Saw 3D

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 228 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 228
  2. Negative: 73 out of 228

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    Saw 3D es una película que muestra un gran historia en su sipnosis, en donde todo está bien planeado para ejecutarse y así mantiene un buen ritmo de acción y emoción en el film.
  2. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    saw 3d is an insanely cool ending to the saw films, i couldn't have enjoyed it more, and the twist at the end is almost impossible to see coming.
  3. Oct 29, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Any Saw movie past the 3rd is automatically awful. That seems to be the general consensus now and it's really quite ignominious. Who cares if there are 7 movies in the series? That's not really a superfluous amount when they're all well written. Sure, a lot of the plot twists are similar, but they work! People need to get over the number of movies an look at the story. It's not just gratuitous violence. There's a really interesting plot unlike Hostel. The only reason Saw 3D isn't the best in the series is because the first movie was so disparate than anything we had seen in horror before. Sure, the acting is not the best in these movies, but for me, Saw 3D negated any problems I had with the characters.
    Jigsaw is teaching people to appreciate life through traumatizing yet allegorical means. That's the goal anyway. When Amanda is helping him though, she rigs the traps so people can't escape, believing that they don't deserve a chance. Hoffman does what Jigsaw asks, but blackmails Amanda for his own gain, and in Saw 3D, goes on a revenge killing spree after facing his own "test" in Saw 6.
    The Saw series is meant to be a story about people learning to value their lives and become better for what they've experienced, but for the most part, things don't go according to plan because everyone is so close-minded. The plot becomes much less convoluted after the 5th installment, but again, people don't want to give it a chance because of how many there are. All the movies are under 2 hours in length, so do yourself a favor and see them if you haven't. Saw 6 makes up for Saw 5, and Saw 3D has the perfect ending for the series that I should have seen coming, but didn't, and I think that might be the case for a lot of people. All the loose ends are tied up, and there is no hint of an eighth movie. Saw 3D gives the one, final twist that it needed to make up for any mistakes in the past, and while not all of the traps are as brutal as those in previous movies, they will make your stomach churn, your throat sore like mine, (you'll see).
    Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2010
    8
    A fitting end to a series that has continued to divide opinion - I for one have enjoyed every sequel, as much for the mystery and suspense as the gore and ingenious traps (although I found Saw 3 to be too explicit). I was pleasantly surprised by the 3D, as I didn't find it nausea inducing as I have previously, and the traps were fittingly OTT. In regards to the other films, I'd say thisA fitting end to a series that has continued to divide opinion - I for one have enjoyed every sequel, as much for the mystery and suspense as the gore and ingenious traps (although I found Saw 3 to be too explicit). I was pleasantly surprised by the 3D, as I didn't find it nausea inducing as I have previously, and the traps were fittingly OTT. In regards to the other films, I'd say this wasn't as good as the original, but probably on a par with 2 and 6. A satisfying conclusion to an original and tense series. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    This movie is a great way to end the saw series, whoever gives this movie a low review is... well i just dont know how you can give this movie a low review. I have been a fan since the first one and this finally gives some conclusion to the story, amazingly amazing.

    Amazing btw.
  6. Nov 8, 2010
    10
    I believe that this movie was a great ending to the saw series and also that negative feedback were people who probably just couldn't cope with horror movies, not the movie itself. Some argue that the movies predictable, however I don't think so, did we expect Hoffman to be in the body bag? no. In a nutshell, it was an excellent movie and I recommend it to people with a strong stomach andI believe that this movie was a great ending to the saw series and also that negative feedback were people who probably just couldn't cope with horror movies, not the movie itself. Some argue that the movies predictable, however I don't think so, did we expect Hoffman to be in the body bag? no. In a nutshell, it was an excellent movie and I recommend it to people with a strong stomach and saw fans. Not people who go to watch the movie and give negative feedback just because they don't like the "torture porn." Also the movie contained greater suspense than ever like every saw movie :) Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    Sometimes in order to make something fresh and exciting again, you have to go back to the beginning, and that's exactly what Saw did. While I enjoyed all the movies, this one has less flashbacks, and is as creepy than ever before. If you are not on the edge of your seat for this one, there is something wrong with you! The final chapter as they claim it to be, might have been the best SawSometimes in order to make something fresh and exciting again, you have to go back to the beginning, and that's exactly what Saw did. While I enjoyed all the movies, this one has less flashbacks, and is as creepy than ever before. If you are not on the edge of your seat for this one, there is something wrong with you! The final chapter as they claim it to be, might have been the best Saw film yet and the way they chose to end it will just blow your mind all over again. Even if you gave up after the first two or three, SEE THIS MOVIE! Expand
  8. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    i saw this in 3d and it totally rocked, this was a more than amazing conclusion to my favorite torture-horror franchise ever, great inventive death scenes, decent performances, and a knock-out twist.
  9. Oct 11, 2012
    7
    oh, i wish they could have made a better end to the franchise, but, it's not like we can get a second ending at this point, at the least, it does the series justice.
  10. Nov 12, 2010
    8
    Not exactly sure where the hate of this movie is coming from....I enjoyed it and how it wrapped up all the loose ends of the story and what the gigantic climax was at the end. Gotta say that final scene when one of the main guys is completely screwed no matter what they did gave me chills.

    I'll pay to see it in theaters again, too. In 3D no less. PS: Much better than 6 in my opinion. #5
    Not exactly sure where the hate of this movie is coming from....I enjoyed it and how it wrapped up all the loose ends of the story and what the gigantic climax was at the end. Gotta say that final scene when one of the main guys is completely screwed no matter what they did gave me chills.

    I'll pay to see it in theaters again, too. In 3D no less.

    PS: Much better than 6 in my opinion. #5 was the worst I believe.
    Expand
  11. Dec 14, 2010
    10
    this movie is not as good as the others have been i think they tried to put so much story into this one that they forgot to make the killings look real and the 3D made it look very cool and all but it just wasn't the same as number 1 and didn't have the cool affect of it. the reason i watched saw was because i liked the creative ways he would kill people but this one has very much sothis movie is not as good as the others have been i think they tried to put so much story into this one that they forgot to make the killings look real and the 3D made it look very cool and all but it just wasn't the same as number 1 and didn't have the cool affect of it. the reason i watched saw was because i liked the creative ways he would kill people but this one has very much so disappointed me sadly to say. Expand
  12. Aug 13, 2011
    7
    A decent way to finish off the Saw series, it's nothing new or original and only the most hardcore of Saw fans need apply, and honestly it just feels gory for the sake of being gory, honestly throughout the movie when some of the people died, I honestly was thinking ok did that person really need to die? you'll also notice some characters from previous movies, honestly it doesn't tryA decent way to finish off the Saw series, it's nothing new or original and only the most hardcore of Saw fans need apply, and honestly it just feels gory for the sake of being gory, honestly throughout the movie when some of the people died, I honestly was thinking ok did that person really need to die? you'll also notice some characters from previous movies, honestly it doesn't try anything new, this is basically a thank you note for all the fans that have stuck with the series. Expand
  13. Feb 5, 2011
    10
    The seventh film has an unusual, fun atmosphere to it. It's not the same, let's just think of a real easy way to kill em' idea,It's- If were making a final installment of a sick and twisted franchise-Let's add a little flare and sickness to. a dash of 3-d- and vamoose!!! a highly watchable, saw.
  14. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    SAW 3D well-manges to prove a series can continue going without hitting rock bottom. I don't care about the acting very well, but perhaps not even the 'Top Critics' get the plot of this film, which makes me sad. In SAW 3D (SPOILER ALERT) When Bobby Dagen shows his scars, and what he has to say... It is actually, interesting. If you listen carefully to some of these kinds of moments in thisSAW 3D well-manges to prove a series can continue going without hitting rock bottom. I don't care about the acting very well, but perhaps not even the 'Top Critics' get the plot of this film, which makes me sad. In SAW 3D (SPOILER ALERT) When Bobby Dagen shows his scars, and what he has to say... It is actually, interesting. If you listen carefully to some of these kinds of moments in this film, or the WHOLE series... I am pretty sure you will know what I am talking about, but you really do actually have to listen. I can end this review, saying it truly is now SAW VI or III, but it sure is a great way to end the franchise. Expand
  15. Oct 11, 2012
    7
    note to screenwriters everywhere: don't try and cram two films worth of plot into one film, it will NEVER end well, but otherwise, a rather great dose of brutal, low-brow entertainment.
  16. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    going in, i didn't have high expectations, but whatever ones i did have got blown out of the f*cking water by this incredible, unpredictable, and highly energetic sendoff to what will become a classic horror fan's treasure - samarathenymph xoxo
  17. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    pretty much the only film where you can say you witnessed a woman get ripped to pieces by a blade-fitted... thing... but that isn't a bad thing, now is it?
  18. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    a decent, if not rushed, conclusion, the acting is not really on par with the rest of the series, but what it doesn't get in intricacy, it more than makes up for with inventiveness and simple thrills
  19. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    not quite as strong as 1,2,3,4 and 6, but nonetheless, a rather deftly handled conclusion to, without a doubt, one of the most influential franchises in modern horror.
  20. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    hell of a good time, people don't understand that pretty much all fiction ever made is unrealistic, with that mentality, saw 3d pretty much plucks you right out of the real world for some 80 minutes, and you won't mind one bit.
  21. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    cheap, gratuitous 3D shenanigans, that's all it tries to be, and it exceeds, it also serves as a decent finale, if you ever wind up with a bucket of popcorn and 3D glasses, make sure this is on your 'to watch' list.
  22. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    ultra-ultraviolent sendoff to an ultraviolent series, can't understand why this is apparently the worst film in the series, it's on par with all of the other films (except the fifth)
  23. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    a rather satisfying conclusion if you ask me, the only gripe i have is sean patrick flanery, who overacted in the extreme, but still, it's a hell of a ride.
  24. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    epic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
  25. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    Saw 3D was crazy, some of the most frenetic, surreal death scenes in the entire series, it also does a nice job of capping the series, i will admit, the performances are a bit weak in the shadow of VI, but really, it's a slasher film, in 3D, what do you expect?
  26. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    more than any die-hard fan of the saw series could dream of, i don't understand why people who obviously won't like these sort of films agree to watch them, it's like shooting yourself in the foot and wondering why it hurts...
  27. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    the most torture-porn related fun you could have with your pants on, this was an over-the-top, gleefully vicious finale, and a bloody good one at that.
  28. Feb 6, 2013
    8
    I personally enjoyed this movie and I say screw you to every one who disagree's. The movie had an interesting story with some cool death scenes although it was not as good as the original three movies it was still very good. Even though I predicted the ending it was still very interesting and good. I would love to see another sequel but thanks to you guys that will probally never happen.I personally enjoyed this movie and I say screw you to every one who disagree's. The movie had an interesting story with some cool death scenes although it was not as good as the original three movies it was still very good. Even though I predicted the ending it was still very interesting and good. I would love to see another sequel but thanks to you guys that will probally never happen. Let me guess you prefur paranormal activity? I'll take saw any day of the week Expand
  29. Nov 27, 2013
    8
    Whoa... now, now, I didn't like the last three saw movies as much as I liked the first three ,but this one was amazing! It was a huge advance from the fourth, fifth, and sixth (even though I kind of liked the sixth). Saw seven is amazing, and with lots more traps and gore, you're not going to be disappointed, unless you're not a fan of them.
  30. Apr 26, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This sequel answered a lot of questions that needed to be, to help understand the movie better.
    This review may have some spoilers so beware.
    I could not believe that it was the Dr. Gordon who was the accomplish the whole time I really thought it was Hoffman. And Jill dying at the end just wow.
    Expand
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 10 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Dec 14, 2010
    30
    Fans of the series, if there are any left and I'm not too certain that there are, will enjoy the usual smorgasbord of lower intestines spilling out from the screen and onto their laps (via the profoundly crappy 3-D) as well as an above-average opening slaughter involving two men, one woman, several buzz saws, and a crowd of gawking onlookers.
  2. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Dec 14, 2010
    12
    The dismemberment and torture are now shtick. The filmmakers - "Saw" veterans - struggle to imbue this movie with the usual righteousness.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Ramos
    Dec 14, 2010
    40
    Production values from designer Anthony A. Ianni are matter-of-fact with the exception of standout effects from key make up artist Colin Penman and his staff. Its cast is fairly forgettable with the exception of Saw veteran Tobin Bell as Jigsaw and Cary Elwes as Gordon.