same movie as I have. I love how they say it is inaccurate, but give no examples of this outside of the fact that Americans look like good guys and Germans look evil and lose. I don't know if you realize that by the time Normady was invaded, the Allies were winning the war, and that Germany had (thanks to Hitler) not prepared properly for a large assault on Normandy, and were fooled by an unreal diversion army, so I'm sorry if they did not completely expect the American attack and didn't kill as many allied forces as you would have liked, but that's history, so deal with it. Also, one thing that really stood out to me was how many of the Americans did NOT all seem that good. You saw Americans shooting surrendering Germans, attempting to kill the unarmed soldier who (contrary to Tim's veiw that they were unskilled) later killed one of the American soldiers in the party in hand to hand combat. (And in returning the favor, spares the American soldier's life) Hell, the only surviving main characters at the end are the Brooklyn guy and Ryan.Oh, and I love how the anonymous review says the beginning is spot on, like he was there and really knows...just seems sorta lame...and of course it's going to show the Americans joking around and not Germans, seeing as they're the main characters who the story fixes on, and not the Germans. If you would like to see a random ass clip of Germans walking around laughing with each other in a movie depicting American soldiers, go ahead and write up your own script. Oh, though Mythbusters did prove that you can't shoot through a sniper scope like the movie showed, way to spoil the cool, oh well. Great, great movie. Expand
  79. JakeR
    Apr 5, 2009
    10
    The greatest war movie ever made! Period. This is also another great Tom Hanks and Steven Spielburg film that is destined to become a classic. This movie is not for the weak stomached or the faint. This sucker is rough and doesn't stop for the whole 3 hours of shooting, disemberment and gore.
  80. RyanM.
    Jul 11, 2001
    10
    Great, one of the best and most realistic war films of all time. Doesn't jolt like "Platoon" but does shock in a way many films don't.
  81. GregF.
    Jul 24, 2001
    10
    The one and only time I've been in a theater after the movie was over and the entire audience sat silent through the credits and while exiting. How this did not win the Oscar remains baffling to me.
  82. Gilbert
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    Heigh ho, another Spielberg masterpiece then. I know, I'm not supposed to like this, because it was made by Steven and it's fashionable to knock Steven. Sod it. The first 45 minutes ARE power, ARE terror, ARE cinema at its most stomach-churning. The quick and arbitrary brutality of the battlefield could not have been better envisaged, and the American flag bookends are perfect - Heigh ho, another Spielberg masterpiece then. I know, I'm not supposed to like this, because it was made by Steven and it's fashionable to knock Steven. Sod it. The first 45 minutes ARE power, ARE terror, ARE cinema at its most stomach-churning. The quick and arbitrary brutality of the battlefield could not have been better envisaged, and the American flag bookends are perfect - far from being an insult to the other allied nations (hi, I'm from Britain), they're a salute to those who lost their lives BEFORE YOUR VERY EYES. The flags are American because, hey, it's about an AMERICAN squadron, yeah? They could hardly have shown the flags of every single country, it would fill the screen in a blur of colour. Anyway, this movie has to be seen - just in case you weren't already utterly appalled by the very notion of violence. Believe me, if you weren't, you will be at the end of Private Ryan. Expand
  83. ChrisM.
    Jul 21, 2002
    9
    To start off I would like to say I can understand why some would be offended or upset at the fact that other countries were introverted from and the focus of the movie was on the Americans, but I say that holds only so little of a grudge. I mean can't we assume that if the movie was made in Canada by a Canadian director that the focus would be on the Canadian and British forces? The To start off I would like to say I can understand why some would be offended or upset at the fact that other countries were introverted from and the focus of the movie was on the Americans, but I say that holds only so little of a grudge. I mean can't we assume that if the movie was made in Canada by a Canadian director that the focus would be on the Canadian and British forces? The movie actually wasn't very historically accurate either in several places, but Spielberg doing the best he could with his military advisors and what little knowledge he might have had pulled it off I think. At least in capturing the chaos that is war. I'm not sure if it?s even supposed to be an "anti-war" film, I believe it appears as almost a learning tool. To try and get people interested (at least the younger generations) in something that is fast fading away. I think that's what has most recently sparked the WW2 bug that?s going around right now. It?s become so popular recently because it happened so close to our time, yet so far. The veterans are slowly dying away, not many left, and we need to get what we can from them to better understand what really happened before they're all gone. In conclusion the movie was excellent, portrayed what it set out to portray, taught and important lesson in a way that will make people listen, and overall got us in touch with the past like never before. Collapse
  84. TelyS.
    Sep 28, 2002
    9
    I'll start by saying that I find the plot uninloving. I think that Spielberg should have opted for a grander, more epic story for his WW2 film, rather than a story that revolves around a sinlge man, but in the end it doesn't matter. The film contains some of the most brilliant and striking imagery I've ever seen. The raw power of the combat scenes made me feel as if I were I'll start by saying that I find the plot uninloving. I think that Spielberg should have opted for a grander, more epic story for his WW2 film, rather than a story that revolves around a sinlge man, but in the end it doesn't matter. The film contains some of the most brilliant and striking imagery I've ever seen. The raw power of the combat scenes made me feel as if I were a participant in those grisly battles. There has been NO OTHER MOVIE that has been so viceraly powerful as this, and I doubt there ever will be. It's made an unforgetable impression on my mind. Expand
  85. JackM.
    Jul 26, 2003
    10
    This is da tits, action riite from da start and throughout, i enjoyed dis film from start 2 finish.
  86. RobertC.
    Apr 15, 2004
    10
    While Apocalypse Now may be the best war-related film in history, Saving Private Ryan stands as the most honorable, yet harshly intense, war film in cinema history. As with many others who saw the film, the opening scene on D-Day still stands as one of the most brilliant, intense, incredibly realistic moment in film. Not to mention the rest of the film carried that same tone through most While Apocalypse Now may be the best war-related film in history, Saving Private Ryan stands as the most honorable, yet harshly intense, war film in cinema history. As with many others who saw the film, the opening scene on D-Day still stands as one of the most brilliant, intense, incredibly realistic moment in film. Not to mention the rest of the film carried that same tone through most of the flick. And it still confuses the hell out of me how in the world Shakespeare In Love was able to beat THIS movie. Expand
  87. DanC.
    Apr 16, 2004
    10
    With the possible exception of Platoon, this is the most realistic war movie ever made. This is what Tom Hanks really shoulda won for.
  88. NicolletteM.
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    I had to watch Saving Private Ryan for a movie review for school and I'm glad I did it on this movie cause not only are they over fighting for our freedom but they are putting their lifes on the line to save their war brothers. So when i saw this movie it gave me a better look on what we are doing in this world today. And why our country is such a great country. What makes the movie I had to watch Saving Private Ryan for a movie review for school and I'm glad I did it on this movie cause not only are they over fighting for our freedom but they are putting their lifes on the line to save their war brothers. So when i saw this movie it gave me a better look on what we are doing in this world today. And why our country is such a great country. What makes the movie so great is that it looks so realistic and Steven Spielberg is such a great movie director. I'm happy to say that I got to do a movie report on Saving Private Ryan cause I have a better look on things. And i dont care if I'm just a teen this is one of the best war movies of all time. And yes I'm a girl. Expand
  89. RalphW.
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    I think Steven Spillberg is the best director films of the world. i`m write a novel that speak about D-Day, i would like that Steven Know my novel.
  90. armandos.
    Jan 22, 2005
    9
    One of the best war films i have ever seen. The first 20 minutes is a masterpiece of filmaking-the rest of the film does not reach that high level, but ultimately is very moving-great acting.
  91. billyj.
    Mar 18, 2005
    10
    This is a realy good movie with alot of action and a touching ending.
  92. AdrianR.
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    This movie was amazing, one of the most realistic and moving war movies of all time. You really grow on all of the characters, and if they bite the dust you feel it. This is due to the great acting, Tom Hanks really shines in this one even if the sniper over-acts once in a while. It shows the way someone will feel they owe someone after being saved.
  93. JohanM.
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    Deliciously chosen cinematic angles, superb hi-fi audio and a world-class bunch of actors. Mix that together and u have one of the greates war-movies of all time.
  94. LW
    May 24, 2007
    10
    I'm not much for war movies, I tend to be squeamish, and I'm easily put off by the rah rah glory scenes, but this movie was amazing. Real, raw, and an absolute masterpiece.
  95. GerrickC.
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    Few movies can capture the terrors and carnage or war. Few movies can convey what exactly our men went through during these times. Saving Private Ryan is not only one of those few movies, but perhaps the only war movie that captures the intensity and brutality of war. This is a must-see for any war or war movie buff, and anyone in between must see it also.
  96. R.Lopez
    Jan 16, 2009
    10
    Astounding!! Saving Private Ryan is one of those rarities, it's a war film with heart. This amazing WWII film stars Tom Hanks as Capt. John Miller a solider who' seen too much and who is done with war, during D-Day him and his unit are ordered to find a single solider by the name of John Francis Ryan a private in the airborne division who just recently lost all three of his Astounding!! Saving Private Ryan is one of those rarities, it's a war film with heart. This amazing WWII film stars Tom Hanks as Capt. John Miller a solider who' seen too much and who is done with war, during D-Day him and his unit are ordered to find a single solider by the name of John Francis Ryan a private in the airborne division who just recently lost all three of his brothers in combat, now Miller and his men have to bring Ryan back alive while out running the Nazis and there conscious. Saving Private Ryan is a dedication to the men who died to protect there nation and there freedom they were soldiers who battled against oppression and evil. they fought for what they believed was right and conquered and this film shows that one man is just as important as the rest. I very highly recommend this astounding Motion picture. Expand
  97. Cy
    Nov 24, 2001
    10
    Great movie! One of the best ever made, and one of the best I've ever seen.
  98. JarrodM.
    Dec 27, 2001
    10
    The most powerful and realistic war movie ever made! It has made me very thankful for what those WWII veterans did for us in such a challenging period in our history. I highly recommend this outstanding film to all Americans!
  99. PatC.
    Nov 25, 2003
    10
    After seeing this I realized I had never seen a real war movie before. I'd always suspected the meanings of horror and heroism are interchangeable to soldiers. Here war is stripped of its glamour to expose more subtle virtues. Not since "All Quiet on the Western Front" has a movie redefined the capacity of cinema to replicate war. Then to evoke feelings of patriotism from realistic After seeing this I realized I had never seen a real war movie before. I'd always suspected the meanings of horror and heroism are interchangeable to soldiers. Here war is stripped of its glamour to expose more subtle virtues. Not since "All Quiet on the Western Front" has a movie redefined the capacity of cinema to replicate war. Then to evoke feelings of patriotism from realistic depictions of carnage - even the world's militaries, working with film for 100 years, hadn't been able to do that. What a masterpiece. Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Nothing that suggests an independent vision, unless you count seeing more limbs blown off than usual.
  2. 89
    A bitter, bloody masterpiece with adrenalized emotions and hyper-realized images, this is perhaps as close to battle as any sane human being should ever hope to tread.
  3. 80
    The movie's greatest strength lies in phenomenal performances that reach from the leads right down to the smallest supporting roles.