User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 206 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 206

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It should've been Jill(Betsy Russell), not Mark(Costas Mandyor), a serial killer with no showmanship, no panache, who should have carried on Jigsaw's work as a good samaritan. (He's getting rid of a**holes, right?) But in "Saw III", the batty moralist dies. Maybe "Saw" shot its wad too soon, killing off John(Tobin Bell) in the midst of a then-wildly popular franchise, leaving the keys to the kingdom in Mark's hands, leaving "Saw" in a lurch. Without having seen all seven(!!!) films, my guess is that Jigsaw was better alive than dead, a proactive character with a puppet who would look more at home with the cast of Peter Jackson's "Meet the Feebles" than Jim Henson's Muppets. More than John, Mark needs that puppet; he'd be nothing without that male ventriloquist's dummy. The man is a cipher, when you compare this dirty cop with other iconic villains from other popular horror movie franchises. Must we name names? Well, for starters, Freddy Krueger didn't need no stinkin' traps to be interesting. "Saw" made a mistake in that third installment, which probably cost them at the box office in the long run. After the father of a kidnapped daughter runs a skill saw across Jigsaw's throat, the series could have gone in two directions. (Both more interesting than its chosen path.) Since the puppet, not the puppetmaster, is the films' lasting icon, why not consolidate the two and have Jigsaw calling the shots as a reanimated insentient toy(a soul transference closer to the spirit of Richard Attenborough's "Magic" than Tom Holland's "Child's Play", since the former also featured a ventriloquist's dummy, whereas Chucky was a doll), with Jill, playing the Anthony Hopkins role, in which you're not sure if it's her, or the doll, doing the manipulating. The second scenario would have been an ever greater improvement, especially when applied to "Saw: 3D", a film that's all rote murder and no surprises. This scenario doesn't exclude Mark; he could kill some, but just don't leave ALL the killing to him. Make Mark the second copycat. Like the Jonas Ackerland-directed music video for The Prodigy's "Smack My **** Up", "Saw: 3D" could have used the short form music video's first-person approach to conceal the trap designer's identity, especially her sex. In "Smack My **** Up", the aggressive behavior on part of the unseen person suggests we're watching a man. To find out that the agitator is female, is a shock. Having two psychos help account for the moral inconsistencies of the one-man judge and jury, Mark, who in one instance, takes the skinheads trapping(David Lowery of Camper Van Beethoven "Take the Skinheads Bowling" instead), then in the same breath, has no qualms about involving a complete innocent like the author's wife, who had no inclination that her husband lied about being a Jigsaw survivor. Like Ellen Page in David Slade's "Hard Candy", Mark doesn't care if the skinheads hate minorities, both he and Hayley Stark(she doesn't really care if the pedophile, played by Patrick Wilson, f*cks underaged girls) just get off on torturing people. (Look at the poster for "Hard Candy", it's very "Saw"-like.) "Saw: 3D" just simply thinks too highly of itself. The final installment of this pioneering torture-porn series insists on mythologizing itself by returning Dr. Lawrence Gordon(Cary Elwes) to that warehouse bathroom like it was a paramountcy moment, on par with Luke Skywalker first arriving at Tatooine in George Lucas' "Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith", rather than honoring the most important horror trope of them all: the "final girl". As the final girl, Jill is supposed to own the pleasure of killing the killer, but no, torture porn plays by its own rules, having little regard for the old school template of the pre-"Hostel" days that served a film like John Carpenter's "Halloween", and others, so well, because Mark grabs hold of Jill, seats our heroine, and rips her face open with a bear trap. Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2011
    1
    With an incomprehensible storyline, illogical plot-twists, poor actors, laughable dialog, and cheap CGI, Saw 3-D has saved the worst and most sadistic for last.
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    0
    The film is laughable in its feeble attempts to gain shock value through gore we've all seen before. This horse was dead about after the third film, and I wish someone would tell them to stop making them.
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    2
    A bad movie. This film errs by excess, the deaths are too exaggerated and the story is weak and dowdy, not the characters are engaging and can clearly note the lack of creativity of the creators of the series.
  5. Sep 21, 2011
    4
    "Saw 3D" offers nothing. You see massive cliches and blood flying around for 90 minutes. The ending is hurried and the actors perform terribly. I would have given this a 2, BUT what saved the movie is director Greutert's manageable directions and the newly equipped 3D, which helped me watch eyeballs and body parts flying around 'artistically'. Game Over.
  6. Nov 6, 2011
    3
    This is the worst film in the series by far, the acting was horrible, the twists were horrible and the ending topped it off for being more horrible. SAW; a great series ruined by a horrible ending.
  7. Nov 5, 2010
    3
    When I "saw" this, I witnessed some fairly interesting angles mixed in with some truly terrible acting. There actually could be something great here, but the acting is SO abysmal that I can't even concentrate on the movie itself. I just wanna pound my head into a wall to make it stop; so I can feel nothing at all -- so I can't think. The traps are absolutely disgusting, but the 3D doesWhen I "saw" this, I witnessed some fairly interesting angles mixed in with some truly terrible acting. There actually could be something great here, but the acting is SO abysmal that I can't even concentrate on the movie itself. I just wanna pound my head into a wall to make it stop; so I can feel nothing at all -- so I can't think. The traps are absolutely disgusting, but the 3D does nothing to expound on the nasty factor. The 3D is so cheap it ruins the punitive amputations and makes them look cheap, loosening its visceral factor a notch -- which could have been an intention due its nasty nature. Expand
  8. Aug 2, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Saw 3D gave the gore fans exactly what they wanted: Gore. So much gore, delivered in various ways - some more inventive than others. Sadly, for those who have followed the story and kept up, gore alone was not going to make this a good film. I won't repeat the many flaws this film has, as other reviewers here have that base fully covered, but I will elaborate on something most just mention. Lazy/poor scripting. Characters weren't just killed; they were assassinated. Jill, for example, had been a quiet character who used her head and kept her cool. She knew the part she had to play, and until the end of Saw VI she had played it well. However, in Saw 3D she appeared to have a complete character reversal. Gone was the cool and calculating woman who could rely on her quick mind to escape almost anything. What we got instead was a typical horror movie "screaming queen" who did nothing but blunder around without anything resembling a thought process going on in her head. There was no fight in her as she fled from Hoffman, and she seemed to just resign and accept her fate once she was captured. This change was repeated for the other main players in this film. 6 films' worth of character development was thrown aside so the characters could do what the script wanted them to do, instead of the script bending to the needs of the characters. Yes, the previous films were guilty of giving highly dubious reasons as to why people were doing the things they did, but at least some attempt of justification was given as to why this wasn't "out of character" behaviour. Saw 3D made huge changes and offered no explanation as to why. That's what upset me the most about this film, and why I think it's the weakest of the bunch. Expand
  9. Oct 31, 2010
    3
    You have to be a complete idiot to not see that plot twist coming. Really? Talk about going out with a whimper. I was extremely disappointed. I had hopes with Kevin Greutert, who directed the, admittedly, good "Saw VI". However, my hopes were not met. Tedious, boring, and featuring some of the worst 3D i've ever seen, "Saw 3D" is not worth a moment of your time.
  10. Oct 31, 2010
    2
    spoilers: Im a big fan of saw and loved all 6 of them. But saw 7 was just disappointing. Saw 7 was supposed to be the collision of ALL 6 movies combined. We wanted to know more about the man we have been waiting to see for the past 7 years.(Gordon) The justification for Bobby and his victims were so dumb. If you like watching people die then you will like it. There are plenty of loose endsspoilers: Im a big fan of saw and loved all 6 of them. But saw 7 was just disappointing. Saw 7 was supposed to be the collision of ALL 6 movies combined. We wanted to know more about the man we have been waiting to see for the past 7 years.(Gordon) The justification for Bobby and his victims were so dumb. If you like watching people die then you will like it. There are plenty of loose ends and you would think that there would be a saw 8 because of the unanswered questions. Why has Gordon assisted Jigsaw? What happened to Easton's killers,sister, and saved victims? Why did they just lazily scrap the 2 victims of saw 5? What happened to Gordon's family? I assume the other 2 pigmaks resemble Gordon's appretinces as he takes on the rightful role as Jiggsaw. Now, the point of Bobby was so that since he could not understand the pain of being a victim, he had no power to save others, but he did. He helped alot of people appreciate life. Who cares if he lied, he may have been in it for fame and fortune but what he got wasnt justified, it was a cheap excuse to put more traps. Bobby's victims were even more innocent. You put in traps because you dont appreciate life or your ruining someone elses. They didnt do either. There wasnt much of Tobin(Jiggsaw), he only had like 1 scene. Saw1-6 were true to the series giving deserving punishments with great twists. But saw 7 wasnt. You would expect the last one to be the best. Why didnt Gordon return for Adam? Throughout the movie, your supposed to be fixated on Hoffman and Bobby, but the fans are obviously on their toes, waiting for Gordon. Many things are unanswered but to be honest, its somewhat implied. But we really want to see why Gordon became the new Jiggsaw. Saw has a knack for giving us a great ending that will make us want to come back to see the sequel so we can find the answers to the questions we have been wondering. Saw 7 does the same except provides no sequels so no answers. People criticize it for saw 7 trying to tie up loose ends instead of tell a story, but they didnt even tie up the loose ends, some of it is still loose. Ok im done, ill be in my angry dome, drinking cups of anger tea. Expand
  11. Nov 6, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was a piece of trash. Every kill within the movie felt whimsickle and needless. Bringing in Doctor Lawrence Gordon as an additional Jigsaw apprentice is highly unrealistic. You can see how pissed off that his family was put in danger at the end of the first Saw movie. He should have been hunting Jigsaw. Additionally, the killing of Jill Tuck was the only thing that was slightly poetic. The fact of the matter is that this movie didn't sum up the series at all. This movie was supposed to be the culmination of all of Jigsaw's work. This did not summarize anything. It did not wrap up the story. The only thing it did wrap up was the recently tainted Saw series. **** you saw 3D. Expand
  12. Nov 1, 2010
    0
    BOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! The Saw series has gone soooooo off track since the first film. I enjoyed the first and the third, the 2nd and 4th were borderline a waste of time. Followed very closely by all the rest!!! I enjoyed the twist in the last movie but everything else was a sick explotation of murder and gore (seriously who needs to watch a piece of intestine fall from the ceiling on to theBOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! The Saw series has gone soooooo off track since the first film. I enjoyed the first and the third, the 2nd and 4th were borderline a waste of time. Followed very closely by all the rest!!! I enjoyed the twist in the last movie but everything else was a sick explotation of murder and gore (seriously who needs to watch a piece of intestine fall from the ceiling on to the floor, followed by a 5 second close up of that same intestine). I expect this from Hostile but man the first one was so smart and intricately weaved with a briliant conclusion. Anyone says they like this movie is just DUMB!!! I'm sorry but DUMB!!! Expand
  13. Nov 13, 2010
    0
    Get an extra hour of real life now - it's free ! - don't watch this piece of trash.

    qwertyqwertyqwertyqwertyqwertyqwertyqwertyqwertyqwertyqwertyqwertyqwertyqwertyqwertyqwertyqwerty
  14. Dec 11, 2010
    0
    Yeah, gore and more gore, people like it, understandable since people have never really seen someone actually get ripped up before, if they did, well they probably want to just do it themselves and should be arrested. This movie leaves you with nothing but, 'hey i saw a new movie now I can go home and maybe do something else for the day...' and no, the 3D didn't really do anything either.
  15. May 29, 2011
    3
    In my opinion, it was the most blazing movie of the saga. The makeup was very well done and comes up with convincing the realism exposed to the killings. Closed with the saga in a convincing and satisfactory way.
  16. Oct 30, 2010
    4
    Saw 6 and Saw 7 (or Saw 3D as it's titled) went against the essence of the entire franchise. The greatness of the first five movies was the possibility of redemption, and how traps had the ability to teach lessons. Yet, the producers and directs have chosen gore and violence over cleverness, and it's so disappointing. I saw the movie in 3D and I don't think the 3D effects were used enough,Saw 6 and Saw 7 (or Saw 3D as it's titled) went against the essence of the entire franchise. The greatness of the first five movies was the possibility of redemption, and how traps had the ability to teach lessons. Yet, the producers and directs have chosen gore and violence over cleverness, and it's so disappointing. I saw the movie in 3D and I don't think the 3D effects were used enough, and it's not like theaters are set up to spray you with red water when you see blood splatter so the 3D is really a gimmick. I can say, I'm glad the series has ended because what once had intriguing twists and outcomes eventually lost those very things that made it so great. Expand
  17. Nov 25, 2011
    0
    This sucked, Simple as that. I was a huge fan of this franchise but Saw 3D killed it for me and it showed to us all that the Saw franchise simply needs to die.
  18. Nov 13, 2010
    0
    Well, I don't know - maybe there's some system of making movies for them, but the fact is that the 1st, 3rd and 5th movies were best for me, 2nd, 4th and 6th "not very good". So, from this part i was expecting something good. But the plot is dull, actors play awful (especially new detective), death-scenes are disgusting. Well, there is only one good moment - the ending (that lasts forWell, I don't know - maybe there's some system of making movies for them, but the fact is that the 1st, 3rd and 5th movies were best for me, 2nd, 4th and 6th "not very good". So, from this part i was expecting something good. But the plot is dull, actors play awful (especially new detective), death-scenes are disgusting. Well, there is only one good moment - the ending (that lasts for about 3 minutes)... Hole movie is a big mess, it shouldn't be made. Thanks god, that i watched it NOT in 3D! Expand
  19. Nov 22, 2010
    4
    Saw 3D is the most disgusting saw movie I have ever watched, the story is quite good but it's real badly acted, there are good scenes but, THIS IS NOT 3D!!!!!!
  20. Nov 24, 2010
    4
    It is a generic horror film that everyone has seen many a time over. Bad script and acting. Still though a good movie to go and see with your friends one night if your bored.
  21. Dec 17, 2010
    2
    Let me start off by saying I have seen all the Saw Movies, 1-6, and decided to see the final Saw film. I was more than disappointed.
    I am doing a comparison to what the Saw films were originally like, if you don't like that then don't read my review, simple as that.
    Saw 1, 2 and 3 (In my opinion) relied mostly on a gripping understanding of morals and a complete regression to violence to
    Let me start off by saying I have seen all the Saw Movies, 1-6, and decided to see the final Saw film. I was more than disappointed.
    I am doing a comparison to what the Saw films were originally like, if you don't like that then don't read my review, simple as that.
    Saw 1, 2 and 3 (In my opinion) relied mostly on a gripping understanding of morals and a complete regression to violence to resolve problems. However, Saw 4 and 5 just relied on slice and dice gore like most of the horror industry is these days. Saw 6 then came as a surprise to me, it made me seem like they had a shot at making the franchise start up well again. So I went into Saw 7 with high hopes that it would live up to the 6th film and the first three movies. Needless to say, it went back to what Saw 4 and Saw 5 did, mindless gore, lackluster plot. But only this time it had the introduction of something that almost all movies have these days, 3D! (Which was also lackluster).
    Also the plot twist.... Really? The lack of imagination was both disappointing and boring.

    My Review: 23/100
    Consensus: If your new to the series, stay WAY away, rent the first movie and start from there. If your a fan, go ahead and watch it, it won't hurt, it might lower your standards though.

    If you want more reviews like this, or want to request a review, go to gamerspurgatory.darkbb.com, sign up and message DarkZX
    Expand
  22. Mar 5, 2011
    4
    Holy Cow. I didnt need to see this. Stretched out, boring, and awful ending. Only nice thing is the thing "final chapter", that means i am not going to torture myself with this garbage anymore. Bad luck for movie serial, but this is sheer disaster.
  23. Apr 29, 2011
    4
    This one spoilt it for me. I'm not having a go at the saw series, because I think it is well written, and I'm not having a go at how many movies there are, because all of them up to now have been decently written. After Saw III, the films went downhill a bit, but they were never bad. They always had a couple of interesting plot twists that would keep you watching until the end. But thisThis one spoilt it for me. I'm not having a go at the saw series, because I think it is well written, and I'm not having a go at how many movies there are, because all of them up to now have been decently written. After Saw III, the films went downhill a bit, but they were never bad. They always had a couple of interesting plot twists that would keep you watching until the end. But this one wasn't good at all. The main trap of the film has nothing to do with the plot, though it is slightly interesting. The plot twist at the end is alright but there's only one, and it's not really the finale ending we were all hoping for after six movies. I am a fan of the Saw movies, but I can't say I like this one. It was a poor ending to the series and I expected better. Expand
  24. May 7, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the worst film in the franchise! This was a terrible way to end the series! The acting was bad, the directing was bad, the plot twists were bad and the end was bad!! All the characters in this film annoyed me, I was soo happy when they died!! Yet, this film still leaves out some things that need to be explained, especially the fate of Bobby Dagen. If there is a Saw 8, it better not turn out like this!!! Expand
  25. May 20, 2011
    3
    First of all, I won't comment on the 3D parts of this movie as I only watched the bluray copy. Secondly, I just hope this is the final one as they are never going to better the first 2 movies (yes, I liked the 2nd one!). THis film just expands the story a little more with completely pointless deaths. If they do decide to do another Saw movie then save everyone £$ and just makeFirst of all, I won't comment on the 3D parts of this movie as I only watched the bluray copy. Secondly, I just hope this is the final one as they are never going to better the first 2 movies (yes, I liked the 2nd one!). THis film just expands the story a little more with completely pointless deaths. If they do decide to do another Saw movie then save everyone £$ and just make a load of death scenes and stick them on youtube. Expand
  26. Jun 15, 2011
    2
    I want to love this film and Saw has this manipulative way. You to forget about everything and watch the next film. However this time, what was done cannot be forgotten. Horrible acting performances, borderline pointless story line and deaths that happen so quick and often that you can't even possible connect with any individual character. Worst movie that I have seen this year!!!
  27. Nov 14, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: Umpteen merciless slashings, with a side dish of guts and blood. Plot? Whoops, we sure forgot that one didnâ Expand
  28. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    It was pretty disapointing. It started off interesting but it went quickly downhill into straight up garbage. Extremely poor use of 3D. The traps seemed interesting but only a small amount of them were actually good. Poor directing, Terrible overacting. Its just a huge piece of trash.
  29. Mar 5, 2012
    1
    First off they should of stop making Saw after the 4th one. Saw5-3D were terrible> Waste of time and waste of money. The end of the story line was ok but the movie was terrible
  30. Feb 9, 2012
    2
    I hated it at first but when I really think about it, It wasnt all that bad. The traps were rather poor (at times) and definently took advantage of the 3D technology they were using but not all of them were bad (the Garage trap was pretty good imo). The acting was pathetic though and hands down the worst in the series. The script is terrible and far too straight forward, Doesnt offer anI hated it at first but when I really think about it, It wasnt all that bad. The traps were rather poor (at times) and definently took advantage of the 3D technology they were using but not all of them were bad (the Garage trap was pretty good imo). The acting was pathetic though and hands down the worst in the series. The script is terrible and far too straight forward, Doesnt offer an suspense at all like the rest of the films did. What killed this film was the poor plot behind it and it shows greatly in the film. Expand
  31. Oct 30, 2012
    4
    Thank **** Christ its over...it better **** had be anyway. So Saw VII: The Final Chapter (I refuse to call it Saw 3D because I will not watch this poor excuse for a finale in 3D) is as the title states the final chapter in Jigsaws legacy. All the films, all the traps, all the crappy acting and all the poorly written plot has led to this. Hoffman is on the run, Jill knows he is Jigsaw andThank **** Christ its over...it better **** had be anyway. So Saw VII: The Final Chapter (I refuse to call it Saw 3D because I will not watch this poor excuse for a finale in 3D) is as the title states the final chapter in Jigsaws legacy. All the films, all the traps, all the crappy acting and all the poorly written plot has led to this. Hoffman is on the run, Jill knows he is Jigsaw and plans to tell the cops, the cops are the closest they have ever been to finding who Jigsaw is and it ends where it **** began. SPOILERS Turns out Doctor Gordon from Saw I never died and he was helping Hoffman all along, now that Hoffman tops Jill he is safe...oh yeah until he gets shut in the old manky bathroom with 2 dead guys (one of which has been there since 2004 might I add) and Gordon is free to live his life as a pegleg medical practitioner...happy days. There is this whole plot with some guy who is supposedly a Jigsaw survivor and someone from Saw VI makes a cameo but its a really **** bad story that is overshadowed by the Benny Hill show as hosted by Hoffman and Jill. I have never seen such a promising film/franchise hit the fan as much as Saw did, I hope to God they never make another film for clingy fans again and please *gets on hands and knees* please let this be the last one. Expand
  32. Nov 2, 2013
    3
    "Saw 3D" is easily the worst film in the series. The acting is terrible, the story is nonsense and the use of 3-D is awful. Let me give you an advice: Don't waste your money on this movie. It's not worth it. Thank god this is the end of the franchise.
  33. Mar 5, 2014
    4
    They're not even trying anymore and they saved the worst for last. This movie is terrible from acting, story, pacing, to the traps not even being that clever. It has turned into a generic slasher film. What used to be Jigsaw putting people through wicked traps to prove to themselves that they deserve the life that they've been given is no longer there. It is now Jigsaw's predecessorThey're not even trying anymore and they saved the worst for last. This movie is terrible from acting, story, pacing, to the traps not even being that clever. It has turned into a generic slasher film. What used to be Jigsaw putting people through wicked traps to prove to themselves that they deserve the life that they've been given is no longer there. It is now Jigsaw's predecessor killing people for no reason, people who do not deserve to die. Even the twist at the end was not that exciting. I am just glad that this is over and we hopefully have seen the last Saw movie. I give this movie a 35.1 out of 10. Expand
  34. Mar 13, 2014
    3
    I find it a shame that a franchise which i was a huge fan of in its earlier years ended with such a whimper. What I liked with the originals was wondering weather the participants would win there tests or weather they would fail. Saw 3D made it abundantly clear how the tasks would end and ended up just being a film to show off how many gross ways people could be killed, instead ofI find it a shame that a franchise which i was a huge fan of in its earlier years ended with such a whimper. What I liked with the originals was wondering weather the participants would win there tests or weather they would fail. Saw 3D made it abundantly clear how the tasks would end and ended up just being a film to show off how many gross ways people could be killed, instead of adding any meaning to the trials that were being set.
    While most of the questions leading up to this finale were answered to a reasonable extent, i wish the film finished clearly,instead of leaving one last unanswered question, just in case anyone wants to revive the franchise in the future.
    Disappointing.
    Expand
  35. Feb 24, 2015
    2
    Normally, the last movie should end. I understand that should end, but not in a style so bad. The only thing I liked were the last 5 minutes. And i'm done with this series.
  36. Sep 4, 2014
    3
    And finally, we come to the absolute worst entry in the franchise: "Saw: The Final Chapter". It's boring, generic, and incoherent. The traps were awful, the characters were forgettable, and the story was cliché. Coming from a huge Saw fan, this film was absolutely terrible.
  37. Apr 25, 2015
    2
    Saw has shown a ferocious unwillingness to evolve. Once the huge grosses started rolling in, plenty of franchises would upgrade to better actors, pricier screenwriters, and production values that didn’t fall somewhere between a Roger Corman cheapie and a snuff film. But the producers behind the Saw films are understandably reluctant to mess with a winning formula. Each entry feels more orSaw has shown a ferocious unwillingness to evolve. Once the huge grosses started rolling in, plenty of franchises would upgrade to better actors, pricier screenwriters, and production values that didn’t fall somewhere between a Roger Corman cheapie and a snuff film. But the producers behind the Saw films are understandably reluctant to mess with a winning formula. Each entry feels more or less like the last. They’re seemingly filmed on the same grungy, dirty, barely lit set, reusing the same generic-looking C-list actors. And in a particularly stubborn act of willful water-treading, they continue to prominently feature Tobin Bell as the mischievous, moralistic protagonist, even though his character died several sequels ago.

    In Saw 3D, the eighth and ostensibly last series installment, David Cassidy look-alike/Boondock Saint Sean Patrick Flanery plays a bestselling author who’s made a fortune off an inspirational book in which he fictitiously recounts having survived one of Bell’s deadly traps. Saw makes its victims suffer for even the most minor transgressions, so Bell’s flunkies cook up a punishing test for Flanery, to fit the severity of his crime. In order to save his beloved wife, Flanery must make his way through a series of deadly traps involving his friends and handlers. Meanwhile, series veteran Betsy Russell, playing Bell’s traumatized ex, goes to the police and dimes out Bell accomplice/law-enforcement agent Costas Mandylor, who sets about enacting revenge the only way he knows: through a series of gruesome traps.

    Bell’s minions continue to behave like the world’s grisliest life coaches. They even use the touchy-feely language of therapy-speak; traps are designed specifically to teach Flanery important lessons about reexamining his priorities and valuing his loved ones. Successories-style sentiments get joined to low-rent gore, maddeningly redundant setpieces, and an arbitrary police procedural about a hotshot detective intent on taking Mandylor down. With the possible exception of Final Destination, no horror franchise is as devoted to cheap gimmicks, and no gimmick is more ubiquitous these days than 3-D. But Saw 3D does little with the technology; even in 3-D, the film looks flat. This entry is being billed as the series closer, and as a tiny change of pace, but don’t believe the hype. Saw 3D offers the same old overwrought, laughably melodramatic **** only this time in one more dimension.
    Expand
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 10 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Dec 14, 2010
    30
    Fans of the series, if there are any left and I'm not too certain that there are, will enjoy the usual smorgasbord of lower intestines spilling out from the screen and onto their laps (via the profoundly crappy 3-D) as well as an above-average opening slaughter involving two men, one woman, several buzz saws, and a crowd of gawking onlookers.
  2. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Dec 14, 2010
    12
    The dismemberment and torture are now shtick. The filmmakers - "Saw" veterans - struggle to imbue this movie with the usual righteousness.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Ramos
    Dec 14, 2010
    40
    Production values from designer Anthony A. Ianni are matter-of-fact with the exception of standout effects from key make up artist Colin Penman and his staff. Its cast is fairly forgettable with the exception of Saw veteran Tobin Bell as Jigsaw and Cary Elwes as Gordon.